"I don't know what's happening to Meath football"

Can't believe the result watched first half then went out to enjoy good weather as was so one sided. There is something seriously wrong with the management of a team that blows that kind of lead.

seanie08 (Monaghan) - Posts: 1803 - 28/06/2015 17:59:35    1743939

Sean boylan was a herbalist

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 28/06/2015 18:02:51    1743942

But sure look it gotmilk, we just don't have the same calibre of players or management that we used to have. That's no excuse for blowing a 10 point lead though, things are really bad in Meath at the minute, relative to our population we're a joke at the minute.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 28/06/2015 19:19:56    1744029

i think it's disrespectful to westmeath. we played in the same division this year so they were more than entitled to beat us today. meath should have won but we didn't. ANd personally i'm delighted to see westmeath people celebrate like that after so many dark days recently.

Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 28/06/2015 19:21:41    1744033

Gotmilk
The list is getting longer as each match goes by. Fair play to Westmeath team/management saw our weakness and went for us. Made the right changes at right time. We just have to suck it up.

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2151 - 28/06/2015 19:36:00    1744054

Ye lost to a better team that is all.Deal with it.

Condorman (Dublin) - Posts: 983 - 28/06/2015 19:58:55    1744075

Condorman

I wish it was simply the fact that we lost to a better team..

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 28/06/2015 20:12:46    1744090

a bit like derry last night when the game was there to be won
meath lost there heads
2 black cards i think and a red card
fair play to westmeath they done it against wexford a few weeks ago kicking 1-09 in last 10-12 minutes
and today kicked 2-08 in similiar period to meaths one point.
westmeath actually resembled a meath team of old
with their comeback style of play

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 28/06/2015 20:25:23    1744102

McHugh on Sunday Game tonight, really looking forward to that! Just have to be humble and accept the great mans advice.

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2151 - 28/06/2015 20:26:07    1744105

Wasn't surprised at this result. Westmeath spent a year in NFL div1 recently, something Meath haven't achieved in years. Westmeath have two or three players there that would make any team in the country. Won't be enough against Dublin of course.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3454 - 28/06/2015 20:48:20    1744131

The strange thing is Meath looked brilliant going forward yesterday. Accurate foot passing and players bursting through the middle at speed. It's the way to play the game and brilliant to watch when you compare it to the ponderous sideways passing played everywhere. The thing is you can't trust them. They can be sublime and look like a All Ireland hopefuls one minute and look like a Junior C squad the next minute, a bunch of strangers pulled out of the pub to field a team. That's been going on since the hammering v Limerick in 2008. They have become known to collapse completely, particularly in the second half of games.. Is this a fitness issue? I don't accept that it's a talent issue, they have plenty fine footballers.

On the other side it was brilliant to see lads like Martin and Heslin get the recognition they deserve. Wonderful players who would get on any team in the country.

Daith (Kildare) - Posts: 1171 - 29/06/2015 10:50:37    1744441

I think Mick O'Dowds excuse yesterday says it all.

Basically we lost because we did not take our chances at the end.. Now e did panic,BUT,we scored 2-18,he just ignores the defensive side to the game,plus,perhaps worse,we were out on out feet! We are not fit enough.Same thinh happened against Kildare last year,Kildare just ran out of time.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 29/06/2015 11:03:46    1744458

Was talking to a former Meath player(not on panel but still plays) and he says that Meath have the talent,but we don't have the coaching structures to facilitate the talent.He also said that the team are not fit enough either.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 29/06/2015 11:05:03    1744461

Daith

Remember the game against Kildare last year? Same thing happened,just Kildare ran out of time..

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 29/06/2015 11:07:07    1744464

I thought when harry rooney went off meath lost midfield completly
in last 20 minutes they didnt have naybody to win a ball there
and while kevin reilly playing a sweeper in the first half worked
meath never changed that area when westmeath decided to change their attacking play to negate his influence

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 29/06/2015 11:53:19    1744527

It's funny because it is only the other day when I watched highlights if Meath V Wexford in 2008 on YouTube. There is no doubt about it that Meath have a habit of lacking ruthlessness, you would never see the Dubs let a lead slip. It goes to 5, they stretch it to 10, 14, 17, 22. Last year against Kildare we done the very same, we let Kildare completely back into it

PoppinPoints (Meath) - Posts: 225 - 29/06/2015 12:09:20    1744543

Meath had several chances to close the game out in the last 10 minutes but were wasteful looking for goals instead of going for points!

BigBallerSize5 (Fermanagh) - Posts: 61 - 29/06/2015 12:23:18    1744557

PoppinPoints

1744543 It's funny because it is only the other day when I watched highlights if Meath V Wexford in 2008 on YouTube. There is no doubt about it that Meath have a habit of lacking ruthlessness, you would never see the Dubs let a lead slip. It goes to 5, they stretch it to 10, 14, 17, 22. Last year against Kildare we done the very same, we let Kildare completely back into it

Have a look at last years semi-final

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12122 - 29/06/2015 12:24:07    1744558

seadog54

McHugh on Sunday Game tonight, really looking forward to that! Just have to be humble and accept the great mans advice.

Start importing Kerry women it seems... Or send ye're women to Kerry... I'm not really sure.

roundball (Tipperary) - Posts: 2514 - 29/06/2015 12:26:52    1744564

Meath had a similar lead on Laois in the NFL recently and let it slip as well. I think it was a draw in the end. It cost them promotion to Div 1. Fitness maybe an issue for Meath. Micko would be a great manager for Meath if they could entice him. He was great to get a team fit. Westmeath were a Div 1 team in 2014 so it shouldn't be a surprise. Good luck to both teams.

crikey (Australia) - Posts: 355 - 29/06/2015 12:40:15    1744580