If I were from Derry

@jamesjoyce - Christ, ye really are bad losers in Derry. I think the free count in the first half yesterday was 13-10 in Derry's favour. Derry pulled 14 players back and hadn't a clue about scoring. The 'penalty' claim by O'Boyle was laughable. It's time you took those blinkers off. Your goalie did his best to time waste in the 1st half checking his boot laces, his gloves and that's why he got booed.

Derry got punished yesterday for giving away stupid frees and then mouthing off at the ref. Funny how the likes of you and McIver managed to miss the kick on Micheal Lundy by Eoin Bradley in the 2nd half for which he should have got the line but instead got away with it.

Ailteoir (Galway) - Posts: 861 - 19/07/2015 12:08:08    1755607

Derry lads...the over carrying fouls were justified and ye got plenty of scorable frees yourselves frees that ye opted to go short on, Where are the free takers in Derry? Blaming the ref does not explain the bad handball played. Losing Lynch through injury was a real turning point as he is a fine player.

suckvalleypaddy (Galway) - Posts: 1669 - 19/07/2015 12:16:50    1755617

Hopefully everyone ignores Sam1884, he's clearly trying to create plenty of friction on here.

I'd have to see those frees Galway were awarded again before I could make a proper judgement on them. Conroy was awarded a very soft free just before half time which he subsequently missed. Derry were awarded a number of soft frees too which haven't been mentioned, Derry's first point from a free was very soft and I can remember a Derry back been awarded a very soft free in his own 21 when it should of been a free in for Galway.

Whether Galway we're on the receiving end of the decisions or not it wasn't the decisive factor and when all the attention on the ref calms down in the next few days then then Derry folk will start to aim their anger and frustration at McIver. Derry have gone nowhere in the last 3 years, their form in the championship has been appalling and the football they have served up this year is probably the dullest in the country.

There is plenty of positives from Galway, 2 wins from 2 games that would have been lost under the previous regime.

TheWestIsAwake (UK) - Posts: 529 - 19/07/2015 12:30:22    1755629

James Joyce.personal abuse is not nice but like all Derry people and McIver you are very blinkered.the goalie was booed because of blatant time wasting against the wind.the black card was in front of me and well deserved.having said that cathal Sweeney deserved the same in the second half.haven't seen the penalty on tv yet but all the pundits were saying it wasn't a penalty.Derry were absolutely terrible but ye don't seem to acknowledge that at all.

manager5 (Galway) - Posts: 724 - 19/07/2015 12:35:23    1755634

No why would anyone wish to be from Tyrone with those terrible accents, you couldn't even go to a south derry secondary school without hearing them

4KHDoneill (Derry) - Posts: 182 - 19/07/2015 12:53:53    1755645

If it suits to hide behind the ref for Derry fans then not alot of point in having a discussion , for those few who do admit to faillinings , far more intresting a discussion is where can Derry go from here ? Are the players there ? What tactics going forward ? Yes Id be annoyed with the ref to put it mildly , but more annoyed with the manner of the exit .

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 19/07/2015 13:08:22    1755653

Derry were very poor and Galway deserved to win. However that doesn't excuse the performance of the referee. Croke Park must look at this game very closely.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9706 - 19/07/2015 15:29:04    1755725

Better team won on the day regardless of the referee.

ahsure. (Galway) - Posts: 1572 - 19/07/2015 16:08:45    1755748

...I'd clone Chrissy McKaigue!

sam2008 (Tyrone) - Posts: 797 - 19/07/2015 17:28:44    1755815

As I said earlier in this thread, Galway deserved to win, but not sure why their fans are getting so defensive about the performance of the ref. Not a penalty in the second half IMO, but the black card obviously had a bearing on the game, and Galway had a number of soft scoreable frees too. Anyway, see youse in a few weeks

petejoeduff (Donegal) - Posts: 329 - 19/07/2015 18:02:50    1755840

@petejoeduff - I wouldn't say we're defensive, just sick of the sh..e from a few on here that Derry were somehow robbed by the ref yesterday. Soft frees were given to either side, Derry were awarded more of them over the 70 mins and Bradley should have got the line but didn't. We won't beat ye but hopefully will give ye a good game of it.

Ailteoir (Galway) - Posts: 861 - 19/07/2015 18:34:56    1755868

Fair enough Ailteor. Anyway, another solid win for Galway and they are building up a bit of momentum at the right time. I'm glad of the two week break to recover from the Ulster final as Galway are a dangerous proposition right now. Hopefully a good game and a Donegal victory of course!

petejoeduff (Donegal) - Posts: 329 - 19/07/2015 18:49:55    1755882

@petejoeduff - I hope ye don't reach the heights of the performance ye gave against Armagh. If ye do I fear it could be a long afternoon for us!

Ailteoir (Galway) - Posts: 861 - 19/07/2015 19:14:22    1755907

Listen everyone, I am a massive Derry fan and follow the team all over the country like many others and I have waited 24 hours before posting my thoughts.

Yes the referee was poor but in he was no way near as poor as that Derry performance. I appreciate and thank Brian for the work he has done with this Derry team over the past 3 seasons, however the buck stops with him. He prepared the team and set the tactics and the system of play he has introduced has ultimately led to his demise.

Derry have good footballers but until we get a manager who can implement a system of play that will allow these players to express themselves we are going nowhere. Under Brian we had talented players who's ability was restricted by the negative tactics employed. We are not going to win matches by playing lateral football in the middle of the park. I counted on one occasion last night that Derry had completed 14 passes and progressed less than 10 metres before being dispossessed. That's not football that good footballers want to play. We have a man 6ft plus at the edge of the square and we don't pump the high ball into him so what's the point in him being there.

Best of luck to Galway, they put the points on the board and that's what ultimately wins matches. I don't like the disrespectful comments on here about Galway, they are a young side and have some very fine young talented footballers that bodes well for the future. No complaints for me, hopefully we can find a young talented manager who can bring back the feel good factor to Derry football.

OakGael (Derry) - Posts: 293 - 19/07/2015 19:25:10    1755914

Just back from a week in Galway. Great people, great town and I really enjoyed it all......except the game ha ha.

From my point of view in the main stand (and I'm not being bitter)

1. No black card
2. Very soft frees
3. I think 5-6 in the first half moved forward into score able positions
4. from where i was 100% a peno
5. Derry lost all discipline with 10 min to go and the game over

We did attack at times. When we attacked Galway had 15 men behind the ball, When we had 13-14 men behind the ball for their attacks we got booed. Out keeper got booed for replacing his boot. some thought he was timewasting in the first half but no such boos for the Galway keeper with ten min to go. Very bad double standards in my view.

The ref was clearly the man of the match.....for what reason i dont know. Maybe he liked being the centre of attention, maybe he isnt a great ref......maybe as one galway lad suggested in the bar after the game maybe the gaa didn't want the embarrassment of not knowing how to settle a draw if tyrone derry and donegal where all in the hat.......bit far fetched but i like the cut of his gib ha ha.

Good to see Mcivor gone in my view. I had been calling for it last year. Id like to see mickey moran in after his run in the club all ireland and they way he has managed derry in the past was great.

We need a manager who can get the best players in the county to join the panel and more importantly play as a team

FAIR PLAY TO GALWAY. You won and in no way was the ref, the weather etc in any way your fault. you can only play the hand you are given. Hope you keep improving and hope we meet in a quarter, semi ........or even a final some day soon

Another possible way forward is to get brolly in.......so he can finally show us he can do more than just talk the talk

DoireCityFC (Derry) - Posts: 1580 - 24/07/2015 08:47:12    1758252