Westmeath unhappy with Leinster final referee

Plenty of refs have been used to watch over A V B games

It's nothing new whatsoever

Armagh used a similar tactic in 2002 before playing Dublin

The ref in question was invited to give his definition of a tackle

We don't go on about it for years though... and think its a conspiracy.. it was very smart by big Joe

Hats off to him for having every angle covered

McQuillan made a couple of bad calls in 2011... the most important one being the double hop

Refs always miss the steps thing... always.. any decent forward will always use that to their advantage

Look at the recent Leinster Hurling final as a perfect example.... although... you want hear Galway people whinge about it

Since then he reffed the 2012 semi-final where he allowed Mayo to tactically foul for the entire game

His favourable performance towards Mayo was even highlighted on the Sunday Game in great detail - with several examples of tactical fouling going unpunished, which gave Mayo a massive advantage

You know what happened in the next game... massive advantage soon came to an end

He reffed the 2013 AI final where he awarded Mayo lots of frees and overall had a good game for both teams... dishing out equal punishment when required, sure he missed some things but he got a lot right.

So I don't see why this Joe Mc point is still relevant...

He quite obviously doesn't favour Dublin... again 2012 / 2013 perfect examples of this

WM have since come out and officially denied any sort of problem anyway

So what exactly are you debating here...

Because many refs are used by setups or invited to ref or give their definition of a tackle

I can guarantee it's going on right now...

If you don't think that's fair grand.. but it's open to everyone to take advantage of...

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 07/07/2015 16:01:35    1749358

End of thread

Until the next round of whinging

http://hoganstand.com/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=240627

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 07/07/2015 16:04:37    1749362

1749340 Bryanadams was...

Not just me my friend, the whole country are putting pressure on the GAA to allocate funding for development of games outside the capital, It is about equality, and you are just sickened about it.

Dublin have had too many advantages for far too long, it's about time someone spoke out about equality.

bryanadams (Kildare) - Posts: 733 - 07/07/2015 16:18:14    1749368

TheMaster. Where's the evidence? You say you have it, and we all know. There has been zero evidence ever provided that PROVES McQuiilan refereed those games you mention. You have hearsay and speculation. Horgan played a blinder in 2012, he threw out that nonsense and it influenced the ref. fair play.

So if a ref refs a challenge game, he can't ref a competitive game?

Mayo play a challenge match against, let's say Monaghan, the ref that referees that game has given special treatment to Mayo!? Mayo shouldn't have that ref again. Utter nonsense.

JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 07/07/2015 16:24:32    1749372

CroiGorm (Dublin) - Posts: 1547 - 07/07/2015 16:26:41    1749376

Westmeath have no issue with his appointment: http://hoganstand.com/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=240627

CroiGorm (Dublin) - Posts: 1547 - 07/07/2015 16:38:20    1749384

He should have gave Kerry one last Move after the 62 second free.

kikfada (Louth) - Posts: 2091 - 07/07/2015 16:51:56    1749397

07/07/2015 15:55:31

1749351 Also, for a guy who spends every waking minute on the site purposely diverting genuine debate away from his own county, because he doesn't want the numerous advantages they have over everyone else being discussed, to be calling anyone self-serving beggars belief. Who do you think you are fooling? You are about as covert as a glass door.

_______

That's not what I'm doing

I'm merely counter arguing your points in such a way to try and tell the whole story

You have latched onto something that I'm simply not doing and are greatly exaggerating the point which again just demonstrate your disingenuous stance

I'm not deflecting in anyway - many teams have advantages, many teams spend big... there is no fixed rate to where this stops and as such you are going to have an imbalance.

That's the system we all adhere too.. you seem baffled by this concept.

If you consider justifiable counter arguments to be so offensive then you have no place in debating a topic

Which is evident enough by calls to silent my counter arguments

And here's me thinking you were all about fairness... hmmmm

Once again themaster.. you demonstrate that it's one rule for you...

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 07/07/2015 16:53:26    1749398

Not just me my friend, the whole country are putting pressure on the GAA to allocate funding for development of games outside the capital, It is about equality, and you are just sickened about it.

What a grossly over exaggerated statement but not surprising coming from you in fairness

The whole country you say...

I'm not sickened in the slightest because what you're suggesting isn't actually happening in the way you suggest

I'm all for developing our sports to reach everyone...

You seem to be very much against that in fact

The GAA can do what it feels with it's money and if that means investing in GAA participation in the largest populated county in the country then so be it

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 07/07/2015 16:59:28    1749403

This is a great ploy in fairness to wm. Put out that they not happy then make it clear they never said anything, joes card well and truly marked, he will not be given dubs any soft frees like he did to help them win the all Ireland.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 07/07/2015 17:06:03    1749414

What soft frees was that RoyalDunne

An example please?

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 07/07/2015 17:08:46    1749415

This forum is a joke. There hasnt been a mention of the referee westmeath. We have never had any issue with joe mcquillan.

winnerofsam (USA) - Posts: 40 - 07/07/2015 17:15:12    1749420

Come on lads,we've all had a drink.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 07/07/2015 17:19:42    1749423

I don't blame Westmeath.

If I was going in against 1/1000 favourites I'd be doing everything I could to get an edge. Including leaning on Joe McQuillan a bit. If they get a 50/50 decision a la the penalty in Killarney instead of the Dubs it'll have been worth it.

roundball (Tipperary) - Posts: 2514 - 07/07/2015 17:43:56    1749441

Joe mac has reffed both of dublins allireland wins!! Mmmm is there a patern there I wonder!!! Where was joe in 95??

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 07/07/2015 18:28:50    1749464

1749403 Not just me my friend, the whole country are putting pressure on the GAA to allocate funding for development of games outside the capital, It is about equality, and you are just sickened about it.

What a grossly over exaggerated statement but not surprising coming from you in fairness

The whole country you say...

I'm not sickened in the slightest because what you're suggesting isn't actually happening in the way you suggest

I'm all for developing our sports to reach everyone...

You seem to be very much against that in fact

The GAA can do what it feels with it's money and if that means investing in GAA participation in the largest populated county in the country then so be it

Oh forgive me, I meant everyone outside of the M50 are talking about allocating funds for game development throughout the country and not just for the team who get to play every game on their home ground. ha

bryanadams (Kildare) - Posts: 733 - 07/07/2015 18:31:24    1749465

bryan,relax lad.You seem to be constantly at boiling point.Say something positive for a change.It will do you the world of good.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 07/07/2015 19:32:03    1749494

Jimbo, at least the dubs had emergency travel insurance when ye went missing for the semi final last year against Donegal. Courtesy of aig.

saddam (Mayo) - Posts: 414 - 07/07/2015 20:37:54    1749523

Ara sure look it we don't mind beating them ref and all. Bring it on !! no complaints in Westmeath. As said previously,idle gossip

wmeathgael04 (Westmeath) - Posts: 13 - 07/07/2015 21:57:05    1749581

The point about Joe IS irrelevant however, if it has been generated within Westmeath as a distraction method then it's some good tactical gamesmanship.

The more relevant point is the standard of Leinster football in general these days. Although I did enjoy the semi final, Westmeath haven't really got a chance in the final and neither would any other Leinster team of recent.

I do agree to a certain extent about Dublins level of funding in the game. Of course other counties spend money but its incomparable with anything Dublin spend and it is most definitely an huge advantage. Dublin can say 'its not our fault we're able to generate so much money' but they cant deny its a significant factor in their success. I've heard that quite a large portion of the team don't even need to work a full time job with the financial backing they get (not certain of this point) ? Money is the reason Dublin are where they are, not like the Kerry or Donegal or Tyrone of old, and that is a fact.

Personally I would like to see a cap on what each county should be allowed to spend but I'm aware this is far from the topic of discussion

redassasin (Cavan) - Posts: 25 - 08/07/2015 09:21:52    1749623