Mayo V Donegal

I agree with TheMaster that it might not be the big name players who provide the crucial scores. It may well turn out that Michael Murphy or Aidan O'Shea don't get a kick of the ball. It should give room for the other forwards like Cillian O'Connor and Paddy McBrearty.

JimTheLegend (Donegal) - Posts: 247 - 07/08/2015 15:55:05    1765709

Last week I felt Mayo would edge this game, as I said earlier this was due to their freshness entering the game.

I'm now of the opinion that Donegal might just edge this game, which is in part due to their starting lineup against Galway.

That starting lineup against Galway featured Hugh McFadden, who apart from a 2nd half sub appearance against Armagh, didn't feature in Championship to date. Corner back Eamon Doherty made his first Championship start at half back. The experienced players was held back for the 2nd half, and the 2nd half was were the damage was done.

I will be shocked if Aidan O'Shea plays most or any of the game at full forward, while very effective against Galway and especially Sligo, I think it would be too risky to let a strong Donegal midfield dominate unchecked. Neil Gallagher, McElhinney and MacNiallais are all very capable midfielders, and gifting any of the top teams possession is too dangerous.

I think this will be a tight affair, with both teams lining up as expected. The only likely change to Donegal, would be Karl Lacey being relegated to the bench. I can't see Mayo changing too much from their team sheet.

If this game is tight at half time or by the 45th minute, I expect Donegal to edge it and progress. If Mayo go in at half time with a 5-8 point lead, It will probably be curtains for Donegal.

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3017 - 07/08/2015 16:22:10    1765730

Mayo to win. They fully expected to cruise through Connacht and their preparations have always been geared towards peaking for this time of year when the real championship begins.

Gaillimh_Abu (Galway) - Posts: 996 - 07/08/2015 16:44:28    1765741

If Aidan O Shea stays at Full Forward or not will depend on if Eamon Mc Gee plays.

If Mc Gee plays then I can see O' Shea coming out. Mayo's midfield has improved from last year and I've been impressed with what I have seen of Tom Parsons however Donegal could possibly have Neil Gallagher, Odhran Mac Niallais, Mc Elhinney and Toye coming into the middle and these all carry height and are all good in the air which could mean they need a help from O' Shea.

A Lot of if's and but's as Mc Fadden will come deep and IF he and Mac Niallais can get on the ball and deliver Murphy with the ammo we can hopefully get a goal. We'll need two to win this IMO and the only game we didn't raise the green flag this year we lost!!

Tir Conaill Abu (Donegal) - Posts: 1671 - 07/08/2015 16:47:53    1765744

If it wasn't for the fact our semi-final opponent comes from the other quarter-final, I'd be looking forward to this game more. This should be the game of the quarter-finals. Mayo are my favourites to go through but Donegal are more than capable of making the semi-finals.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7873 - 08/08/2015 10:58:38    1765883

Big interest in this for obvious reasons!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8596 - 08/08/2015 13:45:33    1765939

Safe trip to all those travelling and safe return. Sincerely hope todays winners go on to lift Sam. Word to the Mayo supporters if ye win today try not get too carried away with the Mayo for Sam stuff. Hopefully some quiet optimism will take some pressure off the players and deliver ye Sam which ye do deserve.....that is of course 'if' ye do win today. Plenty of life left in this Donegal team beyond today despite what some of the media would like you to believe.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2782 - 08/08/2015 14:01:02    1765945

Donegal owe Mayo one after 2013. Donegal will be seriously up for this game from that and to make a mense on the Ulster final defeat. I have a good feeling for donegal today there's a big game in donegal this year and I think it's today . Donegal at 6/5 €100 on. And to them people saying donegal look tired that's bull and it showed it last week by out storming Galway . Mayo have not been tested this year apart from a half test against Galway. Even in the league Mayo were poor enough against the blanket defence Donegal got a good draw in castle bar without murphy or Neil Gallagher. plus Leo mccloone is a great man to bring on in the second have he's a fantastic player and was one off the better players last year. As I've said before croke park suits donegal since 2011 they've lost once to Dublin which they could have one fair enough 2013 but that was an off day and the team were burned out there coming into today's game in a far better position and then last year's all Ireland lost by a point . Donegal by one but I would not be surprised by a draw !!

cornynsah (Donegal) - Posts: 12 - 08/08/2015 14:07:42    1765946

Mayo will have to man mark ryan mchugh and Macniallais as monaghan did..o shea will be well able for mcghee but its how many other players will be back there, if you go by the galway game there is some space there but has to be quick ball in..cafferky on mcfadden, higgins on mcbreaty and hopefully keane starts full back, vaughan or cuniffe wudnt be able to handle murphy or gallagher when he goes in there but would need vaughan sitting infront of keane and i would prefer a second sweeper in there to cover any donegal players coming in late..big day for mcloughlin hasnt really done it the last year or 2 but is well capable and i think he might get a goal today..

tommy132 (Mayo) - Posts: 602 - 08/08/2015 14:40:59    1765951

If mayo go out early to blitz and win I think donegal will fall.. If it comes down to the wire - donegal will win. Mayo could easily bottle once again In the big smoke. Have to say though, if mon don't win the AI I hope Mayo do.

Brolly (Monaghan) - Posts: 4472 - 08/08/2015 15:05:23    1765958

03/08/2015 13:45:07

Beauty v The Beast such a massive game and the momentum for whoever wins will be huge I see The Beast winning cause I can't see Aidan O Shea doing what he did to Sligo to McGee it's just not going to happen.

You were saying ?
Only joking that was a piece of sheer brute force and brillance by O Shea , first score or two will be massive in the second half .
Really enjoying this game , love that Mayo are pressurising Donegal kick outs .
Not over by a long shot , but that goal could be massive .

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 08/08/2015 18:46:20    1766096

Mayo are moving the ball side to side to put a few miles on the Donegal legs. Expect Donegal to make a few sub's at halftime... Mayo look like they're in a training game... almost sloppy at times. Mayo defence looks well organised. Donegal will wilt if Mayo score another goal.

Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 08/08/2015 18:55:17    1766100

What are the commentators on about? He was going for a goal

MartinGerard (Longford) - Posts: 275 - 08/08/2015 19:00:04    1766104

Why is I think O'Conor lying down like the was shot. He was barley touched. This is just as bad as the Tyrone lads lying about

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 08/08/2015 19:22:54    1766116

and its curtains for Donegal.....

TyroneLegend78 (Tyrone) - Posts: 52 - 08/08/2015 19:27:39    1766121

Mayo look shit hot, well done to them!!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8596 - 08/08/2015 19:32:54    1766125

Mayo look like a team on a mission. They seem to have what it takes to go all the way. They are playing with a real purpose, with a real belief that it's their destiny to end years of hurt. It'll be hard to bet against them. The semi-final offers a chance for revenge after the '13 final defeat.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7873 - 08/08/2015 19:35:20    1766128

Mayo look like a team on a mission. They seem to have what it takes to go all the way. They are playing with a real purpose, with a real belief that it's their destiny to end years of hurt. It'll be hard to bet against them. The semi-final offers a chance for revenge after the '13 final defeat.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7873 - 08/08/2015 19:35:23    1766129

Stupid by Kevin Keane, but how was Murphy not even booked. Not very sporting of Murphy considering the game was lost, but Keane shouldn't have reacted and has no one to blame but himself.

Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 08/08/2015 19:41:32    1766135

Excellent performance from Mayo. Done the damage in 40 minutes and then protected the lead. Made a couple of poor choices going forward in last 15 but it was all over. Mayo midfield cleaned house. AOS pr9ved it agains a big time in a big game against a super full back. Parsons was top drawer. They are going to do anything to win the all ireland this year, they have a better nerve and are smarter on the line this year by what we have seen so far. Will they be faves for 30th?

AthCliath87 (Dublin) - Posts: 345 - 08/08/2015 19:41:44    1766136