Right now that's over with

Can we get back to the topic...

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 04/08/2015 15:12:56    1763782

aidan64

1763709 No one mentioning Mayo?

I think they will turn the Dubs over this year in the semis.

_________

I made this call many months ago...

I think you're right unfortunately

I thought all year it would be a Mayo v Kerry final

But originally I had Mayo down to win it

I thought you'd be a little more weary going for back to backs

But if anything you look better than last year...

That injury time point against Cork speaks volumes

Your game under EF will cause Mayo more problems than I originally gave you credit for

Tactically I'd say you're the best left in it... throw a bucket load of talent in there too...

Kerry are looking polished

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 04/08/2015 15:21:43    1763789

It is anyones to win! There is very little between Dublin, Kerry, Mayo and Donegal. Tyrone or Monaghan would be a very difficult game also and either one could have the potential to turn over Kerry in the semis.

By what we have seen, it is hard to argue that Kerry should not be favourites. However, could be a different story come 5.15pm August 31st after the 2 semis have been played.

I do think Jimbo is genuine in belief we won't win Sam but is living in hope we will(like us all) ! That is his opinion and his within his right to back that up.

The nerves are already hanging off me for the semis! It is going to be a long 3 and 1/2 weeks! Hon the Dubs!

AthCliath87 (Dublin) - Posts: 345 - 04/08/2015 15:23:18    1763790

I do think Jimbo is genuine in belief we won't win Sam but is living in hope we will(like us all) ! That is his opinion and his within his right to back that up.

You pretty much just summed it up perfectly

Nothing I can do about the likes of these trolls... although disappointing that admin would just allow those posts to go through

Just have to brush it off like a fly landed on your shoulder... :)

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 04/08/2015 15:34:52    1763806

Its not cure hoorism, its not playing the Kerry game, its honesty.
Reasons I dont see us winning Sam..
1. in 2013 we had a starting forward six of Connolly Flynn Brogan, Mannion, O'Gara, Brogan
Off the bench we had Andrews, McMenamin, Rock, Costelloe and Cullen.
This year we have nothing approaching that class coming off the bench. Our bench won us an All Ireland in 2013, there is no All Ireland in this bench in 2015.
2. MF. We have no settled MF, u wont win an All Ireland without a performing MF, and Fenton aside, we dont have it
3. Paul Flynns form. In the last 4 years he has been an incredible player, scoring vital scores at vital times, its not happening this year. Ok he got the goal against Fermanagh, but he hardly created it. Think of Donegal 2014 to see the player we need him to be

These are just a few of the reasons that we are NOT the team we were last year or the year before, and to be honest, Mayo and Kerry are looking a good bit stronger so far.
We wont beat either of them

Its not cute hoorism. U asked for reasons....theres 3

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 04/08/2015 15:49:58    1763822

Trolls... good grief!

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12120 - 04/08/2015 15:52:18    1763825

One thing from this weekend I think is that going into the game no matter how much preparation they had I don't think Dublin players ever believed they'd lose the game Dublin never looked like they got out of second gear. I don't mean to be having a go at fermanagh here but I'd imagine the Dublin players felt they only needed to show up, it was fairly evident in the second half until the last 10 mins when fermanagh got two kinda lucky goals.

With that in mind I don't think we've seen Dublin firing on all cylinders just yet.

On the flip side I think dublins weakest areas are midfield and especially the FB line. Interestingly I'd consider Mayo's and definitly Kerrys strongest areas as their Midfield and FF line. It makes it for a very interesting pair up.

Uncle_Fester (Meath) - Posts: 217 - 04/08/2015 15:53:29    1763827

What would you be willing to wager that Dublin wont make the final jimbo?

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 04/08/2015 15:59:05    1763830

Liamwalkinstown

1763822 Its not cure hoorism, its not playing the Kerry game, its honesty.
Reasons I dont see us winning Sam..
1. in 2013 we had a starting forward six of Connolly Flynn Brogan, Mannion, O'Gara, Brogan
Off the bench we had Andrews, McMenamin, Rock, Costelloe and Cullen.
This year we have nothing approaching that class coming off the bench. Our bench won us an All Ireland in 2013, there is no All Ireland in this bench in 2015.
2. MF. We have no settled MF, u wont win an All Ireland without a performing MF, and Fenton aside, we dont have it
3. Paul Flynns form. In the last 4 years he has been an incredible player, scoring vital scores at vital times, its not happening this year. Ok he got the goal against Fermanagh, but he hardly created it. Think of Donegal 2014 to see the player we need him to be

These are just a few of the reasons that we are NOT the team we were last year or the year before, and to be honest, Mayo and Kerry are looking a good bit stronger so far.
We wont beat either of them

Its not cute hoorism. U asked for reasons....theres 3

I'd agree with nearly all of that...

Wish it wasn't so...

But sure what's the harm in being honest...

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 04/08/2015 16:23:02    1763854

just to balance my points, people saying one of our weaknesses is our FB line, i totally disagree
i wouldnt swap our fb line for another in the country. Donegal incl. I think Cooper is having the year of his life, as is Philly and ROC is as good as ever
We have have more pressing issues than our FB line who I have great faith in

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 04/08/2015 16:32:27    1763860

This cute hoorism stuff doesnt suit ye lads..where are all ye confident dubs gone, and why are ye not slagging Kerry off anymore?
Id much rather ye focused on us being average, lucky, diving or getting favourable treatment from the refs.
Dublin4sam and ye all know it in yer hearts.

KY4SAM2015 (Kerry) - Posts: 898 - 04/08/2015 18:39:32    1763955

Liamwalkinstown

just to balance my points, people saying one of our weaknesses is our FB line, i totally disagree
i wouldnt swap our fb line for another in the country. Donegal incl. I think Cooper is having the year of his life, as is Philly and ROC is as good as ever

-----
Agree compl

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 04/08/2015 19:17:41    1763971

Liamwalkinstown

-----
Agree completely. There is nothing wrong with our FB line. We are soft down the middle though. Brennan's absence is a problem for us. We have lost that steel at CHB which Donegal exploited to great effect last year. The middle is even more worrying. A rookie, Fenton, is sticky taping the line together. MDM is off form, Bastick doesn't have the legs and O'Conghaile hasn't made the grade there yet. We are underpowered up front with O'Gara and Mannion absent, Flynn off form and Rock struggling to contribute from play. I just don't think we have that 2013 x factor while the other top teams are peaking at the right time. We may squeeze past an out of sorts Mayo or Donegal but this Dublin side in it's current state would not take Kerry.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 04/08/2015 19:25:58    1763977

A simple question for Blue Juggernaut sceptics, how many Mayo / Donegal / Kerry / AN other would make the Dublin XV / squad?

I will only answer for Kerry as I know them the best player for player and the honest answer is 3 at the very most. This puts the task we would face (should we somehow make the final) against the supermen blues into context.

If we manage to get to the final I'd be over the moon and could sit back with joy and without worry or concern re: the final as it's be a shot to nothing bit like a free roulette spin, win-win obviously a near certainty to fail to win the jackpot but nothing lost either because of the free ticket (rock bottom expectations to win Sam)

KYTitletown (Kerry) - Posts: 816 - 04/08/2015 20:17:28    1763999

It is certainly an eye opener for Dublin. On the basis of last week-ends games it is clear that Kerry are the front runners to lift Sam.
Kerry were awesome, Colm Cooper back to his brilliant best,no place for K.Donaghy. Kerry easily have the best mid field in the country, what substitutes to have, in Darren O'Sullivan who was unstopable on Sunday and Walsh who fielded four brilliant balls from the air. Is there any other player other than possibly D.Moran and A.Maher who could do fielding like that in the country at present. In contrast Dublin looked only a shadow of past performances, Paul Flynn being a prime example of that, Alan Brogan up to his tricks of being selfish with the ball,kicking two bad wides instead of trying to impress and to play himself onto the team. Surely the job of a corner back is to defend but in the case of Philly McMahon he spends most of his time on the half forward line, kicking pot shots, surely the best players to kick points for Dublin are B.Brogan, D.Connolly and D.Rock.If Dublin don't learn from Sunday they could end the year again this year as the fourth best team in the country.

fainleog (Limerick) - Posts: 598 - 04/08/2015 20:54:18    1764027

Don't be giving poor Jimbo such a hard time. If he feels that the Dubs aren't good enough this year then fair play to him for putting it out there. Personally I would not dream of playing down my own county's chances but each to his own. Anyway Jimbo might well be right, Donegal have a great chance of beating Dublin in the semi final.

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 04/08/2015 21:59:56    1764074

Lads I really have to disagree with yous regarding your FB line, I think it is very weak ROC is good but the lads either side not so sure about.

McMahons idea of defending seems to be "if I attack so much he'll actually have to mark me so I won't have to defend"

I've seen Johnny cooper get a few run arounds as well

Uncle_Fester (Meath) - Posts: 217 - 05/08/2015 08:16:08    1764082

Llaw_Gyffes

That mind me laugh! Well played Sir!

As regards to the full back line, lot of fans calling for fitzy to come in ahead of philly. There is no way Philly would roam as much in the semis if he starts! He has been used as the free defender and has spent most of the summer up in the half forward line but I fully expect Gavin to tighten the ship big style in the semis. Jonny Cooper has been superb this year IMO.

AthCliath87 (Dublin) - Posts: 345 - 05/08/2015 09:47:48    1764114

jimbo has been here long enough to be entitled to air a point of view without getting the grief he's getting.

To add insult to injury having to read a Kerry troll talking about cute hoorism is nearly as much as I can handle.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 05/08/2015 10:11:47    1764134

Fermanagh's decent effort will have assisted Dublin more than the Kildare roll-over. If there's no AI in Sam then god help the rest of us.

essmac (Tyrone) - Posts: 1141 - 05/08/2015 10:25:35    1764147