Galway v Donegal

Donegal have been brutal going forward for most of the match.Their obsession with endless recycling possession when they have 3 ball winning full forwards who they can target.It really beggars belief why they are so unbelievably conservative today despite being completely the opposite against Armagh earlier in the year.It'sost as if they are afraid to play off the cuff and have to have everything pre programmed for them.

I doubt Galway would be able to cope with them if they left McBrearty,McFadden and Murphy inside launched long balls in and worked off of that.

I worried for Galway after the goal but since then they have been the better team.

uibhfhaili1986 (Offaly) - Posts: 1296 - 01/08/2015 18:47:49    1762086

Donegal are brutal, seems the Ulster final was no one off as some would have you believe.

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 01/08/2015 18:58:28    1762089

Gary Slice - should have been a black card

cuchulainn35 (Armagh) - Posts: 1676 - 01/08/2015 19:01:19    1762092

Very impressed with Galway's movement of the ball, nice and quick, McBrearty is way off the mark!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8592 - 01/08/2015 19:12:24    1762096

Did well in the end did Donegal, they haven't gone away you know :D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8592 - 01/08/2015 19:27:06    1762102

Another poor second half showing for the tribesmen.Really fell away badly,and had no answer when Donegal moved up a notch or two.Donegal will take beating.The Mayo game will be interesting.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 01/08/2015 19:31:38    1762108

Donegal now face Mayo with nothing to lose, and if they actually leave Murphy at the edge of the square and they click, who knows what will happen. Galway physically weak.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7904 - 01/08/2015 19:32:13    1762109

Good second half by Donegal. Everything to look forward to next weekend.

offyertrolley (Leitrim) - Posts: 141 - 01/08/2015 19:34:15    1762111

Well that was a game of two halves if ever there was one. I really thought Galway would kick on and win the game at ht. Credit to Donegal though, when they went direct they caused serious damage. I felt the Galway forwads were poor, kicking very bad wides in the second half. Galway didn't deserve a 10 point beating. They are coming though and good to see Shane Walsh come on and kick a class point.
Donegal....see ye next weekend!

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11232 - 01/08/2015 19:36:17    1762114

eddie kinsella must have his holidays booked for bundoran
seemed to be one set of rules for donegal
how does michael murphy get away with it every day i see him hes hitting closelines
and fouling yet never gets done
key moment in that game came with a point in it in second half
galway were fouled twice on seperate occasions on the 14 yard line yet no free
donegal go up other end and put daylight between them
game over as donegal are very good at seeing out games which they lead in last 15 minutes

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 01/08/2015 19:44:13    1762118

hill16no1man

eddie kinsella must have his holidays booked for bundoran
seemed to be one set of rules for donegal
how does michael murphy get away with it every day i see him hes hitting closelines
and fouling yet never gets done
key moment in that game came with a point in it in second half
galway were fouled twice on seperate occasions on the 14 yard line yet no free
donegal go up other end and put daylight between them
game over as donegal are very good at seeing out games which they lead in last 15 minutes

Are you for real? Clothesline? It was not a bad tackle in my opinion. And the turning point was Conroy missing the free to go 2 up and Donegal scoring the next 2 points if I remember correctly. Murphy was checked and knocked to the ground in the first half, I presume you missed that?

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7904 - 01/08/2015 19:53:10    1762122

Ah flip it anyway. We'll be back next year, up Galway!!!

tribeinbrum (Galway) - Posts: 4155 - 01/08/2015 19:57:13    1762125

Are Donegal doing a Kerry this year and just doing enough to get by without being spectacular. Don't think they will get away with being at that level the next day though.
Galway look like they are a coming team and will more than likely challenge for division 1 football next year.

SLLY (Dublin) - Posts: 463 - 01/08/2015 19:58:31    1762126

Why is there so much talk about the Galway forwards? They were shocking in my opinion.Galway were wiped at midfield too.
Donegal were there for the taking but Galway weren't good enough.

Condorman (Dublin) - Posts: 983 - 01/08/2015 19:59:49    1762128

Fair play to Donegal,I seriously doubted them today!

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 01/08/2015 19:59:55    1762129

Back in Business' MM up front is the only way to go.

Cant wait for next week' O'Shea and Neil Magee is going to be some tussle.

InishowenMan (Donegal) - Posts: 216 - 01/08/2015 20:03:48    1762132

Brilliant result and hard luck to Galway,they will improve in the future and learn from today,hope it's a great match with Mayo and may the best team win,
the Dubs are going to get their first real game of the season in the semi, Michael Murphy,what a man,the best player in the country in my opinion,
Tir Chonaill ABU.

TirChonaillabu2 (Donegal) - Posts: 344 - 01/08/2015 20:04:33    1762134

Diarmuid Connolly says hello TirChonaill......
Hope ye make it to the semi cos we want to put the record straight!

Condorman (Dublin) - Posts: 983 - 01/08/2015 20:17:57    1762146

spot on hill 16.
A lot of questions answered today about this Galway team.
Best team won, no complaints here. Conroys free was a big one and thought we should have had a couple of tap over frees before Donegal took over.
Midfield disappeared in the second half and we hardly won a breaking ball.
In todays game you dont stand a chance if you cant win posession. Donegal were never going to give us the ball.
I think we made Donegal look good today. Fair play to them !!!
Donegal looked weary towards the end of the game. A lot of miles on the clock for most of those lads..
To take on a fresh Mayo next weekend is a big big ask. Would have loved another crack at Mayo in Croker !!
Mayo by at least 6.

StopTheLights (Galway) - Posts: 343 - 01/08/2015 20:20:19    1762149

the flaker
Are you for real? Clothesline? It was not a bad tackle in my opinion. And the turning point was Conroy missing the free to go 2 up and Donegal scoring the next 2 points if I remember correctly. Murphy was checked and knocked to the ground in the first half, I presume you missed that?

he gets away with it every game
not that bad a tackle he came in with his arm outstretched while there was no ball loose
clearly went high to do him
he took a guy out of it off the ball in the second half and even the commentators were bemused as to how no free was awarded
not only murphy donegal are like tyrone in the 00tys
refs tend to allow them tackle in 2s and 3s and lay hands on players
but when opposition attempts the exact same thing
the ref immediatly awards the free

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 01/08/2015 20:26:18    1762152