AI Semi-Final Dublin V Mayo

This should be the game of the year if not the decade surpassing last years semi finals draw and replay, best of luck to the 4 teams (the 2 minor teams as well), safe travelling to all and enjoy the day regardless of the result. On the match it should be a tough, fast game, I expect it to be fairly close and evenly matched but regardless of the bluffing by most people including myself I see a Mayo win by 4 points and I wouldn't be surprised that the star of the show was 1 of the quieter players this year, the player that has been below the radar all season. There is a hunger in this Mayo team, they were awful against Tyrone and Dublin in the League, against Monaghan and Donegal also in the League Mayo had them beaten all over the pitch but weren't putting up the scores on the scoreboard and eventually got caught v Donegal draw, same problem v Derry and Cork, but they seem to have sorted out that issue but the backs still put the fear of God into us, every high ball on top of them has us in the crowd panicking, if you can stop the supply of ball going into the Dublin forwards that will stop the scoring, I was predicting this win after the quarter final win over Donegal and 3 weeks later I still see it.
Mayo to win by 4 points

riverboys (Mayo) - Posts: 1389 - 29/08/2015 16:22:00    1777775

Best of luck to Dublin, Mayo tomorrow,it looks Dublin, and even for Sam, but i believe Mayo can shade it, wont be much in this game, its Mayo s year i believe, after all their heartbreak over the years, Dublin, whatever happens tomorrow, the Dubs will be around for a number of years, come on Mayo its been too long 1951.

mchugh11 (Donegal) - Posts: 242 - 29/08/2015 17:58:34    1777799

Hoping for a Mayo win but as the game gets nearer,reading the papers today etc I'm starting to think the Dubs have more scoring power,hope it's not one of those games that's over by half time,good luck to both teams.

TirChonaillabu2 (Donegal) - Posts: 344 - 29/08/2015 19:10:53    1777817

Have to have a few drinks tonight just to make sure I get the eyes shut for a few hours. Can't wait for 9.am to hit the road. thankfully my son is driving so I don't need to hold back tonight 'cos without a few wee ones I wouldn't sleep. To be honest and I know it's ridiculous but this feels as much like a final as any of the finals we've been involved in. Think this is the game neutrals and Sky have been waiting for and I hope they all enjoy the Green and Red Juggernaut rolling on !!

ponga (Mayo) - Posts: 650 - 29/08/2015 19:59:46    1777822

If Dublin don't get a big lead up in the first 20 mins I think that Mayo will win. Dublin are a confidence team and lack real leaders, apart from McCauley, if things begin to go wrong for them. Looking forward to a clean, hard fought game with none of the antics that have blighted recent games. I also hope that the officials are content to play the support role rather than the lead role on the day.

neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 29/08/2015 20:01:25    1777823

' Dublin are a confidence team and lack real leaders'?!

Many people down the pub with you tonight?!

CroiGorm (Dublin) - Posts: 1547 - 29/08/2015 20:44:12    1777838

So Keith Higgins the green & red army roll into Croker once again. Beware the Dubs this team is like no other Mayo team I have seen in my 40 odd years.
You can run you can hide but tomorrow will be judgment day are you ready for the test of your lives Dublin because your gonna need to be!!!

Get your money on Mayo & Man United double tomorrow lads! A Green & RED double all day long!!!

MancIrish told you 1st!

Mancirish (UK) - Posts: 2200 - 29/08/2015 21:43:11    1777853

Sweet jesus!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 29/08/2015 21:58:25    1777856

All ready for the trip now. Been up for hours after a fairly sleepless night despite a few stiff ones. Stomach in knots with tension but confident the lads will do the business again today. So much has been said about which players will determine the outcome but it could well be someone totally unexpected and if it is then let him be wearing Green and Red!! Safe journey to ye all.

ponga (Mayo) - Posts: 650 - 30/08/2015 08:26:27    1777862

Lack real leaders!2 AI's and back in a semi with 3 league titles in a row and you think they are without leaders.
The clue is in the name right !

SLLY (Dublin) - Posts: 463 - 30/08/2015 09:12:51    1777865

Neverright i can see how you got your name! And then to add your county into the mix it all makes sense to me now!

DUBJOHN (Dublin) - Posts: 932 - 30/08/2015 10:02:14    1777872

Safe journey to both sets of supporters today to and from the game...may the best team win on the day.
Up The Dubs.

Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 30/08/2015 10:08:27    1777874

Mancirish .... like no other mayo team I've seen in 40 odd years ..... eh it's the same mayo team from the last 5 years.... .. good luck to mayo today but please keep the mayo r different this year chat till ye manage to win it !

rossy15 (Roscommon) - Posts: 619 - 30/08/2015 10:30:22    1777877

Hoping for a good game today, both teams are well capable of winning, Dublin may have more firepower but they've moonwalked into the AI semi's.

So anyway best of luck to both teams, but especially Mayo!!! :-)

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 30/08/2015 11:53:21    1777898

Nice article on Paul Flynn in the Indo. He has had to graft. He sees that there is more to life than football. He knows enough to enjoy the journey and not obsess about the destination. Respect.

plike (Kerry) - Posts: 569 - 30/08/2015 12:33:31    1777913

Nice article on Paul Flynn in the Indo. He has had to graft. He sees that there is more to life than football. He knows enough to enjoy the journey and not obsess about the destination. Respect.

plike (Kerry) - Posts: 569 - 30/08/2015 12:33:44    1777914

Really looking forward to this game. It would have made a great final. Both teams should be fresh as they had plenty left in the tank at the end of their respective quarters and have had a further 3/4 weeks to prepare. Not sure how it will pan out but I've a sneaking feeling MAyo might shade it but only if the adopt a blanket style defence as their full back line can be got at if left exposed. Dublin looked a bit off colour in their quarter final but tbh they were just doing enough to get by and had many more gears. The worrying thing for them was that they still look a confused team when presented with a simple blanket.

Should be interesting, will be tight and the winners will be my favourites for the AI. Wouldn't it be great to see MAyo beat Kerry in an All Ireland Final after all their years of heartbreak against that opposition.

Tir Conaill Abu (Donegal) - Posts: 1671 - 30/08/2015 12:40:43    1777916

Best of luck to both teams today. I'm expecting lots of goals. Small investment on anytime goalscorer and team to win. B.Brogan and Dublin 7/2. A. O'Shea and Mayo 11/2.

kerry74 (Kerry) - Posts: 1354 - 30/08/2015 12:56:30    1777919

Just saying it as I see it & in fact as it is Rossy15..
Hey should be a good day for you today, while the Mayo lads are down at Croker a bit of cross boarder sheep stealing might be the order of the day..;) #JustSaying

Mancirish (UK) - Posts: 2200 - 30/08/2015 12:57:36    1777920

So when did James Horan return to the fold Rossy15 lad??? You know you miss alsorts from this side of the Irish Sea...;)

Watch & learn lad watch & learn. Nowt wrong in belief in fact if you never believe nothing will ever come through for you... Being a Rossy though I get where YOU might be coming from.. hehe

Mancirish (UK) - Posts: 2200 - 30/08/2015 13:12:03    1777925