AI Semi-Final Dublin V Mayo

They're like hens teeth I'm afraid. The GAA have confirmed no more will be made available.

CroiGorm (Dublin) - Posts: 1547 - 26/08/2015 12:56:12    1776471

I believe if Mayo can combat Cluxton's kickouts sufficiently then they will win. People might say that Donegal were weary and whatever, but I have to say it was the most impressive Mayo performance I've ever seen in the flesh. They looked extremely sharp, dynamic and very composed. They knew exactly what they were doing and the tactics were spot on.

I can see Mayo taking this one with 3 or 4 points to spare.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9154 - 26/08/2015 13:00:04    1776480

If its a draw then maybe the GAA can repay Mayo for last year and fix it for the gaelic grounds. Mayo fans will finally get a sense of justice.

Mayo have experience playing in the ground now and Kerry will be forgiven for making them play there last year. All will be good in the world of the GAA again.

KY4SAM2015 (Kerry) - Posts: 898 - 26/08/2015 13:18:49    1776508

Mayo by 4-5 I think - they'll boss the kick outs/procession round the middle and force Dublin half back line backwards to protect their full back line. Also think the Dublin full forward line will struggle - was much more potent when Mannion and O'Gara were available and had Kevin Mc to come in. Andrews and Rock are no world beaters and brogan is pushing on. The top two teams in last years champo to meet in this years final I think.

blacknamber (Kerry) - Posts: 267 - 26/08/2015 13:39:55    1776530

I give no Credence to the "This is finally Mayo's Year" they will only win if they are at their peak performance and get match ups right.
There is no sentiment in sport .
Fine players in the past walked away withou AI medal , Ciaran McDonald, James Nallen, Ciaran Whelan and many more from both counties
Remember Dublin also lost 3 semis in the noughties by a single point Armagh 2002, Mayo 2006 Cork 2010 and the Dublin team of the 90's had much heartbreak before finally fallling iover the line.

This Dublin Team are excellent haven won many trophies playing the right way they have brought much joy to their supporters and entertained the neutyrals with flowing football.

However I do feel an all ireland for Mayo would be good for GAA Dublin have the population and resources and like Kerry will nearly always be contenders. The All Ireland over the last number of years has been contested between 6 counties at most. A Mayo win could give hope to counties on the fringes in the same way as Galway and Offaly winning the hurling in the 80's and Clare & Wexfod in the 90's rejuvenated hurling. We seen similar in 91 when Down won and then we had an Ulster 4 in a row. On that basis I think a Mayo win is better for the health of Gaelic Football nationally more so than Dublin or Kerry but as I say ther is no sentiment in sport.

I finish by saying C'mon Mayo bring your A Game and ye can do it lads

belmay (Mayo) - Posts: 172 - 26/08/2015 13:49:10    1776543

I give no Credence to the "This is finally Mayo's Year" they will only win if they are at their peak performance and get match ups right.
There is no sentiment in sport .
Fine players in the past walked away withou AI medal , Ciaran McDonald, James Nallen, Ciaran Whelan and many more from both counties
Remember Dublin also lost 3 semis in the noughties by a single point Armagh 2002, Mayo 2006 Cork 2010 and the Dublin team of the 90's had much heartbreak before finally fallling iover the line.

This Dublin Team are excellent haven won many trophies playing the right way they have brought much joy to their supporters and entertained the neutyrals with flowing football.

However I do feel an all ireland for Mayo would be good for GAA Dublin have the population and resources and like Kerry will nearly always be contenders. The All Ireland over the last number of years has been contested between 6 counties at most. A Mayo win could give hope to counties on the fringes in the same way as Galway and Offaly winning the hurling in the 80's and Clare & Wexfod in the 90's rejuvenated hurling. We seen similar in 91 when Down won and then we had an Ulster 4 in a row. On that basis I think a Mayo win is better for the health of Gaelic Football nationally more so than Dublin or Kerry but as I say ther is no sentiment in sport.

I finish by saying C'mon Mayo bring your A Game and ye can do it lads

belmay (Mayo) - Posts: 172 - 26/08/2015 13:49:43    1776544

It's Mayo for me lads Dublin don't look half as formidable as previous years. The reason I believe this is, FB line will struggle against OShea ( infairness so would everyone else's )
Midfield looks weaker than previous years, MDMA not playing as well as previous years and Fenton is untested at this level.
Flynn's looks like he has an injury I might be wrong but is he suffering with a long standing groin problem?
Upfront they are missing mannion & EOG.
Finally they don't seem to have the options off the bench like in 2013.
Mayo will have to crack Cluxtons kickouts which I believe they will.
This should be a cracker of a game hope everyone going enjoys it.

westkerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1250 - 26/08/2015 13:53:36    1776546

cheers croi, just read in the irish news it was a sell out

bumpernut (Antrim) - Posts: 1852 - 26/08/2015 14:10:02    1776560

Some great match day info for Mayo fans traveling up on Sunday.

http://mayoclub51.com/2015-all-ireland-semi-final-mayo-v-dublin/

mayo.mick (Mayo) - Posts: 585 - 26/08/2015 15:28:28    1776636

Haha the podcast was gas Fiona thinks it would be very arrogant if Dublin went man on man on AOS she actually said that, then some other fella said I can't understand why Dublin don't rate us, huh? Everyone in Dublin team supporters the lot rate this Mayo team highly I don't know we're he was going with that. I know it's a Mayo podcast but very funny how it can be all on there side I suppose our podcasts are the same.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 26/08/2015 17:25:07    1776726

blacknamber

Mayo by 4-5 I think - they'll boss the kick outs/procession round the middle and force Dublin half back line backwards to protect their full back line. Also think the Dublin full forward line will struggle - was much more potent when Mannion and O'Gara were available and had Kevin Mc to come in. Andrews and Rock are no world beaters and brogan is pushing on. The top two teams in last years champo to meet in this years final I think.

Nail. On.Head.
This is exactly what i have been saying for 2 weeks now but people think i am just being a cute hoor and all that BS

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 26/08/2015 17:43:33    1776745

Nobody is buying the Dublin fans bigging up Mayo. Dublin are odds on favourites to win on Sunday and it will take a massive performance from Mayo to get past the blue tidal wave. So less of the codding..us Kerry fans know what ye are at.

Hopefully we will get a tight high scoring game..the atmosphere should be epic and whoever wins has the prize of trying to dethrone the defending champions.

What a honor that would be for the winners on Sunday.

KY4SAM2015 (Kerry) - Posts: 898 - 26/08/2015 18:24:59    1776772

Was listening to it to clondalkin.. They were going on about bastick playing in front of AOS, the presenter having a heart attack like they were giving away inside info!! You have to love the build up.. slow and agonising week.. neXT week will be joy or depression

AthCliath87 (Dublin) - Posts: 345 - 26/08/2015 19:01:55    1776786

Disregard any Dublin or Kerry poster saying Mayo

Dublin for obvious reasons and Kerry because the truth is down here we're scared witless at the thought of facing the Blue Supermen whereas against Mayo we would in probability be still in the game at Half Time before falling away soon after. Please please save us Mayo from a hiding of all hidings!

KYTitletown (Kerry) - Posts: 816 - 26/08/2015 19:14:47    1776793

87 it's gas if we win you move on to the next one if you lose its depressing for months after.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 26/08/2015 20:15:00    1776826

Depression.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 26/08/2015 20:16:42    1776827

Mayo team named for Sunday:

Mayo (SFC v Dublin) - 1. David Clarke, 2. Ger Cafferkey, 3. Donal Vaughan, 4. Keith Higgins, 5. Lee Keegan, 6. Chris Barrett, 7. Colm Boyle, 8. Seamus O'Shea,  9. Tom Parsons, 10. Diarmuid O'Connor, 11. Aidan O'Shea, 12. Kevin McLoughlin, 13. Barry Moran, 14. Cillian O'Connor,15. Jason Doherty.

CroiGorm (Dublin) - Posts: 1547 - 26/08/2015 21:34:02    1776857

Honestly don't think that team will be the starting 15 for Mayo , can't see them playing Barry Moran as sweeper again I think Andy Moran will start.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 27/08/2015 10:09:27    1776925

Barry Moran does not make sense as a sweeper against Dublin, unless they will just push him to a 3rd midfielder - but then we would have a free defender for short kickouts anyway..

I agree Clondalkin, be shocked if that was their starting 15

AthCliath87 (Dublin) - Posts: 345 - 27/08/2015 10:24:46    1776935

I think if Mayo are going to use a sweeper, a smaller, more mobile player will be required rather than a big towering player. Dublin don't really have an inside forward who they can just lump ball into. But they do have quick players who show great movement. In a way, it's harder to play a sweeper role against these types of players. Constant and clear communication is needed and it isn't something we've seen Mayo do before. Maybe they have been working on it behind closed doors though - we'll see on Sunday.

It really should be an epic contest. I'm really looking forward to it and I'll stand by my earlier prediction of Mayo to take it by 3 or 4 points.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9154 - 27/08/2015 10:40:36    1776946