Which team is showing the least potential?

Took ye a couple of years gleebo ur not around that long swings and roundabouts and all that
Just 2010 ye lost to sligo and longford the darkness before the light
Easy kick when down ye weren't at much kicking then

OhtobeARossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 1764 - 27/07/2015 16:23:48    1759844

There is 40 GAA clubs in Donegal

beidhmeanseo (Donegal) - Posts: 137 - 27/07/2015 16:29:46    1759848

theres only 66 clubs in limerick

Limerick93 (Limerick) - Posts: 60 - 27/07/2015 16:30:20    1759850

I think we know now the list is a bit inncorrect.......not the topic in hand tho lads

DoireCityFC (Derry) - Posts: 1580 - 27/07/2015 16:36:11    1759856

ffs offside stop giving out duff information! lol

Out of curiosity is there a breakdown of GAA Membership by County. I vaguely remember it being mentioned during the casement park debate with Gary but cant remember if its available

bumpernut (Antrim) - Posts: 1852 - 27/07/2015 16:41:36    1759858

to get back to the OP's point yes Antrim without doubt top that league table!

bumpernut (Antrim) - Posts: 1852 - 27/07/2015 16:42:39    1759859

Ha - somebody get on to Congress!!

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 27/07/2015 16:48:27    1759864

Yeah back to the topic - I agree bumper that we have to be the County that's furthest from its potential and showing least of it. Our 108, 43 (whatever number of) clubs, population etc and no Ulster title in 64 years and no Sam or Liam ever.

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 27/07/2015 16:51:45    1759867

Offside_Rule I HAD NO IDEA IT WAS THAT LONG!!!!!!!!

DoireCityFC (Derry) - Posts: 1580 - 27/07/2015 16:57:31    1759874

I think Kerry have not realised their potential in the last year or two. Some very average and lucky performances last year as pointed out by many posters on here. Struggled to reach the final last year and barely got over the line in the final. Just not good enough IMO.

Fitzmaurice will have to ensure his troops win the rest of the games this year without any controversial ref decisions, good luck or any rough play from this Kerry team or the football purists on here and nationwide will not be impressed. Must improve!!

KY4SAM2015 (Kerry) - Posts: 898 - 27/07/2015 16:58:50    1759875

Aye it has been barren.

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 27/07/2015 17:01:31    1759878

With stgalls having 3 ulsters 1982, 2005, 2009 im surprised

DoireCityFC (Derry) - Posts: 1580 - 27/07/2015 17:03:56    1759880

Derry have 7 differnt clubs who have won ulster. More than anyone else. But the minor win last week in clones was our first silverware for senior, u21 or minor in championship in 13 years

DoireCityFC (Derry) - Posts: 1580 - 27/07/2015 17:05:11    1759882

Just to address the original post: If it's success at every level you're looking at, I don't think we can include Galway in the list of underachieving counties, IMHO. We've enjoyed more than our fair share of success at just about every level from club to inter-county, men and women, bar the senior men. And even when you include senior, it's really not that long ago since we lifted Sam, considering there are many counties who still haven't experienced that thrill, or haven't for many years (no offence meant to anyone).

Have we underachieved at senior level? Possibly. Or maybe we just haven't been good enough. Other than that I'd say we're doing all right.

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3097 - 27/07/2015 17:19:19    1759890

are meath really underacheiving or did they overacheive under sean boylan? if u take their history up to boylan era then it really isnt much to write home about. no real tradition at minor or u21 level. perhaps meath shouldnot be put in the same bracket as kerry dublin, galway or mayo for football success.

dickie10 (UK) - Posts: 693 - 27/07/2015 17:59:13    1759926

Dickie

That is silly thing to say.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 27/07/2015 18:51:12    1759962

yeah Roscommon is another good example but the reason I mentioned the 4 I did is due to the fact they have proud traditions and should by all logic do well

Our tradition stacks up neatly with your own DoireCity FC - 2 Snr's to your 1, bang on 4,2 and 1 each respectively in Minor, u-21 and Senior Club. Gotta do a little more research before coming out with lines like that. All done with a population that has swung from 45k to 60k in 70 years and yes we are damn proud of all those titles.

facethepuckout (Roscommon) - Posts: 214 - 27/07/2015 20:56:16    1760024

In ahead of you Doire, sorry missed two Club AI's for ye to make a total of 3.

yeah Roscommon is another good example but the reason I mentioned the 4 I did is due to the fact they have proud traditions and should by all logic do well

Our tradition stacks up neatly with your own DoireCity FC - 2 Snr's to your 1, bang on 4,2 and 1 each respectively in Minor, u-21 and Senior Club. Gotta do a little more research before coming out with lines like that. All done with a population that has swung from 45k to 60k in 70 years and yes we are damn proud of all those titles

facethepuckout (Roscommon) - Posts: 214 - 27/07/2015 21:00:31    1760028

Festinog- Galway have under achieved at senior level since 2001, we've won 4 u21's since then and haven't won a match in Croker since. I find that a huge under achievement. Hopefully Kevin Walsh can put that right.

TheWestIsAwake (UK) - Posts: 529 - 27/07/2015 21:57:54    1760051

Hi facethepuckout. Sorry if i implied you didn't have tradition. That wasn't my aim. I was simply stating the reason why i mentioned the 4 counties i did and not having a dig at anyone.

A previous poster yes I did mean at senior inter county level. it's strange again with Derry/Galway. Huge club success but it doesn't seem to translate......at the minute.......... and then you have Donegal on the other side of the coin, poor club success (no offence intended before people jump on top of me) but inter county doing very well. It just doesnt make much sense to me

DoireCityFC (Derry) - Posts: 1580 - 28/07/2015 09:08:10    1760067