Kerry vs Tyrone Aug 23rd

Having watched that second penalty incident numerous time at this stage,im still not 100% sure whether it was a penalty.A hard call for any referee.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 24/08/2015 13:06:37    1775196

Having watched that second penalty incident numerous time at this stage,im still not 100% sure whether it was a penalty.A hard call for any referee.

Agree with this totally. I still cannot call it after 10 replays.

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 24/08/2015 13:16:15    1775218

I agree cuederocket. Watching it live, I saw immediately that it was a dive by McNulty but couldn't see exactly what kind of contact there had been before that. Having watched it a few times since it's impossible to see exactly what kind of contact there was between O'Mahony and McNulty. The camera angles weren't the best. The only thing that I'm sure of is that McNulty took a spectacular dive. If he hadn't dived he may well have been pulled down and got the penalty. In the end, I think it was the right decision.

lessbull (Kerry) - Posts: 177 - 24/08/2015 13:57:20    1775275

TomTucker

I'm not buying all this craic about Fitzmaurice being a great manager. He's a good manager, and an incredibly lucky manager. Take last year for instance, Mayo should have beaten them twice but for their failure to close out the game the first day with 14 men and because of a diabolical referee the 2nd day. Then in the final, the only reason they won against a Donegal team playing woefully was for two fortuitous goals. One of them was through a dirty ball won by Paul Geaney, yet Fitzmaurice hardly employed this tactic for the remainder of the game. And this year, a referee handed them a replay in the Munster final and decided yesterdays game for them when the game was in the melting pot in the last 10 minute. A black which was yellow for Tyrone, a yellow that was a black for Kerry and a penalty that was never given. Saying that, Kerry were getting the decisions all game. At least 4 points were gifted to Kerry by the referee.

• Colm Kavanagh was pushed in the back, and Deegan immediately gave a free to David Moran. Kavanagh protested, ball is moved forward, point to Kerry.
• The 45 that never was. Point to Kerry.
• James O Donoghue dive off the ball. Point to Kerry.
• Two minutes of stoppage time up in the first half. Kerry allowed to play on. Point to Kerry.

Tyrone were denied two clear frees inside the 21 yard line. One when Donnacha Walsh slid tackled Colm Kavanagh. The other when a Kerry defender played the ball on the ground in the 2nd half.

Also, the gooch should have seen yellow at least for his cowardly two fisted effort at playing the ball which caught a Tyrone man straight in the face. Dangerous play, yellow or red card. Probably merited a yellow. Then their was David Morans ankle tap trip, which the referee clearly saw as he gave a free. Black card offence.

And of course he could have booked any number of Kerry players for preventing Morgan taking quick kickouts and for standing too close and goading free takers. It was actually sickening to watch the cynicism of Kerry, but sure they don't do that sort of thing down in Kerry. The reality is Tyrone could still have won this game if they had taken at least two their four clear goal chances, along with converting their free kicks. They will be kicking themselves but I don't think they would have stood a chance in the final as the other side of the draw is much stronger. For the sake of football, I hope Mayo win it this year. Them or the Dubs. And an impartial referee for the final would be great.

Jaysus you must have had fun yesterday with your notepad taking down all those incidents.. hope you didnt run out of ink..what was the headline on your page of notes?? Those bold boys from Kerry??

After the all Ireland final this year maybe you could categorise all the Kerry fouls into different sections..maybe start with less serious fouls and go from there..or maybe in chronological order from minute one and highlight every foul we commit. Your post was rather confusing as you had all our fouls noted but it was hard to tell which ones you were referencing.

When you are listing Kerry fouls in your notepad for the final try to make it more reader friendly..good man and keep up the good work.

KY4SAM2015 (Kerry) - Posts: 898 - 24/08/2015 14:04:59    1775280

Thought Fitzmaurice was tactically very good again yesterday - 1st half tried to use Donaghy to open pockets of space for others and that worked for Buckley. Tyrone solved that problem as the half wore on and then changed it up again for the 2nd half. Also Kerry worked very hard probing both wings constantly when in pocession and at all times at least 2 men went together to ensure they could recycle the ball - this pulled the Tyrone defence out of shape. Big risk was that the wing backs were providing the support down the wings on several attacks and when the ball was turned over in the middle of the field we were caught short for cover at the back.
Funny to see some of the comments criticising Kerrys approach - we were criticised for being soft and tactically naive through the 00's when we met Tyrone - now we fight fire with fire tactically and have a ruthless streak...teams like Galway could learn a thing or two from Kerrys approach against the defensive set ups!

blacknamber (Kerry) - Posts: 267 - 24/08/2015 14:49:25    1775328

Thought Fitzmaurice was tactically very good again yesterday

In my opinion this guy is a superb manager. He makes big calls, gets them right, rarely gets excited on the line and his pre & post match interviews answer every question, but in a monotone voice that the pundits can never say 'he was upset' etc. He soulnds the same all the time.

He also played down the Kerry/Tyrone rivalry or previous defeats so much so that you'd nearly believe yesterday was just another game.

So far as a manager, very impressive.

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 24/08/2015 16:29:20    1775432

Id agree slayer. Just look at his substitutions. He took off his captain and then his most influential player to date in donaghy and moran. Most managers wouldn't have the belief in their own convictions to do that. He knew what was needed to improve, he knew the guys on the bench who had that, big names meant nothing. And all this in the heat of a tight game against their bogey-team, on a wet miserable day where things hadn't been going great for them. Credit where it is due, that was top class.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 24/08/2015 16:47:23    1775458

Good man kerry4sam. Typical 'curry' arrogance. Attack the man instead of responding to the very valid points made. Sure how wouldn't they be shown favouritism given that practically the entire broadcast and print media is infected with ex 'curry' players. Yerra yerra we're not that bad. It's those big bad Nordies. When in reality Kerry have been the most cynical set of footballers in the country for years now.

TomTucker (Galway) - Posts: 7 - 24/08/2015 20:07:39    1775582

Well lads,had to let the dust settle for a day or so before posting on this one.
First of all,congratulations to Kerry,you deserved the win as over the course of the game you were the marginally better side when it came to playing ball. Secondly,I do see the bones of a new good side starting to take shape for us. I feel these lads will take great lessons away from this years games and will improve going forward. Shot selection and finishing will get better and the desire to win is clearly in them. Kickouts will also need to be worked on as you simply cannot gift points to your opponents at this level. They gave it their all yesterday and while frustrated that the game slipped away from them I am immensely proud of them for their efforts all year. Well done lads.
In the last ten mins Kerry showed great resolve to put the game beyond us and that will be encouraging for them. I do feel we didn't get the rub of the green so to speak that sometimes makes the difference between winning and losing,it was of our own making though so it's not a complaint,just an acknowledgement of the way it panned out. Such is life. Good luck to Kerry in the final.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 24/08/2015 20:53:32    1775598

2nd penalty incident Mcnulty pulled Mahonys shirt before diving excellent ref call

RAHKILL (Westmeath) - Posts: 395 - 24/08/2015 21:24:52    1775623

2nd penalty incident Mcnulty pulled Mahonys shirt before diving excellent ref call

O'Mahony was all over him, I wonder how long did it take Kevin McStay to find a screenshot that could justify the decision.

Anyway it doesn't really matter, we had enough goal chances.

MichaelO (Tyrone) - Posts: 820 - 24/08/2015 21:38:42    1775633

Why are you talking about curry in a football discussion, Tucker?

KYTitletown (Kerry) - Posts: 816 - 24/08/2015 21:39:51    1775634

Kerry were the better side. Tyrone had chances and did'nt take them.

galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 2520 - 25/08/2015 09:46:20    1775689

For me when the going got tough the tough got going and Kerry got tough and got going in the final six minutes to close out the game with four excellent and unanswered points. This is what really mattered at the finish. A tough game between two great sides and nobody from Kerry expected any different but fair play to our lads for showing that extra bit of steel when it counted most.

dingle2 (Kerry) - Posts: 278 - 25/08/2015 10:30:56    1775734

just a few more comments re Yellow cards v Black cards in Sunday's game. in the overall scheme of things I don't think it made much difference. most teams have fairly good squads now and a black card simply means you use a sub that is probably just as effective as the man he replaced. I thought Fionn Fitzgerald had a good game when he came on so I don't believe that Kerry lost out in that exchange.
Conor Clarke coming on for McNamee didn't weaken Tyrone either I believe. If Shane Enright had gotten a Black instead of yellow Kerry had still Aidan O'Mahony or Paul Galvin on the bench to come on. I think the only time a black card really effects a team is if a marquee player is on the receiving end. It would effect a lesser team alot more because they wouldn't have the squad to cope. The likes of Kerry or Dublin would not be unduly effected . Of course for the player himself it is always a dissappointment especially in the early stages of a game.
Now let's say next Sunday Aidan O' Shea or Cillian O' Connor get black-carded in the early stages then that is a mighty blow to Mayo. If any of the Dublin players including B.Brogan or Connolly get black-carded I believe Dublin can cope.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 25/08/2015 11:07:17    1775770

The wonderful tactical genus emanating from the North in the personae of Kernan Harte and the neo Moses that is Jim Mc Guinness had revolutiized Gaelic football with new systems and new terminology 'blanket','sweeper' 'zone' 'runner' turnover' all too much for the naive Kerrymen so the media were having a field writing of the demise of old fashioned antedeluvianKerry football So Kerrysat down analysed the analysis and devised systems to combat ledgers and divers albeit using some of the new tricks to out smart the re inventors . First Armaghs citadel collapsed then Donegal and finally Tyrone so from being the scapegoats that always succumbed to the greatness of the opposition they now are the villains whose supply lines in the words of the Northern prophet had dried up just for the record at this moment in timeKerry are All Ireland senior ,junior and minor champions Dingle are All Ireland college champions Ardfert and Brosna are club champions in their categories and Kerry happen to have 37 SOFT all Ireland's won come to think of it Kerry never have to beat Kerry to win an All Ireland , all other counties do We have sent Donie Buckley to Mayo to help the forever bridesmaids led by Seamus and Aidan O Shea. the sons of Kerry parents to become the brides and Dublin with Cian O Sullivan Fenton and Brogans onboard all of good Kerry stock ensure the message of there will always be a kerry is permanent Get used to winning and losing sport is sport ....agus Cíarraí Abù gconaí.

37sowhat (Sligo) - Posts: 752 - 25/08/2015 11:08:50    1775771

Well its great to be back in another All Ireland final, the first All Ireland champions to manage the feat since the Kerry side in 2008.

What I took away from this was our mental toughness, this team just does not panic and never drop the heads. Like the Mayo games last year and Cork in July, Kerry just keep their composure and work their way back into the game by having experienced leaders all over the pitch who do the right thing at the right moment. Another team would have been well and truly rattled when Tyrone drew level late on, but we saw out the game in style when the pressure was most intense. All that in a game in which I thought Kerry did not play to their ability for large parts, of course a lot of that was down to not being allowed to by a very well organised Tyrone team.

People say the way to beat the blanket defence is to play it yourself and many people have the misconception that against Donegal last year and Tyrone on Sunday that's what we did. Its nonsense, Kerry simply keep their six defenders in their positions. Then once they have the ball, they stay patient, work it around the field, make dummy runs and wait for a gap to open to pop it into the man in a bit of space to turn and score. Again on Sunday we were experts at this, most notably for Walsh's point and the passage of play that lead to the free from the Tyrone black card.

We are in a good place now going into the final. There's no injury concerns in the panel and we have ferocious competition for places and we have been well tested by the likes of Cork and Tyrone. We have shown we can grind out a result but also that we can play devastatingly attacking football when let, as poor Kildare found out.

Likewise we have a lot to concentrate the mind, again Tyrone exposed how vulnerable we are to being ran at with pace. This is how both Dublin and Mayo like to get at teams so it is a big concern and something Eamon and co will have to work out in the weeks to come.

As for Tyrone, well I think its safe to say they are going to be the major threat from Ulster over the coming years. They will certainly cause any side a handful of trouble. While defensively they are excellent they lack that bit of composure in the forwards. But that will come and once some of those forwards start to develop they will take some beating.

Not sure which of Mayo/Dublin I'd rather be playing now, Dublin possible because facing them might be the extra bit of motivation these Kerry lads need to win back to back titles.

So the Tyrone 'hoodoo' is finally buried, played 6 won 3, lost 3 not bad, not bad at all.

Will I ever live to see us finally take Down?!!

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 25/08/2015 11:27:10    1775777

37sowhat
County: Sligo

The wonderful tactical genus emanating from the North in the personae of Kernan Harte and the neo Moses that is Jim Mc Guinness had revolutiized Gaelic football with new systems and new terminology 'blanket','sweeper' 'zone' 'runner' turnover' all too much for the naive Kerrymen so the media were having a field writing of the demise of old fashioned antedeluvianKerry football So Kerrysat down analysed the analysis and devised systems to combat ledgers and divers albeit using some of the new tricks to out smart the re inventors . First Armaghs citadel collapsed then Donegal and finally Tyrone so from being the scapegoats that always succumbed to the greatness of the opposition they now are the villains whose supply lines in the words of the Northern prophet had dried up just for the record at this moment in timeKerry are All Ireland senior ,junior and minor champions Dingle are All Ireland college champions Ardfert and Brosna are club champions in their categories and Kerry happen to have 37 SOFT all Ireland's won come to think of it Kerry never have to beat Kerry to win an All Ireland , all other counties do We have sent Donie Buckley to Mayo to help the forever bridesmaids led by Seamus and Aidan O Shea. the sons of Kerry parents to become the brides and Dublin with Cian O Sullivan Fenton and Brogans onboard all of good Kerry stock ensure the message of there will always be a kerry is permanent Get used to winning and losing sport is sport ....agus Cíarraí Abù gconaí.

I have to admit I gave up after about 3 or 4 lines. If there is any nuggets of information in there could someone highlight them for me or is it all just a ramble?

benched (Tyrone) - Posts: 534 - 25/08/2015 11:59:21    1775804

Bit simplistic Hermit to just say that Kerry simply keep their defenders in place, okay so they don't all get caught up the field when Kerry have possession leaving themselves open to the counter a la Dublin in the semi-final last year but they get men behind the ball with the best of them when not in possession.
Seem to have mastered pressuring short kick outs alright, although the big test on that MIGHT be just around the corner.

benched (Tyrone) - Posts: 534 - 25/08/2015 12:06:44    1775809

Well beneched, I wouldn't worry too much about Cluxton if that's what you mean. If you look back to Kerry/Dublin games right back to 2004, we always seemed to negate his kick outs and get at them through that.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 25/08/2015 12:21:36    1775833