Can Galway win Liam McCarthy?

They might beat Tipp but they wont beat Kilkenny.

Pinkie (Wexford) - Posts: 4100 - 29/07/2015 09:13:19    1760567

It seems unlikely. I don't think anybody as ever beaten the big 3 to win an All Ireland, so would be history in the making, though it wouldn't a huge shock if the team of the year so far topple the Cats. If they play to their best twice they can, but Galway don't have a great history of back to back performances. Still, we'll be there shouting them on.

Deise v Tribe would be some turn up for the books.

Gaillimh Abu!

MKM (Galway) - Posts: 1 - 29/07/2015 09:30:20    1760578

Yes.But won't

someday (Limerick) - Posts: 1104 - 29/07/2015 09:36:03    1760584

We did not FEAR cork, we HATE tipp. and KK would not like to play us in the Final!!!!! The ref. will have a huge say in the Tipp. game, if we are allowed to HIT them ( fairly ) with everything we have and the game is allowed to flow, then, we will beat them comfortably enough. ALL THE PRESSURE IS ON TIPP. Their defenders are just average, and haven't been tested by SIX FORWARDS so far this year.

dontknow (Galway) - Posts: 262 - 29/07/2015 10:23:18    1760621

Your some changer wildpundit.. Unlike tipp, nobody in Galway has the audacity to be talking all-Irelands.
We have not won in 27 years, a lot of young unproven players on board and playing a serious and proven tipp team in the semi.That's as far as we are entitled to look. And if against the odds we somehow manage to beat tipp, then we can indulge in this conversation.
Gaillimh Abu!

gaillimh73 (Galway) - Posts: 669 - 29/07/2015 12:37:43    1760733

Meanwhile, 2010 All-Ireland football medallist Derek Kavanagh has insisted that losing to teams that "aren't contenders themselves" represented a "poor" weekend for Cork's senior football and hurling teams.

The Nemo Rangers man said: "It was poor, losing so heavily to two teams that aren't contenders themselves.

"I can't see Galway (hurlers) winning an All-Ireland, I can't see Kildare getting past a quarter-final."

From Today's Indo.

gaillimh73 (Galway) - Posts: 669 - 29/07/2015 12:56:14    1760750

Any of the 4 teams left in it can win it of course.Crazy question.
You have to still fancy Kilkenny followed by Tipp with Galway & Waterford being more or less equal.I would love a Galway V Waterford final but its more likely to be a repeat of last year.

Condorman (Dublin) - Posts: 983 - 29/07/2015 13:19:53    1760775

The short answer is no.Galway have only 4-5 AI's to their name and these were all won when they had a free pass to the AI semi-final, since then they have been the poor-mouths every year, I would give them a limited chance of beating Tipp, will only possibly happen if we underperform. We perform we win.
In the highly unlikey event of beating Tipp, they would have no chance of beating their heroes KK...but then again for a county like Galway beating Tipp is their AI!!!

Tipperman (Tipperary) - Posts: 57 - 29/07/2015 13:52:39    1760798

Nice bit of arrogance there Tipperman..Why don't you tell us what you really thinK? Lol.I'm sure the Galway boys will love reading comments like yours.

Condorman (Dublin) - Posts: 983 - 29/07/2015 14:54:15    1760848

gaillimh73 - Lots of un-proven teams have won the All-Ireland since Galway last won it. Offaly 94 , Clare 95 & 13 , Wexford 96 , Cork 99 are just a few to name.I get your point but look this thing of peaking too early etc unproven are long in the past and if you want to go hell for leather and believe you only have to look to Clare in 2013 to see if you really want an All-Ireland title you can win it.

Tipperman - Come out of the 80s and the free pass BS thats history. Good Galway teams have come and gone and they have been in All-Irelands but the lack of big games during a season probably cost them when playing the likes of Kilkenny Cork & Tipp in the 90s and 00s when they got to a final.
You say Galway have only won 4 or 5 All-Irelands but Tipp have only won that amount since 1971 so we are not exactly head and shoulders above them in that department.Tipp can perform and still lose. You only have to look back at the All-Ireland finals against Kilkenny in 09 & 14 we left those behind. Now yes Galway are not at that standard just yet but I would rate their chances higher than the " limited chance " you give them.
Their record against Tipp in the Championship is not bad either.
Plus this is Tipp's biggest challenge this year and we havnt been tested.Could all fall apart so easy.

WildPundit (Tipperary) - Posts: 1709 - 29/07/2015 15:08:18    1760862

Wildpundit you predicted Limerick would beat Tipp by 8 pts plus a few weeks back, not sure how acquainted with the game of hurling you are!

Tipperman (Tipperary) - Posts: 57 - 29/07/2015 15:30:59    1760879

I sure did but that was my prediction based on Tipp hurling at the time.

You are under the firm belief that Tipp are invincible and no one stands a chance against us.

If we manage to beat Galway you will probably be on here gibbering how we will beat Kilkenny handy!!!!

WildPundit (Tipperary) - Posts: 1709 - 29/07/2015 16:34:53    1760922

If a Tipp supporter predicts a Tipp win its always arrogant it seems, but thats for others to worry about.
Wildpundit I will give my Tipp/KK prediction when required.
You put on two stone in weight after the Limerick game with the amount of humble pie you had to eat so be careful this time!!

Tipperman (Tipperary) - Posts: 57 - 29/07/2015 21:04:18    1761062

You can predict a win for your county without coming across as arrogant Tipperman.Wildpundit comes from the more modern rump of the Tipp support, you are living back in the 50s and 60s in 'Hells Kitchen" as it were.You would imagine all those trimmings ye got from the Cats would have taught you a little humility?
I'm watching hurling a good while and I don't recall seeing anyone getting a lesson like ye got in 2012.18 points wasn't it?

Condorman (Dublin) - Posts: 983 - 29/07/2015 21:36:16    1761075

Condorman,theres always one or two eejit posters from every county,that are best ignored.The infamous thurlesblues was one.Not sure was he even from Tipp,or did he have an agenda against Tipp.Most Tipp lads are good here.The match your talking about was when Lar bizarrely chased T Walsh all over the park in second half.Tipp were actually leading at the break if i remember correct.The second half fiasco led Babs Keating to say hed never go to another Tipp game as long as Lar was on team.I lost bit of respect for Lar that day too.Embarrassing carry on,that served no purpose.Thankfully it hasnt been repeated.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 29/07/2015 21:46:48    1761085

Tipperman I'm not worried about any wrong prediction u got in d past but I'll lie in wait every dog has his day. You must remember tipp only hurled for 40 mins of dat limerick game and if we had been playing a better team like Kilkenny or Galway they wud have beaten us.Tipps problem is we can't hurl for 70 mins and shud we fail to fire in the Galway match we will b destroyed.

WildPundit (Tipperary) - Posts: 1709 - 30/07/2015 11:26:51    1761145

This is Tipp bestest test this year as we are untested, I would go as far as saying this game could have a huge effect on Tipp hurling. A win here and we could become the team that everyone expected back in 10 but if Galway win it could set Tipp back years another failure and another fall coming up the home straight. How many more set backs can a team take

therealtmo (Tipperary) - Posts: 1292 - 30/07/2015 12:26:50    1761174

Condorman very selective there with your selection of 2012, yuo could have gone with Tipp's 21 point win in 2011 Mun final or KK's win in 2008 AI final, its a matter of perspective. Tipps win v Dublin last year in the 1/4 finals was very one-sided too, as you would expect when a tradionally strong team plays a manufactured team as Ger Loughnane called them
All I have done is state i am confident of beating Galway in the AI semi and why would'nt I be?

Wildpundit i'd say id you were a stopped clock you would'nt even be right twice a day!! Tipp only played for 40 mins v Limerick?? were you at the game/or watch it? Bar 10-15 mins after half-time they played well throughout, as i mentioned yesterday i'd say this game hurling is new to you!! judging by some of the other comments on this page you are in the right place!!

Tipperman (Tipperary) - Posts: 57 - 30/07/2015 17:33:58    1761347

Fair enough Tipperman your right and we're all very wrong. tipp will win the all Ireland by 15 points plus and will hurl 2 full 70 mins of non stop powerful hurling and we'll may as well start a drive for 5 because no one can touch us right now.don't anyone dare criticise us.WE ARE UNBEATABLE.

WildPundit (Tipperary) - Posts: 1709 - 30/07/2015 21:34:08    1761478

Tipperman you're missing the point, which is that you can predict a win for your own county without being insulting to or dismissive of your opponents.You seem to take delight in being so and what entitles you to behave in that way is beyond me.Tipp have one , thats right just one, success over Kilkenny this century, and that was when the Cats were at less than full strength.They way you prattle on you would think Tipp had been the dominant force not the Cats.
Living in the past you are.

Condorman (Dublin) - Posts: 983 - 01/08/2015 15:07:08    1762017