Westmeath unhappy with Leinster final referee

Redassasin...

Cluxton is a teacher, Philly Mc works for Rovers etc.....the players all work or are in full time studies. Its embarrassing people keep saying stuff likenthis.

Economics 101..... more people = more money = bigger spend.

Less people, less money, lesser spend.

Donegal have less people than Meath, Kildare, Mayo..... and would probably have less funding. How did they beat Dublin.

Dublins success is down to money? Errrm it wasnt money who trained those kids from a young age it was volunteers. If you think Kerry arent spending big you need your head tested.

Ps Dublin are trying to compete at a Duel county. Are Kerry/Mayo/Donegal taking hurling seriously? It costs ya know

JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 08/07/2015 10:07:22    1749664

Redassasin

Zero evidence of Dublin players not having to work. No idea why you would intimate that. There is however evidence that other counties you mentioned have that luxury. I point you to the below article.

http://www.joe.ie/sport/kerry-captain-kieran-donaghy-gives-up-his-job-to-concentrate-on-gaelic-football/495678

Also I'm glad you pointed out that it was money that is down to Dublins success. Our lads are actually coin operated robots. A steady supply of euros is all they need and they'll keep scoring. Fact! #coybib

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 08/07/2015 10:19:43    1749680

I've heard that quite a large portion of the team don't even need to work a full time job with the financial backing they get

Where do people get this info from?! Can you name these players that don't need to work a full time job because of all this financial backing they're getting?? And don't try naming those that are still young students like Lowndes, McCaffrey, O'Conghaile, Davy Byrne etc.

CroiGorm (Dublin) - Posts: 1547 - 08/07/2015 10:29:03    1749691

Very good Jackeen ;-)

JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 08/07/2015 10:43:51    1749700

Redassin tell me these Dublin players who are not in full time work I'm dying to know? Redassin you really believe it's money that's made Jack mccaffrey a Dublin player even doh his father played for us before or Ciaran Kilkenny whose 2nd cousin is Sean Purcell , half our team has family blood that played county football these guys were going to make it money or no money.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 08/07/2015 10:46:31    1749702

Most certainly it's genetics at play

But greatly bolstered and fine tuned thanks to the incredible work of our CB...

As for players not working.. that's true in some cases

They are actually students

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 08/07/2015 10:55:10    1749712

Soooooooo Westmeath have no problem?

Wonder what Dessie Dolan is up to now, maybe he could ref the game?
Actually he played in Parnell Park this year so he would have too much of a connection with Dublin GAA. Probably played there more than most of the current squad wha?! Get it, we always play in Croke Park?!
Wonder does McQuilan have a full time job? Maybe he has an assistant that could ref the game as he might be too busy working to enjoy his hobby, unlike the Dublin players.

Actually I hear the GAA are taking all of Dublins funding to create a super ref that will referee in house games for all counties in both codes and also ref all of the provincial and all ireland finals. Just to be sure everybody is happy that there is no bias towards any county.

All of the above is less ridiculous than this thread (que TheMaster and/or MrAdams saying that Dolan playing in Parnell more than the Dubs is true and not ridiculous)

GAAHattrick (Dublin) - Posts: 278 - 08/07/2015 11:19:35    1749733

JayP - Donegal have less people than Meath, Kildare, Mayo.

I don't want to get involved in a snipping match here like the rest of you but Mayo's population is less than Donegal.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11232 - 08/07/2015 11:39:40    1749746

It's the poor mouth culchie way

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 08/07/2015 11:51:27    1749755

Apologies yew tree..... they arent dissimilar though.

But to blow a myth out of the water.....galway have about twice as many people as Mayo....Mayo are the most dominant Connaught team? So either population matters, or it doesnt.

It cant only matter when it suits your argument.

JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 08/07/2015 12:36:50    1749795

JayP - In the past 5 years we have had a better team than Galway but historically in Connacht its roughly the same amount of titles each BUT they have 9 All Ireland's (which they wont let us forget) and we are stuck on 3 since 1951. Galway will come again and we may fall back a bit but that is swings and cycles....

Population count though....you can not argue a county like Leitrim is not at a disadvantage when coming up against Galway or Mayo in population terms.....

That said I don't see what the problem is, you have big and small teams/clubs no matter where you go in the world in multiple sports. That is just the way it is.
I hope smaller counties are working on underage development instead of complaining about where they are because that gets them nowhere....look at Sligo - seniors in the Connacht final and a very good minor team by all accounts there too. I have never heard them complaining and there low population has a sizable soccer fan base in the town of SLigo too.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11232 - 08/07/2015 14:35:30    1749889

population obviously matters..to say it doesnt is not being genuine in the extreme..there is a reason only big counties win the football all ireland and counties like leitrim and longford arent all ireland contenders....population isnt everything but it is a help and should make you competitive if used wisely and the sport is big in the area

fabio8 (USA) - Posts: 2182 - 08/07/2015 16:09:41    1749999

Ah, this thread is pure poetry to read.... Culchies a whingin and a cryin! It's a thing of beauty I tells ya!

Floops (Dublin) - Posts: 1623 - 08/07/2015 16:39:19    1750022

My mistake if that is the case, it was merely something i heard rumoured and wanted to clarify which it has now been. Thankyou! There is no question that Dublin have a lot of excellent footballers. I'm a big admirer of some of them, their professionalism and application to the game is matched by their ability. No one is suggesting Dublin bought these lads! But its a fair arguement that dubin wouldnt be as competitive as they have been in recent years without their financial advantage>

redassasin (Cavan) - Posts: 25 - 08/07/2015 20:36:26    1750173

so the rumour is all rubbish. confirmed by the Westmeath Chairman

http://www.hoganstand.com/Cavan/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=240627

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 08/07/2015 20:58:34    1750193

Redassin I can accept population and playing at home is an advantage but I honestly can't see how having money is? Posters are convince that's why Dublin are so good , it's a once in a lifetime team with stars all over the field but it won't last forever, granted we will never be far away but we won't be winning as easy as we do now in most games and all the money in the world won't save us then.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 08/07/2015 21:00:19    1750196

McQuillan has made a few favourable decisions in favour of the dubs in the past but there is no point in dwelling in the past. Most teams have had favourable calls at some time or another. Kerry were 4 points up with 7 minutes left and we can have no one to blame but ourselves in letting it slip.

Similiar to Cork last sunday they had numerous occasions to put the game to bed but failed and yet its the refs fault. Mayo last year were 5 points up in the first game with time nearly up but let it slip, yet somehow the ref gets the blame for their counties own shortcomings. In all those games many refs calls were important but one or two incidents are highlighted and people all jump on the bandwagon that the result was solely the fault of the ref.

KY4SAM2015 (Kerry) - Posts: 898 - 08/07/2015 21:22:11    1750210

His decisions were right , Kevin Mac was fouled by BJK and he might of over carried but it was so quick you could hardly blame the ref on that like you couldn't hold a hate campaign against the man over kevs steps in all fairness.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 08/07/2015 21:33:56    1750218

Kerry fans believe he did make a few mistakes and dublin fans believe otherwise and they have been discussed over and over again in the last few years. Main point to focus on is we were 4 points up in last 10 mins and main reason for defeat was unable to see the game out. Similiar to Cork on sunday and Mayo last year..easy cop out to blame luck or the ref IMO

KY4SAM2015 (Kerry) - Posts: 898 - 08/07/2015 21:48:52    1750230

He is a shocking ref. I wouldn't question his impartiality though. His terrible decisions gifted Dublin a soft All Ireland in 2011. But they could just easily have gone to Kerry. He makes a mess of any game he refs and ends up being the talking point.

Daith (Kildare) - Posts: 1171 - 08/07/2015 21:51:48    1750231