Kerry vs Tyrone Aug 23rd

I saw a desperate display from Tyrone in omagh who needed a very dodgy penalty to beat a very average Meath. Kerry by as much as they like.

royaldunne (Meath) - 13/08/2015 14:44:28
--------------------
Same as Kerry in first day out against Cork then. Will mean nothing come the 23rd.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 13/08/2015 16:27:30    1769570

TYRONE Massive underdogs! Kerry untouchable ! To get to this stage of the Competition after bowing out in early May in a Damp Ballybuffet I would have bitten your hand off and to draw the Biggest Team in the country at this stage is fantastic, I just hope the Boys do themselves justice on the day hard hats on and maybe a few shields with all the stones that has been directed at Young McCann and Co its been like the Ardoyne shops around here the last few days, I guess we will have to use Dylans Rainy Day Woman as a battle Cry, Everybody Must get stoned !.Hon Tyrone Total Faith.

fortyfive (Tyrone) - Posts: 5929 - 13/08/2015 20:01:28    1769698

Very few people expected the previous 6 champions to lose when they did. Tyrone are back. They'll have their tactics in place to snuff out the Kerry threat. They'll have a few tricks up their sleeve as well. I hate being pessimistic about it but the indicators are Tyrone will advance to take on Mayo or Dublin. I hope I'm wrong. Sure we'll hope for the best on the day. Ciarraí abú!

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7873 - 13/08/2015 20:47:29    1769737

We just ain't scoring goals and goals win games. Kerry can score for fun and once they have broken our resistance the floodgates will open eventually, but I hope we will have given Kerry the toughest game of the championship so far, that's good enough for me.

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 13/08/2015 20:58:20    1769748

Well Brend if ye do that ye'll beat them, because Cork drew with them and should have won!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8596 - 13/08/2015 21:02:18    1769750

Really think most of the neutrals will be hoping for a tyrone win in this one the kerry lads are great as long as they are beating you but watch them turn if it goes the other way hence their dislike for tyrone and dubs especially they dont seem to have a problem with mayo thats because they have their number but just watch things change if mayo happen to turn them over in the final, they are by far and away the worst sports in the land,

millhouse (Meath) - Posts: 892 - 13/08/2015 21:26:33    1769774

Mayo have a problem with Kerry. Their players were goading our players when they thought they had won the first day out last year. When Tyrone came down to Killarney in '12 they got a great welcome. The following spring they offered refreshments for Kerry supporters who made the trip up during the league. Dublin supporters in my experience have always been great in victory or defeat. Very sporting.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7873 - 13/08/2015 21:39:29    1769790

Still treasuring that Leinster title from 2010 millhouse ;)

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 13/08/2015 21:43:26    1769796

Fair play legendzxix, a long way from the stereotype image a lot of country people have of us.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8596 - 13/08/2015 21:48:57    1769808

Ah hermit that was a great day indeed it must not sit too well down in kerry that at the moment dublin are the team of this decade not only were tyrone the team of the last decade but the greatest team to ever play the game its a toss up between meath and down for team of the 90s but i will give kerry team of the 80s even though ye only had to win 3 or 4 games to win sam in those years.

millhouse (Meath) - Posts: 892 - 13/08/2015 21:55:28    1769813

millhouse - I think the "Team of the decade" is decided by who wins the most All Irelands in any given decade. I'd hazard a guess that Kerry were team of the decade in the 70s, 80s and the 00s. I expect they will end up being "Team of the Decade" again in the 2010s due to the depth of talent they currently possess.
Sad but true

pdempsey (Mayo) - Posts: 1313 - 14/08/2015 08:19:08    1769823

Thought the perfromance of mattie Donnelly against Monaghon was one of the best individual perfromances of the year.
he was Sean Cavanaghesque!!

Kerry will be favourites for the game but Tyrone will not be underestimated.
This is a game that Mickey harte will be licking his lips at...for his own perspective this is the game why he stayed on to go through the rebuilding process

I dont expect the game will be aclassic but a tough encounter....I do think (hope) Kerry will have too many aces in the pack but no certainty that James O Donoghue will be played...if he does his shoulder will be well and truly tested, but that is natural!

Michael Geaney is also a big loss too, no flashiness on his part but has a great work ethic. Hopefully he will be back in form next year.

woops (Kerry) - Posts: 2073 - 14/08/2015 08:28:36    1769828

They are 2 fairly evenly matched teams in my opinion. Two good managers also. Will it go down to the "man in the middle"? I hope not. But it is the same "man in the middle" who reffed the Munster final replay- what do posters think of that?

galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 2520 - 14/08/2015 09:09:30    1769840

I read a comment somewhere yesterday from a Tyrone man that said if (and he did say a big IF) Tyrone were to get to the final or even go all the way RTE would have a big problem after the Sunday Game last week. They said they can't imagine any ex Tyrone players would be too willing to be on Up for the Match the night before not to mention they'd probably refuse RTE access to the winners banquet (if it got that far). I know the odds are against Tyrone but I'm just throwing it out there as a possibility.

What do Tyrone fans think of this? If the above were to happen (Tyrone getting to the semi final OR going all the way), do you think Mickey Harte and co will refuse RTE any access to interviews/winners banquet etc.? Are there many ex Tyrone players you think will be willing to be on Up for the Match the night before? Will Tyrone fans themselves show up to be in the audience or would it be an all out boycott?

CroiGorm (Dublin) - Posts: 1547 - 14/08/2015 09:11:53    1769841

CroiGorm

I read a comment somewhere yesterday from a Tyrone man that said if (and he did say a big IF) Tyrone were to get to the final or even go all the way RTE would have a big problem after the Sunday Game last week. They said they can't imagine any ex Tyrone players would be too willing to be on Up for the Match the night before not to mention they'd probably refuse RTE access to the winners banquet (if it got that far). I know the odds are against Tyrone but I'm just throwing it out there as a possibility.

What do Tyrone fans think of this? If the above were to happen (Tyrone getting to the semi final OR going all the way), do you think Mickey Harte and co will refuse RTE any access to interviews/winners banquet etc.? Are there many ex Tyrone players you think will be willing to be on Up for the Match the night before? Will Tyrone fans themselves show up to be in the audience or would it be an all out boycott?

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
IF Tyrone were to be in and win an AI final, there isn't a hope in hell of any RTE interviews/access/promos with any of the current squad, before or after the match. There's no chance that RTE would be at the banquet. I'd also be very surprised if any ex-players or family members of current panelists were willing to go on Up for the Match.

For those unsure of the origins of this feud, the Indo summarised it a couple of years ago: link

Thomas Clarke (Tyrone) - Posts: 1002 - 14/08/2015 09:37:24    1769866

Tyrone are a good average side, no more than that. They're not at the level of the other 3 remaining teams. Unlike the other 3 teams, we no longer have a couple of exceptional players who can grab a few scores even when the team was playing badly. Tyrone in is over-performing to get this far; credit to Harte for taking them this far, but you could see from the poor support v Monaghan that plenty of Tyrone fans voted with their feet and didn't expect them to beat Monaghan. We were lucky that Monaghan were very disappointing - their workrate and intensity was poor, dipped badly from the Ulster final, and too reliant on McManus. Kerry - for as far back as I can remember, as the c'ship progresses, they improve in every game. Tyrone has beaten a few poor teams from lower divisions and a disappointing Monaghan; but those are no preparation whatsoever for playing Kerry in a semi. In those other games, Tyrone could afford to mess about, not be in the game for periods, take time to settle into the game etc, and the opposition was poor enough not to capitalise. They won't get that luxury v Kerry. What use is a blanket defence against a spread of attacking talent like Kerry has? In the last decade, I always knew we'd be competitive and if things went right a win was possible. For this next encounter, I'd settle for giving a decent account of ourselves and avoiding being minced. If Kerry get a couple of quick scores early on, it could make for painful watching. To beat this current Kerry team in their current ruthless form, a lot of things would have to go very right for us and a lot of things go wrong for Kerry. Kerry by hopefully no more than 6 points.

essmac (Tyrone) - Posts: 1141 - 14/08/2015 11:07:43    1769952

Tyrone were good for 40 minutes against Monaghan who lets face it have issues performing on the big stage. They were awful against Meath and just ok against tipperary and Sligo. That said Kerry are completely untested. It will be tight but Kerry will win as they are always good for 2 goals and Tyrone don't have the man power up front really. if Tyrone backs , who are playing some fine stuff can keep the Kerry forwards goal less there is a chance, however this Kerry team just look to have too much on the bench.

aabb (Tyrone) - Posts: 65 - 14/08/2015 21:14:23    1770449

Kerry by a few points but I think Tyrone will put up a good fight snd, given recent events, I imagine there will be just a little bit of support for them this time.

BIG SACKS (Tyrone) - Posts: 1681 - 14/08/2015 21:38:54    1770463

Most Tyrone fans have no time for this stupid RTE boycott, RTE is the national broadcaster whatever its faults,

tireoghainabu (Tyrone) - Posts: 276 - 14/08/2015 21:51:10    1770469

Total credit to Mickie Harte another team well on to being the finished product. win loose or draw next Sunday. very best wishes. Real Monaghan Gaa enthusiasts are in awe at your achievements.

border Gael (Monaghan) - Posts: 894 - 14/08/2015 21:51:29    1770470