Galway v Donegal

Flanders - take your point re div 1 V div 2. but don't forget that Kerrys old stagers at the back Marc/O' Mahoney are allowed to rest up during the league in an effort to keep them fresh for Aug-Sept. Freshness coming into Aug is massive and to me Donegal look anything but fresh. Still given the tight defensive system Donegal play Galway will need to play intelligent football to out last them.

blacknamber (Kerry) - Posts: 267 - 20/07/2015 15:53:50    1756474

Its funny ashure I remember that day well in 2009 and yes Donegal had more support although not sure the extent to which you mention. 2003 was strange in the sense that Galway outnumbered Donegal in HQ while for the replay in Castlebar Donegal outnumbered Galway. Of course back then it was the fading of a great Galway team and support was still large. Another thing I remember about the 2003 drawn game was the support the Rossies gave Donegal (Ros were playing Kerry after our game). With similar colours it enhanced the Donegal support. I hope we get good support on Sat week but with the venue etc I fail to see how more than 25k will turn up for that double header.

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1946 - 20/07/2015 16:29:36    1756496

Where would be good to watch the game in Galway that night? I'm down for the Races. Haven't been out in Galway in yonks so not sure where would be best to go.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9141 - 20/07/2015 16:46:11    1756522

I see many are going for Galway . Thats fair enouhh i suppose. Its how we react now, I feel that yesterday will have a negative impact on Donegal. Im not surprised many are going for the tribesmen.

How do Galway people feel about the choie of venue ? Very surprised with the choice of Croker .

TheRightStuff (Donegal) - Posts: 1688 - 20/07/2015 17:01:25    1756538

I dont mind one bit going to Croke park, its always a great occasion and it might be our only chance to see it this year in the championship. I would rather go out there than anywhere else. Not saying that we will get beaten or anything. I think that it is a chance for our lads to throw caution to the wind and to go for it.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 20/07/2015 17:07:21    1756545

Donegal had a lot of players unfit or carrying injury looking at the likes of Murphy and Toye yesterday. Maybe there is a big problem for them this year which will prove the case should they lose to Galway, I don't see it happening.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7904 - 20/07/2015 17:11:54    1756547

With a two week break, I don't see us losing to Galway.

With a one week gap until Mayo in a quarter final, I fear we could be destroyed. Not sufficient rest time.

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1321 - 20/07/2015 17:22:58    1756555

Donegal had to be at their best on May 17th when they played Tyrone, that was nine weeks ago. Take a look at what happened in Thurles Sat night and remember Donegal had to beat Tyrone just to get to the Ulster 1/4 final while Kerry had to beat Tipp in their 1st game to get to the Munster Final.
It is no wonder they looked jaded. Every county should have to win the same amount of games (through the front door) to win an AI

donegalhills (Donegal) - Posts: 17 - 20/07/2015 17:25:22    1756560

donegalhills

Donegal had to be at their best on May 17th when they played Tyrone, that was nine weeks ago. Take a look at what happened in Thurles Sat night and remember Donegal had to beat Tyrone just to get to the Ulster 1/4 final while Kerry had to beat Tipp in their 1st game to get to the Munster Final.
It is no wonder they looked jaded. Every county should have to win the same amount of games (through the front door) to win an AI

I agree to a certain extent but this debate always crops up. Donegal flattened everyone in sight in 2012 while Mayo had a reasonably handy run to a semi final and turned over Dublin. It was said that year the reason Donegal won was they were so battle hardened, and Mayo weren't tested. This debate always divides opinion.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7904 - 20/07/2015 17:30:41    1756563

Perhaps you are right but I think it was at least 10/1 Donegal. It was a bad weekend for Galway GAA. Our hurlers knocked out after falling apart against Waterford on the Sunday after our footballers lost to Donegal on the Saturday, as a result both teams were out before the races. Can't knock Donegal fans though, they were great craic and I hope it will be the same story Saturday week. I think Croker will suit our lads.

ahsure. (Galway) - Posts: 1572 - 20/07/2015 17:37:24    1756568

Genuinely believe that Donegal will win handily enough, and wouldnt be surprised if they beat Mayo.

joncarter (Galway) - Posts: 2692 - 20/07/2015 17:48:13    1756580

Donegal will beat Galway and we are coming for your Mayo scalps in the quarters.

TirChonaillabu2 (Donegal) - Posts: 344 - 20/07/2015 17:54:44    1756587

ahsure.

1756568 Perhaps you are right but I think it was at least 10/1 Donegal. It was a bad weekend for Galway GAA. Our hurlers knocked out after falling apart against Waterford on the Sunday after our footballers lost to Donegal on the Saturday, as a result both teams were out before the races. Can't knock Donegal fans though, they were great craic and I hope it will be the same story Saturday week. I think Croker will suit our lads.

Id agree with this ; I feel Croker will suit your young lads. I would of been happy to play it in Galway , I used to love going to Galway for pints of the black stuff. I honestly think its 50/50 .

TheRightStuff (Donegal) - Posts: 1688 - 20/07/2015 18:06:37    1756600

Donegal_abroad

I agree that a one week turnaround for Donegal between Galway and Mayo matched will be too much.

Donegals style requires 2-3 weeks rest between matches. Too much running in their game plan.

Donegal to beat Galway but they will come a cropper against a fresh Mayo team.

tirawleybaron (Mayo) - Posts: 1109 - 20/07/2015 18:09:13    1756604

Am I right in saying Galway havent won a game in Croker since 2001 all ireland? Saturday week would be a great time to set that right.....

Flanders (Galway) - Posts: 604 - 20/07/2015 18:33:06    1756617

Off the top of my head Galway in Championship in Croker since 2001 have played 7, lost 6, drew 1.

Lost to Kerry 2002, Tyrone 2004, Cork 2005, Kerry 2008, Cork 2013, Kerry 2014 and drew with Donegal in 2003.

Dismal, but in saying that, we lost to some quality opposition along the way.

ahsure. (Galway) - Posts: 1572 - 20/07/2015 18:48:09    1756625

This is a stern test for us and will really show what the team has learned in the last three games. At the end of the day it's a quality Div 1 team against a middle of the road Div 2 team so you'd have to back Donegal for the win. But it's going to be close, and confidence is certainly up; in the wide open spaces of Croke Park, anything can happen.

Gaillimh Abu!

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3097 - 20/07/2015 19:29:57    1756644

The Right Stuff Croker is a strange venue particularly from West Galway or West or North Donegal. This is a clash of the young and the new against the older experienced. Interesting that a week ago not a person in the world would have given us a hope of beating ye. Now some are talking us up. The reality is probably somewhere in between. Galway have some very talented young forwards but need to sparkle and the venue will bring this out. Donegal still favourites but should be tight whichever.

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1946 - 20/07/2015 19:35:56    1756647

I would put Bradshaw marking Murphy

maroondiesel (Mayo) - Posts: 1196 - 20/07/2015 19:46:29    1756655

Flanders, I do be complaining that Dublin play every game in Croke Park but that's the fault of the eejets in the other 10 Leinster counties

riverboys (Mayo) - Posts: 1389 - 20/07/2015 20:06:17    1756663