we have a big game against fermanagh tomorrow first and foremost
and ye have a big ask against mayo next week
before anybody even looks at a repeat of a semi final of last year in my view

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 01/08/2015 20:28:32    1762154

Congrats Donegal super 2nd half, hopefully yous go on and beat mayo

binman53 (Monaghan) - Posts: 104 - 01/08/2015 20:40:11    1762161

Hard to know what to make of that Donegal performance.

When they were good they were very good but when they were bad.......

Granted McBrearty had a bad day, anyone can have one, but 15 wides for the second game in a row is going to kill us.

We also look loose at the back & if we're without both Lacey & Eamonn McGee against Mayo then I would worry.

For a period in that game I thought we were in trouble & I agree that the missed Galway free was a turning point but when we clicked we looked very good with McFadden as my man of the match.

A good double header in prospect next weekend with four well supported teams playing.

Looking forward to it.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 01/08/2015 21:11:05    1762185

At halftime I thought Donegal might have been in trouble but they upped their performance in 2nd half, All in all I was impressed by them, Galway have the makings of a good team but there is still quite a gap to make up, I enjoyed the game and well done to Donegal, looking forward to Donegal v Mayo now, should be a good one

NorthKildare (Kildare) - Posts: 197 - 01/08/2015 21:42:31    1762214

Phew! There were times when it felt like déjà vu: Clones all over again. Long tranches without scores & with those 3 wides in a row at start of second half, I felt my stomach lurch. What made the difference for me where the substitutions that were made. Had felt last day out we should've brought Leo on much earlier & he was chomping at the bit to come on. Great to see Eamonn Doherty get the nod: he was my stand-out from the League & looked comfortable today. Being able to call on the likes of McElhinny (who had a point to prove after his last performance) & on Christy was great. Odhrán was back on form & seems to play very well in Croke Park & Colm McFadden was the difference at important times.
That was a very important game for us today. An Ulster Final defeat is hard to come back from. Hopefully today will help raise spirits & confidence.
Mayo are ripe for a scalp; will we be the ones to do it? It seems unlikely on today's performance as they will be raring to go, are rejuvenated this year & with lots of energy. If we are sluggish or lethargic, the will punish us. They are fresher than we are with only 2 games down. We will seriously need to be on top form.
Paddy McB & Eamonn McGee would be big losses. Having said that, Declan Walsh did well when he had to step up in place of Paddy McGrath.
Hard to know how it will go but I am delighted we are in our 5th Quarter Final in a row & would like to think we're in with a shot.

Glynners (Donegal) - Posts: 109 - 01/08/2015 21:43:52    1762215

Well done Donegal..SAM is going back to the hills again..nobody can stop them with that level of performance

KY4SAM2015 (Kerry) - Posts: 898 - 01/08/2015 21:56:26    1762222

Lads what about murphy,s leap and catch then turns and scores a fantastic point it was a unbeliveable catch and score, then his leap, vision and flick down to mchugh coming through at pace for a great goal,this is one serious footballer.

Yourjoking (USA) - Posts: 705 - 02/08/2015 10:40:46    1762278

I think we gone back , I'd be worried for Galway . We won by 10 and didn't play well , our shooting was brutal .

TheRightStuff (Donegal) - Posts: 1688 - 02/08/2015 10:58:16    1762285

Lads take it easy against us in Croker, we only want a day out. Hon Mayo

saddam (Mayo) - Posts: 414 - 02/08/2015 11:19:02    1762298

I thought it was a bit risky for Donegal to field so many young players in the first half, however it actually worked out superbly, as the 2nd half Impact was unreal. Declan Walsh was outstanding, and has layed down a marker for a starting place at half back after showing real grit and hunger yesterday.

Galway played very well for long periods during the first half, but fell away badly in the 2nd half.

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3017 - 02/08/2015 11:36:35    1762304

Superb second half from donegal. McFadden was immense. That passage of play for the second goal was just fantastic. Can't wait for the battle against mayo. Can't call it at all. If both teams play to their potential I think mayo would shade it but a fascinating game awaits. Do mayo do what Dublin stupidly did last year or will they do what Kerry cleverly did in the final? Will mayo make donegal play the game on their terms? Massive test for mayos new management. Whoever wins surely will be better equipped for the semi final having take out a top 4 team.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 02/08/2015 11:46:26    1762310

People keep saying Galway are a coming team? I don't see it?

blackspot91 (Limerick) - Posts: 1055 - 02/08/2015 11:47:38    1762314

Gutted we lost by 10. Donegal were the better team but not 10 points better. We've improved this year but it just shows how bad we were. We did get further last year but that was by beating two weaker teams than derry and Armagh.

Good luck to donegal but I can't see them getting past mayo. I think Donegal won because galway were poor in the 2nd half not because donegal played that we'll.

galwayfball (Galway) - Posts: 1678 - 02/08/2015 12:00:13    1762326

galwayfball
Good luck to donegal but I can't see them getting past mayo. I think Donegal won because galway were poor in the 2nd half not because donegal played that we'll.

You could also argue Donegal didn't play for the 1st half bar the first 5mins or so. They went how long without scoring? I was really disappointed in Galway int he second half...lacked leaders and kicked bad wides. Galway need to get into division 1 next spring.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11232 - 02/08/2015 12:04:57    1762330

yewtree you weren't the only one disappointed. Yes donegal had a poor first half but even when they did play well I don't think they ever got near mayo standards.

Agree have no leaders our captain was probably the weakest link yesterday hes had a rough championship and not someone our young lads should look to for encouragement. And Hanley one of our other more experienced players stands there like a lamppost leaving sweeney and Duane to deal with everything. Essentially we have a 2 man full back line. He does commit the occasional foul though.

galwayfball (Galway) - Posts: 1678 - 02/08/2015 12:19:52    1762341

galwayfball

Gutted we lost by 10. Donegal were the better team but not 10 points better. We've improved this year but it just shows how bad we were. We did get further last year but that was by beating two weaker teams than derry and Armagh.

I think Galway looked good after Donegal sat back in the first half, anytime Donegal upped the tempo, Galway were in Limbo and very exposed.

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3017 - 02/08/2015 12:29:19    1762349

Donegal might have miles on the clock, but that also translates into physical conditioning. The old dog for the hard road.... Galway still have a few miles to go.

Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 02/08/2015 12:33:03    1762353

Pericles
And indeed it will be a hard road next Sat night but it might suit OLD DOGS OR AT LEAST I HOPE SO.
GALWAY MADE IT DIFFICULT FOR US FOR LONG PERIODS , they kicked a few bad wides when they needed scores but still I think they will learn. At least Managementplus players know now what is required to sit at the top table Best think now is look for promotion to div one , they are a young team plus unearth a few more and they will be back in business

SamOnErrigal (Donegal) - Posts: 1427 - 02/08/2015 13:18:53    1762373

Pericles

Donegal might have miles on the clock, but that also translates into physical conditioning. The old dog for the hard road.... Galway still have a few miles to go.

Interesting looking at the old Donegal dogs yesterday, especially in their 14 men outfield starting line-up. Only 4 players including the goalkeeper who started yesterday, were aged 30 or older. And apart from the Christy Toye, all of their subs are in and around the mid twenties and average age of 25.8 years in starting 15.

Perhaps there is more life in that Donegal team than many people realise, slowly easing talent into over the last few seasons has paid dividends. I would say there isn't that much difference between the average age of the Donegal and Galway sides yesterday, well less than many think.

Patrick McBrearty 22
Martin O'Reilly 22
Hugh McFadden 21
Ryan McHugh 20
Odhran MacNiallais 22
Eamon Doherty 23
Mark McHugh 24
Michael Murphy 25
Paddy McGrath 26
Frank McGlynn 28
Neil McGee 29
-----------------------
Colm McFadden 32
Eamon McGee 31
Neil Gallagher 31
Paul Durkin 30

Subs
Leo McLoone 26
Declan Walsh 25
Martin McElhinney 26
Anthony Thompson 28
Christy Toye 31

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3017 - 02/08/2015 13:52:32    1762386

Had a few pound on Galway to win by 2 points but really should have had more sense. Only read yesterday that they havent won a game in Croker since 2001 which is a sobering statistic. Donegal were there for the taking as they looked tired and had a few lads carrying injuries. I fully expect Mayo to progress the next day as their gameplan will cause Donegal major problems and have a good bench. Galway really are a poor team and have no leaders whatsoever on the pitch. They have made little or no progress this year and have major problems in every central position bar full forward. Their midfield was completely non existent yesterday and was the same against Mayo in the Connacht semi final.. Paul Conroy was anonymous yesterday and is lucky to have his place never mind being captain. Shane Walsh looks like a good prospect but looks very light and could be eaten up by a Fionn Fitzgerald or a Colm Boyle. They badly need to get into Division 1 as they are light years behind Kerry, Mayo, Donegal, Dublin and Monaghan in terms of strength fitness and conditioning.

kingdomfan (Kerry) - Posts: 393 - 02/08/2015 14:42:18    1762402