What happened here?

i know davy well myself
but if theres no video fooage and the ref didnt see the incident properly
what are the gaa or the cccc supposed to do?
you have to have evidence to punish somebody
like the biting allegations we have seen its no good making them and then having nothing to prove it
that only makes you look like a liar or making things up.
we dont know what happened all we know is byrner got bad injurys
there may have been 10 people involved in a brawl for all we know

Another rational poster - good man Hill.

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 08/07/2015 14:17:52    1749879

CroiGorm

I think a fractured eye socket and a broken nose can be considered evidence. How can you look like a liar or that you're making things up when carrying injuries like that?

Lol you have literally no clue what evidence is.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12123 - 08/07/2015 14:25:17    1749883

CroiGorm

I think a fractured eye socket and a broken nose can be considered evidence. How can you look like a liar or that you're making things up when carrying injuries like that?

Lol you have literally no clue what evidence is.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12123 - 08/07/2015 14:25:22    1749884

Witnesses? The entire Dublin panel (the B team were playing with the A training on pitch beside I believe), the Armagh team, the officials, the back room teams etc. The game had not started so any excuse of 'I was following the ball' cannot be used. It is well known who did the damage I have been told. This smacks of another massive coverup. Do we wait until somebody pulls a knife before we investigate these incidents now?

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 08/07/2015 14:51:37    1749902

Hard to believe this would happen at a challenge match before the throw-in! Where was it held?

keeper7 (Longford) - Posts: 4088 - 08/07/2015 14:57:18    1749911

Now lads i think yous all need to take a step back. No-one knows what happened. I heard it was a 10 man fracas and I'm sure someone else heard it was something different. so realistically we are guessing. I hope the lads is ok and makes a quick recovery but like most of the incidents in the GAA I'm sure he didnt get it for nothing. It was probably a coming together and this lad came of worse. easily could have been the other way about. For the clowns calling for the gardai to get involved seriously catch yourself on. If this was the case the guards (PSNI up the north) would have a full time job dealing with these types of incidents every week throughout the country.

goalpost (Armagh) - Posts: 215 - 08/07/2015 15:16:47    1749931

Joxer - was there any build up to the incident or was it an unprovoked attack?

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 08/07/2015 15:22:11    1749933

Case closed.

A player was hospitalised with severe injuries

Lets all wish him a speedy recovery

It's a pity a certain set of players saved their fight for a nothing challenge match v Dublin

Could have come in useful a few weeks ago when it actually mattered.

By the way.. who won the game?

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 08/07/2015 15:29:09    1749943

Fair play goalpost I echo this.

credit_crunch (Armagh) - Posts: 57 - 08/07/2015 15:29:18    1749944

jimbodub HA HA HA amazed you are the first to ask who won. Fair play chap

DoireCityFC (Derry) - Posts: 1580 - 08/07/2015 15:36:32    1749954

Dublin won by three. Until all the facts come clear as to who started what noone will know, everyone so far has used I believe and I heard until someone actually has saw it and heard both sides of the story cant really be sure whats happened

credit_crunch (Armagh) - Posts: 57 - 08/07/2015 15:37:19    1749957

DoireCityFC
County: Derry

1749954 jimbodub HA HA HA amazed you are the first to ask who won. Fair play chap

;)

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 08/07/2015 15:38:28    1749959

It was definitely a coming together goalpost...of fists and a face! Anyway without a shred of evidence and if the GAA want it hushed up I think it's case closed. I wish DB a speedy recovery. Dublin won by the way :)

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 08/07/2015 15:42:39    1749965

Excellent

Dubs won

Thanks for the info

Would have been an extra bit of bite after the off field unpleasantness at the start

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 08/07/2015 15:48:32    1749975

if there is a punishment you have to provide evidence...obviously no evidence was provided to the gaa hence why it wasnt followed up on

fabio8 (USA) - Posts: 2182 - 08/07/2015 16:00:13    1749986

croigorm

all that proves is he got hit
how does it prove who hit him?
how does it prove he didnt do anything in the incident to get hit?
you need evidence to convict somebody in any walk of life the gaa is no different

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 08/07/2015 16:55:54    1750035

There was plenty of evidence of what happened to Karl Lacey in Croke Park last year and yet the GAA did nothing. The Sunday Game spent their time discussing whether the Donegal doctor should have action against him for coming on the pitch.

opa01 (Cavan) - Posts: 503 - 08/07/2015 16:57:40    1750037

Joxer

Witnesses? The entire Dublin panel (the B team were playing with the A training on pitch beside I believe), the Armagh team, the officials, the back room teams etc. The game had not started so any excuse of 'I was following the ball' cannot be used. It is well known who did the damage I have been told. This smacks of another massive coverup. Do we wait until somebody pulls a knife before we investigate these incidents now?

and how do you propose they investigate it?
if there was no camera then what are the gaa or cccc going to do to investigate?
ask each individual what they saw haha sure thats going to be great fun hearing about 20 different versions

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 08/07/2015 16:58:39    1750040

also dublin management refused to comment on the incident so obviously didnt want it to go any further

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 08/07/2015 17:00:45    1750041

hill16no1man

Joxer

and how do you propose they investigate it?
if there was no camera then what are the gaa or cccc going to do to investigate?
ask each individual what they saw haha sure thats going to be great fun hearing about 20 different versions

------
How is any case of GBH investigated without cameras and 50 or so witnesses? I know a guy who got community service for knocking a guys teeth out in a club match. This happened before a ball was thrown in. And guess what? There were no cameras.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 08/07/2015 17:45:14    1750069