RTE and Tyrone

James O 'Donoghue is always at it don't forget!

letterkennyGuy (Donegal) - Posts: 153 - 11/08/2015 10:03:19    1767788

Find_the_space and Border Gael...

I have watched Paul Finlay play many many many games. I have never known him to do something like that before. It was totally out of character and he fully deserved to be sent off and he was. I would be interested to know why he acted that way. He has been in high pressure games before and never reacted in that manner.

seanfinn (Monaghan) - Posts: 360 - 11/08/2015 10:06:29    1767789

benjjy, Havn't mentioned Tyrone, good , bad or indifferent but you obviously have a big chip on board that gives you no creditability .
Grow up and get over yourself.

SLLY (Dublin) - Posts: 463 - 11/08/2015 10:20:17    1767802

benched

Seanfinn any comment on Beggans dive as shown last night in a clip supposedly showing the sins of Tyrone or are you like the RTE pundits blind to this happening?

Catch yourself on. Hardly the same thing as what McCann did, not even in the same league. What Beggan did was more in line with what Seán Cavanagh and Colm Cavanagh did every time they were fouled (conservative guess would be what...20 times in the game?). He lay down after taking a hit and made the most of it.

Ye won, ye were the better footballing team and ye played a cynical game. Unfortunately, if Tyrone can't live with the critical comments leveled by the media (hardly just RTE - read the papers, listen to newstalk et cetera) then maybe don't do this? What none of you seem to understand is....nobody cares about the physical aspect of things, that's the game we play. We expect it. Every team gives it. Its the constant diving, badgering officials, constant sledging that brings this all on ye. If you don't like it....Don't do it! Seems rather simple.

seanfinn (Monaghan) - Posts: 360 - 11/08/2015 10:21:41    1767806

SLLY

benjjy, Havn't mentioned Tyrone, good , bad or indifferent but you obviously have a big chip on board that gives you no creditability .
Grow up and get over yourself.

Nice. Care to explain how I have a 'chip on board'? I'm only pointing out that other counties are just as guilty, my own included and have already said what McCann did was incredibly stupid. How does that damage my credibility?

benjyyy (Donegal) - Posts: 1422 - 11/08/2015 10:45:03    1767836

Seioulsy folks, this hounding of Tyrone is so school yard and childish it is almost beyond belief that it is being driven by national media.

Newspapers I sort of get as they have to sell newspapers and there are plenty of backward folk out there to buy them but for a broadcaster like RTE to feed this frenzy is shameful. And then there are plenty that innocently rely on media to inform them.

Ireland is a nation of begrudgers anyway but due to partition and more recently economics we now are getting overrun by New Age Xenophobes.

It can be dressed up whatever way you want but if you take the case of Donegal being an Ulster team and the abuse they took from the Southern media as a successful Ulster team over the last lot of years then it is no surprise that a successful Nordie team will stand more abuse again.

Since the beginning of the Celtic Tiger years I have noticed hostility to the 6 counties grow in parts of the other 26. My personal view is that a lot of folk got spoilt and quickly forgot where they came from. I remember being told that 'there is a new type of imperialist in Europe and it is called The Irish Investor'. For me that pretty much sums it up.

I despair at how much growing up a chunk of this nation has got to do.

I am Tyrone.

Naysayer (Antrim) - Posts: 2071 - 11/08/2015 10:51:04    1767840

Anyone ever hear tell of Derrtresk

mhunicean_abu (Monaghan) - Posts: 1044 - 11/08/2015 10:53:34    1767848

Yerrah, Tyrone should see themselves as Millwall: no one likes us; we don't care.

plike (Kerry) - Posts: 569 - 11/08/2015 11:13:39    1767876

seanfinn
County: Monaghan

Find_the_space and Border Gael...

I have watched Paul Finlay play many many many games. I have never known him to do something like that before. It was totally out of character and he fully deserved to be sent off and he was. I would be interested to know why he acted that way. He has been in high pressure games before and never reacted in that manner.

He got a 2 yellows and not even on the field for a full half. Yea high pressured games the difference is Finley is a Seasoned county player with years of experience at all levels of the game, Tiernan McCann is in his second season (if that) with Tyrone and has never played in an AI QF therefore that why I think I could forgive his immaturity for the dive and same may be said about Myler. Don't get me wrong I'm not saying it was acceptable in any shape or form but McCann didn't go out to injure anyone and myler got what he deserved.

As for Finley he could have hurt Cavanagh, same could be said about McManus with his elbow and sometimes heat of the moment during an intense battle between two Ulster teams anything could have happened but for Saint Whelan to tell McCann to come out and apologise is scandalous.

Find_the_space (Tyrone) - Posts: 313 - 11/08/2015 11:13:46    1767877

mhunicean_abu

Go through your programme there kid and count the number of Derrytresk players in the Tyrone team on Saturday. WUM

Find_the_space (Tyrone) - Posts: 313 - 11/08/2015 11:17:23    1767885

Yes it's quiet easy to explain. You didn't mention anyone else and purely focused on ROC and a nothing incident when you consider as you say what is going on in other counties.This is a far cry from what we are talking about here.

SLLY (Dublin) - Posts: 463 - 11/08/2015 11:22:21    1767891

I thought RTEs coverage of the game was fair and unbiased. Two northern teams, and lots of unsavoury behaviour. What are they supposed to do? Ignore it?

Listening to Anthony Moyles on Newstalks Off the Ball last night, he was chatting to Bryan McGuigan from Tyrone. Initially McGuigan was defensive, saying Tyrone were treated differently etc but agreed after Moyles talked about Tyrone.

Moyles pointed out the incidents with Tyrone Senior, u21 and Minor and pointed out there were some d4eadful incidents. He mentioned the bahaviour is correlated with a desire to win, and during his time when Meath were successful they didnt care what people thought of them, they done what it took to win.

Tyrone are doing what it takes to win, but dont want people to talk about it! They want to be treated like everyone else.

Problem is, once you cross that line, its open season. Media have to report what they see, and its unsavoury. If you play in the manner Tyrone play, well then criticism will follow you. You cant expect people to like it, just because you are winning. Also, disciplinary action may follow you.

Live by the sword.....

Bryan McGuigan agreed with Moyles.

JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 11/08/2015 11:26:17    1767896

There will always be incidents in a game. And your right sheilds dive in the replay was out of order... How ever maybe it is time to put aside county loyalty and look at it from a realistic view point. Every single team will have an incident in the championship thats taken for granted but with tyrone you will have to admit these are alot more frequent. On top of that while the team had been in decliine in the last few years their antics have gotten more and more frequent.

Harte came out and said the sending off was a BAD DECISION it wasnt it was blatant cheating. Add that to the other diving pulling dragging and couple that with the frequency of these incidents in tyrone games versus other teams and thats where the problem exists. The pundits had absolutely no choice but to comment on sunday purely as that is what the rest of the country was talking about.. If the sending off hadnt happened the reality is it probably wouldnt have come up at all. Its the same with the u21 final. Pundits have to discuss the hot topics and the problem with tyrone is when ye do it ye really make it obvious. You mentioned Nicolas murphy .. Agreed the knee in the back took him out of the game but it happened in first to mins so 70 mins elapsed before game was a result

LEAVE THE SLEDGING DIVING FAKING INJURIES OFF THE BALL INCIDENTS OUT OF THE GAME.They made their bed last saturday and now must lie in it. If you cheat so blatantly they you cant claim that the world is against you when people question it

ritchie (Cork) - Posts: 346 - 11/08/2015 11:34:13    1767905

Another contributing factor is the lack of closely contested games in the Championship these days. The only game of note this year to be closely contested and not involving an Ulster team was Cork and Kerry and we saw plenty going on in that game too.

Naysayer (Antrim) - Posts: 2071 - 11/08/2015 11:50:04    1767922

As for Finley he could have hurt Cavanagh, same could be said about McManus with his elbow and sometimes heat of the moment during an intense battle between two Ulster teams anything could have happened but for Saint Whelan to tell McCann to come out and apologise is scandalous.

Find the space....Do me a favour (and yourself) read what Jayp has posted and then go and listen to the podcast with McGuigan, Moyles and Parkinson last night.
Personally I couldn't care less about an apology, what is the point? However, ppl throwing the toys out of the pram for what Colm O'Rourke said need to have a talk with themselves. Nothing he said was wrong or inappropriate (never thought I would say that!) Leave by the sword and all that.

There was a lot of foul play so much that the media leveled general comments at both teams. No angels either side on that front. Its the DIVING and SLEDGING. McCann deserves punishment for, nevermind this he is only a young lad that made a mistake. So What? Suspend him. He purely went out to deceive the ref and have a player sent off. Likewise for ANY player who does this. Regarding the dives, they must have no studs in those boots but its looking for soft frees....at least there is a tackle of some form. Thats a wider issue than Tyrone though.

seanfinn (Monaghan) - Posts: 360 - 11/08/2015 11:51:51    1767925

Find_the_space

mhunicean_abu

Go through your programme there kid and count the number of Derrytresk players in the Tyrone team on Saturday. WUM

http://www.rte.ie/sport/gaa/football/2012/0124/290562-jfc_brawl/

The debate on RTE and here is whether Tyrone has a problem with cynicism. I say yes and above is another example. Can you see any similarities between the Tyrone response then and now (if the referee didn't do anything everything is OK)
Other people here want to use indefencible incidentents to defend an indefencible strategy, that's fine by me go ahead everyone on this forum can pick out incidents of cynicism. The question is this Do you think that there is a problem with cynicism within Tyrone football, Yes,no, or I don't know. that's the debate.
In my own county there was a serious incident (of cynicism) a few years back at a club match which was dealt with in no uncertain terms (it was not acceptable to neither supporter nor legislator) and that ended that. I don't want cynicism ruining our game not from Tyrone, not from Monaghan or anyone else
As for the WUM, best laugh I had since McAlliskey's miraculous recovery on Saturday

mhunicean_abu (Monaghan) - Posts: 1044 - 11/08/2015 12:06:24    1767944

Tyrone have a junk reputation, partly deserved, partly unwarranted. I've said it before that cynicism is a tactic in their side and I've seen nothing to convince me otherwise in recent times.

Yet through all this RTE et al point the finger at one side who push the boundaries without sustaining any pressure on the real culprits; the GAA powers that be. Perhaps that is beginning to change.

It is they who have sat back and let all manners of new ploys by many teams bring the game to it's knees. It is they who preside over an organisation where change is as slow as winter. Does anyone actually believe that sides would get away with this behaviour if appropriate deterrents were in place?

Not too mention the whistle happy referees who are incapable of implementing laws without bias.

The commercial aspect of the GAA, being Croke Park, sponsorship, exposure from the SKY deal etc is professional. However the administration on the games is as amateur as it gets and is stuck in a previous century.

Blaming Tyrone is akin to blaming tax avoiders for bankrupting a state. The problem here is the GAA authorities, not Tyrone. If your laws are lax people will exploit the system. Simple as. The only surprise is that more teams are not using these tactics.

seany16 (Dublin) - Posts: 1658 - 11/08/2015 12:52:34    1767988

seany16

See your point, It's a legitimate argument rather than denial

mhunicean_abu (Monaghan) - Posts: 1044 - 11/08/2015 13:08:13    1768002

mhunicean_abu

What about Darren Hughes falling like a dying swan and getting Rory Kavanagh sent off last year for picking up his boot and shaking it at him. Did anybody in Monaghan call him to account for this? Every county & club needs to put it's own house in order before throwing stones.

opa01 (Cavan) - Posts: 503 - 11/08/2015 13:31:52    1768024

When Tyrone win Sam , the rte banquet with them shall be good. Oh wait .... What would happen there lads ?

222 (UK) - Posts: 694 - 11/08/2015 13:39:50    1768028