THAT Joe Canning goal. ...

Yes it was a good goal and well taken no doubt and anybody who played hurling should know that but never best goal ever.
Have to say though Canning is a guy who seems to love an oul moan and is always in the refs or opponents ear. He is a fine player but don't like that gobby side to him.

SLLY (Dublin) - Posts: 463 - 06/07/2015 16:24:38    1748667

yeah, similarly to the goal that Stephanie Roche scored in soccer, sure anyone could do that

Maroonatic (Galway) - Posts: 1060 - 06/07/2015 16:27:06    1748671

Not a great goal? Jebus `Waynol will ya stick to football cos ya know sfa about hurling! By any standard that was a brilliant goal yesterday.
As for lads comparing Canning to Ritchie or TJ you really aren't comparing like with like.The Clare poster 1914 is bang on, its far easier to shine in a strong team like Kilkenny that in an average team like Galway.

Condorman (Dublin) - Posts: 983 - 06/07/2015 17:16:00    1748735

Posted my view on the goal earlier. Apart from that great goal I was disappointed with jC's contribution. In fact I didn't like his approach to this game as he appeared to be looking for frees far too often instead of trying to win the dirty ball. He dropped to the ground around the square on at least three occasions but the red didn't fall for it. I hope Joe doesn't resort to such cynical play or his days will be numbered. He's far too skilful to behave like this. Perhaps he thought Holden would be vulnerable.

westisthebest (Galway) - Posts: 444 - 06/07/2015 17:47:02    1748756

Cracking goal,I'd say Liam Sheedy would probably have a better idea of how good it was now than you would in all fairness.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 06/07/2015 17:48:44    1748759

Watching that goal by Joe Canning again reminds me of a holiday I had in Galway about fifteen years ago.

I was having a puck about in a pitch somewhere around Portumna, and I remember a young local chap with a hurley joining me for a bit of craic.

I remember showing him the catch, spin and strike manoeuver that Joe Canning performed yesterday, and telling him to practise hard.

But come to think of it, the young chap I met fifteen years ago, went by the name of Joe too.

Makes you wonder.

bryanadams (Kildare) - Posts: 733 - 06/07/2015 18:29:57    1748785

waynoI

1747929 "Every now and then you something happens in a hurling match that takes your breath away"

That was the line used by Liam Sheedy during half time of the SG today.

Ah really now ?

I'm probably the only one, But i didnt think it was that good.

Maybe i'm being harsh, I'm not saying it wasnt a good goal. It was, But was it really one that would take your breath away. Come on now, I dont think so myself.

Surely to god being able to catch, turn and hit a ball in one movement, more or less, and put the ball into the back of the net from what, 13 yards, Shouldn't be beyond the capabilities of most inter-county forwards. I wouldnt be able to do it, Most of us here wouldnt be able to id imagine. But most of us here arent playing for their countys in Leinster finals.

Do we not see similar with defenders clearing their lines when facing their own goal for example, Just catch, turn and launch it up the pitch.

Alot of analysis about Joe's movement, Jesus fellas move for every ball, Its the norm.

Very silly post. Have you nothing better to be doing ?

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6031 - 06/07/2015 18:50:08    1748795

He hardly thought Holden would be vulnerable, if he threw himself to the ground, westisthebest. Did he think Holden was the referee or something, is that what you're trying to say? I noticed that Colin Fennelly dived for frees yesterday, and TJ did it the odd time too. In fairness, diving is an important manoeuvre when McGrath is refereeing, because he won't spot most subtle fouls, but infuriatingly will often blow immediately to award a free to a swan diver.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3428 - 06/07/2015 19:18:25    1748813

Let me explain - Joe would have seen Holden as vulnerable and naive - would have tried to take advantage of it by sticking close to him, which he did - and when he knew he wouldn't win the dropping ball would fall down in the hope that the Ref would punish the vulnerable Holden. I just though it was disappointing from such a high class player, and especially so when he was playing on a rookie. Joe may have won more and scored more had he taken his opponent on in an honest fashion. It smacks of desperation.

westisthebest (Galway) - Posts: 444 - 06/07/2015 19:46:44    1748830

It was a truly spectacular goal. Brilliant. Probably one of the best i've ever seen and I'm a long time travelling to hurling matches. BUT, other than that what else did the lad do? Pop over a few handy frees. He is not consistent one bit. He will never be up there with the likes of Henry, who turned up day in day out. Now, the goal is scored, we still lost the match which makes its that more stupid to be going on and on about the goal, so drive on Galway for ye place in the semi final. Ye have what it takes to beat any of the remaining teams in the qualifiers (of which we cant face Dublin again) but the quarter final will be played in Thurles,and it is not one bit good to us for winning matches below in it.

sliotharfan (Galway) - Posts: 87 - 06/07/2015 20:06:31    1748847

An unbelievable goal. I dont think the OPer is too big on hurling anyway, but it was unreal.
unlilely to see another one like that for quite a while.

joncarter (Galway) - Posts: 2692 - 08/07/2015 20:25:44    1750163