Kerry vs Tyrone Aug 23rd

Am I happy with the soccer scourge of play acting and acting the debit contaminating GF? No! That said, I want it known that the BlueBoys are purer than the driven snow... and all mention of Mickey Ned and the 83 final are but scurrilous slander

plike (Kerry) - Posts: 569 - 13/08/2015 12:57:19    1769398

Am I happy with the soccer scourge of play acting and acting the eejit contaminating GF? No! That said, I want it known that the BlueBoys are purer than the driven snow... and all mention of Mickey Ned and the 83 final are but scurrilous slander

plike (Kerry) - Posts: 569 - 13/08/2015 12:58:17    1769399

Better players will win Kerry , their abilty to change to play whatever tactics Tyrone adopt is why .
On the other hand I did not think we,d see Tyrone in the semi final so anything is possible , as a contest I really am looking forward to this , however its a game that brings out the very worst on HS , cant say I will read or post to much more , not bothered who wins , there was a time when Id be screaming for Kerry to win as Ive had such great days over the last four decades against them , but you know since our last couple of win,s and my trip to Kilarney this year , Ive found there a different animal when your beating them .

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 13/08/2015 13:26:27    1769418

plike

Am I happy with the soccer scourge of play acting and acting the debit contaminating GF? No! That said, I want it known that the BlueBoys are purer than the driven snow... and all mention of Mickey Ned and the 83 final are but scurrilous slander

Thought you were talking about your Girlfriend there. was gna tell you to get rid of her.

I can see Tyrone's style of play altering on the 23rd it always seems to be the case when playing against Kerry and non better than the win against them in 2003 when they swarmed kerry. Any player that had the ball was surrounded by two or three different Tyrone men. I'd like to think MH is smarter than that and has a real plan of attack against Kerry. Not once have we played Kerry with the same style of football 08 we didnt have Pete and O'Neill didn't start cause he was drafted back in after he previously retired from county football and coming up against the "twin towers" with Big Joe out, if they try this i think McNamee will be more than capable under the high ball.

Find_the_space (Tyrone) - Posts: 313 - 13/08/2015 13:28:06    1769419

Cork showed that Kerry are very, very beatable. In the first game they should have won by 5 or 6 points pulling up. In the replay Cork were mentally beaten before they took to the pitch. Kerry have that effect on them. When Cork throw away the opportunity to beat Kerry their heads go down and the battle is lost. Over the past few years Kerry have been allowed to dictate the agenda and style in big games right from the start. Tyrone have to get in their faces and put doubt in them, Kerry don't respond well to doubt and pressure as Tyrone have shown the past decade; more of the same is required.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9720 - 13/08/2015 13:57:08    1769440

and my trip to Kilarney this year , Ive found there a different animal when your beating them .

Eh, Damo you lost in Killarney....

However, I'm sure you're very proud of beating us twice now in 35 years,

Fair play to Dublin that's a wonderful achievement ;)

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 13/08/2015 14:09:47    1769450

Going to be a tough game, if we can get a couple of early goals and build up a lead we should beat Tyrone. Kerry will make sure this time they will be ready for Tyrone tactics ie take no **** from them bring it on lads.

kerryrowz (Kerry) - Posts: 833 - 13/08/2015 14:12:02    1769452

Plike obviously history is not your strong point, I think the game you refer to is the 1975 Ai final, the one where Mickey ned o sullivan headbutted Sean Dohertys elbow whilst at the same time body checking robbie kelleher The 83 final was won by Dublin, Kerry didn't make it out of munster that year because Cork put manners on them and then Dublin put manners on Cork in the semi final replay down in pairc ui chaoimh! Happy to set the record straight for you!

DUBJOHN (Dublin) - Posts: 932 - 13/08/2015 14:13:11    1769454

Tiernan Mc Canns actions were stupid and wrong yes, do they deserve a 8 week ban.... no

OmaghKCman (Tyrone) - Posts: 4 - 13/08/2015 14:19:43    1769460

I should also add that Kerry are a fine, fine side with some excellent players and David Moran is way out in front for Player of the Year. However if teams are to compete against them and have any chance they have to get in their faces, annoy and rattle them quickly; you cannot show them any respect on the pitch or they will eat you up as Cork and Mayo will testify. When Cork started to dominate Kerry in the first game you could see the doubt come into Kerry.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9720 - 13/08/2015 14:24:36    1769463

I've just read someone suggest Mc Cann get 12 months jail time for the dive!!

If that doesn't exemplify the craziness of this issue nothing will.

I'm betting this match will be tight with the winner emerging in the final 10 minutes, Kerry obviously favorites but i'd imagine they won't be looking forward to this match one bit!

Seansy48 (Tyrone) - Posts: 237 - 13/08/2015 14:25:01    1769464

If we ship goals we will lose

redhanddefender (Tyrone) - Posts: 913 - 13/08/2015 14:33:41    1769472

Maurice Deegan will have a huge part to play in the outcome of this game, it's crucial that he acts from the first whistle to cut out the usual cynicism and playacting from the boys in green and gold! Oh no wait sure Kerry don't indulge in that sort of behaviour sure aren't they the purists! Silly me!

DUBJOHN (Dublin) - Posts: 932 - 13/08/2015 14:39:05    1769480

I saw a desperate display from Tyrone in omagh who needed a very dodgy penalty to beat a very average Meath.
Kerry by as much as they like.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 13/08/2015 14:44:28    1769485

Dubjohn
I tought you weren't going to be posting anymore on this game???
Speaking of reffs for the semi what do you think of joe mcquillan reffing mayo dub game??? I bet your delighted :-D

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 13/08/2015 15:45:05    1769528

Fair play Kingdomboy keep the Jackeens on their toes!

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 13/08/2015 15:54:58    1769538

Kingdomboy when did I say I wouldn't be posting anything more about this game? Enlighten me please like a good lad!

DUBJOHN (Dublin) - Posts: 932 - 13/08/2015 16:06:49    1769551

@dubjohn.

Reread what I wrote. If I needed you to remind me of history, I'd be rightly banjacksed.

In Kerry, the sorest loss was to Offaly in 82. We missed a penalty and they played to the wire. They were a great team and well worthy of the win.The biggest crowd I ever saw in Killarney greeted that team for the homecoming. Respect.

Can Tyrone win? Yes, they can. MH is no fool. SC is a dynamic player. If luck- and the ref- goes their way... Hopefully, it will be won by brilliant scores and not by grimly gripping the blanket.

plike (Kerry) - Posts: 569 - 13/08/2015 16:08:11    1769552

Kermits us dubs are always on our toes! We don't need you Kerry boys to keep us alert, touchy shower that you are!

DUBJOHN (Dublin) - Posts: 932 - 13/08/2015 16:08:47    1769554

TheHermit

1769450 and my trip to Kilarney this year , Ive found there a different animal when your beating them .

Eh, Damo you lost in Killarney....

However, I'm sure you're very proud of beating us twice now in 35 years,

Fair play to Dublin that's a wonderful achievement ;)

Lost in the league , of which we went on to win
Hospitality was not what I remembered when you allways beat us out the gate , and yes TWO championship wins YES TWO was all it took for some Kerrymen to show their true colours ,

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 13/08/2015 16:25:30    1769569