Mayo V Donegal

I was at the galway - mayo match and the galway - donegal match. There was a lot of off the ball incidents in the mayo match in particular damien comer was clearly singled out and targeted.This did not happen in the donegal match all fouls were in the heat of the moment none that I saw were purposely targeting a player they just made sure comer was well marshaled. So I think it's a bit rich mayo asking for protection for o shea when they had obviously set out to target comer.

galwayfball (Galway) - Posts: 1678 - 05/08/2015 17:07:46    1764584

I for one' am not heading down to Dublin with any pessimistic thoughts. With a near full squad I think we are well able to put it up to Mayo. A lot of folk were bumming up Galway and many predicated a Galway win with Donegal on the decline. As a local man said to me on Saturday Morning past " if wey canny beat Galway' Wey may forget aboot it"

I think we answered many critics and Rory used the bench very well' i think the fact the he was able to substitute a player of Paddy McBreartys ability and show that we did not rely on him for Scores and have many other talented players who can step up to mark when called for' particularly Mac Niallias and the introduction of the match changer McElhinney and of Course Christy Toye who on any given day can be a vital component to get a Score or two despite a poor outing in the Ulster final.

After our win against Galway' many said they were a poor team; despite many before tipping them to beat us.Of Course Mayo are a good Country step up from Galway'However "And im not speaking through Donegal tinted glasses" i see no reason despite this so called 7 day turnaround that we can not only put it up to mayo but we can beat them. Our Maim Man can cause plenty of trouble up front and even if he is Double marked it will leave space for others who are well enough capable of doing damage. Of course we need the likes of Colm and paddy to be firing on all cylinders for it to go our way. If we start Shooting wides and the heads go down then I feel that will be that' but if they start sailing over then it could be ours for the taking.

I dont think people need reminded of all the doubters last year before the Semi' when the Dubs were hot favourites ' yes Mayo will be favourites and I suppose you cant really argue with that' But although they are a step up from Galway' we are also a step up from anything that they have faced to Date and the winner will be no forgone conclusion.And if any County has the backs to keep the big two of O'Shea and O' Connor under wraps' then we have them.

Looking forward to the double header' and although I would like to see Monaghan Win in the other Game 'I think Tyrone may just sneak this one.

Keep the Faith all ye Donegalians.

InishowenMan (Donegal) - Posts: 216 - 05/08/2015 17:48:11    1764619

Well spoken Innishowenman
Indeed we will sir ,indeed we will keep the faith and keep following this great team to the bitter end
Love to see these boys won another Sam , a lot of people writing us off and o Roark and Spillane can't wait to see the end of Donegal
Doing a round trip on Sat , London to Dub --- Dub to London to see this great county play again in Croke park
ALWAYS WAS , ALWAYS IS AND ALWAYS WILL BE FAITHFUL TO THE DONEGAL FOOTBALL TEAM AND TO THE GREAT COUNTY
DONEGAL FOREVER

SamOnErrigal (Donegal) - Posts: 1427 - 05/08/2015 21:46:50    1764756

I cried a little there.
That was beautiful.

Donegal_Man (Donegal) - Posts: 37 - 06/08/2015 09:07:25    1764792

The match is certainly an intriguing one and probably the first proper "heavy weight" bout of the year. It's do or die time and the I'm sure both counties are preparing to bring war in order to progress to the semi finals. Both counties are very similar in certain ways. Football mad, were hit badly by recession and emigration but the spirit of the people never died. While obviously I'm Donegal all the way, if Mayo were to beat us they'll have my full backing for the rest of their campaign.

As for the game itself it should be compelling viewing. I don't think Donegal will be as leaden-footed as in 2013. They showed they had plenty in the tank in both second halves against Monaghan and Galway. I think one of the key things to highlight from last weekend's game was Gallagher's starting 15. Hugh McFadden and Eamon Doherty, plus Declan Walsh when he came on did not look out of place at all. Granted, Mayo will be a definite step up in class from Galway however. But, that then enabled us to bring in McElhinney, Toye, Thompson, McLoone etc at a ket stage in the second half. Their introductions gave us unbelievable impetus to go on and win that game as comfortably as we did in my opinion. They drove the thing on brilliantly and gave the likes of Murphy, McFadden and MacNíallais the platform to do what they did.

The thing is though - does Gallagher trust his squad players to start against and live with Mayo? I think that's the million dollar question. If we do, and manage to stay with Mayo for 50 minutes, then I think the energy and drive the same substitutions would give us would see us emerge narrow victors. I think he'll have to start McElhinney at least though. Mayo are very strong around the middle so we'll have to match them there and break even at least. The midfield sector will probably also determine Michael Murphy's position. If we're going well at midfield then he HAS to start at FF! I'm certainly hoping this is the case as he has broken Mayo hearts in the past playing there.

At the other end of the field, the obvious dangers are COC and big O'Se. If Neil picks up O'Sé it could be a battle for the ages! O'Sé has an incredible ability to fling grown men away from him, all the while soloing a ball! I don't think he'd do the same to Neil though so the battle could be some viewing. I think if Eamon is fit he'll pick up COC. Cillian is a great player and an unreal freetaker so the discipline in the tackle will have to be spot on again or he'll punish us.

To finish up I'll make a score prediction:

Donegal 2-10 - 0-14 Mayo

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9155 - 06/08/2015 10:22:10    1764841

I still don't know who all these people were who predicted a Galway win lads?! Anyway I can't wait for the match, hard to predict where the 2 teams are at, but I back Mayo to be strong enough up the middle, but our full back line is a worry, hopefully we have a plan in place, enjoy the game lads and best of luck to our Donegal neighbours, the craic is always good on match day when they are the opponents.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7907 - 06/08/2015 10:56:42    1764877

O'Rourke predicted a galway win. But then those lads seem to think galway will beat everyone, going off their predictions over the past few years.

My take on it is, I hope it is reffed well, I hope there is no controversy, I hope no player makes a bad mistake to cost their team the game, I hope it is a great game and I hope whoever wins it, goes on to win the all Ireland. Let's leave the b*lls**t threads to the dubs and the Kerry lads.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 06/08/2015 11:06:10    1764889

Didn't realise he predicted Galway, nobody else did on the radio during the week, so not sure where the idea came from that many backed Galway.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7907 - 06/08/2015 11:13:27    1764904

All the best to Donegal and Rory, Donegal last won All Ireland in 2012,Mayo 1951, and Mayo have not won 1 since hard to believe, all the cups they left behind, hard to call this game, Donegal have played a lot of hard games, Mayo only really played Galway, and no disrespect to Sligo, Mayo have been resting since. who ever wins i hope they go on for Sam. come on Donegal, Rory s winning matches

mchugh11 (Donegal) - Posts: 242 - 06/08/2015 11:41:24    1764937

TheFlaker

I still don't know who all these people were who predicted a Galway win lads?! Anyway I can't wait for the match, hard to predict where the 2 teams are at, but I back Mayo to be strong enough up the middle, but our full back line is a worry, hopefully we have a plan in place, enjoy the game lads and best of luck to our Donegal neighbours, the craic is always good on match day when they are the opponents.

David Brady and Colm Parkinson predicted a Galway win

supporter (Donegal) - Posts: 205 - 06/08/2015 12:24:59    1764973

Not again, I hate it when these 2 meet, mum and dad in either corner seconds out round 1…;)

I was very impressed with Donegal's 2nd half performance against Galway. The quality we all know is there, but you had to question whether the wil was this season after a number of pedestrian performances in Ulster. I really did think that Galway would at least stay close to them but no they were blown away by 20min spell of Donegal at their best.. A fantastic performance!

Mayo though will be a different story, every year I look at them and they perform in a game and you think that's it its going to be this year and then no… Well they have given me that feeling again this year so I'll say no more..;)

I'll be in Croker for the game Saturday, even giving up United's 1st game at Old Trafford for it so let's hope for a quality game and may the best team win..;)

A sneaky treble for you on Saturday I've got a feeling United will beat Spurs, Tyrone will just take Monaghan & Mayo will just sneak past Donegal.

Mancirish (UK) - Posts: 2200 - 06/08/2015 12:27:21    1764978

I think Mayo will beat Donegal on Saturday. It's a 7 day turnaround for the Ulatermen, and that could be crucial for their more seasoned players. Galway held them scoreless for 30 minutes last week, but fell away.
Mayo to win.

thelongridge (Offaly) - Posts: 1746 - 06/08/2015 12:43:21    1764991

What numbers are we expecting on Saturday 4 teams with big support it could be a sell out?

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 06/08/2015 12:47:20    1764995

Mayo will beat them but refs and umpires could have a big say, no consistency this year. Mayo and Donegal live on the edge with the man marking, example cuniffe was practically dating Comer when Sice scored his goal in Salthill. Murphy and AOS will get similar marking on Saturday no doubt. Umpires roles need to be looked at as they should dispute more scores based on stuff the ref fails to see like the Cluxton shove last week.

suckvalleypaddy (Galway) - Posts: 1672 - 06/08/2015 12:53:59    1765001

Mayo 3-18 Donegal 1-12

HughHunt24 (Cork) - Posts: 841 - 06/08/2015 13:12:40    1765023

The ref and umpires to have a quiet uneventful afternoon. Thats my prediction.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 06/08/2015 14:06:34    1765069

As Pat Spillane once said - there will be some Shi-ite football on view when Mayo and Donegal come out to play.

TyroneLegend78 (Tyrone) - Posts: 52 - 06/08/2015 14:22:42    1765076

supporter

TheFlaker

David Brady and Colm Parkinson backed Galway.

Parkinson must have changed his mind because he backed Donegal the night I heard him. So did James Horan, Moyles, McConville, Dessie Dolan, Flynn, so did the bookies, a few people obviously gave Galway a chance but the vast majority went for Donegal.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7907 - 06/08/2015 14:29:25    1765082

TyroneLegend78

As Pat Spillane once said - there will be some Shi-ite football on view when Mayo and Donegal come out to play.

Not sure what that's meant to mean. Spillane's comments that day were illogical even if he thought he was being hilarious.
But if Donegal have been playing shi-ite football these past few years what have Tyrone been playing?

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9155 - 06/08/2015 14:35:52    1765093

Lockjaw

1765093 TyroneLegend78

Not sure what that's meant to mean. Spillane's comments that day were illogical even if he thought he was being hilarious.
But if Donegal have been playing shi-ite football these past few years what have Tyrone been playing?

It was a perfect summary of the worst game of football ever broadcast on TV and it was not Dublins fault. I don't think Donegals football has improved an awful lot since. They win ugly, that's their thing

TyroneLegend78 (Tyrone) - Posts: 52 - 06/08/2015 14:47:36    1765105