Kerry vs Tyrone Aug 23rd

It's been a funny year. Until a fortnight ago, there was little interest in the Tyrone senior footballers, even within our own county. Tyrone support was poor at matches, even in the Qtr final, where I barely spotted a Tyrone jersey amidst a sea of tops from Mayo, Monaghan and Donegal. However, that all changed when the CCCC went and made a martyr out of Tiernan McCann, and suddenly all anyone here is talking about is beating Kerry and thus sticking it to that shower at RTE.

I thought that Tyrone were very poor against Meath, but the games against Tipp and Sligo both showed signs of improvement, particularly in the crispness of our attack. I was very confident we'd beat Monaghan and, as expected, we did so easily, moreso than the 4 point margin suggests.

Which brings us to Kerry. How good are they? Are they the side who needed all the luck in the world to beat Mayo last year, and required 2 efforts to get past a poor Cork side this summer, or are they the galaxy of star names that looked unbeatable when handing Kildare the mother of all hammerings last time out? Most people obviously believe the latter, as evidenced by the incredible odds of 7/2 available on Tyrone.

My concerns for Tyrone are really based around unknowns. Can an U21 as small as Mark Bradley be effective in the modern game? Is Conor Meyler, with less than 140 total minutes of senior intercounty football under his best, able to make the huge leap that will be required tomorrow? Is the improvement that I've seen in Darren McCurry and Conor McAliskey real, or are they still hit and miss? Are McNabb, McCrory, McCann and McNamee better now than they were 12 months ago, or are they just being protected by an extra sweeper? Who will organise the defence in Joey McMahon's absence?

On the other hand, if these lads (most of them in their early 20s) really have come on, be it through experience or the great work that Peter Donnelly has done since taking over as S&C coach this year, then we'll fancy our chances of giving Kerry their fill of it. I believe than Tyrone will be faster, more organised and mentally tougher than any side Kerry have played so far this summer. In the likes of Peter Harte and Mattie Donnelly, we have players whose pace and direct running Eamon Fitzmaurice fears, evidenced by his inclusion of Crowley & Buckley ahead of the slower O'Mahony & Sheehan. McCurry and McAliskey have looked so sharp of late - they are quick onto the ball, and kick/release just as fast - while Big Sean had his best game of the year against Monaghan.

Overall, I acknowledge that Kerry are worthy favourites, and they have a team full of star names. However, Tyrone look physically and mentally better than at any time this decade, so I'll be travelling to Dublin with confidence.

Thomas Clarke (Tyrone) - Posts: 1002 - 22/08/2015 13:23:41    1774213

I honestly think the great Tyrone team were maybe a little better than Kerry. We won those big matches in 2003, 2005 and 2008, we beat them in the league in 2001, 2003, 2004, 2006, and 2010 and drew in 2007 in that era as well. If Kerry were a better team they should've had a better record against us. Think the only times we lost were league matches in 2005 and 2009. I mean sure Kerry were more consistent but Tyrone's record against them was fantastic.

Just my personal opinion, I'm not trying to wind anyone from Kerry up, that Kerry team had a bunch of my favourit players ever and I think they'll beat us tomorrow and what not.

MichaelO (Tyrone) - Posts: 820 - 22/08/2015 13:32:58    1774216

Tyrone will win if they have the courage to leave Sean Cavanagh at full forward on Mark O Shea and kick it long into him.

If they play a running game they will be easily beaten. Kerry picking Crowley and Buckley means they intend to block up the middle with big powerfull men and stop Tyrone running.

tirawleybaron (Mayo) - Posts: 1129 - 22/08/2015 14:33:10    1774232

Big ask for Tyrone here. Up against a good Kerry team, the media and the GAA establishment. Probably too much really. That said if they keep their cool ie no sending off's. And if Morgan can get his kick out's right then they will have a chance.

galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 2520 - 22/08/2015 18:17:05    1774293

That's it Thomas twas all luck last year, no skill involved. Enjoy the game tomorrow.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 22/08/2015 18:41:47    1774302

Great predictions being made all week re tactics and how the game will unfold. Just heard the weather forecast. The pundits forgot to look at this great leveller. All their elaborate theories out the window now. Tyrone have played three games already in monsoons. So......maybe chances improving.

BIG SACKS (Tyrone) - Posts: 1681 - 22/08/2015 18:45:26    1774305

Great predictions being made all week re tactics and how the game will unfold. Just heard the weather forecast. The pundits forgot to look at this great leveller. All their elaborate theories out the window now. Tyrone have played three games already in monsoons. So......maybe chances improving.

BIG SACKS (Tyrone) - Posts: 1681 - 22/08/2015 18:45:50    1774306

Bad weather? Have ye ever been to Kerry? We're fairly used to being blasted. Blow wind & crack yer cheeks... shtyle a thing

plike (Kerry) - Posts: 569 - 22/08/2015 18:50:25    1774310

Think da bad day could actually work in Kerry's favour...will b very difficult for Tyrone to carry the ball in the wet an run at Kerry as cork discovered in the replay.

blacknamber (Kerry) - Posts: 267 - 22/08/2015 18:56:46    1774312

Hopefully the Monday morning headline will be from a neutral point of view "Old rivals end up all square after thriller" and so if there are one or two hairy moments!

WhyTheLongFace (Meath) - Posts: 876 - 22/08/2015 19:10:01    1774317

It never rains in Kerry lol. Enjoy the game folks.

kerry74 (Kerry) - Posts: 1354 - 22/08/2015 19:10:40    1774318

Best of luck to Tyrone tomorrow, for the simple reason that a few haters in the media are trying to turn that proud county into footballing pariahs. Every county has overstepped the mark in some way or other over the years but the anti-Tyrone brigade seem to be making out that the rest of us have always been squeaky clean, which is not the case for Kerry, Mayo, Dublin or any of the others!!

ponga (Mayo) - Posts: 650 - 22/08/2015 19:14:38    1774319

For God sake, Tyrone have the advantage in a moonson? I'm still drying out from the Munster Final replay!!!!

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 22/08/2015 19:27:44    1774326

Theyre not making that out at all ponga, and they never have.
They are simply making the point that Tyrone seems to be involved in an unusually large number of these unsavoury incidents.
I personally think its a fair point to be honest.

joncarter (Galway) - Posts: 2692 - 22/08/2015 19:29:53    1774329

Fitzy had a rain and wind machine at Fitzgerald stadium during the week and he had the boys kicking into it so we'll be grand I'm sure.
Also ponga what's been going on in the media and tyrone they have brought on them selfs unfortunately , and hadn't anything to do with us.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 22/08/2015 19:39:13    1774335

Best of luck to Tyrone, Kerry tomorrow, my head says Kerry, but my heart says Tyrone, wont be much in this game, Kerry under big pressure, and facing the mighty Tyrone, we all know Kerry would have loved to face Monaghan, Tyrone always raise their game in Croke park, and especially playing the Kingdom, this is 1 game Tyrone will relish, Kerry are some team and will take some beating, Kerry always make gaa football so simple, but hi this young Tyrone team are back, Tyrone under no pressure could cause an upset, great that young MC Cann is able to play, best of luck to both teams...................

mchugh11 (Donegal) - Posts: 242 - 22/08/2015 19:42:41    1774336

Come on Tyrone. Total faith

Redhandsam (Tyrone) - Posts: 93 - 22/08/2015 20:10:40    1774344

Best of luck to both teams - apparently it's going to be a stinker of a day - so hopefully both teams come out of it injury free!

I can see this going either the same as the 2003 Semi- Final - tight and a Tyrone win - unfortunately this time Kerry will be ready for a dogfight! Or The qualifier in Tralee a couple years back when Tyrone turned up to fight and spoil and Kerry hammered us - Tyrone, I believe knew they were never going to compete that day.

Either way it won't be a classic! Hoping for a Tyrone win if we stop quality ball going into the Kerry forward line - we should be able to kick enough points it win.

Come on TYRONE!

sam2008 (Tyrone) - Posts: 797 - 22/08/2015 20:29:13    1774355

LOTS OF IF AND BUTS ABOUT THIS GAME TOMORROW AND IT IS HARD TO PREDICT. WHAT I BELIEVE IS THAT KERRY ARE NOT AS GOOD AS THE MEDIA ARE SAYING WOULD NOT PAY ANY HEED TO THE KILDARE GAME AT ALL
WHAT I THOUGHT ABOUT TYRONE THE LAST DAY WAS HOW GOOD THEIR DEFENSIVE SETUP WAS. MONAGHAN NEVER GOT A SNIFF AT GOAL. I THINK THE KERRY FORWARDS WILL STRUGGLE TOMORROW. I KNOW JOE MC MAHON IS A MASSIVE LOSS,ID REALLY FANCY TYRONE TO BEAT THEM IF HE WERE PLAYING.
THIS KERRY TEAM IS MORE OR LESS THE SAME THAT WON LAST YEARS ALL IRELAND. NOW DONT FORGET THEY ONLY SCORED 1-2 IN THE FIRST HALF , SO IN A WAY THEY DID STRUGGLE AGAINST A BLANKET DEFENCE IN THE FIRST HALF LAST YEAR.
ON THE OTHER HAND TYRONE HAVE NOT BEEN FINDING THE NET EITHER , A LOT DEPENDS ON HOW THE YOUNGER MEMBERS ADOPTS TO AN ALL IRELAND SEMI FINAL. AT THIS STAGE SEMI FINALS CAN BE TERRIBLE GAMES, AL THAT MATTERS IS ---GET OVER THE LINE.
MY PREDICTIONS ----I THINK IT WILL BE A POOR SEMI FINAL, INDEED IT COULD BE NASTY BUT IF IT STAYS CLOSE FOR AN HOUR ID EXPECT TYRONE TO WIN A DOGFIGHT.
IF KERRY GET AN EARLY GOAL OR TWO IT COULD BE OVER BY HALF TIME. BUT I REALLY FANCY TYRONE's DEFENSIVE SYSTEM TO SUCCEED TOMORROW BUT WILL THEY GET ENOUGH SCORES TO WIN. ???

SamOnErrigal (Donegal) - Posts: 1427 - 22/08/2015 20:29:32    1774356

It was almost impossible to break Tyone down during the league, if they can keep their shape they'll make it rough enough for the Kingdom, but can they counter like the Kerry lads???

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8596 - 22/08/2015 20:46:30    1774359