Cork county board statement

Master both the tv and radio commentators called it a foul until they saw the replay. The ref made an error which wasn't a crazy one. The statement from the board is ridiculous.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7902 - 04/08/2015 15:30:27    1763800

kildare73 - O'Connor had a foot in the square....given more often than not but perfectly good is a stretch ;)

benjyyy (Donegal) - Posts: 1422 - 04/08/2015 16:05:15    1763838

Can I just say I have a lot of cork friends and even a few cork relations and none of them are happy with this statement and even the cork lads on here aren't happy with it so that says enough for me .

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 04/08/2015 16:06:57    1763842

James O'D made most of like he always does! Refs need to wise up

Spiderman (Donegal) - Posts: 248 - 04/08/2015 16:44:35    1763869

Only one word - Embarrassing

.. not on the fans but on the County Board

Truly embarrassing

Ban (Westmeath) - Posts: 1415 - 04/08/2015 16:44:55    1763870

Do the Cork County Borad not know its frowned apon to talk negavitly about kerry of Dublin? Both use Blanket defence also and never a word about it

Spiderman (Donegal) - Posts: 248 - 04/08/2015 16:48:48    1763876

The poor Webels lol

SeppBlatter (Dublin) - Posts: 187 - 04/08/2015 17:05:24    1763891

This statement is an outrage and embarrasment and a cop out from the county board..continually trying to paper and paint over the cracks of a proud county such as cork..the facts are there to see..donal og called them out and i believe he is dead right about everything said..this is nothing against brian cuthbert who put in trojan work for the team but just didnt work out..to blame referees and weather and 6 day turnarounds is ludicrous for any fan to say let alone the feckin county board...this board are stuck in the 1960s and im afraid they arnt going anywhere until the new stadium is built and ofcourse they will stick around to marvel at thier "monument" while patting themselves on their backs for years to come....when will the statement about the hurlers equally abject and shocking performance be made?? and who will they blame for that exit?? they sure as hell wont blame the elephant in the room..themselves..i would also like to add that the boards thoughts are far away from that of the general cork gaa supporters...shocking stuff

pidge (Cork) - Posts: 543 - 04/08/2015 17:51:52    1763923

Benjyyy God bless your eyesight if you think O'Connor had a foot in the square!! Specsavers are awaiting your call! Good job for youse the ref from the Down semi against us wasn't the ref that day.......you cold set up camp in the square and he didn't mind:). Ah well!!

kildare73 (Kildare) - Posts: 854 - 04/08/2015 18:53:02    1763958

is the statement not showing a complete lack of respect towards Kildare and Fermanagh, by stating that they would now be in a semi final

kerryluck (Kerry) - Posts: 2517 - 04/08/2015 21:46:46    1764062

cringeworthy stuff from county board

HughHunt24 (Cork) - Posts: 841 - 05/08/2015 08:10:20    1764080

I've been thinking about this statement over the last couple of days.

It really does beggar belief.

Firstly, its released almost a week after Cutbert's resignation. Why did it take them so long to thank him for his time as a manager?

Secondly, why would you use such an expression of gratitude to launch a bizarre tirade!

They state categorically that if it wasn't for 'a totally wrong refereeing decision' they would be in a semi-final, I never knew Frank Murphy could predict the future! Is this not a highly arrogant and (in light of the Kildare result) extremely questionable presumption?

The referee's decision was wrong but that's the judgement by people who had the benefit of being able to see replays of it on TV. As plenty of posters have stated on here, it certainly looked the correct decision in real time. I was on the terrace myself and felt JOD had been dragged down.

The point being, the decision was not an outrageous one. It wasn't a case that a player went down when no one was within an ass's roar of him and the referee signalled a penalty or that a goalie for example was horsed over the line like on Sunday!

To hide behind such a referee's call is pathetic in my view. Cork had plenty of time to kill the game off after the penalty and they were still ahead in extra time. They also had a replay to finish the job off, and a further second chance to get back on track against Kildare. What more can they expect!!! They haven't managed to beat us in Kerry in 20 years of championship football, are they going to follow this up with 19 more refereeing decisions that cost them those games?

The statement then makes reference to the 'exhausting weather conditions' of the replay. Do they think the Kerry players had wetsuits on so that the elements didn't have any bearing on them!

They also decry the 'short turnaround time....[that] cannot be ignored as a factor in that defeat'. Yes it is a larger issue many counties have faced, but Kerry have beaten teams six days after being dumped out of a Munster final. Fermanagh, Kildare, Tyrone have all done it this year and not a word has been said about it.

It is such a bitter and childish rant that you would have to seriously question the abilities of the people who claim to represent and govern Cork GAA.

Do you think any serious candidate for the managers job like John Clearly is going to be encouraged to put himself forward now after an episode like this. Who in their right mind would want to work for these people.

It wouldn't happen in Kerry or Kilkenny...

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 05/08/2015 14:46:22    1764429

Actually, this is quite of character for the county board, no matter what some people might think of them. Rumors are that there is now a split in the executive and the intention was to embarrass the county board.

I don't know what to make of it really. It set out as a vindication of the board's decision to appoint Cutberth in the first place, and then seemed to wander into pub conversation.

Another disappointing thing for me is some of the Kerry posters on here taking the opportunity to gloat over Cork. You may all be glad that you don't have such neighbors.

Of course Cork failed to win all games because they weren't good enough on the day. That's something to rectify.

Midleton (Cork) - Posts: 643 - 05/08/2015 15:38:18    1764489

Midleton I don't think its a case of gloating at Cork's fortunes on the field.

Its a case of showing up this bizarre statement as the rubbish it is.

Its pathetic, and an insult to Cork GAA people and the proud tradition of that county.

This kind of thing only gives an excuse for the general public to tar all Cork GAA people with the same brush.

I have no idea what the Cork CB thought it might achieve by releasing this, only to damage the reputation of Cork GAA.

In my experience 95% of the Cork football followers you meet at matches are knowledgeable, proud but also genuine and if their beat by Kerry they take it on the chin and don't go looking for some lame excuse.

As a Kerryman, and I think I speak for a lot of us when I say it, it saddens me to see the decline in the standards of both the Cork hurlers and footballers in the last couple of seasons.

It is no long term benefit for theKerry GAA to see our old foe slipping back so alarmingly....

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 05/08/2015 17:29:27    1764597

Hermit, I don't know how old you are, but Cork football has been in much worse conditions than it is at the present moment. Up until Billy Morgan's first term as manager, Cork football was in a really dire position. We went to matches against Kerry regularly in those days, not expecting Cork to win. In fact one of the rewarding days against Kerry then was in miserable weather conditions in the old Athletic Grounds when Morgan as goalkeeper made a wonder save to help Cork win the match. Regularly though Cork were expected to fail to other teams outside Munster and regularly they did.

Billy changed all that when he became Manager and in his first term, Cork amazingly dominated Kerry for four years in Munster, and won two All-Irelands. Although we've had better players since then, we've never really reached those standards again, but neither have we dipped down to where we were before.

It would be nice if our friends in Kerry would restrain from scoring cheap points against Cork because of the county board we're saddled with.

Midleton (Cork) - Posts: 643 - 05/08/2015 21:21:19    1764738

Hopefully John Cleary will get job and bring back the passion into Cork football

HughHunt24 (Cork) - Posts: 841 - 06/08/2015 20:03:33    1765349

Very hard to be a cork supporter at the moment.
Embarrassing statements from the county board.. excuses given for our performances. Players who dont give everything
Out of both codes before august

I really dont get what the county board was doing. You cant deflect attention from whats happening on the field. In my 30 years supporting cork i find my self at me lowest ebb. Iv seen many bad days. Big losses .. Inadequate teams and managers.

Now we have everything wrong. Bad managers. Embarrassing and disrespectful board. Heartless and uninterested players on both codes. Ex players making a fool of them selves on live tv bringing up old grudges.

Where does it go from here .. The rest of the gaa country thinks we're a laughing stock. Players think they have made it once the make the panel. Were getting bullied and pushed around on the field and this bloody strike looks like its never going to go away

But shur were grand we will have a lovely stadium to show case our embarrassment

ritchie (Cork) - Posts: 346 - 08/08/2015 13:21:52    1765932

Ritchie Hugh and Middleton
Boys feck the begrudgers, as the song goes : it's allways darkest before the dawn , and this too will pass.
Keep the heads up lads. Hope ye get john cleary.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 08/08/2015 15:17:45    1765964