AI Semi-Final Dublin V Mayo

Both teams have not been tested this year with easy canters out of provinces and easy enough games against a below required standard Fermanagh and an exhausted Donegal . Have to fancy the Dubs to win as they are least likely to choke on the day . Dubs by 4 or 5

Finsceal (None) - Posts: 559 - 25/08/2015 16:37:53    1776069

Neither team have been tested so it's a tough one to call. I think Dublin have the better forwards so Mayo will have to really dominate possession in order to win. I think we can do this as Dublin are not as strong as they were at centre field and Paul Flynn has been playing below par this year. We need huge games from McLoughlin, C O'Connor and Doherty if we are to get enough scores. I think they have it in them.

pdempsey (Mayo) - Posts: 1313 - 25/08/2015 16:38:55    1776072

All well and good but if all of the bookies have Dublin as favourites for the games, well, then Dublin are favourites. Pretty simple actually.

BatigolStatue (Mayo) - Posts: 211 - 25/08/2015 16:39:18    1776073

Mayo GAA ‏@MayoGAA 18m18 minutes ago
Going to be some atmosphere on Sunday. @officialgaa announce that the game is now Officially "Sold Out" #mayogaa #gaa

mayo.mick (Mayo) - Posts: 585 - 25/08/2015 16:39:40    1776075

It's 50/50 no more no less!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8596 - 25/08/2015 16:39:47    1776076

Bookies odds will always be a little lopsided against the Dubs because due to Dublin's population the probability of more money being staked on a Dublin win is great. So if Dublin v XXXX is an even game Dublin will always be favourites due to bookies fear of losing.
Fairly simple really so I wouldn't read too much into bookies odds.

This game is even, no matter what way you look at it.
The team that makes the most mistakes loses.

If both teams play to their max it could very easily be a draw.

GAAHattrick (Dublin) - Posts: 278 - 25/08/2015 16:50:21    1776090

I don't think the favourites tag is a huge factor in this game anyway, general thought is that it is 50/50 and either team could win

AthCliath87 (Dublin) - Posts: 345 - 25/08/2015 16:54:19    1776095

There is gona be massive pressure on the dubs to win this game because if they lose it'l be 2 years since they will have beaten a div 1 team in the championship

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 25/08/2015 18:19:09    1776151

KingdomBoy1

1776151 There is gona be massive pressure on the dubs to win this game because if they lose it'l be 2 years since they will have beaten a div 1 team in the championship

Agreed massive pressure on Dublin,Mayo to take advantage and get to the final,were the unbeatable Kerry will win back to back all Irelands.

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 25/08/2015 18:40:21    1776166

KingdomBoy1

Give up your auld sins lad, you know no one in Dublin or Kerry give a hoot about stuff like that, it's Sam or failure, end of, there is as much pressure on us both in that regard.
Think of the pressure Mayo must feel!!!
But it could be about to ease significantly, the winner of Sunday's game to beat the Kingdom!!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8596 - 25/08/2015 18:45:16    1776174

AthCliath87

If Dublin perform on the day I think we will win. I think we are the better all round team and panel.

Cluxton's kickouts are going to be interesting.. Mayo pushing up on the kicks and then zonal marking reduces the space. Kerry pushed up on our kickouts in 2013 but did not zonal mark so there was acres of space in their half back line... example being Kev Mc's goal.. Mayo will be doing anything they can to make cluxton go long and central and try slow down his kickouts.

-------
I get a cold shiver running down my spine anytime anyone mentions Mayo pushing up on Stevo's kickouts. I get flashbacks to that nightmare league game in Castlebar in 2012 when we shipped 20 points and lost by 12. We couldn't get outside our own 45 for 30 mins and Clucko had a nightmare, couldn't pick out a blue shirt to save his life. Mayo pushed right up and boxed us in forcing Stevo to go long to the jolly green giants in the middle. Anyway, we got even with them this year down there. I can't see Mayo using any other tactic than a full court press. They'll fancy their chances in the middle against our rookie Fenton and a misfiring MDMA. The rain is to continue for the week I think and our lads will like that pacey surface. Hopefull AOS is like a giraffe on roller blades and mother nature neutralises his influence.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 25/08/2015 18:49:02    1776176

Joxer the AOS bit made me chuckle!

Was there for the abandoned game and the rescheduled game that year! Wouldn't judge cluxo on that..

If he has the kicking boots on he will find a man more often than not.. He kicks low and fast which reduces the ability of the opposition to get in to challange the free man..

The thoughts of clucko having an off day sends a shiver down the spine!!

AthCliath87 (Dublin) - Posts: 345 - 25/08/2015 19:28:32    1776196

Realdub
I'm only blagarding you kiddo and of course both teams are under massive pressure to win, I'm just glad I can sit back and enjoy it, it should be a cracker with gods help and your absolutely 100% right that who ever wins ye'r game will win it out for sure , I'm afraid winning the allireland will be a bridge too far this year, but maybe next year we might be out of transision and we'll take a stab at it again.
All the best to both teams on Sunday.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 25/08/2015 19:41:29    1776211

AthCliath87

If Dublin perform on the day I think we will win. I think we are the better all round team and panel.

Not sure I agree with you there AthCliath.

Mayo lost last year's semi final to the eventual winners after a replay. In my own opinion they were denied a place in the final by a poor refereeing decision & poor sideline tactics.

Dublin, on the other hand were well beaten & many of their players showed little stomach for a battle when the going got tough.

This is really the only form we have to go on as the league & provincial championships are no indicators of anything.

Dublin are a super team to watch & when they get into their stride are nigh on unstoppable. Mayo on the other hand have a hunger to win that no other team can match. I also feel their backs & midfield have the edge & in Aidan O'Sé have a one man wrecking ball.

It has all the makings of a super game which will in all likelihood be decided by a mistake, hop of a ball, refereeing decision or, hopefully, a moment of magic.

Really looking forward to it.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 25/08/2015 19:59:23    1776221

KingdomBoy1

Realdub
I'm only blagarding you kiddo and of course both teams are under massive pressure to win, I'm just glad I can sit back and enjoy it, it should be a cracker with gods help and your absolutely 100% right that who ever wins ye'r game will win it out for sure , I'm afraid winning the allireland will be a bridge too far this year, but maybe next year we might be out of transision and we'll take a stab at it again.

-----
G'wan outta that ye bleedin chancer ye! You know that you have it in the bag. The winner on Sunday will be battle weary and punch drunk, just like Donegal were last year. The Kerry men on the other hand will be well rested and will have hatched their game plan well in advance. With any luck we'll squeeze through on Sunday but sure it will be no disgrace going out in the final to the greatest footballing county in the history of the game.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 25/08/2015 20:31:20    1776241

Why are the dubs trying to pretend they are the underdogs when everyone knows they are the favourites across all bookies? When you play the cute hoor, you are supposed to have some grain of truth in there at least. You lads are coming across more full of sh** than cute hoor...
____
Well Master, as a poster who seems to be vacuumed packed with the substance you refer to, you obviously haven't the faintest understanding of the phenomenon known as 'cute hoorism[ or 'yerra'. Most Dubs I know are frankly very sceptical about the bookie's odds. They genuinely think this Mayo team are a very strong outiot and they are far from certain about the strength of this Dublin team. Players are out of form, recent performances have not been great. Cute hoorism is indulged in by those who know damn well that their team has a very good chance of winning but deliberately downplay their prospects. That's not what I'm getting from most Dublin posters. Tell me what is it you are a Master of ???

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 25/08/2015 20:53:25    1776250

IMO Mayo will play a different sweeper on Sunday maybe KH with KK or CB coming into the side at corner back, although BM was very effective in qtr final it is horse's for courses and IMO BM would not be able to cover across a pacey FF line.

My question to the Dublin lads is, if this happens who will Dublin's free man be? and what will his role be?

a) just sit in front of O'Shea all day
b) push up on Mayo sweeper and force a man on man
c) sit in front of O'shea and attack when opportunity arises (a bit like what i think Higgins could do at the other end)

Is this likely to be a battle of the sweepers with the one that is most effect in the role tipping the balance is favour of his team?

Thoughts?

2winjustonce (Mayo) - Posts: 65 - 26/08/2015 11:33:09    1776404

Ive predicted a Dublin v Kerry final since the start of the year.Wont be changing now.Mayo are a formidable,high quality side,with plenty big game experience in Croke Park.Not all good it has to be said.However,you can be sure,they will perform to a high level on Sunday.I wudnt be too sure on Mayo's fullback line.Sligo,while being beaten out the gate,scored two goals and created another.Galway also.In the wide open pastures of HQ,i feel Dubliin will do quite a bit of damage in this area.I would be disappointed if Dublin don't score a minimum of two goals,but id be hopeful of four.I feel our forwards are primed to ignite on the big stage.

Dublin have had a rather,trouble free,route to the semi final,swatting away inferior opposition at their ease.Whether this will work against them on Sunday,only time will tell,but complacency will definately not be an issue.S O Shea and T Parsons look solid in midfield,but Fenton and,presumably,M D McCauley are no slouches,and i dont envisage any real advantage in this area.

K Mcloughlin,J Doherty,C O Connor and the man mountain full-forward Aidan O Shea are a potent,fast,energetic and powerful forward line.Dubblin,most certainly,will not have faced anything like it,to date,in this years championship.Our full-back line is strong,although,how R O Carroll deals with the threat of A O Shea,will go along way to deciding this game.J McCaffrey and J McCarthy are in for a hard day at the office,but have the required fitness levels and stamina needed to last the full 70 minutes.They may not get forward as much as they like and will be needed to protect the full-back line at times.In C O Sullivan,we have a great reader of the game and holds the middle well.

All over the field,we will be treated to great individual battles.It will be played at a relentless,breakneck speed and will be no place for the feint hearted.I believe Dublins full-back and full-forward lines will eventually get the better of their opponents and carry the day.Dublin by 5.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 26/08/2015 12:03:55    1776421

Joxer
The GAA might as well give Sam to the winner of Sundays game and save us all a long trip up from the kingdom.
I'm really looking forward to the shoot out though it'l be some battle.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 26/08/2015 12:07:24    1776429

Lads whats the craic for tickets for Sunday, will there be many available on the day from the ticket office or are they like hens teeth?

bumpernut (Antrim) - Posts: 1852 - 26/08/2015 12:54:12    1776469