Mayo V Donegal

Suckvalley, comer and lundy should have both got the line that day in salthill. Trying to get mayo lads sent off by starting fights. In the end, class shown threw. Maigh Eo abu

saddam (Mayo) - Posts: 414 - 06/08/2015 14:47:45    1765106

It was a perfect summary of the worst game of football ever broadcast on TV and it was not Dublins fault. I don't think Donegals football has improved an awful lot since. They win ugly, that's their thing

Yeah Murphy's point, McHugh's goal and MacNiallais' points damn ugly alright!

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9155 - 06/08/2015 16:33:01    1765194

Suckvalley - I'd rather play on the edge than get involved in the antics Lundy indulges himself in . He actually should be playing soccer , tried to pat Mc Hugh on the head . It was embarrassing . Also Galway's foul count on Mayo was shocking .

TheRightStuff (Donegal) - Posts: 1688 - 06/08/2015 17:05:51    1765230

Colm Parkinson definitely tipped Galway said he would be backing them in the bookies at 5/2.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2782 - 06/08/2015 18:34:52    1765307

Dont really have a preference for who I would like to see win this one. Whichever team is more ready to take on the dubs in the semi final I hope wins.
Donegal showed they can beat them last year but Mayo seem to be the team in the best form. Hard game to call.

If Kerry do make the final then i dont think we are ready for the dubs again, so if Mayo or Donegal get past the dubs then i feel we have a better chance against these two counties. Very selfish of me i know.

KY4SAM2015 (Kerry) - Posts: 898 - 06/08/2015 19:05:31    1765321

apart from the Armagh game Donegal have looked a tired leggy outfit this year. I have a feeling that this could be 2013 re-visited. I expect Mayo to dish out a hammering to Donegal. Murphy DOES look injured as DOES McBrearty, even if Lacy is passed fit to play he will be alot less than 100%. The few bright sparks for Donegal have been Ryan McHugh and Frank McGlynn. Mayo have plenty of options at midfield with Tom Parsons, Seamy O'Shea, Barry Moran. up front they have a much improved Diarmuid O'Connor,AOS playing the football of his life,Kevin McLoughlin beavering away as usual the deadly accurate Cillian O' Connor andy moran and Jason Doherty. very impressed with Mark Ronaldson when he has come in and of course alan dillon waiting in the wings along with a few others.

at the back Donal Vaughan won't be out-muscled by McBrearty or Murphy whilst Cafferky is also solid. Higgins,Keegan, boyle and Cunniffe can break at pace . I believe if Mayo get the tempo right from the start they have this game won by half-time, especially if it's a good dry day. I looked at DOnegal's players v Monaghan and at times they couldn't live with the pace. maybe this is due to the hard match schedule. I mean Mayo have had only one reasonably tough game and one really easy game whereas Donegal have had 5 tough games. look what happened to Kildare v Kerry and Cork v Kildare. It is really difficult to keep peaking . I predict a 15+ point win for Mayo.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 06/08/2015 21:05:47    1765383

My honest sense of this game is that Mayo at this stage, are the team with more options and energy to carry the day. A word for Tom Parson's, who really looks like a man making up for lost time and ready to push his game onto another level. His energy and running in midfield gives Mayo a slightly different dimension this year, as well as allowing the luxurious option of playing Aidan O'Shea at full forward. Donegal are a battle hardened outfit but so is this Mayo team. However, Donegal have already fought a really hard and long campaign but they are not a young side full of freshness and they've taken serious hits along the way. Mayo to deliver the knockout blow but it won't be easy.

JamesH (Mayo) - Posts: 465 - 06/08/2015 21:43:47    1765407

My honest sense of this game is that Mayo at this stage, are the team with more options and energy to carry the day. A word for Tom Parson's, who really looks like a man making up for lost time and ready to push his game onto another level. Tom's energy and running in midfield gives Mayo a slightly different dimension this year, as well as allowing the luxurious option of playing Aidan O'Shea at full forward. Donegal are a battle hardened outfit but so is this Mayo team. However, Donegal have already fought a really hard and long campaign but they are not a young side full of freshness and they've taken serious hits along the way. Mayo to deliver the knockout blow but it won't be easy.

JamesH (Mayo) - Posts: 465 - 06/08/2015 21:54:20    1765414

TyroneLegend78
06/08/2015 14:47:36

It was a perfect summary of the worst game of football ever broadcast on TV and it was not Dublins fault. I don't think Donegals football has improved an awful lot since. They win ugly, that's their thing

It was an awful game alright but your synopsis of everything else is lazy to say the least. Sad that people people are still generalising about Donegal football because of a game that happened four years ago.. Can't have been watching too much football since then

HandballRef (Donegal) - Posts: 520 - 06/08/2015 21:57:22    1765419

Can't see Donegal lying down on this and expect a very close encounter. After all they are in a 1/4 final and really only one game away from where they wanted to be at the end of Summer i.e. in a semi-final. Albeit probably on the other side of the draw but that won't bother them for tomorrow. Why should it? They must believe that after that performance against Galway they have the fitness and squad to perform (and beat) Mayo. Plus they will be battle hardened after that ridiculously tough Ulster campaign.
OK we should be fresher an just as battle hardened but in all honesty we have not been tested again prior to this encounter. The Galway game was actually a fortunate enough result as Galway faded away after that messy/lucky goal. Sligo were a joke. And both teams were daft enough to decide to go man-to-man on AOS and not play any sweeper. At this stage no one forecasts that from Donegal so I can't expect him to have the same impact. Also the only time we played against sweeper systems was in the League and we looked poor enough against those blankets.

Overall a tough one to call and we will be sweating all the way through. Wouldn't be putting any cash on it. Of course from a neutrals point of view it could/should be a cracker.

MaigheoAbu (Mayo) - Posts: 343 - 07/08/2015 08:45:45    1765433

This game should be a cracker. have to say really looking forward to it.

woops (Kerry) - Posts: 2073 - 07/08/2015 09:02:29    1765436

Looking forward to this game too,
Great days tv in store tomorrow, first premier,bit of soccer and rugby in the early afternon before the main event of two excellent games in Croker to look forward to tomorrow evening.
I can't see Donegal being well beaten like in 2013 so will be a lot closer but I find it hard to make a prediction on who will win that one to be honest.

Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 07/08/2015 09:17:03    1765447

Dubsfan28

True, ive already gotten my permission slip signed off by the Mrs, did a few jobs this week round the place to allow for some serious couch time. Cant make it to the croke park since I was at the Sligo game last weekend, spent a blind fortune round the pubs

TyroneLegend78 (Tyrone) - Posts: 52 - 07/08/2015 09:25:02    1765457

Best of luck to both all teams and fans tomorrow! can't pick a winner from either game. As it is a Mayo v Donegal thread, here is my useless 2 cents:

I can foresee a number of goals for both teams. Quick early ball into AOS with fast runners off him - I can't see AOS scoring a huge amount off McGee but he could certainly create a host of scores. I think DOC could be key for Mayo in attack tomorrow.

Am I mad thinking Cunniffee could be the man to mark big Murphy?

I expect to see a much smarter Mayo tomorrow, they will have looked at Monaghan first 35 mins and the way they used the width against Donegal.

We all know what Donegal are about, if they get their system and tactics right it will be 50/50 game, if they do not, I would expect Mayo to win. Donegal will not get away with another slow first 35.

AthCliath87 (Dublin) - Posts: 345 - 07/08/2015 09:34:39    1765461

Tyronelegend,

Be some serious jobs around the house for you to do to get to go to the semi if ye beat Monaghan so ha ha.

Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 07/08/2015 09:44:31    1765464

Things are never as they seem in sport. No logic to attach to my prediction, I just have a feeling Donegal will win it by 2.

fire_in_belly (Donegal) - Posts: 59 - 07/08/2015 09:57:44    1765470

I don't know if football doesn't follow logic fireinbellew, but it does produce some ironic moments. For instance, I could see mayo targeting donegal in the air at the back as opposed to the other way around, with maybe diarmuid O'Connor being matched onto ryan McHugh and aidan o'shea being a decoy to create some space for it. Similarly, I could see one of mayo's famed 'not up to it forwards' like Doherty or mcloughlin rattling in a goal coming from deep. Those types of things happen often, and in truth probably only shows that a lot of fans and pundits make assertions that are actually not very accurate.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 07/08/2015 13:15:11    1765606

[url=]linkhttps://thetirconaillview.wordpress.com/2015/08/05/donegal-to-upset-odds-and-beat-mayo/[url=]link

Just the thoughts from a Donegal fan!

tirconaillview (Donegal) - Posts: 12 - 07/08/2015 13:37:04    1765617

My prediction is we are going to win it by 1 or 2 points,I like the way we finished the last 2 games despite coming up short against Monaghan,not the symptoms of a tired team as the media like to droll on about,
my thinking is the tough battles we've been through will stand to us when the game is there to be won,if we win Sam from here it will be the greatest All Ireland ever won considering all the tough games we would have had to win,
it would even be tougher than 2012 which I think was brilliant having beaten all the top teams that year.
can't wait till 2moro,hoping for a Donegal/Tyrone double,because I think Tyrone v Kerry would be a great match.
Tir Chonaill ABU.

TirChonaillabu2 (Donegal) - Posts: 344 - 07/08/2015 13:46:09    1765622

Donegal Team v Mayo announced:

Durcan
Mc Grath
N Mc Gee
E Mc Gee
R Mc Hugh
K Lacey
F Mc Glynn
N Gallagher
M Mc Elhinney
M O' Reilly
O Mac Niallais
M Mc Hugh
P Mc Brearty
M Murphy
C Mc Fadden

Thats as strong a team as we've named all year but only if they're fully fit and hopefully they are. We're going to need them all and the bench to have any hope tomorrow. I wouldn't be as concerned if Lacey didn't feature as Thompson or Declan Walsh could come in but Eamon MC Gee will be a key player against A O Shea tomorrow and his loss would be huge!!

Tir Conaill Abu (Donegal) - Posts: 1671 - 07/08/2015 15:21:13    1765683