"I don't know what's happening to Meath football"

cuederocket

Where is the old Meath confidence and arrogance gone.It seems even the supporters are not like the Meath fans of old.Those Meath fans always thought they had a chance.Even when behind in games with time running out.

But sure I suppose like most fans your confidence and expectations are based on what the players are doing out on the pitch and our current crop of players just don't inspire confidence. The 80s and 90s were great times to be a Meath fan, we were much more confident but back then we were also winning Leinsters and AIs and we knew we had players who would never give up, so much so we were known for our dogged determination, tendency never to panic and regular comebacks like Westmeath's yesterday.

But we just don't have those type of players nor manager anymore and sadly I don't think we've really had particularly good County Boards for a long time either to nurture the future crop so unless we can get our house in order first then you won't be seeing a confident and successful Meath team for a while yet.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 29/06/2015 17:41:54    1744948

Htaem i understand all that.But for RD to turn to a Westmeath fan after Reillys black card and say their about to make history,is a very defeatist attitude.Meath were in front at the time,and obviously had never been beaten by Westmeath,so how a fan could basically give up over a black card issued to one of its players while leading,i dont understand.It was proven to be the right call,but i was at the game myself,and still thought Meath would win at that stage.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 29/06/2015 17:53:05    1744958

I don't think Reilly going off would have made a difference.Meath were out on their feet with 20mins left and Reilly would have been no different

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 29/06/2015 18:21:08    1744971

cuederocket

Well look anybody who has been following Meath for a while knows what this team is like, we've seen this Meath team collapse and blow leads, we tried our best to lose against Kildare last year but the clock just beat them, given 5-10mins more and they would have won, no question about that. We blew a lead against Loais this year which cost us promotion, we blew a comfortable lead against Wicklow a few times and were very nervous winners, last year we blew a lead against Donegal which again cost us promotion and if you want to go back a bit further we blew a 10 point HT lead against Wexford in 2008, one of the most painful losses I've ever experienced, they're just a few off the top of the head examples.

So I know it may sound defeatist but that's what we're seeing from this Meath team, we're blowing leads for a living these days and it's very worrying, we seem to panic and we just don't look like a fit team. Now don't get me wrong, I hate Meath blowing leads, it's exactly the opposite of what I grew up watching but when we're doing it on a regular basis, naturally Meath fans are going to worry when they see teams rallying against us.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 29/06/2015 18:22:23    1744976

Cue let me elaborate, Reilly has a good game Meath win, Reilly has a bad game we get beat, its how it has been for past couple of years. Don't know why , cant explain, its just how its been. However yesterday he was having a stormer, high fiving Wallace and McMahon, encouraging bray, and generally pulling the strings, as well as popping over 4 points while been very tightly marked, and his distribution was perfect.
Without him i felt the lads would loose their shape and start making silly errors, of course i hoped id be wrong and we would hold out, but unfortunately not .

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 29/06/2015 18:47:48    1744985

Ziggy disagree, he was the only one that wouldn't have tired , also it was the leader aspect that we lost, Kevin, Donal etc just weren't getting the team up, i was close enough to sideline, Reilly was shouting and encouraging all the time, also may i point out that should have been coming from sideline too but they seemed very quite. I don't like the motionless arms folded stance, i want to see passion, but maybe im old fashioned.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 29/06/2015 18:53:30    1744988

on the stroke of the 70 minute meath came bearing down on goal and the player in possesion
had two choices go for his point and level the game and give meath the momentum
or take it on for goal himself
he decided to pass it to a guy who was in no position to shoot at all
and was swallowed up by 3 westmeath players
greahme reilly or not if meath had of taken either of the two options he had
heslin would not have gone up the field and scored the goal to put the game to bed

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 29/06/2015 19:14:47    1744999

RD

Was talking to a lad not on the panel,but was on the panel.He thinks it was a huge mistake not going with Geraghty a few years ago.He said and I quote..

"I would go to war for that lad"

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 29/06/2015 19:32:41    1745011

Watched the game again Meath's pace up front is frightening thanks be to jaysus they panicked cause they are a coming team with a forward Line like that it won't be long til there at the top table again. Meath boys keep the heads up it happens to all teams you take the foot off the gas with such a big lead and before you know it your in trouble and then the panic sets in. Whens the Tyrone game? If it's next weekend your goose but if it's two weeks time I'll back Meath to win.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 29/06/2015 20:53:50    1745073

Watched the game again Meath's pace up front is frightening thanks be to jaysus they panicked cause they are a coming team with a forward Line like that it won't be long til there at the top table again. Meath boys keep the heads up it happens to all teams you take the foot off the gas with such a big lead and before you know it your in trouble and then the panic sets in. Whens the Tyrone game? If it's next weekend your goose but if it's two weeks time I'll back Meath to win.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 29/06/2015 21:18:30    1745091

Clondalkdub

2 weeks time..

I honestly believe we have easily the best players in Leinster outside of Dublin ofcourse,but we are crying out for a decent management team.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 29/06/2015 21:29:04    1745096

Jesus I'm sick to death of every county blaming there manager when they lose, what's he suppose to do when Reilly gets black carded ? What's he suppose to do when Meath are cruising by 9 points with 18 minutes to go? There's nothing you can do once momentum takes over like that your a goner nothing the manager can do. Honestly it's the easiest thing in the world to blame the manager, tell me what you's would of done that the manager didn't do cause with 18 minutes to go and 9 up you's would of been delighted with your manager ?

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 29/06/2015 21:43:14    1745111

Where's that Tyrone game being played?

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 29/06/2015 21:44:14    1745113

I watched the game from the comfort of home and I was amazed at what I witnessed. Meath played exhilarating football and got fantastic scores showing pace and precision. They were first to the ball, played it directly and I was thinking these guys will give the Dubs a good battle.
The second half was a combination of things that all came together and had Meath scratching their heads yesterday and today.
Firstly, Westmeath were more precise with their passing and direct. The high ball was gone and players took on their Meath markers.
Westmeath won the ball at midfield and won the breaks and attacked with pace. They definitely had the legs on Meath. Having 2 good men inside was huge plus the sub scoring 2 points early in the second half also mattered.

I don't think the black cards made a huge difference, they di have an impact and that was to give Westmeath more heart and verve.
It was an exhilarating second half and fair play to Westmeath, and what a comeback.

I think Meath can learn from the match and will pose a threat in the next match. The team is young overall and this has been a chastening experience and the leaders in the team now must face up to the task. I think the team will come strong again and it may not be this year but I expect them to come good next year. The challenge has been set and the players will respond. Its in their nature. Too many influences within the county for the team not to succeed.
Hats of to Westmeath though - a great team performance.

carlowman (Carlow) - Posts: 1821 - 29/06/2015 21:51:22    1745120

Clondalkdub

I have watched Meath over the last 3 seasons under O'Dowd,I gave him a chance,but he continues to make the same mistakes.He is well out of his depth.

The game is in Omagh

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 29/06/2015 21:52:23    1745121

You blame the manager for that loss? So all the great football til the 50th minute was down to the players and not the manager? No way was that the managers fault yesterday I don't care what anyone says.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 29/06/2015 21:57:26    1745126

I try not to blame managers either and I've been very supportive of O'Dowd up until Sunday (other Meath posters can vouch for that) but I think he done nothing to stop Westmeath's momentum and if anything made it worse with some very strange substitutions. The players can't hide either, they panicked and looked around for leaders rather than taking control themselves so I hold them even more responsible than O'Dowd but not by much.

I acknowledge he's trying his best, I know he's been unlucky with injured players and appreciate the effort he's putting in. But in 3 years under O'Dowd we've won nothing, haven't reached the last 8 of the championship, threw away promotion to div1 twice, still have literally no idea what our best starting defence is or even what defensive structure to use and altogether we've actually regressed.

Now I know we don't have All-Ireland level players and I wouldn't expect a new manager to be able to fix all those problems but what's the point in persisting with someone who just hasn't been able to do if for 3 seasons? O'Dowd will see out the championship, which won't take much longer and after that he'll either step away or be pushed, be it right or wrong that's what's going to happen.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 30/06/2015 08:30:12    1745137

I believe that the Omagh game is 50/50, there is not a whole lot between these two sides, lets face it, both counties have flatlined of late so there is no clear cut favourite. This is a game that should enthral neutrals due to its unpredictability, I simply can't and won't call it. I know many words have been exchanged down the years on this forum between Tyrone and Meath supporters but I know that Meaths big and loyal following will travel in numbers to Omagh and you will made very welcome as always. May the best team win.

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 30/06/2015 08:31:44    1745139

Ahh Omagh will be tough but Tyrone better not take Meath for granted Meath are definitely a coming team.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 30/06/2015 08:46:06    1745142

I don't have a clue what's happening to Meath football either.

But I sure am enjoying it!!

daytona11 (Kildare) - Posts: 4012 - 30/06/2015 09:11:29    1745152