Better Refereeing

Lads despite the game or the incident we all seem to agree on the subpar standard of refs. How if at all can this be fixed? It will be the death of our game.

DoireCityFC (Derry) - Posts: 1580 - 31/07/2015 09:33:44    1761533

Ping in fairness i thought the ref was awful for us in that game too. In my eyes he let a lot go but i will agree he was a horrible referee. People are giving out about sledging, blanket defences etc. But in my eyes it's the refs that are doing the most harm. It's not an easy job but all you ask for is consistency. If a ref gives something in one game you don't expect him to let it go 10 minutes later. Refs are having to much influence, you shouldn't know a referee is on the field if he is doing his job right.

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 31/07/2015 09:43:21    1761537

Its more than just one or two games thats the problem.

Its across the board but in my opinion its not the fault of the referees. We are making things too bloody complicated for them. Either quit complicating things with nonsensical rules or give them help. Are we the only sport with more than an yellow and red card offence for example?

tearintom (Wexford) - Posts: 1337 - 31/07/2015 10:06:37    1761547

Despite Paudie Hughes mistake on the penalty, I think he did a much better job than the ref in the replay. It was an awful display of over reffing that. Inconsistency is the biggest problem, mistakes will always be made but unfortunately a lot of our refs go into a match with opinions of a team or a certain player and ref it based on their own Bias. This should be a starting point to improve fairness in the way our games are refereed. Even last night you could see the ref had a leaning towards giving Limerick anything that was going. Not that Limerick didn't deserve to win, but fair play. A ref should not influence who wins and simplifying it to teams losing because they were not good enough is clueless of the effect a ref has on the outcomes of games.

jonno (Kildare) - Posts: 260 - 31/07/2015 11:47:07    1761609

tearintom maybe the only sport with 3 cards but others have sin bins, flags etc. It's not an issue of the amount of rules or cards it's an issue of incompetence

DoireCityFC (Derry) - Posts: 1580 - 31/07/2015 12:11:38    1761630

There's 7 in-game officials, they need to be more co-ordinated. I don't mean color co-ordinated or wearing the same outfits, they should stop the play for contentious decisions and between them, decide based on which official has seen, what action to take. If a linesman and an u moire see off the ball stuff they should alert the ref via a radio link to each other and based on what they saw a man could be sent off. I still think the black card is a fob off for inconsistent refereeing on yellow and red card decisions. Allowing a sub in for a black carded player who takes out a man clear in on goal is an absolute joke.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7346 - 31/07/2015 12:28:12    1761643

Doirecityfc of course the amount of rules and cards there are to enforce is an issue, its human nature. Referees have a split second to see an incident and make a judgement. The more variables there are to making that decision and the more options there are for one incident of course make it harder for a referee to do his job. The more rules to try and enforce the harder to job, its only natural.

Either simplify the job for the referee or make the bloody job easier for them by giving assistance either by means of technology or extra personnel.

The black card situation is a farce that has made the job of referring even harder like in the situation i pointed out earlier. Its unnecessary complication. Its very simple to class every offence as either yellow or red and leave it at that. I mean its laughable when you hear on numerous ocassions commentators looking at an incident, one saying its a black card, the other saying its possibly a yellow card and then looking at the incident in slow motion and hearing the commentators say actually thats probably a red on its own!!

Is it any wonder the refereeing is substandard.

tearintom (Wexford) - Posts: 1337 - 31/07/2015 13:52:56    1761689

Gotmilk i said he got up in a minute which is true, you claimed he was knocked out which was not true and if it was then the Fermanagh medical people would have failed there responsibilities by not taking him off. Your photos prove nothing there all after the event happened. It happened on front of me and i thought that a yellow card was harsh on Kilbride. Only for the ref Fermanagh would not have won that game

Training umpires would make a big difference a lot of them are only there for the day out and leave all the decisions to the ref, you would wonder how something can happen straight on front of them the fail to see it happen.

ros1 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1211 - 31/07/2015 13:55:11    1761691

First photo where is Kilbrides elbow? Does he look conscious to you in the second photo? The Kilbride incident happened right infront of me. I wonder are you the ejit who was sitting behind me in that game Ros? I genuinely thought the ref was awful for Fermanagh that game, you think he was awful for Roscommon. It proves one thing though. He was cat!

I agree with you that umpires should be trained!

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 31/07/2015 15:40:45    1761744

Sorry tearintom, but i think thats rubbish.
Cynical fouling was getting out of hand, and something had to be done.
It had become clear that players were willing to accept a yellow card for a cynical foul, so something new had to be brought in.
You make the argument that because pundits sometimes disagree over whether some offence was a black/yellow card means that we should abolish the black card, but pundits often differ over whether an offence merited a yellow card or a red card, so should we abolish them too?
Sometimes pundits differ over whether an "offence" merited a free kick or not or not, so should we just remove frees from the rulebook then and let the players at it?

joncarter (Galway) - Posts: 2692 - 31/07/2015 15:51:42    1761751

Its very simple joncarter, cynical fouls then a red card. None of this halfway house bull that gives referees a cop out. Red card for cynical fouling, whats the issue with that?

Its very simple really, the more options you give someone to get something wrong, the more likely they are to get it wrong.Its simple chance and maths. If a referee is trying to decide on the severity of an offence from looking at it for a split second, you give him 2 options and and its a 1 in 2 chance of getting it right and so on.

Its no surprise we are seeing more play acting and diving in the game since it came in because in certain situations its the means of turning a simple offence into a black card offence. Its a joke, i mean one example of a yellow card offence is listed as "rough Play" what the hell defines rough play?

The GAA are makign the job of refereeing harder to do with no additional help, dont blame the refs, blame the GAA.

tearintom (Wexford) - Posts: 1337 - 31/07/2015 16:19:53    1761768

A red card is a bit too harsh maybe? Maybe thats the reasoning, although i wouldnt have any sympathy for the players tbh. Id like to see the sin bin given a go.
Listen, its not rocket science like. Theres three cards, a yellow, a red, and a black, its not that much to remember.
Diving and play acting have been steadily on the increase for the last 10 or 12 years, and I reckon wed have that regardless of whether or not there was a black card.
Thats the win at all costs mentality that has infected the games, nothing to do with the black card imo.

joncarter (Galway) - Posts: 2692 - 31/07/2015 16:42:06    1761778

Gotmilk if you have to resort to childish name calling clearly shows there lack of ability to make an argument, If you follow through your pictures you will see Kilbride putting his arms out to get the ball and coming away with the ball after the collision. I don't know how you can tell from those pictures if he was knocked out or not and if he was then your doctor should have demanded he be taken off \and if he did'nt that leads to some serious issues. In any case you can as injured in a collision as you can by foul play. I don't know how any Fermanagh fan can complain about the ref giving the amount of decisions he gave yee and only for him Fermanagh would not have won the game.

ros1 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1211 - 31/07/2015 20:25:12    1761855

Ah now Ros you obviously weren't chatting to many fermanagh men or women then. I'm yet to meet one who thought he reffed it in our favour. But sure you keep up your own blinkered version of events. Kilbride buried Quigley front on. Anyone who was there saw it and a yellow was very lucky. In my eyes it should have been a red.
Anyway no point chatting about it, it's long over.

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 31/07/2015 20:39:23    1761863