Donegal vs Monaghan

Drew Wylie is a massive loss he was Monaghan's best defender in the famous win in 2013.His size power and experience will be a massive loss at the edge of the square.

Monaghan have improved since last year but so have Donegal it should be a magic atmosphere in Clones again and you can expect a full house.

Monagahn and Donegal fans really get on well together and Clones has been one big Party the last 2 years.

I love going to the Ulster football final in clones the same as I love going to the Munster hurling final in Thurles.

It just has that special feel to it and its great that the two best teams in Ulster are in the final for the 3rd year in a row!

BigJohn.6_8 (Galway) - Posts: 704 - 30/06/2015 10:05:17    1745178

A lot of posters on here seem to forget Drew Wylie always played in the corner against Donegal picking up McFadden rather than full back. Ryan Wylie will pick up McFadden for this one and he will be fine. Biggest worry from Monaghan viewpoint is handling Neil Gallagher, Donegal's most important player I reckon.We need a serious shift between the 45s for this one to negate his influence which is achievable but wont be easy.

seanie08 (Monaghan) - Posts: 1803 - 30/06/2015 10:17:31    1745189

Lockjaw

You Monaghan boys are good craic. Drew Wylie will be starting on July 19th....

Where are you getting your info from are you sleeping with the enemy

mhunicean_abu (Monaghan) - Posts: 1044 - 30/06/2015 11:45:49    1745270

mhunicean_abu
County: Monaghan

Lockjaw

I could tell you but then I'd have to kill you! ;-)

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9165 - 30/06/2015 14:27:25    1745466

Lockjaw

I could tell you but then I'd have to kill you! ;-)

Okie doke We'll leave it there so

mhunicean_abu (Monaghan) - Posts: 1044 - 30/06/2015 15:51:53    1745529

Heard through the weekend that Drew Wylie's injury is not as bad as first reported and that he will indeed play against Donegal. Massive bonus for them and makes them favourites. Fresher team with less strenuous battles than we have had. Plus they have key personnel available. Going by Saturday night, we looked jaded and despite excellent showings against Tyrone and more so against Armagh, I just feel we have had to peak too often, too early. Donegal looked determined but weary against Derry. We lacked focus at the back numerous time and that would be a worry because in 2013, when Monaghan beat us, our defensive intensity wasn't there. So hopefully we can improve vastly in this regard.

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1321 - 30/06/2015 16:15:07    1745554

'Heard through the weekend that Drew Wylie's injury is not as bad as first reported and that he will indeed play against Donegal. Massive bonus for them and makes them favourites.'

I agree. And with Eoin Lennon, Chris McGuinness, Colin Walshe and Jack McCarron now nearing full fitness it gives Monaghan a far stronger bench. In fact, this could well turn out to be quite a comfortable win for Monaghan.

Eddie the Exile (Monaghan) - Posts: 1064 - 30/06/2015 16:41:18    1745570

Donegal_abroad

Eddie the Exile
County: Monaghan

You two lads are losing the run of yourselves over there, the bookies make it 9/4 Monaghan 4/9 Donegal. You need to come home for a weekend fellas

mhunicean_abu (Monaghan) - Posts: 1044 - 30/06/2015 16:50:08    1745577

Aye Wylie will be togged at the very least July 19th. I have a feeling Monaghan will edge this one. They may not have the minerals for an AI challenge but an Ulster final on their home patch against Donegal having lost to them last year? I think they'll be well up for it and could indeed knock Donegal off their Ulster perch.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9165 - 30/06/2015 16:54:23    1745583

Ah no lockjaw. Donegal for this one. Ye are a great side. I'd say ye will edge it. :)

supermon (Monaghan) - Posts: 1073 - 30/06/2015 18:49:03    1745646

"Courtly farmers to flinty-eyed young fellas appear from the shadows furiously beckoning you down this lane way or into that farmyard for a small fee"
This article by Keith Duggan sums up very well how many of us feel about the tradition of Ulster Final day in Clones.
I remember the morning it came out when we were headed for 3-in-a-row, the sun was shining & the the atmosphere was amazing but alas it wasn't to be as we all know, when Monaghan scalped us the following day.

Worth a read ahead of the game. Hopefully the Anglo-Celt will be headed for the Donegal hills on 19th.

http://www.irishtimes.com/sport/other-sports/if-you-haven-t-hit-clones-on-ulster-final-day-sure-you-haven-t-lived-1.1469274

Glynners (Donegal) - Posts: 109 - 01/07/2015 10:18:49    1745810

Fancie a punt on monaghan myself!
See you all up Fermanagh street before and after! couldnt beat that for atmosphere!

BigBallerSize5 (Fermanagh) - Posts: 61 - 01/07/2015 10:25:22    1745816

Very Funny part of that article about Clones on Ulster Final Day

"Once, a Donegal man showed up there with three companions with an assortment of ailments - broken limbs, serious operations, a stroke. The driver made his way to the car park confident they would qualify for the disabled parking section. 'You haven't a pass', the steward explained. The driver exploded. 'A pass! I'm sitting here with Hop-along Cassidy, The One Armed Bandit and Shakin' f.....in Stevens and you're saying I need a pass'. The rules were waived"

Tir Conaill Abu (Donegal) - Posts: 1671 - 01/07/2015 10:38:24    1745827

Great article lads I remember reading it on the Saturday before the match in 2013. The atmosphere before that final was great from our point of view no expectation, everyone expecting the formality of a Donegal win. Lots of Donegal friends of mine who I met on the morning in Clones were respectful of our chances in conversation but you could tell they were just being mannerly out of courtesy. Obviously we cant come in under the radar like that again but was the perfect ambush really.

seanie08 (Monaghan) - Posts: 1803 - 01/07/2015 11:13:08    1745847

Yeah I remember 2013 well. Monaghan were about 8/1 in some bookies and you could tell even 10 minutes in that it was going to be their day.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9165 - 01/07/2015 11:19:51    1745850

Lockjaw

Agreed, same crack last year as well, Donegal stamped their authority in the opening fifteen minutes, was always going to be there day. I remember a few weeks after Darren Hughes famously said this, didnt go down well in Monaghan.

222 (UK) - Posts: 696 - 01/07/2015 12:18:13    1745903

Yes Darrens comments after last years final was bitterly disapointing,from a player who is every bit as good and if not better than what Donegal have made it worse.....

To say that after 10 minutes of a football match that he knew we were gonna be bet was shocking......

That sort of mindset has held this county back for years.........hopefully Malachy has this problem sorted out because we havent a chance if it isnt.

hardcore (Monaghan) - Posts: 1366 - 01/07/2015 14:14:51    1746014

Yeah was surprised by Hughes' comments. Admittedly Donegal did look in control for most of the game. But the beauty of football is that you never know what can happen. I mean, in that game alone Frank McGlynn made what must have been his only mistake in about 5 years of Championship football for McGuinness' goal. It just shows you that while you may seem to be in complete control you should always anticipate the unexpected.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9165 - 01/07/2015 15:30:19    1746072

Great news that Leo Mcloone is back in the fold!

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9165 - 03/07/2015 08:40:50    1746770

Tir Conaill Abu

I cant Quote' on this Forum' But thanks for Clearing that up.I Seen the Commotion after the Derry point and assumed it was a child or older person. I seen it clearly on the Sunday game past and the little Girl got a right wallop. I suppose there are no Net behind the goals as i doubt there is much Hurling played at Clones' but I do agree that there should be something up. Even somebody "Well at themselves" could get injured with the "Heavy pigs bladder" For example if a high ball came over and it was the case that someone had to react and punch or palm the ball away ,it could very easily injure another spectator. Lets hope the little girl is not to badly injured or Scared with the accident.

Back to the Game and I am glad to hear Drew Wylie will be togging out.If we are going to beat Monaghan then i would rather win it with both teams at full Strength. I have had a bit of time to reflect after the Derry game' and I think we can retain Ulster if We play to our full potential. Tomas o' Shea was correct when he pointed out the fact that there was no intensity in Donegals tackling that evening, It was very UnDonegal like from this team we have gotten used to. I think this is one area that Rory will need to address before the final and get them hungry again.

I saw a thread about Pitch invasions' and I well remember a couple of friends and Myself as young teenagers' perched on top of the fencing waiting for the ref to blow the whistle in the 92 Ulster final and we Were First on the pitch after he did just that.There was a youtube clip in Which i could be seen tearing up the pitch full of joy with the then in style Donegal Flat Cap on my noggin. the clip was taking down for some reason or another.

Fast forward nearly 20yrs and Derry again in the Ulster final and at the final Whistle i could not contain myself and slipped through the wires again' recapturing my youth' Told old to Scale the fence at this stage.
And more of the same in 2012.

I recall us driving to Clones in fine fetal in 2013' the 2012 Highland radio CD belting out and all was well in the world. That wasnt long changing as we sat behind and to the right of Big Papa and the Monaghan points started to sail over. It was a Quieter journey home that day.

Back pitch invading in 2014 and if all goes well on the 19th then I dont think i will be able to contain myself.
This one' will mean something too whomever wins its this time around and there can be No Excuse's .
Monaghan for me were/are the team to beat in Ulster this year' but havent looked overly impressive to date' bit like our last outing'
its all to play for, thats for sure and I for one cant wait.

Come on Donegal.

InishowenMan (Donegal) - Posts: 216 - 03/07/2015 09:36:10    1746809