No All Ireland in Dublin this year

MuckrossHead

1764134 jimbo has been here long enough to be entitled to air a point of view without getting the grief he's getting.

To add insult to injury having to read a Kerry troll talking about cute hoorism is nearly as much as I can handle.

______

Much appreciated Muck... but sure listen I dish it out enough at times.. have to be able to take it too :)

But I agree it was particularly personal wasn't it, I was only expressing an opinion... but sure.. MEH! :) Glad to see the thread wasn't taken over by the usual sort...

Also spot on about the Kerry posters having the neck to call anyone a cute hoor... ha-ha.. priceless stuff isn't it

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 05/08/2015 10:31:36    1764155

Some very funny posts on this one. But the creator of the tread is bang on. Dublin wont win
Too many on the team are below par.
Dublin will win and win well this year if they blitz teams but if they are put in a fight they are poor. Take BB out of it and their forward arent hitting well. Kilkenny has been a disappointment and only Connolly and Rock seem at the races.
They have had back to back poor performances
Kerry and mayo seem to be gathering a head of steam with kerry particularly peaking at the right time
Dublin look tired and lethargic.
This team has been on the go since 2011 with alot of the same personal doing the running and it looks like the legs are in trouble. Lost the semi last year when donegal ran at them they didnt have the legs to stay with them and looks even more so this year.

Dublin do the opposite to kerry
Dublin come out full trottle once the championship starts and run out of steam in the business end kerry dont peak till august.
Dublin go to win the league Kerry literally dont care about the league.
And while cork are crap at least we gave them one tough game in munster as did tipp to be fair .. Dublin get to august completely untested. Might be an idea for dublin to spread their money around rest of leinster cause if they dont start getting proper games in leinster then they are there for the picking in the all ireland series

ritchie (Cork) - Posts: 346 - 05/08/2015 11:22:23    1764194

Ritchie - This is some logic to your post. I think that if Dublin didn't put so much effort into the League campaign they would have at least 3 AI's won within the last 5 years.I think the main aim for Kerry in the League is to stay in Div 1. A lot of Kerry's big name players are rested for most of the league and usually make an appearance in the last 2-3 games. Dublin on the other hand play all the big names. When was the last time Brogan, Flynn or Connolly were rested? While its nice to win the league the championship is the big one.

aidan64 (Kerry) - Posts: 665 - 05/08/2015 12:05:13    1764232

Aidan64, If you are going to make a statement, at least have the stuff backed up - go have a look at our league starting teams. Only toward semi and final was there a near majority of what you would call championship starters. and by majority it is 8 or 9 players.

Argument for Connolly since he has been involved with Vincents in latter stages of club champo.. However he got 4 weeks off I believe it was after Corofin beat them this year.

Again, how long have the Kerry team been going? Nothing to do with legs.

We have questions to answer, I think we are ready to answer them.

AthCliath87 (Dublin) - Posts: 345 - 05/08/2015 12:15:14    1764245

+1 Aidan 69

HughHunt24 (Cork) - Posts: 841 - 05/08/2015 13:12:40    1764322

The main issue is the Dublin FF line

Brogan will be double tagged again

He wont have the same influence against the teams remaining

Who else has looked like sharing the burden in the FF line...

No one.

And we cant buy a kickable free with these dodgy as hell refs

Many of which have bought into the Dublin super-man hype...

Another major issue this team faces...

All an opposition player has to do is fall over... the best mangers will realise this

Any sort of contact in a kickable spot and just watch

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 05/08/2015 13:14:57    1764325

Isn't it amazing how a couple of late goals, one a pure mix up and the other another in a line of absolutely shocking decisions by refs this year and suddenly this team is tired, over the hill and finished. I don't know if we will win the all-ireland but we are where we need to be. If we hammered fermanagh by 15 points plus there would be an entirely different opinion out there. As I said before we are damned if we do and damned if we don't. Have we beaten anyone of consequence yet, no. Has mayo, no. Has kerry,maybe so but take out the penalty award the first day against cork and they would have been beaten and look how cork went onto perform. Obviously ulster is more of a level playing field but come saturday there is a distinct possibility that only one ulster team will be left in the race for sam. Kerry looked awesome on sunday against kildare but so did Dublin 6 weeks ago so how poor are kildare really. I would have to say their display on sunday was one of the most gutless, inept, tactically naive performances I ever seen in over 30 years going to croker. Notwithstanding that kerry are always the benchmark but very hard to judge them on that performance but they more than often seem to minimise their errors once they hit august in croker compared to other teams. Yes dublin have some problems but don't tell me they are the only team left that have them. I cannot see how any of the teams left will give aidan o' mahony a free ride that he got last sunday. I would go as far as to say a team that sets up traditionally with their six forwards playing directly on the kerry defenders will cause them some problems. O Mahony. Marc O shea and killian young can hardly have improved since 2011 so teams should try and turn them and see how they will defend when opposing forwards stay in position. Mayo still would seem to have problems in their full back line and how good is their midfield when it comes down to it. Whilst I never concurred with the general consensus after the ulster final that donegal were finished still have a limited squad and key players that seem to be struggling. They were flattered by the winning margin v galway. Mongahan have proven that they can take out donegal but now is the time to get rid of the croker hoodoo. If mcmanus is tied up or even restricted where will their scores come from. Tyrone whilst building a new team have had a very easy passage in the qualifiers so hard to know where they really are at but they are the one county who knows how to vuild momentum through the qualifiers but realistically if they were to win SAM it would be some achievement. As I said when Dublin win by a wide margin they are not tested, when they don't as 8 points no longer seens to be good enough then they are on the verge of being finished. As I said we will need to improve and not sure how great our options are from the bench but a few months back we were deemed to have endless options and practically two players for every position which was never the situation. Overall a winner is hard to call but here is hoping we can do the business.

Adamski (Dublin) - Posts: 339 - 05/08/2015 13:52:28    1764365

Couldn't agree more, take note other Dublin posters, we can all see what ye are trying to achieve and believe it's not working

KYTitletown (Kerry) - Posts: 816 - 05/08/2015 14:21:08    1764391

Ritchie can you define a poor performance for me? Winning the Leinster final by double scores and last weeks qf by 8 points. What is your definition of a poor performance? Sligo rolled over and had their bellies tickled by mayo. Ditto Kildare with Dublin and Kerry. Is that what you're basing your assumption that mayo and Kerry are peaking at the right time on? Might it be that Dublin are not showing their hand. Something Kerry have done year in year out. Mayo and Kerry teams have also been on the go since 2011 with very little new blood particularly mayo. I see no evidence that this is a factor in our alleged poor form. It seems if Dublin aren't blowing teams out of the water there is something wrong. The only player I'm worried about is Paul Flynn. He has come back from a serious operation this year and has yet to reach his full potential this summer. Other than that I think any of the teams left can sneak Sam but agree Kerry seem best placed to do so purely based on their clash with cork tho that too is a debatable yardstick to measure them by.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 05/08/2015 14:30:54    1764404

Must admit I was a little panicky for about 24 hours after Sunday and prob due to the memories of the semi last year!

We are defo lighter up top now with O'Gara injury, mannion with the year off, costello hasn't kicked on. I just can't see us being as loose at the back in the semis. I would imagine we will swamp the midfield for the longer kickouts.

I wouldn't change our HF line for love nor money. BB is class and on top form. Deano is putting scores up again and paddy looked very good. Therefore we have kev mc, costello and al brogan to come off the bench - does not sound so bad!! Fingers crossed we get no injuries!

We are a fickle bunch in the GAA world!! Ath Cliath abu!

AthCliath87 (Dublin) - Posts: 345 - 05/08/2015 14:31:20    1764405

Bright side of life AthCliath

If only!

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 05/08/2015 21:59:30    1764773

In fairness Dublin had the game won in the first half on sunday and then took off a lot of key men and Fermanagh got 2 lucky goals so in reality this was a 14 point win.. Though i have to say i am not overly impressed with Dublin, they look tired maybe a lot of them are suffering with burnout, i cannot see them winning the sam this year, if they do get past either mayo or donegal then Kerry will take them in the final. it would be some final, heres hoping its Kerry v dublin on second last sunday in september...

dec (None) - Posts: 269 - 06/08/2015 09:27:35    1764799

http://www.herald.ie/sport/gaa/cian-osullivan-kerry-are-better-than-last-year-and-are-favourites-for-sam-31429981.html

Even the Dub players realise it now...

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 06/08/2015 10:16:13    1764835

Jackeen

Right the poor performances im alluding to are westmeath and Fermanagh.. Yes kerry and mayo are on the go since 2011 as well but dublin are the team that are looking shaky.

Players like MDC Flynn Kilkenny O Carroll Cluxton the full forward line other than BB are not firing. Yes you are beating inferior teams but double scores but lets face it you are not looking convincing doing it. I love dublin and have been a supporter of them because of the way they conduct them selves but looking at the top three it is my opinion kerry and mayo are ahead of you. Last sunday the games got reversed kildare were supposed to give kerry a game and dublin were to blow fermanagh out of the water the opposite happened. Kerry looked devastating and also showed the power of their bench. Mayo look different cause they have reshaped their team.

You might not like what iv to say but as a neutral looking at those remaining i would fancy either mayo or kerry to beat dublin. I just dont think dublin are motoring well at the moment. Key players are not functioning. If connolly and brogan have an off day ye are done for. I dont think the bench is as strong as it was and for some reason confidence isnt what it used to be. That was very evident in Rock's interview after the fermanagh game

ritchie (Cork) - Posts: 346 - 06/08/2015 10:32:45    1764852

Kerry are definatley the favourites and dublin would have little chance of beating them. Hope its close though assuming both teams reach the final

heresam (Dublin) - Posts: 156 - 06/08/2015 10:35:43    1764857

06/08/2015 10:32:45
ritchie

1764852 Jackeen

Right the poor performances im alluding to are westmeath and Fermanagh.. Yes kerry and mayo are on the go since 2011 as well but dublin are the team that are looking shaky.

Players like MDC Flynn Kilkenny O Carroll Cluxton the full forward line other than BB are not firing. Yes you are beating inferior teams but double scores but lets face it you are not looking convincing doing it. I love dublin and have been a supporter of them because of the way they conduct them selves but looking at the top three it is my opinion kerry and mayo are ahead of you. Last sunday the games got reversed kildare were supposed to give kerry a game and dublin were to blow fermanagh out of the water the opposite happened. Kerry looked devastating and also showed the power of their bench. Mayo look different cause they have reshaped their team.

You might not like what iv to say but as a neutral looking at those remaining i would fancy either mayo or kerry to beat dublin. I just dont think dublin are motoring well at the moment. Key players are not functioning. If connolly and brogan have an off day ye are done for. I dont think the bench is as strong as it was and for some reason confidence isnt what it used to be. That was very evident in Rock's interview after the fermanagh game

+1 dubs look doomed. Kerry's to lose now.

1.Kerry
2.Mayo
3.Donegal
4.Dublin

HughHunt24 (Cork) - Posts: 841 - 06/08/2015 10:47:20    1764863

Bit ironic that jimbo has so many times over, highlighted his bug-bear with 'culchies' is their false-modesty...

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 06/08/2015 11:58:37    1764948

1764948 Bit ironic that jimbo has so many times over, highlighted his bug-bear with 'culchies' is their false-modesty...

----

It's not ironic

I'm speaking the truth... that's the difference

I have highlighted key areas where we are weak

Comparing that to our 2013 team

These are accurate observations IMO

I don't see how that is seen as anything but honest

We have a good team, but we're not the world beaters that many believe - that was clearly exposed last year
and for me - we're actually in a weaker position going forward compared to 2014

Again Admin...

Have to question why you are letting these personal attacks on me through - they have no relevance to the true intentions of this thread

Several posters have highlighted my right to my opinion in the face of some of the comments made by a number of posters

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 06/08/2015 12:17:05    1764963

I can't see us lifting Sam this year myself, we've solved none of last year's problems. Moving Cian O'Sullivan to no. 6 strengthens the half-back line but weakens our midfield and McCarthy, McCaffrey and Cooper still bomb forward for every attack and forget their defensive duties. An injury to Rory O'Carroll and we're banjaxed. In midfield, Bastick and Fenton won't frighten any team left in the Championship and MDMA is in terrible form too.

Up front we're still strong and B. Brogan and Rock are firing on all cylinders though.

I could see us winning a shoout-out against Mayo but worry that either Donegal or Kerry will know exactly how to play against us.

Mickmick (Dublin) - Posts: 104 - 06/08/2015 12:31:43    1764981

If you look those protesting the loudest to this thread are from Kerry and Mayo

Not once have they tried to disprove my observations

Merely points to the fact that I must be lying

Only highlights their own true self serving intentions

It's only an opinion on an internet forum lads - it counts for nothing only as a means for me to voice an opinion

I wouldn't be getting so worked up about it - it's meaningless to the actual events that will take place.

So either discuss the thread and the points I've made or please let's not take it off topic

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 06/08/2015 12:41:00    1764988