Kerry goal -gooch "genius"

Gooch's pass was so easy that Cork had 2 similar situations (1 in each game) and made a complete pig's ear out of it both times. Easy.

KYTitletown (Kerry) - Posts: 816 - 21/07/2015 11:52:01    1756853

Question for Pike & Hermit....Did you play ball at senior/adult level yourself? If so did you not always try to stay alert to such opportunities when playing? If not, maybe being unable to see simple things like this was the reason why?

benched (Tyrone) - Posts: 534 - 21/07/2015 11:53:30    1756854

More of a hurler myself benched

I'm sure club football in Tyrone is full of goals like this.

But down here in the Kingdom we just take time to appreciate those little moments of awareness, guile and skill from the best footballer of his generation which resulted in a score that turned a massive game in Kerry's favour. Not bad considering the monsoon the boys were playing in and given Gooch's long road back from a horrific injury.

I sometimes wonder why some people even bother watching the GAA, they seem to take no delight or pleasure in it at all.

The 30+ players on show on Saturday produced an enthralling game of football and managed some wonderful scores giving the apocalyptic conditions. Now contrast that with what was played out in Clones on Sunday with the sun beating down.

I'd take the soaking in Killarney any day and Gooch's contribution warmed the heart of many a Kerry fan.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 21/07/2015 12:24:35    1756874

No Hermit, up here defences too well tuned in and alert to stop playing just because the whistle went :)
No one doubting the genius that is Gooch, first thing I said on this thread, but as someone else said making a fuss out of this passage of play would diminish some of the sublime things he has done and hopefully will again.

benched (Tyrone) - Posts: 534 - 21/07/2015 13:27:25    1756933

Instead of praising the gooch for a wonderful piece of vision its hilarious to see the begrudgers back again trying to downgrade Kerrys win again. It obvious it was the game changing moment in the game with the sides level at the time. Many a player would simply put the ball down and take the easy free. Very enjoyable two games of football and fair play to Cork and their fans for two great days out in killarney, but as usual the sour grapes are hatching already and we are not even in croker yet.

KY4SAM2015 (Kerry) - Posts: 898 - 21/07/2015 13:48:06    1756951

Great players make difficult passes look easy and and take that option when easier passes are on. The Goochs quick thinking and pin point pass was so good that ye have people on here thinking anyone can do it.
Its wasnt out of this world , but a lot of intercounty players would of hit that pass to hard and another huge amount wouldnt of even been thinking of the pass.

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 21/07/2015 14:10:13    1756972

Yerrah shure we'll have ta mind da small lad a while longer. He's fierce delicate ye know. Not a defender has ever given him a cross word or da back of their hand. Da only mystery now is how to motivate da poor devil.

If only he was being patronized, sneered at and scorned by a shower of begrudging gombs with more gob than cop on... coz... dat might just do the trick, hah?!?

plike (Kerry) - Posts: 569 - 21/07/2015 14:17:04    1756985

plike

Yerrah shure we'll have ta mind da small lad a while longer. He's fierce delicate ye know. Not a defender has ever given him a cross word or da back of their hand. Da only mystery now is how to motivate da poor devil.

If only he was being patronized, sneered at and scorned by a shower of begrudging gombs with more gob than cop on... coz... dat might just do the trick, hah?!?

To be honest....I haven't a clue what any of these means.

benched (Tyrone) - Posts: 534 - 21/07/2015 17:35:32    1757124

@ benched

For those who understand, no explanation is necessary; for those who don't understand, no explanation is possible.

Style of thing...

plike (Kerry) - Posts: 569 - 21/07/2015 20:13:55    1757230

I find it so amusing the comments being made about Kerry in general in all current threads is shocking yet pleasing. Shocking because everything is negative and pleasing because it suits better when it is a 1v31 mentality.
Where do I start? James O'Donoghue came in for some abuse after being named MOTM. Yes, both Moran and Enright had brilliant games and would been more deserving of the award but that is hardly jamesys fault! MOTM is based on one mans opinion, why all the fuss? He only got one score from play, and what??? In the Kerry team he had 23 possessions. The second most amount after Moran. Was he wasteful with these possessions, did he help contribute to the winning of his team? Same as last year's AI final. He was held scoreless, again so what? Did he contribute to his team winning, I think very much so! Scoring isn't everything if you are on the winning team!

All I'm hearing on this comments thread is about how any average player would have taken the quick free that the Gooch did. I'm afraid this isn't true. The fact that that moment turned the game on its head speaks for itself. The pass was very accurate and lead to the goal. Gooch ALWAYS goes for a quick free if its on and the backs on the opposition tam are rarely switched on! Not alone this every time he kicks the ball he does so with deadly accuracy. I still maintain one of the best goals ever was the first goal Kerry scored v Dublin in the 2013 semi final was when Gooch kicked a ball through two Dublin defenders to Walsh (they have a brilliant understanding of each other) before laying it off to O'Donoghue before finally hitting the back of the net! Gooch always sees the pass that no one else does. To say an average club player would do the same is ridiculous.

I genuinely don't mind people bad mouthing Kerry and then debating why I feel they are wrong, I would hate it more so if everyone was patting us on the back telling us how great we are. Whilst Dublin are favourites for an All Ireland again the year, the way the media talks them up you would swear they are going for 10 in a row (No fault of Dublin team, just media and peoples perception). I think Mayo could be the team to win it the year if they tighten up at the back of course

LiosTuathail (Kerry) - Posts: 216 - 21/07/2015 21:12:26    1757279

plike

@ benched

For those who understand, no explanation is necessary; for those who don't understand, no explanation is possible.

Style of thing...

Maybe so, or maybe it was just gibberish

benched (Tyrone) - Posts: 534 - 22/07/2015 17:11:56    1757687

All North men are mono? Shirley not?!?

plike (Kerry) - Posts: 569 - 22/07/2015 17:29:56    1757688

Can I just make it clear that I'm not trying to have a go at either Colm Cooper or Kerry. The initial post on the thread talks of how the RTE pundits went over the top in their praise of this passage of play - this is not the fault of the Gooch, just as J O'D being awarded the MOTM award when a lot feel others had played better was not the fault of J O'D. Cooper is a great player, all right minded people would say so, but he will surely be remembered more for the type of performance he gave against Dublin in the semi final in 2013 including the passage of play that lead to the goal as described by LiosTuathail than for what happened on Saturday. The media have their favourites on all teams and heap praise on these players for every move they make, others (see the Paul Geaney thread) seldom get the recognition they deserve. As someone else said if the roles had of been reversed and the Gooch made the run to take the pass from Walsh who would of been credited for setting up the goal?

benched (Tyrone) - Posts: 534 - 22/07/2015 17:31:02    1757689

It wasnt a glorious pass but it WAS the game's defining moment.
99% of players in the same position would have left it to kick the free over the bar. That is why Gooch got praise for it. If the chance went awry then Gooch would have got a bollicking which nearly happened! Gooch made it look so effortlessy as well in those conditions which was not easy.

But I do admit the Cork defence was very slow to react to Walsh's run.

But was the praise over rated , I suppose it was but then again media nowdays has lost the run of it with critisms and adultation.

Donegal are supposedly finished now after losing at the weekend yet when they win their next game they will be nearly favourites again.

woops (Kerry) - Posts: 2073 - 22/07/2015 17:48:53    1757693

It wasnt a glorious pass but it WAS the game's defining moment.
99% of players in the same position would have left it to kick the free over the bar. That is why Gooch got praise for it. If the chance went awry then Gooch would have got a bollicking which nearly happened! Gooch made it look so effortlessy as well in those conditions which was not easy.

But I do admit the Cork defence was very slow to react to Walsh's run.

But was the praise over rated , I suppose it was but then again media nowdays has lost the run of it with critisms and adultation.

Donegal are supposedly finished now after losing at the weekend yet when they win their next game they will be nearly favourites again.

woops (Kerry) - Posts: 2073 - 22/07/2015 17:51:41    1757694

No bother. Great time for Harte, Canavan and the rest. It's just that Cooper is as Maurice was before him, a living God to the faithful. Reason matters not!

plike (Kerry) - Posts: 569 - 22/07/2015 17:57:48    1757695