Dublin v Waterford

He should have been sent off earlier in the game for deliberately hitting a waterford player in the stomach with his hurl.

Yep!

Agree

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 26/07/2015 15:51:52    1759195

26/07/2015 15:36:30
waynoI

Thuggish, disgraceful act there from Liam Rushe. Smashing a fella with a hurl in the face.

And of course hurling people, like Brendan Cummins in the commentary box there, will give it the usual cobblers about frustration, Its a terrible thing to do, no excuses.

Id take you serious Wayno1 if I thought you gave a toss for hurling or a toss for Dublin hurling for that matter , you didnt post nor never post a good luck on our Dubs page , but come us playing Kilkenny or what Rushe did your straight on , with friends like you Dublin hurling doesnt need enemies , so quick with the negativity .
With regards the incident inexcusable , big ban coming Rushes way .
Regards the match congrats to Waterford Id posted on Dubs page during the week my fears , unfortunatley they came true , may see a few retirements come our way after this .

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 26/07/2015 16:17:35    1759212

Terrible action from Ruse which has no place in our games. However, in his defence, Shanahan used every trick in the book to wind him up.

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 2677 - 26/07/2015 16:18:03    1759213

I think Maurice will live lads you do realise they wear helmets? Well done Waterford better team won I thought the ref was harsh on us but not the winnin or losing of the game, hopefully you can give the cats a rattle.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 26/07/2015 16:23:30    1759217

Dublin still lack that natural killer instinct on the ball, they seem to struggle to score points when they're there for the taking. I think we'll see a few retirements there, Keaney, Dotsy, McCaffrey, Corcoran. Dublin might struggle to rebuild confidence for next year. Waterford's performance in the second half will give them some positives from a game they were actually lucky to still be in at half time. I fully expect them to be murdered by Kilkenny though.
Shame to see Rushe act the maggot like that, he is such a class player who would walk on to any other team.

keithlemon (Australia) - Posts: 920 - 26/07/2015 16:28:09    1759220

Agree re retirements however we need someone to bring on the young lads , hope Dotsy stays around for a while , but yes it is time for some great servants to move on , just not sure if we have enough lads of similar quality to step up .

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 26/07/2015 16:34:02    1759224

Damo.

Dead right.

I couldn't give a toss about Dublin hurling in the slightest.

I don't need to give a toss to come on here and slaughter a lad for such tuggish behaviour.

I also don't need to like Dublin hurling to voice my opinion.

I'm sure Dublin hurling wont let my opinion bother them too much so don't let it bother you either chief.

When it comes to hurling i'm completely impartial.

I'd say there are a lot of Cork fellas at the hurling at the minute who didn't give a rats about their footballers exit yesterday.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 26/07/2015 16:37:07    1759226

I think Maurice will live lads you do realise they wear helmets? Well done Waterford better team won I thought the ref was harsh on us but not the winnin or losing of the game, hopefully you can give the cats a rattle.

Obviously he will live.

Same way Davey Byrne will live with despite him being assaulted in a challenge game.

Doesn't make what happened acceptable.

But I suppose hurling is a mans game so its grand to smash lads above the neck cause they are wearing helmets.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 26/07/2015 16:42:00    1759230

It was a dirty stroke and he deserves a 5/6 game ban for that; frustration cannot be a get out card for belting a fella with a stick as it often is used as an excuse in hurling. Dublin's discipline seems to fall apart at times and they give away some poor frees. Dublin also have great fitness and heart but they still lack that wee bit of class and skill to put teams like Waterford away; you can't teach players that.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9706 - 26/07/2015 16:54:44    1759247

Waterford better team and deserved their win ,we had a good first half ,but just didnt have the players to keep it going and Waterfords skill eventually took over. We rely too much on certain individuals and when they dont perform we have no one else on the line to come in .
It was excusable from Rushe to strike with a hurl and rightly will get a ban .
Shanahan shouldnt go unmentioned for his cowardly sledging throughout the game and hitting the deck so easy .
Hes no victim in this .

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 26/07/2015 16:58:57    1759249

Congrats to the Deise.They have the makings of a very good team.Some of these young lads are mature beyond their years.De Burca,Barron,Bennet and Gleeson are quality hurlers.The future is bright for Waterford.
I wont be overly critical of Dublin.We played some great hurling in first half.Dwyer,Sutcliffe,M Schutte scored some fine points.Even when Waterford went into a bit of a lead,we fought manly to the death.We came up short.We still lack that killer instinct in front of goal.That ruthless streak that Kilkenny & Tipp have.We are a long way from reaching an All Ireland final.We probably peaked in 2013 semi v Cork.Its a game we really left behind.We may lose some lads to retirement.They owe us nothing.They have helped put Dublin hurling on the map.With all the good work being put in underage,well hopefully remain competetive in future years.Trophies are hard won. A Leinster & League victory is a decent haul for this team.I remember the bad days of Dublin hurling quite vividly.It is not too long ago.I have no fears for Dublin hurling.We are hear to stay.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 26/07/2015 17:24:48    1759259

Dublin are a bit ike Waterford were a few years ago. Its probably time to freshen things up and Ive no doubt about the future of Dublin Hurling. In the meantime is there any chance that Waterford might beat KK?

ZUL10 (Clare) - Posts: 693 - 26/07/2015 18:45:45    1759313

Freshen up with who? If it was that easy we'd have done that years ago, the best players are on the panel right now.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 26/07/2015 18:51:06    1759316

As feared...

Waterford are just in a better place

We went out fighting and after the Galway disaster I say fair play to Dublin

The panel came together and gave it a lash

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 26/07/2015 18:53:50    1759317

The panel came together and gave it a lash

Literally in some cases.

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2477 - 26/07/2015 19:54:01    1759349

There's no justification for what Rushe did, but Shanahan also deserves criticism for his part in the incident, and his time wasting a few moments previously. He probably deserved a second yellow for his conduct.

football first (None) - Posts: 1259 - 26/07/2015 21:53:13    1759424

"Smashing a fella with a hurl in the face"

What a truly silly observation - at first I thought the poster was being sarcastic! My god they are serious.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4897 - 27/07/2015 08:22:12    1759433

Arock haha ah stop he's no interest in the game yet he won't shut up about it, not a mark on Maurice's face it was a puck on the helmet to say "go away" Rushe wouldn't have done it if Maurice wasn't wearing a helmet.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 27/07/2015 10:04:13    1759490

Damothedub

Id take you serious Wayno1 if I thought you gave a toss for hurling or a toss for Dublin hurling for that matter , you didnt post nor never post a good luck on our Dubs page , but come us playing Kilkenny or what Rushe did your straight on , with friends like you Dublin hurling doesnt need enemies , so quick with the negativity .

Well said Damo, I too would listen to Wayno, and in fairness he's a great Dublin football poster on this site, but I cant listen to him re:Dublin hurling, mainly due to the points youve pointed out. Wayno, like alot of other ''football only guys'' to me find it hard to hide their dislike for Dublin Hurling. The attitude I get off these people is ''Football is No.1 in dublin and thats the way its gonna stay""

Thats the way I see it anyway.

ConnollyDub (Dublin) - Posts: 2007 - 27/07/2015 10:07:34    1759492

Damo,
You're right. No credability at all on anything hurling and just pointing out the obvious.

SLLY (Dublin) - Posts: 463 - 27/07/2015 10:26:06    1759509