Kerry vs Tyrone Aug 23rd

Play Galvin... and let Kerry push up like a Wonderbra. Why? If the Tyrone pups try to run the legs of our auld lads then nobody better than our Paul to stop them dead in their tracks. Done & dusted, all told.

plike (Kerry) - Posts: 569 - 21/08/2015 11:44:35    1773725

Doirecityfc
Who is ye'r minor manager? And if he leads yer lads to victory over our selfs and wins the allireland will he get a shot at managing yer senior team?

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 21/08/2015 12:03:06    1773749

Just reading McStay on RTE there, he states 'Tyrone, without doubt the team of the noughties'

Hey how wants to debate that again???? ;)

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 21/08/2015 15:11:19    1773924

TheHermit

Just reading McStay on RTE there, he states 'Tyrone, without doubt the team of the noughties'

Hey how wants to debate that again???? ;)

Please let's not. Tyrone are the team of the noughties. Peter Canavan is the greatest footballer of all time. They're the bald facts.

14KY37 (Kerry) - Posts: 30 - 21/08/2015 15:54:59    1773962

LOL, the Donegal lads were climbing trees, but it seems the Tyrone boys are more technologically advanced, they are masquerading on-line as Kerry supporters!

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 21/08/2015 16:18:10    1773986

Just looked back on the stats there.

Kerry appeared in 8 All Ireland Finals in the 00's, winning 6 of them.
That's some record.

Cork and Tyrone appeared in 3 finals.
Mayo, Galway and Armagh in 2.

pdempsey (Mayo) - Posts: 1313 - 21/08/2015 16:20:02    1773987

Made 6 Finals in a row, which the Golden Years team of the 70's 80's didnt manage

KYTitletown (Kerry) - Posts: 816 - 21/08/2015 16:33:42    1773993

If Kerry win another 2 or 3 all irelands this decade and we dont beat Dublin along the way then i guess we will miss out being team of the 2010s as well.

Can we ever have a bit of luck in these teams of the decade debates??

Also we have missed out on being team of the 20th century as Down have had our number.

Jaysus we can never catch a break!!

KY4SAM2015 (Kerry) - Posts: 898 - 21/08/2015 16:38:45    1773998

Is Eamonn Fitzmaurice going to try and play Mickey at his own game? I see Donaghy had made a return and I think Justy, McNamee and Joe (if fit) can handle him we've done it twice before. How fit is the gooch? yes he has played some game time it is great to see him back in action and is a great ambassador for the GAA but is he back to his best? The same question goes for JOD, is he fully fit? Will he be swapped before throw in?

Kerry's top 3 scorers are named to start on the bench, no manager in the right mind would do that but then again no manager in Ireland has the squad of players that Kerry do and all we can do is sit back admire and applaud them for their class in terms of Quality. However, no matter how good a team, bench, manager etc. youve got theres only 70mins between these to teams to earn a date with Mayo or Dublin in the AI Final.

Find_the_space (Tyrone) - Posts: 313 - 21/08/2015 16:55:45    1774007

Find_the_space

Is Eamonn Fitzmaurice going to try and play Mickey at his own game? I see Donaghy had made a return and I think Justy, McNamee and Joe (if fit) can handle him we've done it twice before. How fit is the gooch? yes he has played some game time it is great to see him back in action and is a great ambassador for the GAA but is he back to his best? The same question goes for JOD, is he fully fit? Will he be swapped before throw in?

Kerry's top 3 scorers are named to start on the bench, no manager in the right mind would do that but then again no manager in Ireland has the squad of players that Kerry do and all we can do is sit back admire and applaud them for their class in terms of Quality. However, no matter how good a team, bench, manager etc. youve got theres only 70mins between these to teams to earn a date with Mayo or Dublin in the AI Final.

Is Eamonn Fitzmaurice going to try and play Mickey at his own game?

Well Fitzy has named the exact same half forward line as he did against Donegal in last years final so that would suggest that yes they will drop back when Tyrone have possesion..it worked last year so hopefully it will work this time round.

How fit is the gooch?

Well he has gotten through 70 mins against Kildare but you wouldnt exactly call the second half of that game inter county standard pace as Kildare gave up.
The intensity that Tyrone will bring the next day will be a different kettle of fish and hopefully the training games with Kerry will have him right. Difficult to know if he is back to his best but he did show glimpses against Kildare and may be next year before we see the best of el goocho.

The same question goes for JOD, is he fully fit? Will he be swapped before throw in?

Not a peep from the kerry camp in regards to JOD so hard to know whats the story with him..however fitzy doesnt usually do dummy teams so we are expecting him to start, no panic anyway if he doesnt as Paul Geaney will fill in there if needed.

KY4SAM2015 (Kerry) - Posts: 898 - 21/08/2015 18:04:08    1774050

Enjoying watching the Tyrone boys on Thank GAA it's Friday. They're not a bad bunch of lads when you look at it from their perspective. They were some team

pdempsey (Mayo) - Posts: 1313 - 21/08/2015 21:37:58    1774131

Team of the noughties were Kerry, there I said it. Who even cares any more. Boring subject

redhand03 (Tyrone) - Posts: 40 - 22/08/2015 08:35:56    1774150

Aye pdempseythey were a fine side alright. I didn't agree with everything they did on the pitch, but they were kind of like the boys you'd love to hate ;)

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 22/08/2015 09:20:22    1774154

Good to see all the "Dublin media" boys tipping Kerry.
Whatever chance Tyrone have it can only be as underdogs.

BIG SACKS (Tyrone) - Posts: 1681 - 22/08/2015 09:48:34    1774160

Well Sacks's RTE yesterday tipped Tyrone to win on their championship preview page!

Now how much attention Tyrone pay to what Dublin say these days is another thing...

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 22/08/2015 09:52:31    1774162

Kerry stuff on , suitcase packed heading to Dublin to cheer on the mighty Kerry , UP THE KINGDOM

topdownfan (Down) - Posts: 555 - 22/08/2015 10:06:23    1774165

topdownfan
County: Down

Kerry stuff on , suitcase packed heading to Dublin to cheer on the mighty Kerry , UP THE KINGDOM

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Fair play to you, if my county had won only 2 (TWO!!) ulster titles in the last 34 years, I'd probably adopt a second team as well.

Thomas Clarke (Tyrone) - Posts: 1002 - 22/08/2015 10:23:56    1774171

Well Sacks's RTE yesterday tipped Tyrone to win on their championship preview page!

Now how much attention Tyrone pay to what Dublin say these days is another thing...
22/08/2015 10:06:23

-------
Very true Hermit. The nordie media, BT and IN, are sitting on the fence in the couple of previews that I have read. Neither willing to back Tyrone for fear they will get it wrong but not backing Kerry either for fear of being seeing as an act of betrayal. The sensible money is on Kerry so no surprise to see the 'southern anti-Ulster' media predominantly tip them but some like RTE (drat there goes the anti-Tyrone conspiracy) have gone for Tyrone. I actually think Tyrone could upset them. Donaghy starting is usually a good sign of a route 1, one dimensional tactic. That will please Harte.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 22/08/2015 10:24:53    1774172

Kerry deserved 1/4 favourites for the match. Not surprising to see almost everyone tipping them.

Kerry do have more options. If Donaghy ain't working out, then there is Tommy Walsh or a different option with Darren O Sullivan. Wouldn't be surprised to see O Sullivan start.

tyroneed (Tyrone) - Posts: 753 - 22/08/2015 10:51:36    1774177

I have to believe that Donaghy playing is not going to be an indication that Kerry are just going to lob high balls into the square Joxer.

Fitzy is too smart to be so one dimensional and the thing that's often forgotten about Star is that he is not some static, lumbering full forward. He is an excellent footballer and is well able to utilise low and fast balls that are hit at angles into his zone.

I was confident of winning this game when we knew the opposition two weeks ago. However the closer it gets the more apprehensive I'm becoming. Judging by the respective team sheets it looks like an open and shut case, Kerry have too much class.

But the same argument was made in 2003 and it most definitely against Down in 2010 and look what happened! The fact is Kerry, for all their talent, need to be totally tuned in for this one.

I've been supporting Kerry teams all my life and they are rarely the second best team on the pitch, at least on paper. Yet there's been quiet a few times I'd put our defeats down to not being adequately tuned in and focussed. I think we saw it again this year in the first Cork game.

However, Malachy Clerkin makes a good point in the Times today. Perhaps all the talk about the McCann incident and the assumption Tyrone are going to play like possessed demons is masking the fact that this game might be more comfortable for Kerry than people think.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 22/08/2015 11:11:14    1774182