Donegal vs Monaghan

Lockjaw

Great news that Leo Mcloone is back in the fold!

How will that impact on the spirit in the camp. A man, who didn't make himself available for the team all year, didn't put in the hard slog over the winter months with his team mates and didn't battle through the Ulster championship matches and then makes himself available for the final once they get there.
Wonder would he have come back to the fold if Donegal were playing a qualifier next weekend instead of an Ulster final the following weekend.

If it is true id be surprised at the decision to bring him back you would think it might upset the other lads who have put in the hard work. It's not as if he was injured all year. What is the thinking up in Donegal?

If this is true do you think Jim McGuiness would have let him come back or asked him back

muckla (UK) - Posts: 366 - 03/07/2015 09:40:16    1746813

Leo will have kept himself in good shape these last few months you can be sure of that. I wouldn't expect that he imagines himself waltzing back into the team by any means. But he certainly adds depth and strength to the squad. I could see him performing a good impact sub role. When defences are tiring Leo would be a great man to bring on with his hard running and ability to break tackles.

Donegal have form for this. In 2011 Eamon McGee only joined the panel late and was a sub in the Ulster final. But by the time the biggest match of the year came around vs Dublin in the semi-final he was named corner back. I wouldn't expect Leo's return to ruffle too many feathers. He has been an integral part of the setup for a good few years now. So if he's back training hard and showing the right attitude then I can't see any problems.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9165 - 03/07/2015 09:53:31    1746823

Fair enough point there Lockjaw. Well it adds a bit more anticipation to the game anyway. I wonder has he been persuaded back because someone else is out or just to bolster the options from the bench.

He is a good player and both teams want to have the best players out to make it more the sweeter when the winner comes out on top.

Nothing annoys me more when people say that we caught use on the hop in 2013 etc. We need to put that to bed and we rather do it to a fully fit Donegal team with all options available. It seems like an age away this final. Cant wait !!

muckla (UK) - Posts: 366 - 03/07/2015 10:06:37    1746837

Lockjaw

Leo will have kept himself in good shape these last few months you can be sure of that. I wouldn't expect that he imagines himself waltzing back into the team by any means. But he certainly adds depth and strength to the squad. I could see him performing a good impact sub role. When defences are tiring Leo would be a great man to bring on with his hard running and ability to break tackles.

Donegal have form for this. In 2011 Eamon McGee only joined the panel late and was a sub in the Ulster final. But by the time the biggest match of the year came around vs Dublin in the semi-final he was named corner back. I wouldn't expect Leo's return to ruffle too many feathers. He has been an integral part of the setup for a good few years now. So if he's back training hard and showing the right attitude then I can't see any problems.

This is a superb boost for Donegal, probably bigger than most think, as their bench is now starting to look very strong, with Declan Walsh, Anthony Thompson, Leo McLoone and Mark McHugh.

McLoone is a very strong ball carrier, and like the McHugh brothers, he can cover half back or Half forward. Very experienced 25 or 26 year old, with a lot of big Championship games under his belt. Even if he only features for 20 minutes, he will have a big Impact. With a little bit of Full forward cover, Donegal will be a serious outfit now, in the All Ireland series.

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3017 - 03/07/2015 10:26:28    1746849

Tis next up on the agenda. While it may be defensive, I think it will be a great watch, will close & very, very, intense!. Hopefully, result will go our way. Roll on Sunday!

Monaghan Exile (Monaghan) - Posts: 442 - 13/07/2015 11:31:50    1752384

Getting excited now. Is this the last ulster final to be played in clones before it is switched to Casement?

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 13/07/2015 11:43:12    1752396

Not even the Tyrone Armagh rivaly of the 2000s made it to three Ulster Finals, never mind three in a row.

Both teams will have a raft of retirements at the end of this season, so it's best out of 3 or game over for a few of the lads.

squareball_1988 (Donegal) - Posts: 343 - 13/07/2015 12:18:18    1752431

Donegalman

1752396 Getting excited now. Is this the last ulster final to be played in clones before it is switched to Casement?

No Casement hit a planning Iceberg, with no confirmed date for it to now commence.

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3017 - 13/07/2015 12:52:04    1752466

squareball_1988

1752431 Not even the Tyrone Armagh rivaly of the 2000s made it to three Ulster Finals, never mind three in a row.

Both teams will have a raft of retirements at the end of this season, so it's best out of 3 or game over for a few of the lads.

Been thinking on this game a fair bit, and a lot of things would point to Monaghan as potential winners. They had a superb league campaign against the big guns, and overcame Cavan and Fermanagh without breaking a sweat, kinda a bit like Donegal against Derry and Antrim last season on their way to reclaiming the Anglo Celt.
Seeing the "Monaghan for SAM" signs up along the N2 between Carrickmacross and Monaghan clearly shows the expectation within Monaghan this year, clearly bolstered by consistent and solid performances against all the top brass.

Donegal look to be tweaking their system slightly under Rory Gallagher, and I think they possibly had one eye on this game since they beat Tyrone. Still defensive by nature, but they also clearly have worked on their attacking game. In the opening exchanges against both Tyrone and Derry, they cut through both sides defensive setups like a hot knife through butter. They then proceeded to let both sides back into those games, however the Derry comeback was more to do with McBrearty getting Injured and staying on the field.

Looking closely at both sides, I suspect Donegal will win this game, And I actually think they may win it by 6 or 7 points. It will be a tight encounter, however I genuinely think Donegal will pull away late on for the win.

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3017 - 13/07/2015 13:20:14    1752496

Donegal will win this one,but it will be an interesting game.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 13/07/2015 13:44:31    1752516

90% of games are won or lost in the last quarter of the match and even the last 10 minutes.

This game will be won or lost in the first 15 minutes of the first half or the first 15 minutes of the second half. If either team builds up a big lead by getting a goal or 5 - 6 point head start in these two periods then it would be hard to see the other getting back in as neither team concedes that many goals.

What ever team is most efficient in the scoring department will win this match whether it be long range points, frees or taking that one good goal chance that might fall.

If you look at this honestly, If Donegal get the upper hand in the first 15 minutes its hard to see them losing a big lead, If monaghan get the upper hand in the first 15 minutes theres still more of a chance of one of Donegals danger men getting a goal early n the second half. therefore and rightly so Donegal will be favourites going in to this one.

But as this is a final and all things being equal I think we can do this against a great Donegal side. Roll on Sunday hopefully its a cracker.

muckla (UK) - Posts: 366 - 13/07/2015 13:47:21    1752519

I fancy Monaghan. Donegal's formline has proven to not be as good as people thought, with Armagh folding, and lucky enough to beat Derry in the end.

SeppBlatter (Dublin) - Posts: 187 - 13/07/2015 14:31:08    1752568

A good final in prospect. I fancy Donegal to win narrowly as they are still the best team at playing the defensive system and then breaking out to support a fine full forward line. At times Monaghan can switch off for a period which would cost them on Sunday.

Byanthon (Tyrone) - Posts: 1780 - 13/07/2015 14:50:59    1752586

Looking forward to this one. The atmosphere around Clones will be great come Sunday. I think this game is hard to call. We weren't very convincing against Derry. Monaghan are a quality side and they wont fear us so a little nervous about this could go either way.

DL4SAM (Donegal) - Posts: 19 - 15/07/2015 14:10:41    1753817

It will all be on the day. Drew is a big loss to us and I hope Malachy has someone to curtail Muprhy.

MuineachanAbu (Monaghan) - Posts: 640 - 15/07/2015 14:22:10    1753822

Seeing the "Monaghan for SAM" signs up along the N2 between Carrickmacross and Monaghan clearly shows the expectation within Monaghan this year, clearly bolstered by consistent and solid performances against all the top brass.

I wouldnt look too much into that. It is a tyre company advertising saying "Monaghan 4 Sam, ....for Tyres"

MuineachanAbu (Monaghan) - Posts: 640 - 15/07/2015 14:54:55    1753855

Monaghan 0.08 Donegal 2.14.

Donegal different level than Monaghan.

foxes_denn (Cavan) - Posts: 129 - 15/07/2015 16:50:55    1753942

Gary Mc from Derry, I hope you're right!! I got it wrong about Derry and have no issue saying so, you read the situation well and Derry really pushed us all the way. I felt they wouldn't get that near to Donegal. You say a 6/7 point win for Donegal, and this is the game I am most nervous about. Id feel delighted to win by a single point. Like you, I actually think that the factors are nearly all in Monaghan's favour. They are coming in off an easier run, have had less games and they have surely one big performance in Ulster ahead of them.. We have had to hit a fairly high level a number of times already. I think there could be a freshness to Monaghan, like in 2013, where they hit us like a steam train on Sunday. Can we respond to that? Before a certain regular Donegal poster accuses me of trying to play the cute hoor, well I'm really not. Monaghan beat us in the league and reduced us to being rudderless that day with a highly effective blanket defence. They've had our number now a few times and for all of the above, I actually fancy them to sneak it though I hope I am wrong!

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1321 - 15/07/2015 17:27:04    1753959

muckla
County: UK

90% of games are won or lost in the last quarter of the match and even the last 10 minutes.

This game will be won or lost in the first 15 minutes of the first half or the first 15 minutes of the second half. If either team builds up a big lead by getting a goal or 5 - 6 point head start in these two periods then it would be hard to see the other getting back in as neither team concedes that many goals.

What ever team is most efficient in the scoring department will win this match whether it be long range points, frees or taking that one good goal chance that might fall.

If you look at this honestly, If Donegal get the upper hand in the first 15 minutes its hard to see them losing a big lead, If monaghan get the upper hand in the first 15 minutes theres still more of a chance of one of Donegals danger men getting a goal early n the second half. therefore and rightly so Donegal will be favourites going in to this one.

But as this is a final and all things being equal I think we can do this against a great Donegal side. Roll on Sunday hopefully its a cracker.

I'd just like to add to that by saying that I think whichever team scores the most on the day will win the game.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 15/07/2015 18:20:55    1753984

foxes_denn

Monaghan 0.08 Donegal 2.14.

Donegal different level than Monaghan.

Donegal by 12. Wow. Imagine the hiding Cavan would get in that case...If you were still in the running of course.

Heart - Monaghan to shade it by 1-2 points. Head - Donegal to shade it by 3-4 points.

seanfinn (Monaghan) - Posts: 360 - 15/07/2015 18:30:12    1753987