Down, Meath and Galway: what can be done?

superbluedub

1746251 Short answer is no and it's because we're not Dublin.

Give us and many other similar counties equal funding to dublin and we'd improve no end. Sadly we're not the darling of the gaa. Money talks

what a load of rubbish,how do you explain Donegal and mayo who can compete and indeed have beaten Dublin?simple answer is they got there houses in order.

Jeez, don't the dubs get awful fired up when anyone mentions advantages, funding and equality.

bryanadams (Kildare) - Posts: 733 - 02/07/2015 10:10:53    1746322

Bar Galway, none of them have had any recent underage success. Meath in the 90s were backboned by successful minor and U21 teams.

SeppBlatter (Dublin) - Posts: 187 - 02/07/2015 10:18:17    1746328

The problem that exists in the these counties exists in others too.

daytona11 (Kildare) - Posts: 4012 - 02/07/2015 10:18:48    1746329

Bryanadams

Its called another point of view and its the foundation of debate. Go figure!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 02/07/2015 10:37:34    1746344

I am not one of the posters that goes on about Dublins funding.But to ignore it as a major factor is pathetic.Its frankly unfair that the gaa have pumped so much funding into Dublin gaa and nothing elsewhere.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 02/07/2015 10:37:41    1746345

Here is a link (if it works) to an interesting article regarding Kerry. I'm not saying its a solution to all ills but its just a perspective.

http://paddy-heaney/kingdoms-unique-structure-keeps-them-well-ahead-of-all-pretenders-314760.html

crikey (Australia) - Posts: 355 - 02/07/2015 10:59:07    1746363

Jackeen

1746344 Bryanadams

Its called another point of view and its the foundation of debate. Go figure!

Of course, and why would the dubs care about equality, honesty and integrity when they have all the advantages. Bleedin whingers, let them eat cake.

bryanadams (Kildare) - Posts: 733 - 02/07/2015 11:03:49    1746365

Honesty & integrity? You'll have to explain this one to me!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 02/07/2015 11:37:33    1746384

So " The GAA invested heavily in urban Dublin (hurling in particular)" this is a bit of an Urban (or in this case rural) myth.

The GAA/Sports council all dispense funding/grants equally - to all counties. The GAA recruits Games Promotion Officers fulltime and in the case of Dublin - the County Board/GAA pay them or in other cases the club/county/GAA pay for these. That is the only direct funding I am aware of.

Govt Sports grants are available to all but they must have some social benefit attached, they won't give say Na Fianna 1m to build an all-weather for instance. City Council builds and invests in sports facilities - but again they are for all sports benefit, some clubs in Dublin do joint/development with City Council. But Dublin clubs are virtually on their own.

Dublin county board has its own funding raised through advertising/sponsorship for example AIG but that is for Dublin's use and pays to keep a host of development squads on the road, grants etc etc.

So there is no golden pot in Dublin.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4897 - 02/07/2015 12:00:39    1746399

Jackeen

1746384 Honesty & integrity? You'll have to explain this one to me!

Just read the post after yours. Talk about denial. lol

bryanadams (Kildare) - Posts: 733 - 02/07/2015 12:34:05    1746427

I think we are been very unfair on the Dubs....their success is down wholly down to money. There is a massive volunteer ethos to the GAA in Dublin. Thousands of "Culchies" who moved to the Capital in the 70's, 80's and 90's had kids and introduced them to the sport with zeal. They obviously brought with them ideas from all counties and would have been more progressive in their outlook. I would say this is the key reason behind the Dubs success.

sportsfan14 (USA) - Posts: 281 - 02/07/2015 12:39:13    1746432

Performance "problems" are media driven. Those counties will bounce back in the next 5 years, it's a cycle. Hopefully, contenders like Mayo, Cork, Don and Mon can make hay in the meantime.

suckvalleypaddy (Galway) - Posts: 1669 - 02/07/2015 12:40:04    1746434

here we go again - if its not splitting Dublin into bite size beatable chunks its whinging over the money they have successfully raised to promote all codes of GAA sports.
Money is not the issue. Meath have a poor underage structure and over the past few weeks they were defeated at minor, junior and senior levels.
We in Cavan had 4 Ulster U21 titles in 5 years. We have not translated that into Senior success. Throwing more money into the pot will not solve it.
It might attract a high profile manager if we can offer him a more attractive mileage allowance ( after all Managers in the GAA are not paid) but its the same panel and the manager can only do so much. When the players cross the sideline its their guts, ambition, hard work, and self belief that counts.
The rest of us have no ba**s or bottle and its eveident. No stomach for hard work. Its easier to whinge about population, money etc instead of getting off our backsides and doing something.

I know for a fact that player numbers are down in Cavan at minor level and most clubs have issues with numbers for senior teams. Throwing more money into the county board won't see a surge in young people playing the sport. The GAA coaches go to the primary schools and coach, the club mentors train every week. Money will not solve the problem.
Its back to basics for the rest of us. Encourage the kids to play, give tham all game time, let them enjoy it, encourage them to be a par of the club and keep them playing.
Proper coaching ( every county has GAA coaches), proper club coaching ( club coaches go on coaching courses) and encouragement.
Bottle, determination and desire to win comes from within. Ambition and drive comes from within. Its up to us to bring it out. No amount of money will put these characteristics into a player.
So back to the topic. We start doing the basics right and in time success will follow. The big problem with a lot of counties, including my own, is that we are living on past glories

FrDougalMaguire (Cavan) - Posts: 152 - 02/07/2015 12:52:13    1746440

Well Meath haven't been great since 2001,thats a lot longer than 5 years!

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 02/07/2015 12:54:26    1746441

the reason i picked those counties is;
1) they have great success and tradition over a few time frames ie 1940s,50s,60s,80,90s,00s.
2)bigger than average populations and being on the edge of large cities, espically meath and down, this means that players can work and get totraing fairly easy not like cavan,longford,roscommon etc where when lads go to college and work usually in dublin its eay for good u21s to fall through the cracks thus these counties consistenltly find it hard to bring good u21 teams through to senior like laois found out.

3) they have decent players and a slightly better than average teams already, all within top 10 in the country on league standings over last 3 years, so theirs talent their not like lietrim, carlow,wicklow etc.
4)these three have football as their majortiy sport with galway its 50-50 but down and meath prob 80-20.

so all in all these three counties with perhaps derry and kildare have a lot going for them with a bit of support ie more coaches ,funding, facilites they can come back very strong. interstingly i think that donegal and monaghon could fall awat from the secne in next 4-5 years perhaps their fall can llet some of these counties in but only if there in the right place to take the chance.

dickie10 (UK) - Posts: 692 - 02/07/2015 14:22:59    1746487

Im sorry Arock but it isnt a myth at all.

http://www.irishmirror.ie/sport/gaa/gaa-defend-colossal-funding-given-5109614

http://www.balls.ie/gaa/staggering-details-dublins-gaa-funding-revealed/204677

http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/dublin-faces-cuts-as-gaa-plans-big-financial-revamp-30683408.html

A simple google search brings up numerous articles

tearintom (Wexford) - Posts: 1344 - 02/07/2015 14:35:34    1746492

Galway are allright lads, still on course for the double

elvistheking (Galway) - Posts: 99 - 02/07/2015 14:40:20    1746500

The running of competitions and games is Galway is badly run. The games are never kept to schedule and you find lads going off playing other sports. This needs to be tackled badly. It puts GAA in bad light compared to other sports in that they are unprofessionally run.

Bigboy (Galway) - Posts: 133 - 02/07/2015 15:51:19    1746539

Why should the GAA give special treatment to these 3 counties? So what if they going through a lean patch? It is up to them to sort themselves out. Tipperary have been making great strides in football thanks to massive work at underage level over the last decade. Are they somehow less deserving of support from the GAA because they have not won senior all-Irelands in the recent past? The job of the GAA is to promote the games throughout the country, and not to selectively restore certain "traditional" powers to their former glory.

Gaillimh_Abu (Galway) - Posts: 996 - 02/07/2015 16:41:11    1746565

Dickie what a load of crap.
dickie10
County: UK

the reason i picked those counties is;
1) they have great success and tradition over a few time frames ie 1940s,50s,60s,80,90s,00s. Should success be reserved for a select few? Why not pump it into Limerick? They won the first All Ireland. Wexford won a number of titles in the 19 teenies.

2)bigger than average populations and being on the edge of large cities, espically meath and down, this means that players can work and get totraing fairly easy not like cavan,longford,roscommon etc where when lads go to college and work usually in dublin its eay for good u21s to fall through the cracks thus these counties consistenltly find it hard to bring good u21 teams through to senior like laois found out. Is this a genuine belief or are you trolling?

3) they have decent players and a slightly better than average teams already, all within top 10 in the country on league standings over last 3 years, so theirs talent their not like lietrim, carlow,wicklow etc. (Meath were in Division 3 3 years ago. Galway have been fighting relegation from Division 2 the last 2 seasons. Down got put out of the championship by a division 4 side. Not exactly the pedigree of top 10 teams.

4)these three have football as their majortiy sport with galway its 50-50 but down and meath prob 80-20. So does Donegal, Derry, Antrim, Armagh, Tyrone, Fermanagh, Cavan, Monaghan, Leitrim, Sligo, Mayo, Roscommon, Longford, Westmeath, Laois, Louth....I could go on but you get the jist.

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 02/07/2015 17:02:42    1746579