Under 21 hurling

keeper 7 - it was the carlow minor hurlers that shipped that beating by dublin 3 years ago.

great performance last night and theres great potential in the county if resources are put in.

carlovia (None) - Posts: 1517 - 25/06/2015 19:47:04    1742774

@ hurlingexpert,we should all know by now there is no such thing as a weak Kilkenny team, look at the senior team for example, all the players they have lost through retirement etc, and the performances they have put in, as for the leinster final Wexford always bring out the best in Kilkenny as we saw last Sunday.

Scallioneater (Carlow) - Posts: 293 - 25/06/2015 20:21:44    1742800

Tough look last night scallion.Would have been some victory if ye pulled it off.It might not be Kilkennys strongest U21 team ever,but when theres 15 Kilkenny men on any field,nobody gets it easy.As for the final,Wexford are going for 3-in-a-row.Think theyve beaten the cats in last years semi final and 2013 final,so Wexford will be confident.Should be good game.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 25/06/2015 21:02:01    1742826

I honestly think the impact finance can make on hurling is completely over-exaggerated. How much do Kilkenny and Tipp get for hurling promotion?

Top hurlers are made in the back garden or against the wall every evening, working on skills, etc. Not when a big cheque arrives from central council. To claim otherwise is hiding behind excuses. How much has been spent on Dublin hurling and where are they after all that?

Pinkie (Wexford) - Posts: 4100 - 26/06/2015 09:01:56    1742888

have to agree - money is a start but you need interested and driven people to get it up and going. Plenty of money during the boom but it didnt result in many new hurling clubs springing up - saying that setanta in carlow were one of the v v few. as they say, if theres a will, theres a way..

old yellar (None) - Posts: 2625 - 26/06/2015 10:01:25    1742919

I fancy us to beat kk in 2 weeks,were not as strong as last years team which was an excellent team and i feel was very unlucky that they were up against possibly the best underage team ever in the all Ireland final,any other year we would have won it

Going back to this year on paper Waterford would be the favourites for me but the fact that there semi final in Ennis is 3 days after the Munster senior final could potentially be a problem

bostonredsox (Wexford) - Posts: 4368 - 26/06/2015 13:50:11    1743085

I was nervous for last nights game. Incredible character from the senior players involved. I'm hopeful we can win the all-Ireland.

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 2704 - 09/07/2015 11:32:19    1750365

Looking like another handy u21 All Ireland for Tipp

tiobraidArann (Tipperary) - Posts: 362 - 09/07/2015 12:13:54    1750397

No doubt that will be three this year then Tiob

lochgarmanabu (Wexford) - Posts: 1020 - 09/07/2015 12:27:41    1750404

I'd worry about munster first if I were you

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 2704 - 09/07/2015 13:29:39    1750452

Lads,dont bite with this Tiobraid poster.He/she offers nothing to this site.A boring,wum of a braggart,that im sure no Tipp posters enjoy either.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 09/07/2015 14:18:04    1750482

I'm tiobraid!! Don't know who that other wind up merchant is!

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 10/07/2015 10:44:02    1750859

Fair play Wexford

HughHunt24 (Cork) - Posts: 841 - 10/07/2015 10:49:03    1750868

Tipperary wont win the U.21 Championship in Munster not alone the All-Ireland.
Our underage structures have fallen down recently no minor success since 2012 and having to play a 3 in a row chasing Limerick on Sunday is no easy feat.

As far as our U.21s our last title in 2010 that was our best team in years and now many of that team find themselves either in this current set up or around the fringes of the senior squad.

Its very much an even playing field in Munster U.21 at the moment but Tipp need to up a few gears to beat Limerick and then Clare / Waterford.

WildPundit (Tipperary) - Posts: 1709 - 10/07/2015 11:00:52    1750879

would have great hopes for our u21s but i think whoever wins this all ireland will really have earned it.

perfect10 (Wexford) - Posts: 3929 - 10/07/2015 11:51:26    1750915

I'm not so sure they'll have earned it (as in a tough All Ireland to win) as I see Wexford winning it reasonably easily. They are well ahead of the pack I think at current moment in time

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 10/07/2015 15:45:17    1751106

Doylerwex JJ Doyle did a great job with the senior hurlers of the team that he braought out the best after the two defeats with the seniors he has showed it with the camogie , I thought our lads would rise the other night with a good performance but they were not allowed back to the drawing board big time ye need to win it this year the best of luck.

johnwhite12 (Kilkenny) - Posts: 306 - 10/07/2015 16:23:48    1751136

johnwhite12, fair play. One thing we can never accuse Kilkenny of is being unsporting. I am sure they will be back next year to try to take us down!! Question for you though, that team won a minor 3 years ago, what happened?

Pinkie (Wexford) - Posts: 4100 - 10/07/2015 16:45:14    1751151

johnwhite12

That sentiment is very much appreciated. I'd be a big supporter of JJ getting the senior job to be honest. Hopefully we can push on again as I think we were very unlucky to happen upon one of the greatest underage teams ever in last year's final

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 2704 - 10/07/2015 16:48:39    1751153

They lost to Dublin in that leinster minor final Waterford had a win over them in the all Ireland quarter final which they went on won the all Ireland.

johnwhite12 (Kilkenny) - Posts: 306 - 10/07/2015 17:25:09    1751163