What happened here?

From what I've heard this evening from somebody who witnessed it, this incident puts the John Finn affair of 30 yrs ago in the halfpenny place. 'Most serious incident that he has witnessed at either a club or county game' and this fella is in his 60s.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 07/07/2015 19:39:31    1749498

Sounds bad... what I was getting at is that nobody will know anything about it.

BIG SACKS (Tyrone) - Posts: 1681 - 07/07/2015 19:59:39    1749504

Don't get me wrong lads, if Davy Byrne was assaulted then its a despicable act and with those injuries I'd be taking it further but we've seen people found guilty before facts appear before and we should urge caution in these cases.
If there is eye witnesses saying this was an altercation between players then it must have been a vicious attack to leave a fella in that shape. Hope he recovers fully and soon.

Tir Conaill Abu (Donegal) - Posts: 1671 - 07/07/2015 20:27:17    1749517

Appalling incident! Have to say it doesn't surprise me that armagh involved. Hope davey makes a full and quick recovery.

Molaise (Fermanagh) - Posts: 96 - 07/07/2015 20:37:15    1749522

Tir Conaill Abu

Hold on lads, nobody has confirmed that he was actually struck. It was pre-match. Is it possible that he collided with a team mate during a high intensity drill

Or maybe a raccoon came in and hit him in the face with a coconut

whiterbannnas (Mayo) - Posts: 2441 - 07/07/2015 20:38:36    1749524

surely the ref witnessed this incident? all matches have to be sanctioned for insurance reasons with proper refs so the ref should have dealt with it but I'm guessing he didn't

lillyboy (Kildare) - Posts: 429 - 07/07/2015 20:40:16    1749525

??? What incident? What fellow?

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2481 - 07/07/2015 20:41:19    1749526

A despicable act to leave a player in that state, totally unacceptable behaviour on the playing field. Am I surprised Armagh are involved? Well, as someone who witnessed first hand the premeditated attack on our team last year during the parade fracas, no I am not.

Ned_Stormcrow (Cavan) - Posts: 1071 - 07/07/2015 21:49:26    1749570

Hardly any great surprise to read that the GAA will not be disciplining any Armagh player over this disgraceful insident, I am a big GAA fan, but it sickens me the way they treat incidents such as this with kids gloves. Whichever Armagh player carried out his assault has no place in our games, and at an absolute minimum he should be looking at a two year suspension, which sadly will not happen now. I honestly hope that Davy Byrne now goes to the Gardai requesting charges be brought against his assailant, as yet again a GAA player has been let down badly by the very people that should be protecting him, so he has been left with no choice.

gilly0512 (Galway) - Posts: 1176 - 08/07/2015 11:15:34    1749726

gilly2308

That's some post about an alleged incident you or anyone on this forum knows anything about.

rcarragh (Dublin) - Posts: 305 - 08/07/2015 11:49:59    1749751

That's some post about an alleged incident you or anyone on this forum knows anything about.

Well said rcarragh. Too many Judges, Jurors and Executioners on here when there seems to be very little details as to what exactly happened. Yes we know the end product (which you would wish on no man by the way) but we have no idea what went on.

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 08/07/2015 12:07:06    1749766

Think all counties and clubs need to take responsibility for their representatives' behaviour - be they officials, fans or players. There's too much of 'isn't it terrible' when committed by opposition but not enough of the same when it's your own club/county.

I remember one of our own carrying out a despicable act in a challenge game a number of years ago. The County Board chairman accompanied the culprit to his appeal and claimed that the act was 'out of character' even though everybody in the county knew he was capable of a similar act every time he togged out. He got his ban cut while the victim was out of football for six months.

A well-known pundit together with a county player (not in my own county) a couple of years ago put so much pressure on a referee in a home club U16 game that the ref gave their club every decision and resulted in a 1 point win for them. This resulted in a play-off with the same two teams at a neutral venue without the pundit or the county player present. The opposition won by 32 points - shows the effect these two had. The same pundit would be appalled by the same behaviour displayed by someone else.

In a recent 'sledging' that caught the news I recalled a story about one of the chief complainants where he attended an U12 game as a coach for his club. He gave the referee so much abuse including swear words in front of children and promised to kill the ref as soon as the game was over that the ref feared for his safety and left the ground as quickly as possible. The same individual was appalled by the 'sledging' incident carried out against his team.

So my point is until we all put our own houses in order and take responsibility for our representatives' actions these types of incidents will continue. People in glasshouses cannot throw stones.

I agree with a previous poster that if the GAA doesn't tackle it the victim should report it to the Guards. Only when there are consequences will this behaviour stop.

opa01 (Cavan) - Posts: 503 - 08/07/2015 12:09:41    1749768

What's there to know, a player suffered a fractured eye socket and a broken nose, amongst other injuries whilst playing a game of football, the GAA have somehow decided that there is no case to answer, and we should all be happy with that? Glad to see that the tradition of omerta is still alive and well amongst the GAA fraternity.

gilly0512 (Galway) - Posts: 1176 - 08/07/2015 12:14:31    1749773

an alleged incident?!? a guy is badly injued and has to go to hospital from injurys on a gaa field and it alleged?!!?

kavvie (Clare) - Posts: 505 - 08/07/2015 12:25:40    1749784

There's no allegedly about it but as is the norm with the GAA they will sweep this under the carpet.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 08/07/2015 13:30:18    1749840

Couldn't agree more. If a blind eye (no pun intended) is turned to this incident, regardless of who did what yet we know the outcome, then we really need to see a revamp. There are several sites/media sources reporting details of the incident along similar lines so we can make some assumptions - the main one being that an opponent was involved and that this was not the work of a goal post. What's not to investigate?

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 08/07/2015 13:42:31    1749852

i know davy well myself
but if theres no video fooage and the ref didnt see the incident properly
what are the gaa or the cccc supposed to do?
you have to have evidence to punish somebody
like the biting allegations we have seen its no good making them and then having nothing to prove it
that only makes you look like a liar or making things up.
we dont know what happened all we know is byrner got bad injurys
there may have been 10 people involved in a brawl for all we know

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 08/07/2015 14:08:06    1749867

....seemingly nothing if the GAA are to be believed, when will they ever learn!

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 08/07/2015 14:09:21    1749868

you have to have evidence to punish somebody
like the biting allegations we have seen its no good making them and then having nothing to prove it
that only makes you look like a liar or making things up.

I think a fractured eye socket and a broken nose can be considered evidence. How can you look like a liar or that you're making things up when carrying injuries like that?

CroiGorm (Dublin) - Posts: 1547 - 08/07/2015 14:13:36    1749876

Anybody ever stop to think that the Dublin lad didnt want to take it any further? Maybe he did but we dont know

DoireCityFC (Derry) - Posts: 1580 - 08/07/2015 14:16:28    1749878