RTE and Tyrone

opa01

mhunicean_abu
County: Monaghan

What about Darren Hughes falling like a dying swan and getting Rory Kavanagh sent off last year for picking up his boot and shaking it at him. Did anybody in Monaghan call him to account for this? Every county & club needs to put it's own house in order before throwing stones.

Yes they did actually and he was the subject of much ridicule throughout the county after. Thanks for proving my point though. Can't wait to see Cavan when they finally have to face it at this level (surely even they can't waste this generation of talent) how your reaction might change

mhunicean_abu (Monaghan) - Posts: 1044 - 11/08/2015 14:12:39    1768046

Did I say it was the same as McCann Seanfinn?
How was Beggan fouled? What I saw he ran half the length of the field to get involved in a shoving match, threw himself to the ground holding his face then got up again when he saw nobody was interested.
As far trying to make excuses for Finlay - I think it is you that needs to catch yourself on my friend.
Regards badgering of ref's, the only man who can surpass Dessie Mone in this is Donaghy - has often been said to me by supporters of other Monaghan clubs that he's even worse in club games.

benched (Tyrone) - Posts: 534 - 11/08/2015 14:55:56    1768091

seanfinn

Find the space....Do me a favour (and yourself) read what Jayp has posted and then go and listen to the podcast with McGuigan, Moyles and Parkinson last night.

What Finlay posted where? Facebook? Twitter? You think we all follow him or are going to go search out his comments?
So it was Moyles that was the Anthony on Newstalk last night, when he stated his sympathy for Finlay over what happened on Saturday that was enough for me.

benched (Tyrone) - Posts: 534 - 11/08/2015 15:26:37    1768147

Benched - If you recorded the game, you will see Beggan was struck in the throat. Not exactly the hardest hit but as I said more in line with the Cavanaghs throughout the game. This thread is about Tyrone and their perception that RTE have it in for them. Maybe you forgot that? The biggest talking point was McCann and no matter what way you slice it, it was like nothing else perpetrated by any other player. It drew attention to raft of issues that follow you guys around more than anyone else in recent times. Trouble in Ballybofey, trouble in underages games, trouble at club games....Its consistent. Other sides have sporadically had this in their history but like O'Rourke said it follow ye around.

You have a problem with reading too maybe, I made no excuses for Finlay. I simply said, I have not witnessed him do anything like that before and he fully deserved to get the line. It was out of character and maybe in time what Tiernan McCann did will prove to be out of character but its a little harder to say that now.

As posted on here already, listen to the podcast on newstalk. It captured things perfectly....or does McGuigan have it in for ye too?

seanfinn (Monaghan) - Posts: 360 - 11/08/2015 15:26:39    1768148

benched

seanfinn

Find the space....Do me a favour (and yourself) read what Jayp has posted and then go and listen to the podcast with McGuigan, Moyles and Parkinson last night.

What Finlay posted where? Facebook? Twitter? You think we all follow him or are going to go search out his comments?
So it was Moyles that was the Anthony on Newstalk last night, when he stated his sympathy for Finlay over what happened on Saturday that was enough for me.

Ahhhh so you DO have trouble reading! Nothing about Finlay posting anything. Read it again. Jayp's post on this forum captures all you need to understand what happened, let the podcast finish or don't and forever assume that the entire media is against poor innocent Tyrone.

seanfinn (Monaghan) - Posts: 360 - 11/08/2015 15:40:07    1768167

Seanfinn:

Who is this "ye" you keep referring to?
I have already said I listened to some of Newstalk (thought you said this thread related to only RTE & Tyrone), turned off when I heard what Moyles had to say on the Finlay incident - by the way I can make up my own mind on matters, Tyrone related or not, so I don't need to listen to other people and repeat their comments as facts just because they might of played county football.

benched (Tyrone) - Posts: 534 - 11/08/2015 15:53:51    1768178

So SeanFinn what Finley done was half acceptable due to it being out of character?

What McCann done was not at all acceptable due to the fact that he's wearing a Tyrone jersey? Biased much?

I've never seen McCann do that at any level of football before and i'm sure when push comes to shove he'll be able to handle himself and God forbid he may have to and then the media will go mad again for it. To be honest I think i'd rather see McCann fall to the ground for something what Hughes done that try defend Finley for punching Cavanagh from behind while on the ground. If Monaghan did make a comeback and ending up winning the media would have dissected them and we would have seen the full picture of the loving Farney Men. You just haven't been good enough to cause and trouble for the likes of Kerry and Dublin for them to target you.

Find_the_space (Tyrone) - Posts: 313 - 11/08/2015 16:01:46    1768186

Folks- I started this post

Tyrone have done things in the past and the present which is unpleasant - that is fact. But my problem is that if another county did/does act the same way, they are not examined the same way.
As i have said in my post there have been some serious acts of indiscipline this yr - not all involved Tyrone.
Colm O'Rourke mentioned the U-21 incident 3 times, but I'm amiss to what happened there - keep saying something happened and then it did happen.....
What annoys me most is the o'Rourke played on the most negative team that ever played the game, constant fouling etc.... the matches with Cork in '87, 88 were awful, and in fairness Cork were the victims...
All counties, my own included have individuals who misbehave...... but I do believe that RTE will not go overboard about certain counties... the traditionalist the purist ... whatever the hell that means...
Yes, controversy follows Tyrone, but that doesn't mean that they are guilty at all times.... The Derrytresk game comes to point... i believe that if the Tyrone Junior Club had have lost that game.... nobody outside of the O'Neill county would have heard about them .... lets face it the Joe Duffey show devoted an hour to it, the press went mental, but if one objectively looked at the game from a neutral prespective, both clubs misbehaved and Kerry club had more men sent to the line....
Its like the 'bad boy' in the classroom or dressing room, weather he did the deed or not he will always get the blame......In the Tyrone v Tipperary game which was televised live Tipperary were not only cyncical but very bad tempered - had a few sent to the line, but the analysis of the game on Sunday evening brushed this aside, now imagine if Tyrone were the aggressors, what would RTE say....
Tyrone are no angels, but lets be real , we all know that if a Dublin player hits a Mayo player in the all-reland semi and he gets a red ( only imagine) - there will be a press/media campaign to have the red card rescinded, 'Ah sure he's not that type of player? It would be shocking for the young lad to miss out ? etc..... Not the Dublin GAA doing but the press/media can and do swing people's opinion!!!!!!

cuchulainn35 (Armagh) - Posts: 1676 - 11/08/2015 16:20:19    1768207

@Find_the_space Read my comments. I haven't defended FINLAY. He got his punishment on the day from the ref.

You are right, we weren't good enough. So why do all of that? If Tyrone are able to win with honour why stoop??

By the way, we will see soon enough if Tyrone trouble Kerry. I wouldn't bet the house on it if I were you.

seanfinn (Monaghan) - Posts: 360 - 11/08/2015 16:37:36    1768224

To actually stick to the original topic and question of this thread: Was last night a new low for RTE with their coverage of the Tyrone /Monaghan match or was it justified.

No it was not a low at all for RTE and I actually think their coverage of the game was very fair and balanced. Before there was any mention of diving or cynical play the panel discussed Tyrone's qualities, how they were by far the better team, picked out their players who played well (including McCann), discussed how they got their tactics right, basically analysed their strengths.... given all the talk there was after the game by Gaels up and down the country it would have been absolutely ridiculous if there was no discussion on the diving, time wasting, feigning injury etc. Whelan and O' Rourke are paid to give their opinions which they did and backed everything they said about the carry on in the match up with video evidence. And it wasn't all one sided as some on here think, they both said that Monaghan were as culpable as Tyrone when it came to the cynical and off the ball crap. Des and Pete then both went on to discuss how this is now a problem up and down the country. It was a fair programme.

And as for everyone going on about Whelan telling McCann he has to apologise, he didn't. He said if he were in his shoes he would hold his hands up and apologise. What's wrong with a former footballer saying what he would do in the situation?

turkeyplucker (UK) - Posts: 137 - 11/08/2015 17:05:09    1768259

County: UK

When Tyrone win Sam , the rte banquet with them shall be good. Oh wait .... What would happen there lads ?

What would happen? We would have the usual Sunday Game show- highlights, match analysis and probably an analysis of the year's championship. So the banquet's missing, big deal, who cares?

turkeyplucker (UK) - Posts: 137 - 11/08/2015 17:12:50    1768264

Find the Space
To be honest I think i'd rather see McCann fall to the ground for something what Hughes done that try defend Finley for punching Cavanagh from behind while on the ground.

Why would you want to defend either? What is it that supporters can't admit when their team have done something wrong? There's no defending or trying to justify what either McCann or Finlay did. There was so much crap going on in the game that ya'd be here til next year's quarter finals trying to justify it. I'm from Monaghan and I have said before that Kieran Hughes should concentrate on his football and never mind getting involved in so much off the ball shit, I have also given out before about Dessie Mone going to ground too easy, if you go over to the Monaghan forum you will see I brought up about an element of the Monaghan support being nasty at the Cavan Monaghan match. If your team does something wrong you don't have to defend it to the last, call a spade a spade for god sake and admit that they've done it and that it was wrong.

For the record I hope Tyrone go on to win Sam, in the GAA Love In thread I named them and Donegal as counties I like to see do well and that hasn't changed

turkeyplucker (UK) - Posts: 137 - 11/08/2015 17:35:43    1768277

Turkeyplucker, Tyrone are the worst serial cheats in Gaelic Football . It is an awful shame because they are also very good footballers . They bring their own brand of nastiness with them where ever they go . Any county with minor footballers who are prepared to taunt an opponent over the recent death of his father needs to take a long hard look at itself. Hopefully they will only be seen once more this year .

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6031 - 11/08/2015 18:52:30    1768317

thats a pathetic comment to make greengrass and extremely biased...i would have expected more from a poster like yourself....a player made a mistake...to brush the likes of what finley done under the carpet does nothing but show up your willingness to go in hard on tyrone...i repeat there is nothing worse then the high horse brigade on here....people forget in 2013 how dublin pulled and dragged their way to an all ireland when the game was in the balance...numerous teams have done the same...can people please explain why sean cavanagh gets so much stick for the tackle he made on mcmanus?....the man did nothing wrong and people are always making the same tackle...what finley did the other day was pathetic in the extreme and worse than mccann..he wasnt even attempting to play football

fabio8 (USA) - Posts: 2182 - 11/08/2015 19:59:56    1768353

what mccann did was stupid but as somebody pointed out darren hughes done something similar to rory kavanagh not so long ago as kavanagh has pointed out to him...people develop very selective memory when it suits them

fabio8 (USA) - Posts: 2182 - 11/08/2015 20:11:36    1768363

meaths minor team recently didnt mind racially abusing players on another team..where was the uproar?..that is as bad as it gets....im not going to tar a county over what some silly thing a player said though

fabio8 (USA) - Posts: 2182 - 11/08/2015 20:18:41    1768369

cker
County: UK

Find the Space
To be honest I think i'd rather see McCann fall to the ground for something what Hughes done that try defend Finley for punching Cavanagh from behind while on the ground.

Why would you want to defend either? What is it that supporters can't admit when their team have done something wrong? There's no defending or trying to justify what either McCann or Finlay did. There was so much crap going on in the game that ya'd be here til next year's quarter finals trying to justify it. I'm from Monaghan and I have said before that Kieran Hughes should concentrate on his football and never mind getting involved in so much off the ball shit, I have also given out before about Dessie Mone going to ground too easy, if you go over to the Monaghan forum you will see I brought up about an element of the Monaghan support being nasty at the Cavan Monaghan match. If your team does something wrong you don't have to defend it to the last, call a spade a spade for god sake and admit that they've done it and that it was wrong.

For the record I hope Tyrone go on to win Sam, in the GAA Love In thread I named them and Donegal as counties I like to see do well and that hasn't changed

Sound like a fair and reasonable viewpoint and fair play for coming out and admiting which county you are from instead of hiding in anonymity like some on here.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 11/08/2015 20:24:33    1768375

Diving and fouling have no place in football. But Tyrone are not the worst. They are not All Ireland champions or even Ulster champs. Kerry are All Ireland champs and Monaghan are Ulster champs. It is they who should be blamed for the worst excesses of football (and maybe the Dubs).

galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 2520 - 11/08/2015 20:29:05    1768377

Anybody else find it very strange that RTE didn't show any of the Sean Cavanagh points he scored on the Sunday Game highlights?

JimTheLegend (Donegal) - Posts: 247 - 11/08/2015 20:36:13    1768385

Look it's the GAA fault that this craic is going. If the proper penalties were in place this stuff wouldn't happen:
1. if teams kill the ball try to slow opposition attack in any way by fouling, automatic 14yd free. 2. Blatant diving feigning injury should be auto black card + 14yd free 3. Standard of referee must be improved, pay a group of ex inter county players to ref inter county matches. 4. having 1 ref in. each half of the pitch would allow a lot of the off the ball stuff to be monitored, only feasible at inter county level. 5. Refs who have extremely poor match get dropped of the refs panel permanently. 6. remonstrating with ref auto yellow card, only captain allowed to speak to ref.

centerfield (Mayo) - Posts: 360 - 11/08/2015 21:03:49    1768399