Kerry vs Tyrone Aug 23rd

This game will not be one for the purists, because of the participation of one of our games most controversial teams! Blanket defence, feigning injury, playacting to get opposition players sent off, time-wasting and mouthing off at referees when they give frees against them! Having said that Tyrone are no angels either!

DUBJOHN (Dublin) - Posts: 932 - 11/08/2015 14:26:50    1768058

Who will get the honour of refereeing this?

Dave Coldrick would have to be the man.

Eddie the Exile (Monaghan) - Posts: 1066 - 11/08/2015 14:38:45    1768073

DUBJOHN

This game will not be one for the purists, because of the participation of one of our games most controversial teams! Blanket defence, feigning injury, playacting to get opposition players sent off, time-wasting and mouthing off at referees when they give frees against them! Having said that Tyrone are no angels either!
--------------------------------------

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 11/08/2015 14:42:47    1768080

Haha very good!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 11/08/2015 14:49:10    1768087

DUBJOHN

1768058 This game will not be one for the purists, because of the participation of one of our games most controversial teams! Blanket defence, feigning injury, playacting to get opposition players sent off, time-wasting and mouthing off at referees when they give frees against them! Having said that Tyrone are no angels either!

Has to be the best post of the day!!

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2839 - 11/08/2015 15:01:55    1768100

I'll check the papers on the Monday morning to see who has won, such has my interest in watching football deteriorated over this last year, especially my own County.

martinprince (Tyrone) - Posts: 187 - 11/08/2015 15:02:31    1768101

Ha ha, that one made me spit my tae out Dubjohn:o)

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 11/08/2015 15:07:29    1768110

I'm from down and would love to see tyrone win this if we had some balls in down maybe we could win a few games and challenge for honours and don't give that rubbish about sticking to your principles thats shite look at kerry they have a blanket defence foul on a regular basis around the half way line also always in the refs ear its about winning nobody cares if you play good football do you think kerry supporters didn't celebrate last years all ireland the worse i have ever seen they played no football that day winning is what counts.

Yourjoking (USA) - Posts: 707 - 11/08/2015 15:13:51    1768126

Hermit I have to admit Paul Galvin is a player I love to hate. Would love to see him play against us once again. But the team we've had from 08 only 4 remain from that final 2 McMahon's controlled the twin towers and the Cavanagh's. If the League game in Omagh was anything to go by I think we'll be in for a good game and I will remain optimistic about the fashion is which the game is played as everyone is expecting a dull game which I don't think I've seen between the two sides.

Find_the_space (Tyrone) - Posts: 313 - 11/08/2015 15:20:36    1768139

Not sure how relevant the League game in early April will be to this one Find the Space.

It was a pretty different Kerry team that lined out that day as I recall and its hard to read too much into Kerry's League form under Fitzmaurice.

I'd of course like to see an exciting, open game like that match turned out to be but relativistically if you were in Mickey Harte's shoes what would you do?

Tyrone will be coming up against a side with better individual players, its just pragmatism on their part to go more defensive, and try and negate the Kerry forwards. I can't see Tyrone approaching the game any other way.

As for Kerry it will be fascinating to see how Fitzmaurice will try and break them down, a carbon copy of what he rolled out against Donegal last year or has he another trick up his sleeve?

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 11/08/2015 16:05:34    1768191

At least dubjohn isnt heaping us with faux-praise which is refreshing and is more in line what Dublin posters really think about us, although I think he think is a bit brainwashed by Brolly's fabricated Anti-Kerry agenda. After all we (to my knowledge have never won a game scoring a measly 8 points let alone 2), never screamed in opponents and pointed to the scoreboard in a taunting fashion, or never got involved in a scrap which led to serious life-affecting incidents like the Armagh game a few weeks back.

KYTitletown (Kerry) - Posts: 816 - 11/08/2015 16:56:59    1768249

This will be just the same as the Monaghan Tyrone game and I'm hoping for a similar result. At this stage it's all about not conceding goals - this Tyrone team have improved in this area ever since the Donegal game. I like the Tyrone discipline in not giving away scoreable frees and Morgans distribution was excellent on Saturday - starting so many attacks from his kick-outs. Tyrone dealt very well with the physicality Monaghan brought - this has been a area of major concern and I believe they can match any of the three remaining teams.

I haven't seen anything from this Kerry team that has impressed me and I believe they are well undercooked coming into this Tyrone game. With the Southern media licking their boots they will probably be complacent as well.

Finally, the revelation that is Mattie Donnelly was an absolute delight, well done young fella!

Come on Tytone!

sam2008 (Tyrone) - Posts: 797 - 11/08/2015 18:05:15    1768294

Surprised to hear people writing off Tyrone. There are shades of Down in '10. Hungry teams end the run of defending champions.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7918 - 11/08/2015 21:50:54    1768433

legendzxix

Surprised to hear people writing off Tyrone. There are shades of Down in '10. Hungry teams end the run of defending champions.

100% agreed

Superglue (Kerry) - Posts: 1283 - 13/08/2015 10:27:16    1769270

Hopefully Deegan will keep the Tyrone antics in check.

SeppBlatter (Dublin) - Posts: 187 - 13/08/2015 10:56:17    1769298

legendzxix

To be fair legend, as much as down were brilliant that day and played out of their skins, Kerry were missing so many first team players through injury and tommy Walsh had departed for Australia?

duke_raul (Tyrone) - Posts: 993 - 13/08/2015 11:36:05    1769331

I can't see Kerry being beat here,there far too strong and professional to fall to a weak Tyrone team who in fairness have a fighting spirit but it won't be enough against a big gun like Kerry,Tyrone are miles behind Mayo Dublin and Kerry ,but a plus for Tyrone is they could always beat Kerry after Kerry winning an all Ireland.

colm860 (Kerry) - Posts: 75 - 13/08/2015 12:32:52    1769378

Hopefully Deegan will keep the Tyrone antics in check.

He did that and more in the 2013 semi-final against Mayo after the Cavanagh incident in the Monaghan match.

MichaelO (Tyrone) - Posts: 820 - 13/08/2015 12:34:00    1769380

No Ky,
Ye just have players that deliberately (by their own admission) injure players to take them out of an All Ireland final and this is even before mentioning Mr Clean, Monsieur Galvin... feckin Saints the lot of ye are.

Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 13/08/2015 12:34:53    1769381

colm860

I can't see Kerry being beat here,there far too strong and professional to fall to a weak Tyrone team who in fairness have a fighting spirit but it won't be enough against a big gun like Kerry,Tyrone are miles behind Mayo Dublin and Kerry ,but a plus for Tyrone is they could always beat Kerry after Kerry winning an all Ireland.

Not entirely accurate, lost to Kerry in 1986 after Kerry had won in 85, also beat Kerry in 03 when Kerry weren't champions, none of which like your own statement has much relevance to what will happen on the 23rd.
I see the list of big guns has been reduced to 3 now.

benched (Tyrone) - Posts: 534 - 13/08/2015 12:47:27    1769391