Kilkenny v Waterford

Cool for Cats!!!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8597 - 09/08/2015 20:57:17    1766791

How do you reckon that Kilkenny got soft scores from the match to day , Ger Alyward got a hurl into his face got nothing for it the lines man on that side saw nothing,also the minor match the ref gave nothing to Kilkenny the two goals for Galway came from frees that should have going kilkennys way they were fouled and fouled.

johnwhite12 (Kilkenny) - Posts: 306 - 09/08/2015 21:09:51    1766802

Waterfords tactics were very tough on their own forwards they were swamped and outnumbered and I can't see any merit at all in the way they played. The intensity of KK's play is a joy to behold a truly awesome team.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4898 - 09/08/2015 21:31:03    1766831

Soft frees for KK!! did see it, I saw a few other things that went unpunished, Dan Shannahan running around the pitch given instructions to players - for the entire game, even when the ball was in play !!! the waterford defender flung his hurl at TJ Reid for the goal, throwing of hurleys is becoming the norm now.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4898 - 09/08/2015 21:43:36    1766843

Arrock that system will only take you so far it looked terrible to day

johnwhite12 (Kilkenny) - Posts: 306 - 09/08/2015 21:47:36    1766844

I thought Brian Gavin refereed it very well. He let it flow.

The better side won. Disappointing that Waterford didn't go for it with 20 minutes to go. Austin Gleeson is one fantastic young player. That point where they worked it out from their goal to Gleeson who scored, was the best score of the lot yesterday. Fantastic.

There are good days ahead for that Waterford side. If they develop like the Donegal footballers did from 2011 to 2012 then next year could be a massive year for them.

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 10/08/2015 08:39:20    1766870

6 points off the top team in the country not bad for a team still rebuilding. Still a proud Waterford man today. We had a great year. Lost to tip and KK who are considered the best in the country.

TheBlaBoi (Waterford) - Posts: 24 - 10/08/2015 10:04:49    1766954

Just to piont out about hurleys being thrown. Did one of the KK backs try to split lar corbit. Didn't Tommy Walsh break the refs nose with the hurl another time. Sh*te happens get on with it. The better team won.

TheBlaBoi (Waterford) - Posts: 24 - 10/08/2015 10:19:51    1766973

Waterford forwards outnumbered by KK backs when ball went up and maybe 10 shots dropped on top of Eoin Murphy. In second half when Waterford reduced margin to 3points,, and KK missed a few scores, Waterford has a few wides as well. How did Walter Walsh stay on pitch for 66 minutes? He did nothing, missed a simple point chance in second half, he had a poor game in Leinster Final as well. I thought Brian Gavin had a good game yesterday in a bad week for him. Nothing really controversial in game, maybe free to TJ. Reid when he got a fair shoulder, looked a bit generous.
Kilkenny's craft and experience got them over the line, Waterford should use game as a learning experience, they have some excellent young players. I hope they make the breakthrough in ages years.

thelongridge (Offaly) - Posts: 1749 - 10/08/2015 12:01:48    1767114

Waterford battled hard but KK just had too much for them yesterday. Waterford badly needed to do in the second half what Galway minors done a few times, got in for goals to bring them back into the game. Still Waterford have some fine young players and with Pauric Mahony to come back next year there could be a bright future ahead.

clonjon (Dublin) - Posts: 665 - 10/08/2015 12:15:40    1767133

TheBlaBoi that's a bit of a silly post to be honest, "Sh*te happens get on with it"? How should the eventual outcome of the match be in any way relevant to the application of the rules during the game? If Waterford won, would it still be a case of " Sh*te happens get on with it" or could we then be permitted to wonder if Waterford having a full back on a yellow card for throwing the hurl from the 15th minute, with TJ Reid to mark, might have lead to a different game or even result?

Gavin should have dished out a yellow for the hurl being thrown yesterday, irrespective of the eventual result

By the way, your whataboutery about the hurl thrown by Tennyson in attempt to block the strike by Corbitt can easily be countered by stating that this was not the first time Waterford players threw the hurl at a Kilkenny player while scoring a goal and got away with it. http://www.sportsfile.com/winshare/w540/Library/SF434/319902.jpg

Heftydickonem (Kilkenny) - Posts: 175 - 10/08/2015 12:17:40    1767137

Blaboi just because some other player got away with throwing his hurl in some other game doesn't mean a player should get away with it in every game.Rules are rules for a reason and should be enforced.
Waterford lads seem to be happy that they were only beaten by 6 yesterday, get real lads.kilkenny left at least3 goals behind them yesterday while their own goal was never threatened.The result was never in doubt.

Barnowl94 (Galway) - Posts: 3150 - 10/08/2015 12:27:38    1767152

I hate to see that kind of stuff happening. But I was just pointing out. They way the above user posted. You'd swear he was trying to cut he's head off. What I meant was people do things on the sper of the moment. No malice was intended

TheBlaBoi (Waterford) - Posts: 24 - 10/08/2015 17:19:11    1767461

I hate to see that kind of stuff happening. But I was just pointing out. They way the above user posted. You'd swear he was trying to cut he's head off. What I meant was people do things on the sper of the moment. No malice was intended

TheBlaBoi (Waterford) - Posts: 24 - 10/08/2015 17:19:12    1767462

The longridge Why didn't Kilkenny get a free when Walter Walsh was taken down in the first half by the Waterford goalie,also the same goalie went down easily in the second half when he found himself in trouble Ger Alyward got a slap of a hurl high in the face in the second half nothing done about it.

johnwhite12 (Kilkenny) - Posts: 306 - 10/08/2015 17:47:17    1767485

JohnWhite. The incident with Walter Walsh might have earned. a free, but ref saw it differently , he is in charge. Kilkenny still won, so get over it.

thelongridge (Offaly) - Posts: 1749 - 11/08/2015 12:51:49    1767986

This was posted as a new thread but has been incorporated here as it is the same subject matter.

stmunn
Wexford 11/08/2015 13:04

crowd

was that not a very bad crowd for kilkenny v waterford? i would have expected 55/60000k at that no?

Administrator (None) - Posts: 2274 - 11/08/2015 13:57:03    1768035

The combined population of Kilkenny and Waterford is approximately 250,000, in that context a crowd of 40,000 is respectable.

Depressingly predictable to read the usual whingeing about this free being given or that free not being given, and not one post about the performances of Reid or Hogan. Jesus H, ye must bore even yerselves sometimes.

ballydalane (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1246 - 11/08/2015 21:57:05    1768442

So pleased that the sweeper system was dismantled yet again. We now have three teams left who play hurling. I can understand why Waterford used the sweeper system but next year they will have to try something else, that is providing they have the players that we're all lead to believe they have. Teams who use this system are covering up for failings in their back lines. Some media experts would have you believe otherwise but thankfully they got their answer with hurling the big winner at the end of what was a championship bordering on the destruction of hurling. Her Loghnane referred to it as a passing phase, I hope he's right. While Donal Og Cusack didn't agree with him, he was relatively silent on the issue. Hopefully what he witnessed this summer will halt his promotion of what is becoming puke hurling.

westisthebest (Galway) - Posts: 444 - 12/08/2015 08:36:21    1768450

Longridge I just said I would say it because you were saying about a free that Tj Reid got that was generous, I know Kilkenny won I will be at the minor replay next Sunday.

johnwhite12 (Kilkenny) - Posts: 306 - 12/08/2015 09:27:13    1768474