Donegal vs Monaghan

Well here we go again. Looking forward again to an Ulster Final and its great to be doing that for a 5th year in a row and 3rd against our top rival in Monaghan. The championship stats read 1-1 in recent years and both teams deserved their victories in those games so this will be the decider on who stands tallest!!

Both teams have had a poor semi final so will have plenty to work on. Posters here saying that if Donegal contain Mc Manus then we should win but thats easier said than done. Mc Manus is an exceptional player and keeping him quiet is as difficult as keeping Brogan, Gooch, Mc Brearty, Murphy etc. quiet. You can keep a player like that quiet for 65 minutes but he could get 1-2 in the other 5 and finish you.

Like all top games now, the kick outs and possession at midfield will be key and thats where the winning of the game will be. I'd expect Monaghan to crowd that area and try to limit the impact of Gallagher etc. From their kick outs I'd expect them to try short so we will need to push up on them and make them go long. Gallagher, Murphy, Mac Niallais and Toye are all good in the air so you would hope we can get the percentage in that department.

It will be a tough, physical battle and the atmosphere will be brilliant, I can't wait.

Tir Conaill Abu (Donegal) - Posts: 1671 - 29/06/2015 10:15:09    1744382

Patk
Ofcourse we are beatable. All teams are! There was some really silly stuff in the press since we beat Armagh but the fact remains that Armagh were a division 3 team this year and played poorly. A division 3 team needs to be playing on top of their game to even be competitive against a Div 1 team and when they didn;t they got exposed.

Monaghan have been playing Div 1 and got to the league semi, running the all conquering Dublin very close. This will be one of the toughest finals in recent memory and I'd expect little more than a score or two in it at the end. Lets hope both teams are at full strength and we get a sunny day in Clones for the final.

Clones will always be the home of Ulster Football in my eyes and I intend to enjoy them all now while we still can before the inevitable move to Casement.

Tir Conaill Abu (Donegal) - Posts: 1671 - 29/06/2015 10:26:38    1744405

Tir Chonall
Thats a fair analysis there. I Agree midfield will be the key, we have had a problem in midfield for a year or so now but with Lennon coming back it should add a bit of bulk there and also free up the Hughes's for other duties. Donegal like to bully that area but that won't be an issue for us.
The rotating two man full forward line Donegal play (Murphy, Mcbrearty and Gallagher) will be a problem for us with D Wylie out, but Derry showed in the first half (don't know why the stopped doing it) that Donegal don't like the high ball either so I expect one of the Hughes's to stay in around the square.
Ultimately this could come down to discipline as we have one of the best range of free takers in the country at the moment, McManus from the left, Finlay from the right and Beagan from long range will punish any indiscipline, as will Murphy for Donegal of course.
I think if it is tight, and it will, that we will shade it because Donegal know that they cannot afford to lose this and could panic. Squeaky bum time lads

mhunicean_abu (Monaghan) - Posts: 1044 - 29/06/2015 14:02:25    1744668

mhunicean_abu
Free takers will be crucial. We conceded NO frees inside out half against Armagh and we need that kind of discipline against Monaghan as you rightly point out you have great free takers. We are no slouches in that department either!
As regards Donegal panicking - No Chance. We have been in many a tight affair with these players over the past 5 years and I've never seen them panic, play poorly, yes, but never panic.
This will be a long three weeks waiting!

Tir Conaill Abu (Donegal) - Posts: 1671 - 29/06/2015 14:09:12    1744677

Don't know now, changing of the guard and all that, would be hard to recover if they lost to us, would be a humbling experience for the kings of Ulster. Three weeks is a long wait, maybe go for the holidays before it, at least you could enjoy them then :)

mhunicean_abu (Monaghan) - Posts: 1044 - 29/06/2015 14:17:31    1744691

Nah I don't see Donegal panicking. They're too experienced and battle-hardened a team for that. 5 finals in a row speaks for itself, so they're well used to the big occasion needless to say.

They may lose(hopefully!), but I don't think panic will be a factor either way.

patk (Monaghan) - Posts: 936 - 29/06/2015 14:27:42    1744706

Fascinating game as the championship final begins to build a head of steam. I can't call this one, all likelihood it will be close. I think Monaghan have the trump card in McManus but Donegal will surely have a plan to shut him down. It can't be done individually but collectively it is possible.

A side who scores a goal will probably win it as I'd imagine 3 points will be a huge gap in this game. If pushed I think Donegal will shade it.

seany16 (Dublin) - Posts: 1658 - 29/06/2015 14:30:59    1744709

Indian signs? Offaly were good enough in 82... so... they won. In the noughties, Tyrone were better... so... they won. Simple game this. Keep it that way!

plike (Kerry) - Posts: 569 - 29/06/2015 14:42:52    1744722

seany16

A side who scores a goal will probably win it as I'd imagine 3 points will be a huge gap in this game. If pushed I think Donegal will shade it.

Your probably right there and I get the impression that you consider Donegal are more likely to get the goal which is a fair enough assumption on the face of it, but, since Malachy O Rourke has taken over Monaghan we have only conceded 1 goal in the Ulster Championship (9 games) and none to Donegal. We are very comfortable playing in the Ulster championship its when we leave it we need to up our performances (as we all know).
The two things we need to worry about playing this current Donegal team (and they have evolved) is that long ball into the square and the long range point taking that they have obviously been working on (imitation is the sincerest form of flattery)

mhunicean_abu (Monaghan) - Posts: 1044 - 29/06/2015 17:05:03    1744892

I would think that it's easier to handle McManus and K.Hughes as opposed to McBrearty and Murphy. Drew Wylie is a huge loss for Monaghan, that could be the difference.

xxB3B0Stunnahxx (USA) - Posts: 94 - 29/06/2015 17:12:33    1744908

I hate Monaghan. More out of respect than a genuine hatred. They never lose when they 'should'.

Donegal are there for the taking this year. And even though McManus would be the only Monaghan man that would make it onto Donegal's 1st fifteen I fear it will be Monghan who will be the ones who take.

squareball_1988 (Donegal) - Posts: 343 - 29/06/2015 17:36:12    1744943

29/06/2015 17:36:12
squareball_1988

I hate Monaghan. More out of respect than a genuine hatred. They never lose when they 'should'.

Donegal are there for the taking this year. And even though McManus would be the only Monaghan man that would make it onto Donegal's 1st fifteen I fear it will be Monghan who will be the ones who take.

Jesus if that's the case this should be easy for yous! Stick 3 men on McManus and then proceed to beat us out the gates.

patk (Monaghan) - Posts: 936 - 29/06/2015 18:26:38    1744979

I think that long range shooting could clinch the game for either side. It will depend on the ref. If it is a certain one, carrying the ball into a tackle will not yield his sympathy. If it is another, the opposite is the case. So a plan a or b should be in situ for the man in black. It is as simple as that.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 29/06/2015 18:58:37    1744994

Unless Michael Murphy trips over this Indian sign of yours in the tunnel I doubt it will be much good to us!

Missing Drew Wylie is a massive blow, big strong reliable full back, made to play against this Donegal team. The way Donegal have been playing I think Vinney Corey will have to play full back to deal with the long direct ball into the square. Thats a blow because he has done very well man-marking Murphy when he plays around the middle.

As someone else said, a goal for either team, especially if it creates a 4-5 point lead would be hard to claw back.

white.n.blue (Monaghan) - Posts: 249 - 29/06/2015 19:09:32    1744997

white.n.blue
County: Monaghan

Unless Michael Murphy trips over this Indian sign of yours in the tunnel I doubt it will be much good to us!

Missing Drew Wylie is a massive blow, big strong reliable full back, made to play against this Donegal team. The way Donegal have been playing I think Vinney Corey will have to play full back to deal with the long direct ball into the square. Thats a blow because he has done very well man-marking Murphy when he plays around the middle.

As someone else said, a goal for either team, especially if it creates a 4-5 point lead would be hard to claw back.

I agree a 5 point lead would be near Impossible to recoup against either of these 2 teams, unless that lead is achieved very early in the game.

I figured in the absence of Drew Wylie, that Colin Walshe would pick up Patrick McBrearty and Vinnie Corey would pick up Michael Murphy wherever he plays. This game will be won in midfield though.

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3017 - 29/06/2015 20:40:11    1745062

GaryMc82
County: Derry

I figured in the absence of Drew Wylie, that Colin Walshe would pick up Patrick McBrearty and Vinnie Corey would pick up Michael Murphy wherever he plays.

Likely to happen, but I think that would leave us a bit vulnerable to a long direct ball into the square, especially when Neil Gallagher pops up in there. Mc Brearty and Mcfadden also both excellent under a high ball.

white.n.blue (Monaghan) - Posts: 249 - 29/06/2015 20:58:54    1745077

If both teams play to their potential , then this game will go to the wire however if one underperformance then goodnight so let's hope we have some final. It really is a credit to Monaghan with their small population to be in the top six in Ireland
Looking at yesterday's games never could see Monaghan doing what Meath or Kildare done , they just don't throw in the towel
D Wylie will be a massive loss and Donegal will have to be in top form to win this Ulster final but I think we can just about do it but if Monaghan win I would not be suprised at all
Still over the years one of the best feelings I have had is leaving Clones , heading off to Donegal town knowing that the Anglo-Celt is following
Whatever the result thanks for The Ulster Championship and as Jim McGuiness said:::::: it's the only game in town

SamOnErrigal (Donegal) - Posts: 1427 - 29/06/2015 21:22:38    1745093

white.n.blue
County: Monaghan

GaryMc82
County: Derry

I figured in the absence of Drew Wylie, that Colin Walshe would pick up Patrick McBrearty and Vinnie Corey would pick up Michael Murphy wherever he plays.

Likely to happen, but I think that would leave us a bit vulnerable to a long direct ball into the square, especially when Neil Gallagher pops up in there. Mc Brearty and Mcfadden also both excellent under a high ball.

I don't think Neil Gallagher will be allowed to float into full forward in this game, I think he will remain between the 45's. I wouldn't rate McFadden under the high ball, however he seems to be regaining his confidence and if he finds his long range shooting boots, Donegal would then offer some serious firepower.

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3017 - 29/06/2015 21:39:16    1745106

I would say that even if Drew Wylie was fit, the defensive match-ups would be Walshe on McBrearty, Wylie on McFadden and Vinny on Murphy. With Drew out I could see Ryan Wylie picking up McFadden. Hopefully Walshe will be back up to speed by the final comes as he looked very rusty against Fermanagh, but he's had gametime in two games now and another month to improve further.

patk (Monaghan) - Posts: 936 - 29/06/2015 21:50:57    1745117

You Monaghan boys are good craic. Drew Wylie will be starting on July 19th....

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9163 - 30/06/2015 09:42:55    1745172