Kerry vs Tyrone Aug 23rd

Tyroneed, don't you be worrying too much what Kerry will be doing.

You just make sure your lads learn to behave themselves. The eyes of the nation will be on ye ;)

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 20/08/2015 19:46:17    1773501

Tyrone are currently 7/2 to beat Kerry and I think those are crazy for the following reasons.

1. Kerry have not been tested yet this year.

Cork are far from amazing as we saw when they were hammered by a bad Kildare team.
Kildare capitulated once the first goal went in, they completely lost all shape and this led to the other goals. Before the first goal the Kildare defense was doing a decent job.

2. Tyrone have serious momentum going into this game

They have just come off the back of some competitive games and beaten the Ulster champions, confidence will be high.
This "Rufflegate" thing will bring them together and mean they have a serious point to prove on Sunday

3.Kerry tend to struggle vs a blanket defence

Always have in the past, simples

4. Kerry struggle when a team puts it up to them for the full 70 mins

Tyrone are one of the only teams that did it during the naughties and they beat them in Croker 3 times because of it - and because they struggle vs the blanket.

Man for man Kerry have better players than Tyrone, but I do not believe that Tyrone are 3 to 1. The game will be tight, I dont see Tyrone leaking anymore than maybe one goal. Tyrone are better up front than people give them credit for and they are a serious threat on the counter.

Tyrone - Mayo Final, you heard it here first!

Unsullied (Mayo) - Posts: 18 - 20/08/2015 20:06:53    1773516

Fantastic analysis from the above poster.

A team (like Kerry) struggle when the opposition put it up to them for 70 minutes.

That's a new one on me, you heard it here first....

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 20/08/2015 20:26:18    1773524

Yep we haven't been tested.
2 games against cork one which realistically should have lost.
As opposed to Tyrone who had a real tough run through the qualifiers, beating Limerick,Tipp, Sligo & Meath.
Regarding the blanket defense you must have missed how we dealt with it last year.
This will be a tight game no doubt about it but I expect our experience & quality to win out.

westkerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1250 - 20/08/2015 20:36:25    1773532

The Kerry Senior Football Team to play Tyrone in the All Ireland Semi Final in Croke Park on Sunday next at 3:30pm shows three changes in personnel from the side that defeated Kildare in the Quarter Final: Peter Crowley comes into the defence in place of Aidan O'Mahony, Johnny Buckley returns to the half forward line in place of Bryan Sheehan and Kieran Donaghy, who missed the Quarter Final due to injury, resumes at full forward with Paul Geaney the player to lose out.
Pa Kilkenny and Alan Fitzgerald are included in the substitutes panel in place of the injured Michael Geaney and Jack Sherwood.

The team, captained by Kieran Donaghy is as follows:
1. Brendan Kealy Kilcummin
2. Paul Murphy Rathmore
3. Marc Ó Sé An Ghaeltacht
4. Shane Enright Tarbert
5. Jonathan Lyne Killarney Legion
6. Peter Crowley Laune Rangers
7. Killian Young Renard
8. Anthony Maher Duagh
9. David Moran Kerins O'Rahillys
10. Stephen O'Brien Kenmare
11. Johnny Buckley Dr Crokes
12. Donnchadh Walsh Cromane
13. Colm Cooper Dr Crokes
14. Kieran Donaghy (C) Austin Stacks
15. James O'Donoghue Killarney Legion
Fir Ionaid
16. Brian Kelly Killarney Legion
17. Aidan O'Mahony Rathmore
18. Bryan Sheehan St Marys
19. Paul Geaney Dingle
20. Barry John Keane Kerins O'Rahillys
21. Darran O'Sullivan Glenbeigh-Glencar
22. Fionn Fitzgerald Dr Crokes
23. Paul Galvin Finuge
24. Tommy Walsh Kerins O'Rahillys
25. Pa Kilkenny Glenbeigh/Glencar
26. Alan Fitzgerald Castlegregory

Bainisteóir: Eamonn Fitzmaurice (Finuge)
Róghnóirí: Diarmuid Murphy (Dingle), Mikey Sheehy (Austin Stacks), Cian O'Neill (Moorefield, Kildare).

On Field Medical Team for Sunday:
Dr Linda O'Callaghan
Ed Harnett (Physio)

Additional Information:
Additional Squad Members
Mark Griffin St Michaels-Foilmore
Padraig O'Connor Killarney Legion
Philip O'Connor Cordal
Jack Sherwood Firies (Injured)
Michael Geaney Dingle (Injured)
Kieran O'Leary Dr Crokes (Recovering from an Achilles Tendon Injur

Read more: http://kerrygaa.proboards.com/thread/5816/kerry-tyrone?page=16#ixzz3jO2oyvZH

KY4SAM2015 (Kerry) - Posts: 898 - 20/08/2015 20:52:56    1773546

Kerry team is: Kealy, Paul, Marc, Enright, Lyne, Crowley, Young, Maher, Moran, O'Brien, Buckley, Donnachadh, Cooper, Donaghy and James.

Surprised JOD is fit to start..

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 20/08/2015 21:10:48    1773562

Fair dues to Tyrone for reaching the semi final,but i just cannot see them beating Kerry.Tipperary,Sligo and Monaghan have not been the toughest of opposition for Tyrone.Monaghan flattered to deceive in HQ,once again proving you need more than one marquee forward to trouble the big boys.Tyrone have a smattering of seasoned,skillfull footballers like P Harte,M Donnelly and S Cavanagh and some speedy finishers like McCurry,but they dont have the scoring power of the Kingdom in full bloom.J O Donoghue is scoring machine,with the speed of Usain Bolt.Gooch will use his football brain to create openings and overlaps.Im sure he will be well marshalled,but all he needs is a few fleeting moments,and the damage is done.Its not as dangerous a Kerry forward line as years past imo.D Walsh will get through his usual mountain of work,but skillwise,hes nothing special.Geaney is no Mike Frank Russell.Not yet anyway.Declan O Sullivan,being the supreme artist he was,will be sorely missed.Its at midfield,i feel Kerry will wipe Tyrone out and win the game.Maher and Moran will destroy Cavanagh & Donnelly(if they line up this way)in the air.Im sure Tyrone & Micky have a trick up their sleeve,but Moran in particular is beautiful kicker of the ball and rarely loses possession.Looking forward to a good game.As a neutral i hope Tyrone stay in the game for as long as possible,but im not so sure.Kerry 2-15 v Tyrone 0-13.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 20/08/2015 21:16:44    1773563

Can't believe O Mahony is dropped ? He's a beast back there for Kerry he must be injured? Also no Byran Sheehan who'll take the long range frees off the ground?

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 21/08/2015 09:50:41    1773640

Can't believe O Mahony is dropped ? He's a beast back there for Kerry he must be injured? Also no Byran Sheehan who'll take the long range frees off the ground?

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Speed, or lack of it is the reason for those 2 changes. Fitzmaurice is no mug, and realises that both of those players would have found the going very fast in the early stages. They'll be on when the game slows down.

I took the Kerry selection as a sign of respect for Tyrone - 3 personnel changes, and 4 positional changes in defence.

I'm not convinced that O'Donoghue will start.

Thomas Clarke (Tyrone) - Posts: 1002 - 21/08/2015 09:57:03    1773644

I think Fitzmaurice is turning things on its head this time playing mickey at his own game and a different team will start. Tyrone don't have the option any more to hide any cards up our sleeve unfortunately. Unless wee peter runs out wearing 27 on Sunday, he has been keeping a low profile the last 2 weeks

redhanddefender (Tyrone) - Posts: 913 - 21/08/2015 09:59:09    1773647

Missing some of the preparation due to his wedding and honeymoon is the reason O'Mahony isn't starting. Tyrone don't tend to foul far out the field and Sheehan was terrible v Kildare.

SeppBlatter (Dublin) - Posts: 187 - 21/08/2015 10:03:35    1773650

Kerry struggle when a team puts it up to them for the full 70 mins

This statement is not as crazy as it sounds. Look at the games where it goes right to the wire in recent years. 20111 when the Dubs won by a point in the final, 2012 v Donegal, 2013 when the Dubs late scoring spree gave them a 7 point win. Kerry won a tight tense final last year though which will stand to them.

Still think Kerry to win this one, but waiting to see what the Tyrone lads have up the sleeve here.

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 21/08/2015 10:05:25    1773652

Many Kerry lads heading in for the minor? Ill be honest and say i dont know much about the Kerry minors so dont know what to expect

DoireCityFC (Derry) - Posts: 1580 - 21/08/2015 10:47:35    1773675

O' Mahony is a player who has only benefited from the defensive structure that Kerry have put in place since last year. Yes he battles hard but his legs are gone and let's be honest he could have smoked a cigar and had a pint in the game against kildare. They posed no threat whatsoever and he had a free role with no pressure. Still think Kerry have defensive weaknesses if opposition forwards can get enough ball and run directly at them notwithstanding the officials doing there job.

Adamski (Dublin) - Posts: 339 - 21/08/2015 10:54:09    1773682

Doirecityfc
Ya I'm hoping to be there for the minor game once I don't get caught in traffic or something.
Our minors this year are all pretty young I think 15 or 16 of the 26 are eligible again next year, I think we only have 3/4 from last years panel so its all pretty new to a lot these lads, unfortunately this year team wouldn't have the flare of last years bunch where we had Matthew flaherty micheál burns tomàs o'sé killian Spillane Jordan kiely and barry O'sullivan who could be another Darragh o'sé but this years bunch are honest lads and hard grafters .
What's the Derry team like? I know ye have Conor glass and he is some prospect (as a Tyrone supporter would say) but I hear he is only back from Australia where he is after signing for an afl team.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 21/08/2015 11:12:03    1773704

Sepp blatter
Ya your right the BIG mahuna got married last week abroad somewhere so that would have to be the reason or maybe it's tactical . And Sheehan just wouldn't have the legs for this young Tyrone team unfortunately but I'm sure he'l be on in the last 20 mins when the tired tackles will be going in.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 21/08/2015 11:19:02    1773709

A player is entitled to get married whatever date he likes but it does seem a funny time of year for a Kerry footballer to get married. Is that harsh for me to say or do posters agree? Like April May when the weather is nice and no real football is being played would be ideal? Cause you know Kerry every year will be playing ball in August.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 21/08/2015 11:34:54    1773716

Ah come on Slayer that statement is the most clichéd bit of mumbo jumbo I've heard on here for along time.

Any effin team will struggle when the opposition 'puts' it up to them for 70 minutes!!!

What other nuggets of wisdom has that poster for us: Are Tyrone waiting in the long grass....

Is it going to be a game of two halves...

Do goals win matches...

Sure its a 26 man game these days...

I take back what I said about Jim Mac's Irish Times articles.

Come back Jimmy, all is forgiven.

Tell us how you beat Dublin last year again....

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 21/08/2015 11:42:32    1773721

KingdomBoy1 Im not sure if the glass to oz thing is true but if so fair play to the lad. id be doing the same thing at his age. The Derry team are a bit of a surprise this year. Not expected do to well in ulster. In the final every man knew his role to a T. Not sure if we would have the same standard as the Kerry boys but management seem to have them well drilled.

DoireCityFC (Derry) - Posts: 1580 - 21/08/2015 11:43:38    1773723

A player is entitled to get married whatever date he likes but it does seem a funny time of year for a Kerry footballer to get married. Is that harsh for me to say or do posters agree? Like April May when the weather is nice and no real football is being played would be ideal? Cause you know Kerry every year will be playing ball in August.

Maybe he had no say in it! ;)

SeppBlatter (Dublin) - Posts: 187 - 21/08/2015 11:44:07    1773724