Another Kilkenny v Tipperary final.

actually ur right slayer

suckvalleypaddy (Galway) - Posts: 1670 - 10/08/2015 12:44:24    1767177

Was laugable to hear a former Kilkenny hurler being asked his opinion and him saying Football is gone so defensive and even it would have been bad for Hurling if Waterford has won yesterday as all teams in hurling would go defensive....ok lets all stand back and watch Kilkenny steamroll everyone. Hurling has become so boring.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11232 - 10/08/2015 12:54:47    1767187

Nothing against Tipp but hopefully Galway win next week for a boit of vaiety.

I'm gettinga bit bored of the Kilkennt Tipp finals asI relaly don't care which f them wins at least if Galway win i'll have somebody to shout for.

I don't think iethe rTipp or glaway will beat Kilkennt they look fairly comfortable yesteray despite Richie Power and Jakcie Tyrell both missing both of hwom will surely play in the final.

uibhfhaili1986 (Offaly) - Posts: 1296 - 10/08/2015 13:00:41    1767194

Was laugable to hear a former Kilkenny hurler being asked his opinion and him saying Football is gone so defensive and even it would have been bad for Hurling if Waterford has won yesterday as all teams in hurling would go defensive....ok lets all stand back and watch Kilkenny steamroll everyone. Hurling has become so boring.

If Waterford were good enough they wouldnt need to go all defensive against KK. Thankfully in hurling at least, the best team usually wins the game. If defensive systems win out then hurling will be boring for sure.

ZUL10 (Clare) - Posts: 693 - 10/08/2015 14:08:35    1767277

ZZZZZ

I really don't have the stomach for another Kilkenny v Tipperary final. Would be the fifth in seven years.
Please god Galway can remedy that next week

I take it your only reading a statistics sheet of AI finalists and never actually watched any of these matches because some of them rank up there with the best finals ever played. Kilkenny and Tipp bring out the best of each other as they have a serious rivalry and both teams whole heartedly believe they can beat the other. Unfortunately most other teams don't have that belief when they play Kilkenny which is why they get beaten handy enough without much of a game for people to watch.

Nothing personal against Galway but they are usually put in their place by Kilkenny and have already suffered defeat by them in this years championship and I would fear it would just be a repeat of that or maybe worse if they make it to the final when the cats are at their most dangerous. Tipp on the other hand will have revenge on their mind and would arrive in Croke as Munster champions high in confidence and for me this has the potential to be another classic.

I think this thread is highly disrespectful to two great counties who give us so much entertainment and regardless of how many times they meet in a final id take a hurling final ticket over a football one any year regardless of who plays in the football final. You'd be better starting a thread about why other teams can't step up and match the skill and intensity of these two great teams and give the greatest team in hurling history the respect they deserve along with admiration for another team who aren't fazed by that reputation and run them to the wire so often!

SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2386 - 10/08/2015 15:14:55    1767334

actually ur right slayer

No bother - was wondering had a drastic error been made :-)

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 10/08/2015 16:01:07    1767381

100% Saffron Don

Finsceal (None) - Posts: 559 - 10/08/2015 16:11:25    1767390

Yes saffron,my sentiments exactly.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 10/08/2015 16:15:47    1767394

I take it your only reading a statistics sheet of AI finalists and never actually watched any of these matches because some of them rank up there with the best finals ever played.

The 2010 final is still the greatest game of hurling I have seen played. Many mention the drawn game last year but it was a turkey shoot. 2010 had it all.

In terms of the greatest finals I've seen I'd rank as follows:

1 - 2010 Tipp 4-17 Kilkenny 1-18
2 - 2009 Kilkenny 2-22 Tipp 0-23
3 - 1990 Cork 5-15 Galway 2-21

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 10/08/2015 16:16:13    1767395

I thought 2009 was the best game i ever saw.Tipp were getting on top until Benny Dunne stupidly got himself sent off with nearly 20 minutes remaining.Tipp also missed twp great goal chances early in second half.
1 - 2009 Kilkenny v Tipp
2 - 2010 Kilkenny v Tipp
3 - 2014 Kilkenny v Tipp drawn game,Very open game,Tipp put on a masterclass in point scoring,but spurned four goal opportunities.Like 2009 it came back to haunt them.
4 - 1990 Cork v Galway,was on the hill in the Cork end as a 13 year old young lad.Great colour.Goalfest.Great game.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 10/08/2015 16:25:47    1767404

SaffronDon

I think this thread is highly disrespectful to two great counties who give us so much entertainment and regardless of how many times they meet in a final id take a hurling final ticket over a football one any year regardless of who plays in the football final. You'd be better starting a thread about why other teams can't step up and match the skill and intensity of these two great teams and give the greatest team in hurling history the respect they deserve along with admiration for another team who aren't fazed by that reputation and run them to the wire so often!

I completetly totally 100% disagree with all of this.

Saying that we are bored with Kilkenny/Tipp finals is not in the slightest bit disrespectful to either of those counties. I personally have nothing but admiration for KK/Tipp but I am bored with them in the final all of the time and with one of them winning all the time..

I could easily make the statement that KK are being disrespectful to the competition. Why were they not jumping for sheer joy/elation when they won yesterday? Why did their fans not do a pitch invasion after winning the Leinster final? why were the tears not streaming down the faces of their players with the sheer thrill of having won a Leinster final? I don't think KK are in any way disrespectful to any of the competition. However, their players like their supporters are resigned to the fact that they are far better than the rest and when they win every time, it is not all that exciting.

Now, if they are 'bored' (by their actions),what is wrong with others expressing an opinion on here without being labelled begrudgers, whingers, jealous, disrespectful etc.

There has been umpteen threads on the state of the weak challengers - Cork, Limerick, Dublin, Offaly etc etc...we know we are miles behind, we know KK are miles miles better and we are doing our bit to catch up - slowly in some cases but that does not mean we have to be drooling in admiration every second about what we see at the moment..

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 10/08/2015 16:37:34    1767420

Saffron,i agree with your point in saying youve huge admiration for Tipp,who you quite rightly say,nearly bring KK to the wire in every big game,in All Ire & League finals.Unfortunately for Tipp,they have come out the wrong side of so many close shaves,but if Kilkenny are the greatest team of all time(which they are),this Tipp team have played there part big time and contributed hugely to some of the most memorable All Ire finals ever.The likes of Eoin Kelly,Noel McGrath,Brendan Maher,Pauraic Maher,S Callinan,Lar,Bubbles are some of the finest players ive ever seen.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 10/08/2015 16:54:26    1767442

Slayer

Thats a decent line up, I was at the 1990 final as a 6 year old so it wouldn't be fresh in my memory but I do remember it being very hard fought, must give it another watch some day. I'd go with

2014 draw: so many great scores from play, tough tackling and serious drama till the death

2010: absolutely savage pace and passion, Tipp certainly earned that one.

2009: another game that had everything, was at this one, definitely the best final I've been at

honourable mention to the 1997 final between Clare and Tipp, another one that was fought to the wire.

SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2386 - 10/08/2015 17:08:15    1767452

bennybunny

if you don't agree that Kilkenny and Tipp have given us some of the best games of hurling in living memory and instead claim to be bored by the whole thing then you can't be judging it from a hurling point of view but more likely a green eyed Cork man's view that your two greatest hurling rivals are stealing all the limelight ;-)

SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2386 - 10/08/2015 17:18:07    1767460

Watching yesterdays game confirmed my view on Kilkenny this year.
Yes they were the better team but Waterford could have done a lot better.
I always have felt despite have excellent players so didn't need to rely on two or three.
This season many of the new faces of recent years are not as great as some make out.
Mainly Colin Fennelly and Walter Walsh could add Ger Alyward to that.
When Kilkenny are in rocking they seem to show but when under pressure or in a tight game you wont see these guys leading the charge.

Galway and Tipp on Sunday will interesting but I think going through each team Tipp have that more refined look about them.
Whoever wins on Sunday will beat Kilkenny in the final certain of that.

grellans89 (Galway) - Posts: 257 - 10/08/2015 17:25:17    1767470

Very disrespectful to Galway and the Galway posters having this thread. Galway are favourites for Sunday and so they should be, building nicely and remind me of Tipp in 2010.

therealtmo (Tipperary) - Posts: 1292 - 10/08/2015 17:46:43    1767484

Thought u gave up that aul not so cute hoor talk realtmo?Tipp are in fact favourites,as well u know.1/2 in bookies the last i checked.Its 50/50 for me.No more,no less.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 10/08/2015 17:58:50    1767496

I hope you are right Grellans89 but I would be fearful if its a Galway Vs Kilkenny final after attending the Leinster Final. I wouldn't see Kilkenny winning by a wide margin but I would find it difficult to see anything other than a Kilkenny win.

Thanks to the poster that gave Tipp some credit for all the hurling the current crop have done over the past 7 years. In any other era they would have won at least two All-Irelands since 2008. But you are all right Kilkenny and Tipp bring the best out of each other. 2008 - 2010 was awesome watching our continuously improve. Without Kilkenny there setting the standard they wouldn't have pushed themselves to that high a level.

I take the point about last year's match versus 2009 and 2010. I'd nearly rate 2009 as the best of the three matches from a purity point of view. I couldn't believe what I was seeing in front after being so disappointed leaving Croke Park after the 2007 and 2008 finals.

There is a baffling thread on the go criticising the attendance of yesterday's match but if Tipp were to win on Sunday you'd easily sell 100,000 tickets or more for the final if Croke park was big enough.

Anyway, the fact remains that Tipp have to beat Galway first and this is a disrespectful thread to be writing off Galway. Any Tipp fan I have spoken to is nervous about Sunday. Any neutral gives Galway are great chance of beating us.

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 10/08/2015 18:00:41    1767498

Saffrondon I think you are being disrespectful to Galway.Galway actually have a better record against Cody's Cats than Tipp, Tipp were lucky in that they beat the Cats in the All ireland `Final when it mattered most, Galway beat them in 2 semis and a Leinster final and also drew with them twice.The 93 final between Kilkenny and Galway was a great game too that could have gone either way.
I fancy whoever comes through next Sunday to take the Cats on September 6th.

Condorman (Dublin) - Posts: 983 - 10/08/2015 18:32:47    1767520

10/08/2015 12:39:53
KingdomBoy1

Fair play to Kilkenny yesterday the are what we all aspire to be. Tipp will beat Galway IMO and I think itl be a great final. And why don't they have Waterford play Galway in a third fourth play off final for all you sleepy / bored fans out there;-)

Totally agree , love an underdog and would love to see the cats put in there place but you cannot but admire KK , Ive two lads playing , one at developement squad standard , and if they want to learn anything about the game just watch yesterdays KK performance , its all there , the rest of us are just jealous to be honest .

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 10/08/2015 18:59:49    1767547