"I don't know what's happening to Meath football"

I don't think Meath have gone back as much as other counties have moved on? When Meath were winning All Irelands Ulster was barely surviving due to

sportsfan14 (USA) - Posts: 281 - 15/06/2015 19:07:16    1737600

I don't think Meath have gone back as much as other counties have moved on? When Meath were winning All Irelands Ulster was barely surviving due to The Troubles. Connaught was in complete disarray whilst Dublin Football was no where near the sleek and well organised animal it is today. Meath Club Football has always been very poor and has made little or no impact on the Club Championships. The underage teams of the 80s and 90s were highly competitive but that seems to have dried up, especially U21 level. There has always been a sort of isolationist policy when it came to Meath football and in build over estimation of their own intellectual property when it comes to coaching etc. They have not invested in their club game or underage structures they way they could and should have given their resources and lack of any other sport.
Meath football needs to let go of the past or they will remain there.

sportsfan14 (USA) - Posts: 281 - 15/06/2015 19:12:07    1737604

It is lazy for someone like McHugh to come out and write what he wrote yesterday,when he was never at the game.If Meath get a good result,you won't here about it from McHugh..

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 15/06/2015 19:14:10    1737605

Sportsfan

A lot is been done now in Meath underage,but McHugh would not know that,because he ha opinions based with no research..

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 15/06/2015 19:17:53    1737613

I said it during the league that having attended all Roscommons games this year that Meath were the worst team I saw them play. We only beat them by 2 points but that was after our worst performance in last 2 years. That day their tactics were terrible 12 men behind the ball and once we got a poxy goal they decided bring on Shane o'rourke and play him in a two man full forward line stupid tactics because Shane's a massive man and he needed high ball not long ball into corners. My point being im not sure if it's just Meath don't have the players or they dont have the right management in place. I would be of the second opinion because they have some good footballers. Graham reillys one the best in country. Credit must go to Wicklow on yesterday's performance they came in under radar and had nothing to lose. Meath were probably already thinking of the dubs they won't be after that performance tho. I would be concerned about the lack of talent coming through in Meath tho

Pingcity (Longford) - Posts: 568 - 15/06/2015 20:16:05    1737651

Mchugh is anti Meath plain and simple in my opinion , him and his brother were given the spanking of their lifetime in early 90s.
In the match itself tbh it was the perfect result as far as im concerned. Meath i believe have the youngest or one of the youngest teams that will play football this year, average age 22.6 take out Stephen bray and that drops to even lower. I am thrilled with the attitude of Wicklow yesterday and im afraid mchugh and others are not giving them the credit they deserved, by Jesus they threw everything at us including the kitchen sink, it was a great advertising for open REAL football, the kind of thing they wouldn't be use to in nordie land.
That been said we defended terribly now we never looked like loosing but they tested us big time huge plus was Rooney again proving he will be a outstanding midfielder, its very important that we get back McGill, Gillespie, O'Rourke, Newman, k Reilly , menton , burke, e Wallace, we were missing over half the starting line up, so without taking that into consideration and lazy analysis is absolutely shocking we were missing 60% of team . I read nowhere of that been mentioned, great to see biggy and tormey on fire. But as i said at very beginning that result will have focused minds, and given much needed experience to the kids that will be needed in last 20 minutes against the dubs with tight game, they can draw experience from their mistakes yesterday. All in all very happy with the score we put up and thrilled to bits for the way Wicklow played. Well done lads now time to get Armagh.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 15/06/2015 20:35:22    1737664

It was a great challenge for Meath to play a team interest in playing football and not the type of puke we faced against ultra defensive teams like Roscommon and Cavan and down. So it was great to go man to man, this will have helped us no end for the 12 July, and Westmeath will only bring us on further.
Hon the royal

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 15/06/2015 20:56:29    1737680

Wow a team with multiple regulars missing and loads of championship debutants in below par performance, Mchugh would want to have a word with himself.

Kiwiq (Kildare) - Posts: 38 - 15/06/2015 21:09:14    1737690

Kiwig +1

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 15/06/2015 22:00:09    1737722

royaldunne

1737680 It was a great challenge for Meath to play a team interest in playing football and not the type of puke we faced against ultra defensive teams like Roscommon and Cavan and down. So it was great to go man to man, this will have helped us no end for the 12 July, and Westmeath will only bring us on further.
Hon the royal

Jaysus thats the 4th Meath poster I have seen dismiss Westmeath,

Anyway, probably better Meath get beaten my Westmeath to avoid the annual spanking us Dubs give yis.

ConnollyDub (Dublin) - Posts: 2007 - 16/06/2015 10:00:57    1737778

royaldunne

Meath i believe have the youngest or one of the youngest teams that will play football this year, average age 22.6 take out Stephen bray and that drops to even lower.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Being young doesn't necessarily mean that they are talented. Certain Meath fans, none more than yourself, have talked up the talent in Meath for a long time. Perhaps this crop will be different but, until there's some evidence to the contrary, you'll have to forgive the rest of the country for being sceptical.

Thomas Clarke (Tyrone) - Posts: 1002 - 16/06/2015 10:25:08    1737803

ConnollyDub

1737778 royaldunne

1737680 It was a great challenge for Meath to play a team interest in playing football and not the type of puke we faced against ultra defensive teams like Roscommon and Cavan and down. So it was great to go man to man, this will have helped us no end for the 12 July, and Westmeath will only bring us on further.
Hon the royal

Jaysus thats the 4th Meath poster I have seen dismiss Westmeath,

Anyway, probably better Meath get beaten my Westmeath to avoid the annual spanking us Dubs give yis.

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 16/06/2015 10:26:08    1737804

Maybe he is trying his best to motivate Meath for a good crack at dublin? Either that or he is just trying to sell papers. I dont think he is anti meath, he is just reflecting their progress or lack of in the past few years.

Yes Meath gave donegal a good beating in 1990, but you can also add tyrone, down, monaghan, and cavan to the same list of teams. There would be no reason in particular to have it in for meath on the back of one semi final result.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 16/06/2015 11:24:55    1737852

Little mention of Glynn, Furlong etc missing as well. Well done to Meath but there were two teams on the pitch.

sponger (Wicklow) - Posts: 2897 - 16/06/2015 11:25:41    1737855

I wouldn't get too upset by what McHugh says lads.
That said, for a great GAA county like Meath you have been underwhelming these past few years. It would be great to see the likes of yourselves, Galway and even Cork get back to the level they should be operating at. The consensus is that the AI winner will probably be 1 of Kerry, Mayo, Dublin or maybe Donegal. For the sake of the competition it would be fantastic if there were a couple more realistic challengers.

Now I know these things are cyclical. I feel myself that we in Donegal will face a few hard years once the likes of the McGees, McFadden, Neil Gallagher, Toye and Lacey call it a day. But we have grounds for optimism in that we have had a few good u21 teams and our minors are fairly strong.

Can the same be said in Meath?

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9155 - 16/06/2015 11:49:30    1737876

Royal Dunne - sure Meath have more natural footballers than Donegal , don't worry about it !

TheRightStuff (Donegal) - Posts: 1688 - 16/06/2015 11:59:47    1737892

sportsfan14 When Meath were winning All Irelands Ulster was barely surviving due to The Troubles The troubles did not interrupt the success of the counties north of the border allowing Meath to win all Irelands, prior to the troubles the Down team which won 3 all Irelands in the 1960's were the only time when the All Ireland went north of the border.
Meath Club Football has always been very poor and has made little or no impact on the Club Championships. This again is misleading. There is a large amount of GAA clubs in Meath and while none of them would be as strong as the top teams in many counties the average strength of clubs in Meath would be strong. Unlike most other counties where a few big clubs dominate county teams Meath have traditionally had a large spread of clubs represented on the county team. Junior and intermediate players have been present on most Meath teams. This overall strength of clubs in Meath is shown in that Meath Junior teams usually winning the Leinster Junior Club championship.

bdbuddah (Meath) - Posts: 1358 - 16/06/2015 12:19:40    1737908

The goal this year was to get back to Leinster final be competitive and reach quarters one way or another. Why should that change after Sunday?
Why does it have to be Meath were bad and not Wicklow played out of their skins?
Now i actually think it was little from a and little from b.
We will reach Leinster final of that i have not one doubt.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 16/06/2015 12:43:17    1737931

royaldunne

The goal this year was to get back to Leinster final be competitive and reach quarters one way or another. Why should that change after Sunday?
Why does it have to be Meath were bad and not Wicklow played out of their skins?
Now i actually think it was little from a and little from b.
We will reach Leinster final of that i have not one doubt.

Possibly because it was division 2 v a division 4 team that there was so much criticism for Meath. Yes I believe meath should get to a leinster final, improvement needed but likely to get there. The dubs will expose any tiny crack in any team.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 16/06/2015 12:58:01    1737945

If they don't RD will you leave this website? I remember you said you would leave about 2 years ago if Meath didn't win. Surprisingly Meath didn't win and you didn't stick to your word.

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 16/06/2015 13:05:35    1737956