AI Semi-Final Dublin V Mayo

jbez2ezy
County: Longford

What is the best dip for the chip on ulster gaa peoples shoulders?

Only your second post so I will allow you a fool's pardon.

We have had to put up with some Dubs lecturing & sermonizing here for years about cynical Ulster football. It should come as no surprise when we point out that not only has this emperor no clothes, he has taken every stitch he has, burned them in the fireplace & walked around the town stark naked.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 30/08/2015 18:08:06    1778176

Two main parts to any analysis of this game.

1. Dublin weren't penalised half enough for fouling. Philip McMahon fouled O'Shea all day. Cian O'Sullivan should have gone twice and how he wasn't booked in first half I don't know. Connolly especially was awful - gave away 7 frees with no card and had ball brought forward for dissent by him twice yet no card of any description. Unreal. Dublin will complain about two black cards and a red, but they haven't a leg to stand on as it really should have been a lot more.

2. Mayo still struggle with their forwards. Cillian O'Connor and Aidan O'Shea are class but the others offer v little. Donncha O'Connor was alright, but Doherty, McLaughlin and Drake can't shoot and offer very little support. You can't win an All-Ireland without offering more threat than two players.

icehonesty (Wexford) - Posts: 2553 - 30/08/2015 18:09:25    1778179

Tough luck Mayo but your shooting let you down
Still I thought Mayo's defence was fairly disciplined as Dublin got very few frees near goal. Compare that to the number of scoring chances Mayo got ( was it 9 points from frees) and I thought Dublin were fairly over the top in some of their tackling today but in saying that it takes two to tango. But I thought Mayo tackled , chased and harried well today. Wonder did the management err by starting Drake today, tough ask for a guy to play in a semi a lough I though he played well in the first half
Go back to last Summer and think of the posts on here about Dublin,, they never were very far in front of the other top teams and all the results over the last 4/5years prove it
Don't think they will win the replay as I think Mayo will As I said earlier I think Mayo are mentally tough and it was proved today in the last five minutes.

SamOnErrigal (Donegal) - Posts: 1427 - 30/08/2015 18:10:30    1778185

What about Cluxtons 'stray boot ' kick to O'Shea when O'Shea was deemed to have fouled him in the first half. Quite a lot of gurrierism from Dublin today.

THE_SNAPPER (Louth) - Posts: 2019 - 30/08/2015 18:10:48    1778186

Well done Mayo on an excellent come back. With 5 minutes of injury time I thought that they'd win but somehow Dublin clung on.

Dublin are nowhere near the standard of 2011/2013. No midfield and no discipline at the back and the movement up front is predictable and lazy. We were blessed to have the lead we had and had no answer when Mayo came at us at the end.

Dublin have gone seriously backwards in the last 2 years

A period of rebuilding is needed imo as there are still some very good footballers in the county.

Mayo's comeback was great but I'm sure they'll be disappointed with their overall performance as it will not be good enough to beat Kerry. The replay should bring them on though and give them a chance to improve before the final.

It'd be very surprising if Dublin won the replay with Diarmuid gone and them completely out on their feet with 10 to go today.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13718 - 30/08/2015 18:12:12    1778189

Cluxton dubs weakest link again today.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 30/08/2015 18:12:23    1778190

First thing I posted, no crying here bud. Just take a look at where all the posters commenting are from, its throughout the country and not just from Ulster, but leaving that aside, as no Ulster side was playing does that mean Ulster posters can't comment or have opinions on the games? Funny if that was the case because there was plenty of noise from all around the country after the all Ulster clash of Monaghan and Tyrone.

benched (Tyrone) - Posts: 534 - 30/08/2015 18:26:37    1778198

Ban
County: Westmeath

>> Elbowed into the head off the ball.

Nice to see him get it for a change!

Fair play to you.

10 stitches he needed. It was a great elbow, unseen by all seven officials and the cameras and puts out the opposition's best defender.

As perfect an elbow as it gets.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13718 - 30/08/2015 18:27:26    1778202

cuederocket

Is it safe to post yet(:

Safe enough.

A lot of posters enjoying themselves though ;)

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13718 - 30/08/2015 18:31:16    1778205

I'D IMAGINE THE PLAYERS FROM THE ULSTER COUNTIES THRIVE ON THE NEGATIVE CRITICISM. YOU SHOULD BE LOVING that it annoys people. Anyway I.m not here to argue. good luck

jbez2ezy (Longford) - Posts: 7 - 30/08/2015 18:37:08    1778211

Some amount of sh1te being talked on this thread,, the ref was pro Dublin? Must have watched a different game?! Bizarre!

JimmyK (Dublin) - Posts: 240 - 30/08/2015 18:40:11    1778214

Two very poor teams,don't think Kerry be be too worried about either team,Mayo can't score and Dublin have to resort to dirty cynical play,Cluxton nearly cost Dublin the game,ref was also poor,clear black card in the first half and it took him an age to get the play going again after a free was given,very disappointed with it overall,last Sunday's semi was much better and in bad conditions.

colm860 (Kerry) - Posts: 75 - 30/08/2015 18:41:37    1778218

Im disappointed with a lot of our play today.Lots of poor passing that was intercepted.Our fouling in the backline was dreadful all day.How many frees did O Connor score?Our forwards did ok at times,but were never free flowing,which Mayos defensive tenacity must take a lot of credit for.I did not see the incident,but D Connolly,once again,has let himself and his team mates down.An apparent punch.I thought he had left this carry on behind him.Not acceptable.Fair dues to Mayo on their remarkable late flurry of scores.That took a lot of belief and guts.We live to fight another day,but i must admit,i think the advantage now lies with Mayo.I feel well struggle to win now.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 30/08/2015 18:42:01    1778219

Dubs shouldn't worry about coming on this evening.

My experience is that they are, in general, a fair minded bunch & while they will defend their team robustly will also concede that the high moral ground can leave a few bruises when you come tumbling off it.

The biggest talking point for me would not be the cynicism shown but instead the collapse at the end.

How did the Dublin lads see it?

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 30/08/2015 18:50:45    1778228

Match was fine until the last 10 minutes. Ref lost control at this stage. I hope he does'nt get replay. Dublin were a bit "ring rusty" - Mayo rode their luck also and got a soft peno.

galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 2520 - 30/08/2015 18:51:14    1778229

Lads its an All-Ireland semi-final, look back through the years there always has been and always will be unsavoury incidents, it is and nor should it be any place for the faint hearted. Any man who would tell you that they wouldn't trip their granny to help get there team to the final is either a liar or has no place being there....just cut with the Holier than Thou and playing the game "the right way" bs that we here from the likes of Joxer and even Gavin please.

benched (Tyrone) - Posts: 534 - 30/08/2015 18:53:35    1778237

jbez2ezy
County: Longford

I'D IMAGINE THE PLAYERS FROM THE ULSTER COUNTIES THRIVE ON THE NEGATIVE CRITICISM. YOU SHOULD BE LOVING that it annoys people. Anyway I.m not here to argue. good luck

You young man are a fool.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 30/08/2015 18:54:41    1778240

I also feel C O Sullivan,under the current ruling,should have received a black card for a cynical pull down of a Mayo forward in first half.It seemed pretty clear cut and Cian walked a tight rope all day.Our tackling was atrocious at times.Too many lads running down cul de sacs and losing possession.Arghhhhhhhhh!

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 30/08/2015 19:02:22    1778249

The ref gave wrong decisions against both sides, also rough stuff from both sides which suited Dublin less. The hand wringing going on here is embarrassing. it was a hard fought game and fair draw but Mayo have lost their chance I feel - that's two bad performances in a row from Dublin wont happen again.

Floops (Dublin) - Posts: 1623 - 30/08/2015 19:11:04    1778260

JimmyK

Some amount of sh1te being talked on this thread,, the ref was pro Dublin? Must have watched a different game?! Bizarre!

Same thing on here after every Dublin game.

I haven't matched the game back but I suspect the ref gave Dublin some frees he should not have given, and gave Mayo some frees he should not have given, didn't give Dublin some frees he should have and the same for Mayo.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13718 - 30/08/2015 19:13:31    1778262