Mayo V Donegal

Thought Mayo's thinner version of the blanket... let's call it a sheet, did a superb job!

Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 08/08/2015 19:45:34    1766143

Well done Mayo.A very convincing victory.Hard luck to Donegal,I think you just didn't have the legs for it today.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 08/08/2015 20:02:10    1766157

Lost all respect for Murphy He starts it by punching Kane and then whines to the Umpire. If the ref wants to send off the Mayo man then the Donegal man should have gone as well

cluichethar (Mayo) - Posts: 454 - 08/08/2015 20:15:54    1766168

Murphy didn't cover himself in glory with that alright cluichethar, especially with time almost up and the result not in doubt since the 40th minute. Having said that Keane was silly to rise to the bait, a reminder to Murphy of the scoreboard would have been more suitable. Paddy McGrath slapped I think it was O'Connor in the face after winning a free a minute earlier but the Mayo man just got on with things - maybe to win an All-Ireland you need players to go down in these situations or run to the linesman asking for a red card for the opponent. Another very quiet game from Murphy today as well, AOS showed how to play as a full forward when being double or triple marked.

Soma (UK) - Posts: 2630 - 08/08/2015 20:26:49    1766175

Can't believe Murphy at the end getting Keane sent off when the game was over and now he misses the semi final I honestly didn't think that was Murphys style.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 08/08/2015 20:30:58    1766181

The game is up for this Donegal team. One dimensional side, take a short kickout and run the ball through the hands as far as you can. Also no strength in depth in the panel, you need to be adding 3 new players to your starting 15 every year, never let a team grow old together. Golden rule.

They averaged 0-11 per game this year in the championship, they have no out and out score getter now that McFadden is past it.

This team achieved a lot in the past few years, but the aura and mystique that once surrounded them is well and truly gone.

Ned_Stormcrow (Cavan) - Posts: 1071 - 08/08/2015 20:58:09    1766202

Murphy did not get Keane sent off, Keane did. He struck an opposition player on the face which is a red card....simple

frankbhoy77 (Antrim) - Posts: 1300 - 08/08/2015 20:58:17    1766203

Well done Mayo,I hope ye win Sam now.time for us to start rebuilding and get a few younger players on board,championship structure needs looked at though.

TirChonaillabu2 (Donegal) - Posts: 344 - 08/08/2015 21:05:38    1766214

Ned you are way off with that stat. They averaged 11 points per game but plus the goals then. Therefore we rely on getting a goal or 2 to win games.

Well done to Mayo, better team by far on the day and looking forward to a great match with Dublin.

benjyyy (Donegal) - Posts: 1422 - 08/08/2015 21:09:29    1766218

The Mayo man got himself sent off,no diving from Michael Murphy,but you can't strike an opponent in the face and expect to stay on the pitch,
though a yellow card would have been punishment enough I suppose.

TirChonaillabu2 (Donegal) - Posts: 344 - 08/08/2015 21:15:58    1766221

You may be right Frankbhoy and Keane has himself to blame for reacting but if you are consistent Paddy McGrath should have got sent off as well about two minutes earlier. I don't think either were anything worthy of a red card though. On the game, I think we defended well. Murphy got a few scores but Caff did a decent job on him and holding McBrearty and McFadden scoreless from play isn't easy. Parsons is a revelation this year and is brilliant defensively. Lost count how many times he was chasing someone down and stripped them of the ball. McGee going off was massive as well, Eamonn didn't get a touch on O'Shea in the second half and it was a good battle up to that. Even though we were in control in the second half we just can't play with a blanket. Donegal got more chances in the last ten minutes when we dropped everyone back and led them on then they did in the rest of the game. Dublin game will be interesting to watch

wee_yo (Mayo) - Posts: 63 - 08/08/2015 21:17:47    1766223

Very hard to swallow that one as the goals absolutely killed us, especially the O'Shea one. He had a monster game at full forward and I was enjoying the battle between him and Neil in all honesty even though he was winning it, was a joy to watch 2 fellas just going hell for leather at eachother.

Whoever said short kickouts about Donegal were you even watching the game today? Never mind all year. Durcan nearly always hits it long and we contest it there. Mayo had a lot of short kickouts in the first half especially as we conceded the space to them.

I still don't know what to make of us as a team, we never seemed to really get going this year and the Tyrone game was, overall, probably our best performance. It's hard to judge on today considering where both teams were coming from and I would have said even if we'd had a couple weeks to prepare for Mayo, I'd have expected them to beat us. I think for another Sam to be won by this team is a massive ask and you'd need the luck of the draw, a handy enough route to the Ulster final maybe and an easier 1/4 final and they might do it.

I won't be too down on them though they've given everything to the county in recent years and spoiled us with some of their performances. 5 years ago Donegal football was a bit of a joke but not any more. Hopefully there are structures in place within the county to encourage young players to come through and maybe bring through a few of the minors from last year to freshen it up. I would assume Big Neil, Toye and McFadden might call it a day but you never know.

Fair play to Mayo they looked very powerful and hopefully they'll finally go on to win Sam

JoeSoap (Donegal) - Posts: 1432 - 08/08/2015 21:22:16    1766227

Anyone who uses the line that there is no defined tackle in gaelic football should be made watch Mayo play. Again today they gave an exhibition in how to tackle and dispossess an opponent without fouling. They have spent a lot of time working on this skill and it is one of the many reasons why they are a really enjoyable team to watch play the game.

Soma (UK) - Posts: 2630 - 08/08/2015 21:32:08    1766235

Firstly, I thought some over read Donegal's last 10 minutes against Galway, in their qualifier game. I actually thought Donegal were teetering on the brink of an implosion in that match for a good 30 minutes, except Galway did not have the ability or know how to do the job.

There was no messing about with Mayo, who got the job done rather easier than expected today. This was a really powerful and controlled performance from our lads this evening. There was lot of maturity and experience on show, and I thought Mayo completely controlled the pitch of the game and took the heat out of it when necessary. Mayo did all this while playing well within themselves and we clearly have a lot more in the tank. Quite simply, Mayo are a band of brothers now on a mission of no surrender until we have Sam. Others may engage in propaganda, I won't, I honestly believe Mayo are Champions in waiting. To beat Dublin in the semi and to finally win Sam by beating Kerry (if they beat Tyrone?) in a final would carry serious currency. You're hardly going to believe us but we're going to win the Sam! Bring on the dubs.

Come on Mayo!!!

JamesH (Mayo) - Posts: 465 - 08/08/2015 21:34:02    1766239

Firstly, I thought some over read Donegal's last 10 minutes against Galway, in their qualifier game. I actually thought Donegal were teetering on the brink of an implosion in that match for a good 30 minutes, except Galway did not have the ability or know how to do the job.

There was no messing about with Mayo, who got the job done rather easier than expected today. This was a really powerful and controlled performance from our lads this evening. There was lot of maturity and experience on show, and I thought Mayo completely controlled the pitch of the game and took the heat out of it when necessary. Mayo did all this while playing well within themselves and we clearly have a lot more in the tank. Quite simply, Mayo are a band of brothers now on a mission of no surrender until we have Sam. Others may engage in propaganda, I won't, I honestly believe Mayo are Champions in waiting. To beat Dublin in the semi and to finally win Sam by beating Kerry (if they beat Tyrone?) in a final would carry serious currency. You're hardly going to believe us but we're going to win the Sam! Bring on the dubs.

Come on Mayo!!!

JamesH (Mayo) - Posts: 465 - 08/08/2015 21:39:16    1766245

James H - one game at a time now - worry about da dubs and not the final! Mayo up at the same level as last year when they were so unlucky to loose to Kerry but Donegal depend on having serious gas in the legs to play their game and that hasn't been there in 12 mnths. To be fair tho any team who had played the number of big games they've played this summer would be a little weary..

blacknamber (Kerry) - Posts: 267 - 09/08/2015 08:46:47    1766267

This was possibly the most Professional performance ever give by a mayo team in croke Park. We were so comfortable and relaxed on the ball.The result was never in doubt. Something very special about this Mayo Team.

wombleman (Mayo) - Posts: 46 - 09/08/2015 09:32:03    1766279

We'll done Mayo I thought you deserved the win yesterday.Much better in all the key areas especially midfield and backline,very strong in the tackle and our boys just couldn't' seem to break through.
I had a wee worry about our boys legs going into yesterday's game and I thought it showed throughout always seemed to be second to the ball.
Going forward for Mayo they would need to be more ruthless going for goals two great chances at the end but fluffed both,the Mayo lady beside me reckoned it didn't matter because the game was over I would have to disagree nothing beats match practice in opening up defences and taking these chances.
I haven't seen the match stats yet but was it just me that thought there was an awful lot of yellow cards in a game that wasn't dirty?On the Kevin Keane incident it was stupid on his behalf all inter county players know what they can and can't do regardless of what happens them.

DL (Donegal) - Posts: 210 - 09/08/2015 09:49:19    1766287

Congratulations to Mayo & very well done on a comprehensive win. To be honest, yesterday was not as bitter a pill to swallow as losing Ulster & that was because we were well beaten by a better side whereas in Clones we knew we left it behind us. I honestly felt last week after Galway that we would go no further; we finished strongly but really only because Galway were too inexperienced but as the week progressed & in typical fashion I was willing the boys on & hoping for a win. It seemed clear that whoever got goals would be the victor on the day. Even after the first one (a beauty: excellently won & expertly executed) I felt that if we got one ourselves we might be in with a chance but it wasn't to be. We can have no complaints. Mayo were fresher & hungrier & played at a steady assured pace throughout. Their management team have reinvigorated them with the positional changes & Aidan O'Shea has matured into a great leader. I am very interested to see them play Dublin, who likewise are calm & collected & quietly getting the job done. This will be the game of the year & whoever wins should go on to lift Sam. My feeling is that will be Dublin but I would be delighted to see Mayo finally do it.
For some of our boys, this will be the end of the road. They have done themselves & their county proud. We will cherish the memories they have created for us these past few years & wish them well. I just hope we can regroup now & continue to stay competitive.

Glynners (Donegal) - Posts: 109 - 09/08/2015 09:50:56    1766289

Congratulations to Mayo on a great performance. I hope ye finish the job & based on yesterday I'd say ye have every chance.

Donegal just didn't have the legs & the two goals killed us. I couldn't help but remark on how fresh Tyrone looked, maybe the qualifiers is the way to go, especially from Ulster with an ageing team.

I suspect that will be it for many of this Donegal team & I would like to thank those who do call it a day. You have given this poster many days of footballing pleasure & for that you will have my eternal gratitude.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 09/08/2015 09:53:46    1766292