Kerry v Kildare

Yeah Clondalkin past Kerry teams but we are still top 3 in Ireland with what you consider an average team.
Aidan marked Micheal Murphy out of last year's final.
Marc was not found wanting against Colm O Neill .
We also have a manager who is the most tactically astute in Ireland.
People raved about Jim Mcguiness but he had one tactic and that was it.
Eamon adapts to each team differently.

westkerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1250 - 26/07/2015 17:03:58    1759253

Ah I find this manager thing aload bs without the players your nothing, like 5 down against 14 men Mayo yis were bet until Donaghy saved his bacon so I don't think we'd be on here talking about how great a manager he is, even in the semi against Dublin '13 he brought on some lad who was completely out of his depth and was caught in no man's land for the kev mac goal and I remember him being slated for that afterwards, I'm not saying he isn't a good manager but it's over rated this whole manager buzz.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 26/07/2015 17:56:00    1759276

I'd give fitzmaurice another year or two or even more before I'd rate him
I'd wonder would he have done what J McGuinness done with Donegal
He( Kerry manager) played with most of the team, played and won All Ireland's
J McG had no such luxury , played with teams that got beat regular ( I know he was a sub in 1992) took a panel of players that had suffered terrible defeats in the mid 00's and won 3Ulsters plus Sam Also was unlucky with his U21 team , a missed penalty cost us an All Ireland
One other thing , had Kerry lost last year Fitzmaurice would have been crucified for his defensive style of play and quite possible would not be manager today. He got lucky last year and can thank P Durkin

SamOnErrigal (Donegal) - Posts: 1427 - 26/07/2015 18:07:13    1759284

KYTitletown

I'll let the games played on the pitch speak for themselves and the insults and mockery to others Kildare were in reality 10-12 points a better team last nignt whether you or anyone else likes it. Against a team that everyone on HS said were robbed against Kerry the first day. But don't let facts get in the way of a tired old narrative.

You want to speak facts, I'll give you facts.

Kerry are 1/7, Kildare are 6/1 with Paddy Power. Kildare warm favourites indeed.

The only mockery & insult here are the insults to out intelligence & the only tired old narrative is your own.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 26/07/2015 18:07:30    1759285

westkerry

Muck whatever about cute hoorism are any Donegal boys up trees in Galway looking for inside information?

Nah, not worth the grief westkerry, not worth the grief.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 26/07/2015 18:09:39    1759287

Kildare in with a shout against Kerry , it took two games and a dodgy penalty for Kerry to beat Cork . My biggest worry would be Star at full forward , he was marked out of the game the last day but he could run riot against a smaller full back line .

ke40 (Kildare) - Posts: 209 - 26/07/2015 19:20:08    1759330

Sam on erigal
I see you still have that old chip on your shoulder from last September . your probably one of those supporters who would rather see Kerry lose than see ye'r own team win. Sad state of affairs really.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 26/07/2015 19:44:33    1759343

Kerry definitely not lucky to draw Kildare instead of Fermanagh. Kildare do not like Kerry and will put it up to the Kerrymen. They also have a fairly shrewd Manager in Jason Ryan who is out to make a name for himself. You would slightly favour Kerry but Kildare will certainly not buy into the "hype" and will tear into Kerry.

galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 2519 - 26/07/2015 20:02:36    1759353

Cork never showed up last night ,it's fairly typical of them very good first day against Kerry and very bad the next cork have some very good players but let their manager down ,Kildare put some pride back in Leinster football but the dubs took them apart as will Kerry .the two best teams by a mile are Dublin and Kerry best players best panels and best managers ,I would fear for Kildare if they go man to man with Kerry ,can't see Kildare near Kerry s level don't read to much into beating cork ,but good luck to them Leinster needs someone to raise the standard it's just a stroll for the dubs ,I'm going for Kerry in this one hope
Galvin gets a bit more game time .

matthematx (Meath) - Posts: 177 - 26/07/2015 20:23:11    1759369

Kingdom boy
No sir , I have no chip on my shoulder
I am just saying how different it was for J McG to weld an All Ireland team together comparing to E Brosnan Do you not agree
As regards last year most people I talked to agreed that Donegal more or less threw away a great chance to win an All Ireland Even leaving Croke park a Kerry man admitted to me that he would not like to say what way the game would have went had we not given away the second goal
As regards chips , well I can tell you something ----- I never saw sooner men than Kerry men when Armagh beat them in 2002 and when Tyrone beat them in 2003 semi final
The talk with them in 2003 before we played Armagh in the semi was ----- hope Donegal beats Armagh , other wise they might as well play the final ( Armagh v Tyrone) in Landstown rd
Also in 2011 I had Dublin backed to win quite a lot of money , with 63 minutes gone I said to my friend --- my money's gone , next thing Kerry give away the ball and a goal for Dublin -- game over and my bet up.
I still say Kerry should have win that final and a lot of people have agreed with me

SamOnErrigal (Donegal) - Posts: 1427 - 26/07/2015 20:34:42    1759379

Kerry by 8+

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 26/07/2015 20:50:01    1759385

SamOnErrigal

You make good points. Obviously Eamon Fitzmaurice is a very good coach. However, some of the praise of him tactically outwitting Donegal last year are a little over the top. Kerry deserve to be All-Ireland champions (no question) but an uncharacteristic kickout from Paul Durkan and one inch in the final seconds of the game (when the ball hit the post) are ultimately what separated two evenly matched teams.

Here are the stats from the game.

http://www.gaa.ie/gaa-news-and-videos/daily-news/1/2409141332-video-kerry-v-donegal-in-stats/

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 26/07/2015 20:53:43    1759393

Great win for Kildare last night.Their loyal fans looked pretty happy on Sky Sports slow-mo replays.Cork looked flat from the start.It was such a difference to their display against Kerry in drawn game.They didnt seem to have the appetite.I felt a little sorry for B Cuthbert.A last gasp wonder point from F Fitzgerald has destroyed his year.Such small margins at the top level.Kildare will take a lot of confidence into next weeks game and will Kerry plenty.If they can replicate Saturdays intensity and good standard of score taking they will be in with a shout of an upset.Big if though.Kerry have had a nice break and will not have Corks mental & physical frailties.Kerry love Croke Park and will want to hit the ground running.Im not overly impressed with Kerry yet this year,but now that the real action starts,Kerry will slip through the gears.Hopefully the lillies can make a good game of it,but i would fancy Kerry to win by approx 7 points.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 26/07/2015 20:56:04    1759395

Bennybunny
Very interesting and as you say TWO evenly matched teams and thanks for the information
I have no cribs about Kerry having won that game , no team can do what we done and give away a goal like that and expect to win
But my point is would E Fitz have not been crucified had Kerry lost and them reverting to Ulster style football Remember what the late P o Shea said about Kerry supporters.

SamOnErrigal (Donegal) - Posts: 1427 - 26/07/2015 21:06:35    1759402

Sam

As the old saying has it "The victors get to write the history".

I agree with you about Fitzmaurice being on the receiving end if Kerry had lost but then again if my auntie had balls.....

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 26/07/2015 21:38:01    1759417

I think Kildare +6 at evens is a great price. Lets be honest, this is not a great Kerry team. They may get past us but they wont be takin Sam home this year.

11jm11 (Kildare) - Posts: 365 - 27/07/2015 11:15:26    1759556

Any talk of kildare being favorites in this game are bizarre. they are 6/1 with paddy power.

I would also question how this thread has turned into a bashing of Eamon Fitzmaurice. I dont think he has done much wrong in charge of kerry, and is one cool operator in general.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 27/07/2015 11:51:53    1759590

Hilarious stuff on here from the Cork lads.

SeppBlatter (Dublin) - Posts: 187 - 27/07/2015 12:09:29    1759611

Look....Jason Ryan bought himself another year and Kildare are in bonus territory now. They could have crumbled after that heavy loss against Dublin. Look I think Kerry will win the game, but I wouldnt be that surprised if Kildare run them close or shade it. Kerry havent played a decent team yet this summer. Kildare are a mad team.... player for player you'd have Kerry. But Kildares forward line are flighty and mobile.

JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 27/07/2015 12:14:55    1759613

I realise that the QF line up is yet to be completed at this stage but if ever there was to be a seismic result at the QF stage then this is surely the fixture from which it will come.

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 27/07/2015 12:18:58    1759616