RTE and Tyrone

It's funny how people here are either absolutely dogging into Tyrone or people saying 'your county did this so you can't talk.' I'm somewhere in the middle. I'm not going to talk about THAT incident because it has been way overplayed at this stage (still terrible though). Cynicism is there in every team and no one can deny that but I do think Tyrone are the worst team in the country for it and it happens more frequently with them.

However, I don't think they are so much worse than the rest of the country that they need to be singled out and battered as much as they are being. I don't think the SG were as bad as people are making out though (bar O'Rourke getting a little carried away at one point). Before ever highlighting an incident they were praising Tyrone and the likes of McCann, Harte and Donnelly and rightly so. They were right to highlight the other stuff that happened as well as it needed to be and they showed clips of Monaghan players at it too.

I don't think the you vs us mentality/acting the victim helps either as it can look like people are defending some things that shouldn't be defended.

wee_yo (Mayo) - Posts: 63 - 11/08/2015 21:04:58    1768401

11/08/2015 16:20:19
cuchulainn35
County: Armagh

Folks- I started this post

Tyrone have done things in the past and the present which is unpleasant - that is fact. But my problem is that if another county did/does act the same way, they are not examined the same way.
As i have said in my post there have been some serious acts of indiscipline this yr - not all involved Tyrone.
Colm O'Rourke mentioned the U-21 incident 3 times, but I'm amiss to what happened there - keep saying something happened and then it did happen.....

>> no disrespect but if you don't know what happened at the U21 games then why don't you Google it? Do a bit of research. Again why demonise O'Rourke for referring to incidents that actually happened or were reported to have happened. It's not as though he's making these things up. The allegations were of severe verbal abuse, cynicism etc.
http://m.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/tyrone-boss-feargal-logan-denied-entry-to-tipperary-dressingroom-over-cynicism-31192733.html

What annoys me most is the o'Rourke played on the most negative team that ever played the game, constant fouling etc.... the matches with Cork in '87, 88 were awful, and in fairness Cork were the victims...

>> in fairness I think O'Rourke was mainly referring to the cheating i.e diving trying to get fellas sent off, pretending to be injured then jumping up and running after the ball etc well pointed out on SG it has to be said

All counties, my own included have individuals who misbehave...... but I do believe that RTE will not go overboard about certain counties... the traditionalist the purist ... whatever the hell that means...

>> I honestly brlieve that they just called what they saw. Tyrone have a reputation. Nobody made it for them. It's hard to shake it but they aren't helping themselves at any level

Its like the 'bad boy' in the classroom or dressing room, weather he did the deed or not he will always get the blame.....

>>> yes but Tyrone are doing it in front of 50K spectators with cameras on them. What's not to believe?

Tyrone are no angels, but lets be real , we all know that if a Dublin player hits a Mayo player in the all-reland semi and he gets a red ( only imagine) - there will be a press/media campaign to have the red card rescinded, 'Ah sure he's not that type of player? It would be shocking for the young lad to miss out ? etc..... Not the Dublin GAA doing but the press/media can and do swing people's opinion!!!!!!

>>>> really? have you any evidence for this at all or is this just another cheap shot at the Dubs? The only incidence I can remember of this was Dermot Connolly having a red card rescinded for the final in 2011 having been sent off in the semi following a shameful dive from a Donegal player this time. I suppose this was bias towards Dublin yes??

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 11/08/2015 21:07:07    1768402

MickMick
A good and fair post and I suppose a. Lot of the blame lies with the people running the GAA Very slow to change they are , what about a bit of video technology and have the whole field covered. Anything the referee misses could be brought to his attention , it might stop some of off the ball stuff
I think myself this is a big problem , pulling jerseys , holding on to forwards when a high ball is coming in , stopping runs etc
IMO if you are going to be successful you must be cynical and Donegal found out that over the years. Indeed Jim MC Guinness said so ----- Donegal , a nice team , play nice football but the end result getting hammered all over the place
Jim stop all that , no longer a nice team and a bit of steel in U.S. ------ up there now with the best of them , Kerry Mayo Dublin Armagh and dare say Tyrone.
No use sitting back , hit first and hit hard and ask questions later. O Roarks team ( Meath ) done that Wonder could the SG show some footage from that era
I would also like to refresh a little bit about Dublin/ Kerry around 1976 to 1978 or around that time. Did they not play a Challenge game in the USA , were relations between them not too good at the time ?did Kerry think they were being bullied by Dublin in Croke park around that time ?? Did a Dublin player sustain a broken leg in that match in the USA ?? Can anyone think back or has anyone a bit of information about it ?
Tyrone are not the first to be cynical and the whole place is in overdrive about them They are no angels but no team are and that includes Kerry Dublin Mayo and Donegal.

SamOnErrigal (Donegal) - Posts: 1427 - 11/08/2015 21:11:15    1768408

Your condoning of Tyrone's serial cheating is what is misguided fabio . Sean Cavanagh did nothing wrong in 2013 ? In three successive championship matches he hauled very cynically, opponents to the ground . He is now a persistent diver feigning injury on a consistent basis . He is not alone on that team . What is hugely disconcerting is that the younger players are buying in to this ethos . Both Meyler and McCann were guilty of deeply cynical play . Not only was McCann content to get a player sent off but a few short minutes later he was happy to drag an opponent to the ground and take a black card . This nastiness is apparent at all levels in Tyrone's county teams . I condemn all cynical play . You need to open your eyes and look at Tyrone . Colm O Rourke was right . I will repeat that a county that has minor footballers prepared to taunt an opponent about the death of his father needs to take a long, hard look at itself . You correctly raise other incidents of nastiness committed by various teams and I agree with you entirely that they should be forthrightly condemned.

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6031 - 11/08/2015 21:15:32    1768412

Considering Cavanagh only scored the 1 point Saturday I don't find it that strange at all that RTE didn't show it Jimthelegend, by its nature a highlights show will leave out some parts of a game. Another conspiracy angle will have to be tried.

Soma (UK) - Posts: 2630 - 11/08/2015 21:30:48    1768417

but where where the people condemning them greengrass?..how is racism acceptable?...this is trial by media..what mccann did was silly as i have already said...cavanagh committed a foul on a pitch..it wasnt nasty it was a foul..nothing more....lots of players are doing the same..he receives almost more abuse then any other player...he has a reputation for being a dirty player now purely because of a rant by a pundit looking to make a name for himself and he succeeded..o rourke is no angel himself..i raise these incidents because people are only interested in slating one county before looking at their own..all players are happy to take black cards where the situation requires it..you saw it with kerry only a week ago and are consistently at it..the dubs didnt mind doing it in the final where desperation called for it...mayo are amongst the most cynical out there at tactical fouling...if anybody watched mcloughlin in last years semi v kerry you would see a man only interested in cynical fouling

fabio8 (USA) - Posts: 2182 - 11/08/2015 21:32:53    1768421

Tyrone have been up to no good for the years and have hoodwinked most of the country until now.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7859 - 11/08/2015 21:38:50    1768424

Go to the monaghan gaa site look up the pictures from saturdays match were you will see Niall Morgan with Kieran Hughes in a head lock.

Then he use's Kieran Hughes head as a boost to get up of the ground,all this while the umpire standing looking at it.Morgan got a yellow card.

Serious dangerous play from him as this sort of pressure should not be put on anyones head in that position,surely it was a red card offence?

Any Tyrone person on here crying about been singled out needs their head examined,your blind loyalty is in the way,we have played loads of teams and ive never met anything like the stuff the Tyrone players get up to.

Saint Mickey sent some quare boys out on to a football pitch in his time,some great players and some rather unsavoury ones.

And yes i am sore,but more sore about my own team not turning up and letting yous walk all over them.

hardcore (Monaghan) - Posts: 1366 - 11/08/2015 21:43:17    1768427

I agree fabio that all cynicism should be condemned and you are absolutely correct in terms of what you say about racism . The Lee Chin incident is another example of racism . I can't agree with you about Sean Cavanagh and Tyrone . Cavanagh's reputation as a persistent cheat is well deserved . The criticism of Tyrone is also merited .

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6031 - 11/08/2015 21:50:51    1768432

It would be interesting to see the stats for all these offences... which teams are at it, which players are at it, how often it happens, does it only happen in close matches etc?

BIG SACKS (Tyrone) - Posts: 1681 - 11/08/2015 21:54:44    1768437

I am sure if The CCC are to look into this storm in a teacup then they will look over all the events in this match. Lets hope not as a few of our lads might have a long holiday. That would have a huge bearing on our county championship.

border Gael (Monaghan) - Posts: 894 - 11/08/2015 21:55:06    1768439

but where where the people condemning them greengrass?..how is racism acceptable?...this is trial by media..what mccann did was silly as i have already said...cavanagh committed a foul on a pitch..it wasnt nasty it was a foul..nothing more....lots of players are doing the same..he receives almost more abuse then any other player...he has a reputation for being a dirty player now purely because of a rant by a pundit looking to make a name for himself and he succeeded..o rourke is no angel himself..i raise these incidents because people are only interested in slating one county before looking at their own..all players are happy to take black cards where the situation requires it..you saw it with kerry only a week ago and are consistently at it..the dubs didnt mind doing it in the final where desperation called for it...mayo are amongst the most cynical out there at tactical fouling...if anybody watched mcloughlin in last years semi v kerry you would see a man only interested in cynical fouling

----
Time to reveal your county buddy and not hide behind the old US of A label. We are talking about persistent, systemic cynicism here, reported at minor, U21 and senior levels. This is not some RTE conspiracy as the apologists would like us to believe. If you look at the level of criticism and sources, the commentators are coming from all counties, not just the media but also observers from within the game. Something is clearly wrong. People can deflect by pointing to anti-Tyrone bias from some quarters in RTE, and there may be a small element of truth to that, and they can try to point to isolated incidents involving other counties but when you see managers of other counties (inside and outside of Ulster), ex-players and other non-media people commenting on these antics then clearly this is more than media bias or some great RTE ant-Tyrone propaganda onslaught. The greatest of Tyrone's signs has not been tactical fouling.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 11/08/2015 21:55:33    1768440

@benched

Ye, as in Tyrone.
You were bringing up irrelevant points about what Monaghan players did, I was simply reminding you the thread was about the perception that RTE have in for Tyrone. Listening to other media will show it's not really just RTE or even southern media. It looks like its Tyrone against everyone in that case.

You keep clinging on to Finlay, was that the only punch you saw? There were loads more from both sides. The amount of off the ball incidents from both sets players was very high. Its not rough stuff anymore and tactical fouls, we are equally as guilty of that. Its the diving and sledging....Its poor form.

Have a read of this:

http://www.irishnews.com/sport/2015/08/11/news/tyrone-need-to-remember-the-manner-of-winning-matters-222525/

seanfinn (Monaghan) - Posts: 360 - 12/08/2015 08:44:58    1768453

http://teamtalkmag.com/2015/08/exclusive-gaa-being-pressurised-into-taking-action-on-tiernan-mccann/

BIG SACKS (Tyrone) - Posts: 1681 - 12/08/2015 09:00:22    1768455

Get out your fists Tyrone and fight like men. If Mc Cann had have done what Darren expected him to do and that was a haymaker to the jaw he would have got his red card an a months suspension as it now stands its looking like two months,
So the message will have resounded loud and clear to all counties especially those left in the championship..... The men in grey suits have spoken...... this is a game for real men... get out your fists and fight like men. hard luck Tyrone.... Paul Finaly and the others who bravely fought on Saturday have the backing of the organisation........strange assocciation...... protect players ??????? wheres the GPA???????

border Gael (Monaghan) - Posts: 894 - 12/08/2015 09:06:09    1768459

12/08/2015 08:44:58
seanfinn
County: Monaghan

@benched

Ye, as in Tyrone.
You were bringing up irrelevant points about what Monaghan players did, I was simply reminding you the thread was about the perception that RTE have in for Tyrone. Listening to other media will show it's not really just RTE or even southern media. It looks like its Tyrone against everyone in that case.

You keep clinging on to Finlay, was that the only punch you saw? There were loads more from both sides. The amount of off the ball incidents from both sets players was very high. Its not rough stuff anymore and tactical fouls, we are equally as guilty of that. Its the diving and sledging....Its poor form.

Have a read of this:

http://www.irishnews.com/sport/2015/08/11/news/tyrone-need-to-remember-the-manner-of-winning-matters-222525/

-------
Excellent article and good to see it coming from an Ulster source as brings balance to the debate and dispels a lot of myths about this being a southern media driven witch hunt. However, as seen in those tweets, there are none so blind.....,

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 12/08/2015 09:13:11    1768461

Thanks yet again for pointing me in the direction of another article/podcast that you feel I need to read/listen to, but like the Newstalk piece I've already read this.
Clinging to Finlay? I don't think so, he's an absolute irrelevance at this stage. It was you who suggested I listened to the Newstalk podcast, I simply said I was listening to it live, turned it off when Moyles started driveling that the actions of Finlay were also the fault of Tyrone and he expressed sympathy for him. Even the Monaghan people I work with found this ludicrous.

benched (Tyrone) - Posts: 534 - 12/08/2015 09:17:49    1768464

Speaking to one of the people on the sideline there this morning not a Monaghan or tyrone man..He said Tyrone stuff off the ball all game was just Sick to watch .They were constantly in the ear of every Monagahn player with insult after insult etc etc etc...

He said some of the stuff off the ball was just so sly and cynical that the linesman had a word with the Tyrone management after only 20 minutes but nothing was done and technically it wasn't really against the rules so there was nothing he could do.

I was at the game as well and as neutrals and we both agreed that in nearly every schmozle a Tyrone player tried a sly move like "bending back of Arms twice,Poking a finger in the eye,tapping the manhood,pinching the nipple it was just terrible what they were up to and really has left a sour taste in the mouth for all football fans.

They will have next to no support from any neutrals v Kerry and probably for a long time to come.

Justin Mcmahon came on with no intention of playing football he hunched backed around into ever row that was to be see and was constantly on the the linesman and ref as if he was the victim he was sickening to watch.

I'm a lover of Gaelic games and I go to a lot of games after seeing what tyrone have got up to this year in this game and in the under 21 final at first hand I don't think I'll ever raisemy hands to clap anything they ever do again despite them having some truely wonderful footballers.

They played better than Monaghan on the day but as a Donegal man beside me said when the final whistle blew..."I always support Ulster but I hope Kerry put an end to this type of team"

Feel for Monaghan on the day they didn't play as well as they could but they could not have foreseen what sort of tactics they would be up against despite playing these sort of matches before!

BigJohn.6_8 (Galway) - Posts: 704 - 12/08/2015 09:51:46    1768491

benched

Thanks yet again for pointing me in the direction of another article/podcast that you feel I need to read/listen to, but like the Newstalk piece I've already read this.
Clinging to Finlay? I don't think so, he's an absolute irrelevance at this stage. It was you who suggested I listened to the Newstalk podcast, I simply said I was listening to it live, turned it off when Moyles started driveling that the actions of Finlay were also the fault of Tyrone and he expressed sympathy for him. Even the Monaghan people I work with found this ludicrous.

If you turned it off then how did you listen? See no evil, hear no evil....

Yet again you bring up Finlay! You are a ticket.

seanfinn (Monaghan) - Posts: 360 - 12/08/2015 10:15:37    1768519

Only ticket I'm interested in at this stage is the one for the semi-final.

benched (Tyrone) - Posts: 534 - 12/08/2015 10:37:54    1768563