Galway ziggy in 2 weeks time.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2782 - 19/07/2015 16:47:42    1755781

I think Donegal are lucky its 2 weeks!

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 19/07/2015 16:54:50    1755785

Not 100% sure but seems to be working out as
1. Cork v Kildare (winners v Dublin)
2. Westmeath v Fermanagh (winners v Kerry)
3. Donegal v Galway (winners v Mayo)
4. Sligo v Tyrone (winners v Monaghan)

Semi- finals
1 v 3
2 v 4

Curlew66 (Roscommon) - Posts: 507 - 19/07/2015 16:58:26    1755789

Agreed ziggy. If it was next week you would have to fancy Galway, the 2 weeks gives Donegal more time to regroup. Saying that based on evidence of the first half performance they continued where they left off from Derry game.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2782 - 19/07/2015 17:08:14    1755795

Well done Monaghan, what a great committed bunch of lads, wouldn't pay any heed to the critics because the name of the game today was to win.

Monaghan can play attractive attacking football when they need arises but like I said today was all about getting the result.

Well done again and the very best of luck in the remainder of the championship.

THE_SNAPPER (Louth) - Posts: 2019 - 19/07/2015 17:38:38    1755821

Hawk eye desperately needed in Clones.

galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 2522 - 19/07/2015 18:24:04    1755858

Agree that hawk-eye is needed in Clones - for some reason, there seems to be this argument at least once a year in Clones.

For what its worth, McBrearty's effort looked just wide or over the post at best (so still a miss) but Frank McGlynn had a clear point waved wide earlier in the 2nd half.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5021 - 19/07/2015 18:42:41    1755876

Congratulations to Monaghan. I'm very disappointed this evening as I felt we left it behind due to the unforced wides. We have win games in the past by being clinical but today it was Monaghans turn. I hope Monaghan push on now and get that quarter final victory but they will need to be better than today and I expect they will. Very hard to know how we will react after this. I felt we needed to go the front door for a realistic chance at Sam and now we'd have to beat Galway, Mayo, possibly Kerry and Dublin. Almost impossible task.

Tir Conaill Abu (Donegal) - Posts: 1671 - 19/07/2015 18:50:24    1755883

to be honest I stopped watching after half an hour. Credit to the commitment and dedication of both teams, but that isn't football that was played out there today. Kerry are at that nonsense too and as much as I hate them, it would be good for football to see the Dubs wipe defensive football off the map this autumn.

Daith (Kildare) - Posts: 1171 - 19/07/2015 18:56:48    1755887

foxes_denn

Donegal different level than Monaghan.
Monaghan 0.08 Donegal 2.12. And Iv a bet on this spread with the bookies. Monaghan to fold on the big day.
We will see who the full shilling is after Sunday lad.

Just some highlights of posts for the wee fox who is probably safe tucked up in his den/earth/covert for the next few weeks.
It would appear that I am the full shilling.
Bah ha ha ha ha.

seanfinn (Monaghan) - Posts: 360 - 20/07/2015 10:04:23    1756126

Well done to Monaghan, Donegal shot a lot of poor wides but Monaghan just looked that bit more fired up and chased down every ball like their lives depended on it, you can't ask for more than that. The game itself was dire to watch for large parts though, it was ultra defensive, which was downright boring for the neutral but it got pretty exciting in the last 10mins and was worth the watch.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 20/07/2015 10:50:13    1756175

Wee done lads. Best team just about won it on the day, couple of soft frees helped bring Donegal back into it late on and we dropped of the pace a bit in the second half, plus we left about 1-3 behind us which should have been put away. Donegal missed a lot too but some of the shooting was pressurized and rushed which was a credit to us and unusual for them. Thought we should have brought Finlay and Clerkin and Gollogly (together) on mid way through the second half, to close it out and to gain a physiological advantage. The game will bring Lennon and Walshe on a lot and hopefully D Wylie and McGuinness will be back for the Q/Final. Some people were saying we were over dependent on the older players to win matches, well not yesterday afraid we might be around for a while.
Neither team performed to their full potential and I thought Donegal's use of subs was strange and panicked. Is there room for the two Mchughs? I would hold McFadden back for the last 20 minutes going forward, any way best of luck against Galway.

mhunicean_abu (Monaghan) - Posts: 1044 - 20/07/2015 10:55:43    1756184

At work today not a well man after evenings celebrations but couldnt be prouder. Happy out better than 2013 some drama at the finish. They should build a statue to Malachy in Monaghan, the tactics against the blanket in the first half were top drawer. Might have bored neutrals but the constant recycling of the ball in possession looking for the free man was excellent stuff. McManus to me went up a level yesterday in how he led the line. Good thing is we can play a lot better and have lads to come back in after injury so am confident heading to Croke Park.

As in 2013, the Donegal fans were first class yesterday and I wish them all the best against Galway. Couldnt meet nicer more sporting people, proper GAA men and women.Some mighty craic afterwards.

The second Ulster title was great in that we won it for 2015 but it also wiped away the stuff that was being said about our victory in 2013 about it being a fluke etc. There are lads on the team who have played for years and suffered huge disappointments who deserve every plaudit coming their way now.

seanie08 (Monaghan) - Posts: 1803 - 20/07/2015 11:08:15    1756205

seanie08

At work today not a well man after evenings celebrations but couldnt be prouder.

Ah well I mean there's your first mistake, there should never be any work the day after a provincial final when your county is involved. Personally if Meath is in a Leinster final I always take the Monday off, now if I really had to come in I would but I'd be breaking the law as soon as I start driving.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 20/07/2015 11:19:04    1756216

yeah you are right schoolboy error but work in Dublin and still on a high after yesterday so enjoyed the banter coming in this morning with lads from other counties. Great pride in your county doing well when you are living in the capital. There was a long time there we had nothing to shout about so these are the days to enjoy.

seanie08 (Monaghan) - Posts: 1803 - 20/07/2015 11:34:44    1756231

I'll just reiterate what I said on another thread - heartiest congratulations to Monaghan on a deserved win. We can argue all we want about Hawk Eye and injury time but the fact is the shooting boots were left at home yesterday and we had no answer for Monaghan;s intensity levels. It's true we did make a fist of things with 10 minutes to go but it was too little too late by then. I felt we should have went gung-ho a lot sonner than we did. Ya might as well lose a final by 5 or 6 points than by one.

Galway in a couple of weeks now will be tough. We're lucky enough we do have the extra week. i wouldn't be too confident of us if it was on next Saturday. Galway have a good young team who are building in momentum and confidence. I wonder will young Walsh be back? It should be good craic down there that weekend with the bank holiday and the Races on! Hopefully Donegal will have regrouped and can give it a rattle.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9165 - 20/07/2015 11:42:04    1756238

Yes Monaghan deserved to win but it was by the skin of there teeth how everyone is writing off Donegal now is a mystery to me , 11 wides in the 2nd half Murphy terrible McFadden terrible McGhee terrible Gallagher terrible them 4 being terrible won't happen again God love Galway in 2 weeks time.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 20/07/2015 15:08:27    1756433

Yes Monaghan deserved to win but it was by the skin of there teeth how everyone is writing off Donegal now is a mystery to me , 11 wides in the 2nd half Murphy terrible McFadden terrible McGhee terrible Gallagher terrible them 4 being terrible won't happen again God love Galway in 2 weeks time.

Kieran Hughes,terrible Darren Hughes terrible,Drew Whylie injured,Christopher McGuinness injured,Dick Clerkin played 4 minutes,Paul Finlay didnt get a run.......And we are Ulster Champions again for the second time in 3 years.

Yes by the skin of out teeth but thats what happens when you sit back on a lead with 20 minutes left.Yous should know all about skin off your teeth wins,your 2 recent All Irelands backs it up.

It seems no matter what we do we wont get respected for it which get on my T**ts.

hardcore (Monaghan) - Posts: 1366 - 20/07/2015 15:24:03    1756449

Well done to Monaghan a deserved victory on the day and we didn't match their intensity and hunger in the first half. But we can't complain as we have had a great few years. Monaghan have a very good manager and Conor McManus is a great player and he was in lethal form yesterday. But one point I would like to make is that Monaghan and Malachy O'Rourke seem to be suggesting that they didn't get the credit they deserved for the 2013 victory. But I would suggest that the main reason for this is that they didn't kick on and win their quarter final against Tyrone in 2013 (a Tyrone team that Donegal had already beaten that year) and at least reach a semi final. In going to croke park for a quarter final as ulster champions they should now be going in expectation of victory and not in hope - regardless of the opposition! Donegal have been on the receiving end of a lot of begrudgery in the past 4-5 years and the only way to silence that is on the croke park pitch.

supporter (Donegal) - Posts: 205 - 20/07/2015 16:03:38    1756479