Kerry vs Tyrone Aug 23rd

sgoldrick
I was at game yesterday an commented on that to Kerry supporter beside me and he even thought the free should have been awarded from where second foul was committed. I would love to know the definitive ruling on this. Any posters/referees on here to clear this up?

Greenwood (Meath) - Posts: 210 - 24/08/2015 11:41:21    1775079

murof

Htaem, I was at that O'Byrne Cup match you mentioned and it said more about your full back line that it did about the sin bin. After the game Sean Boylan cried foul and said it would destroy the game and was joined by Mickey Harte who was also very vocal against the sin bin.

To be honest I think that's just biased rubbish, nothing more.

Some people at the time though it interesting that the managers of those 2 counties saw what the future looked like for their style of play and did not like it one bit.

I can't remember the exact dates they complained but it was around 2005 wasn't it, the same year Boylan retired and Tyrone won the AI with a squad of great players, so again I think the suggestion that Harte (with a great team) and Boylan (in his last year) were worried about the future of their teams is just rubbish as well.

Also you're own manager at the time (Padraig Nolan) questioned it as well, a fact you conveniently left out and so did Mick O'Dwyer, Luke Dempsey and Kevin Kilmurray, 3 more names you neglected.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 24/08/2015 11:45:16    1775082

You need to take your goal chances against a team like Kerry and we didnt. Ref certainly didnt help us neither did Morgan mind you but in the end Kerry deserved it, they done what was needed and thats the mark of a great team. Reason for optimism after yesterdays performance though hopefully the players will kick on from this. Well done Kerry

redhand03 (Tyrone) - Posts: 40 - 24/08/2015 11:59:15    1775097

Some thoughts:

- Great to see a huge and vocal Tyrone crowd there. Far and away the best Tyrone support I've seen since 2008. Tiernan McCann got a huge reception when his name was announced.

- Kerry were deserving winners, and just about the better side. They didn't have to work quite as hard for their scores, and always nudged a point or 2 in front when needed. Their ability to get the ball into the Tyrone scoring zone was particularly impressive.

- Having said that, Tyrone had the chances to win it. We spurned some good goal chances, missed far too many frees, and we gifted them 4-5 points with horrific kickouts.

- Kerry also got the rub of the green on the big calls from Deegan. Oddly, I wasn't as upset about this as a lot of others seem to be, as I never expected anything different from him. The ridiculous yellow card for McNulty smacked of a man auditioning for an AI final job.

- Tyrone's big names were very kept quiet. Peter Harte and Sean Cavanagh were completely blotted out, while Mattie Donnelly's best work was confined to defensive duties.

- Kerry had much more strength in depth, with Geeney, Keane and O'Sullivan all causing problems. Tyrone made just 4 changes, and only McNulty made any impact. This was telling in the final minutes.

- Overall, a high quality game in very difficult conditions. Tyrone, with only 5 panelists over the age of 27, will feel very optimistic about the next couple of years. As for Kerry's final prospects, the big questions are around team selection. Some of their stalwarts like O'Se, Donaghy and (dare I say it) even Cooper are not playing well, and the likes of Fitzgerald, Keane, Geaney and O'Sullivan will have to be seriously considered.

- Finally, what is it with Croke Park not letting anyone into the ground until an hour before throw in? This is always the case, and I put it down to saving money on the hours worked by stewards/guards. Yesterday, it was pouring rain, and I'm sure most people would've appreciated getting inside a bit earlier, rather than standing outside the turnstiles getting drenched.

Thomas Clarke (Tyrone) - Posts: 1002 - 24/08/2015 12:04:51    1775104

Thats a fair post thomas clarke.On the entry to HQ,i presume you mean the minor game,but why would you really want to be in your seat an over an hour before the minor throw in?

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 24/08/2015 12:25:26    1775130

Big feeling today of what could of been if we had of managed to take one or two of those goal chances but Kerry able to get their scores a bit easier and in all honesty the best team won. I had told the old man all year that we were the best of the rest (outside Kerry, Mayo, Donegal and Dublin) but as soon as we met with one of them the year would be over and so it proved to be. By the way I don't see this as being anything to brag about or take solace in, it's about being on the steps of the Hogan in September or be an also-ran which is what we are for this year but hopefully with a young team and a few more U21's to add in we can push on from here.
Easy to give stick to Morgan today, but I think his options on the kickouts were limited, obviously and rightly was under orders not to kick down the throats of Moran, Buckley & Maher, Kerry pushed up, the movement was poor and with Deegan being strict on quick kickouts and players being clear of the 21 before he could take them he was always going to be under pressure.
With reference the advantage rule and awarding frees from where the initial foul took place, I see this often and it always drives me mad. It seems crazy to bring play back and award the free where the first foul occurred, what incentive is there to stop a defender from deliberately fouling again to stop a forward getting a shot away from the front of the goals when he knows the penalty will be a free from further out the field or maybe out on the sideline? Surely this wasn't the way the rule was envisaged as working.
Can't understand why Kerry started with Donaghey instead of Geaney, to me he was one of the reasons Kerry won, have stated on here before I think he's top class, surely will start the final.
As for O'Rourke and Brolly apparently "soft soaping" as someone else put it after the game, well haven't listened to them yet as have just watched the highlights programme so far but they can shove it as far as I'm concerned, it was the comments of them and those like them that put Deegan under pressure coming into yesterdays game and don't think anyone could claim that we came out on the right side of any of the narrow calls. That's enough from me on both SG analysts and Deegan.

benched (Tyrone) - Posts: 534 - 24/08/2015 12:28:48    1775137

I just want to say that I think RTE's report of the match on their website is a disgrace.

The author states that McCann 'who was booed throughout by the Kerry fans'

That's a blatant lie, no one was booing him....

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 24/08/2015 12:29:07    1775138

Nonsense, Hermit I heard him being booed and im in Belfast!!

bumpernut (Antrim) - Posts: 1852 - 24/08/2015 12:36:31    1775145

Thought McGuigan saying that Tyrone were back at the top table was a little stretched. But they are the one team that will make any teams life hell. There is a good nucleus there and Harte can see that, hence the reason we wants to stay on. Definitely potential there and with the 21s doing well, they'd have to be optimistic!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8596 - 24/08/2015 12:37:57    1775147

Benched,the Sunday Game panel said the corect call was made in relation to the second Tyrone penalty incident.It was not the referee that lost ye the game.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 24/08/2015 12:38:09    1775148

and in case we end up with the usual whataboutery I also heard tyrone fans booing JOD for the controversial 45 in the first half.

bumpernut (Antrim) - Posts: 1852 - 24/08/2015 12:38:33    1775150

TheHermit

I just want to say that I think RTE's report of the match on their website is a disgrace.

Got to say I didn't hear any of this around me in the Cusack. More gutter reporting from RTE, maybe they were hoping for it to be so!

benched (Tyrone) - Posts: 534 - 24/08/2015 12:41:59    1775154

lads maybe you didn't hear it in the stadium but it was picked up on the tv

bumpernut (Antrim) - Posts: 1852 - 24/08/2015 12:44:35    1775157

TheHermit

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Agreed, utter nonsense. I didn't hear anyone being booed.....except Maurice Deegan!

Thomas Clarke (Tyrone) - Posts: 1002 - 24/08/2015 12:44:54    1775159

Poor,hard done by Sean Cavanagh,bemoaning the referees decision not to award Tyrone a second penalty.Your heart would bleed for this virtuous footballer of impeccable standards.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 24/08/2015 12:47:08    1775161

cuederocket

Benched,the Sunday Game panel said the corect call was made in relation to the second Tyrone penalty incident.It was not the referee that lost ye the game.

I said I was saying no more on the SG pundits or Deegan but if the SG pundits said it must be true then! From the angled they showed and with showing a still frame in the middle of it, I couldn't make up my mind if it was a penalty or not.
By the way when did I blame Deegan for getting beat? I already said it was down to Kerry being able to take their scores a bit easier than us and the failure to finish the goal chances we created so please don't try to misrepresent what I said.

benched (Tyrone) - Posts: 534 - 24/08/2015 12:51:48    1775171

From the Kingdom point if view this team has metal. 2 Mayo matches Donegal Cork and now Tyrone. Mental strength brilliant. As for Tyrone they gave a good display and Harte will have been proud of them. The Tyrone team needed O Neill and Dooher to win. The lads there will groe into the role. Good atmosphere between fans as well. Great scoring with the conditions

Murph (Kerry) - Posts: 45 - 24/08/2015 12:55:03    1775174

I'm sure he was expecting the boos, I would. If it became too much, he could always have dived, rolled in agony and got them all thrown out if croker

flack (Dublin) - Posts: 1054 - 24/08/2015 13:00:55    1775185

I think the Sunday Game and its various pundits are doing a fair job.No witch hunts lads.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 24/08/2015 13:01:18    1775188

I was also in the cusack and I didn't hear any booing from our fans on McCann . Or it could be that I was just in grossed in the game.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 24/08/2015 13:04:48    1775192