Kildare v Dublin

@Hughhunt; Ah silly me Hugh ,I forgot about their nail-biting victories in the o byrne cup! I really have to look up the TG 4 schedule and see if they plan to show any of these classic matches in their Gold series !

DUBJOHN (Dublin) - Posts: 932 - 16/06/2015 15:43:31    1738106

Speaking of favourites mesamis and jimbo, Dublin were overwhelming favourites with all the bookies going into the match against donegal. In fact the entire bookmaker industry is predicated on predicting winners and losers. Maybe you should go into paddy power and tell them all about your theory on how it is basically impossible to tell which team is better than another team until they meet. I can give you some odds on how long they point and laugh at you, if you like... You do get bogged down in some awful waffle in fairness. Here is what is actually going on here - you don't want to admit Dublin bottled it against donegal, but then you don't want to admit donegal are a better team than Dublin either. So the alternative is this nonsense. Sad stuff lads...

I've already said that last year Donegal were a better team than Dublin. They proved that on the day with a fine performance and comfortable victory in the end. Fair play to them.

The bookmaking industry is based on maximising profits and minimising loss Master. You could get Donegal at 7/1 at one stage but that shortened considerably by throw in. They always know what they are doing.

You may know exactly who the better team is always but the rest of us can only guess and predict and then see if we are right to wrong when they actually play the match.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13718 - 16/06/2015 15:45:07    1738107

Well said jimbodub

lilywhite1 (Kildare) - Posts: 2991 - 16/06/2015 15:48:04    1738110

Looking at it from our point of view and i'm sure many people would probably feel the same way I don't care how many Dublin win by just keep them away from the Qualifiers. If we got them in Omagh we wouldn't have a look in.

Find_the_space (Tyrone) - Posts: 313 - 16/06/2015 15:53:12    1738120

1738085 bryanadams

Are you man enough to admit that playing every game on your home ground is an advantage Aido? Of course you're not. lol

Aido69

I've no problem saying its an advantage.

Ah, so you admit the "Dublin playing every game on their home ground" title, does not have the same status as a genuine Leinster, or genuine All Ireland, won by other teams on merit, Good man yourself.

bryanadams (Kildare) - Posts: 733 - 16/06/2015 15:54:45    1738123

bryanadams

1738089 1738069 bryanadams

How about you there Jimbo, are you man enough to admit that playing every game on your home ground is an advantage? lol.

An advantage bestowed upon us by Leinster culchies

Ah, so you admit the "playing every game on your home ground" title, does not have the same status as a genuine Leinster, or genuine All Ireland, won on merit, Good man yourself

Bryanadams... if that's what you want to go on all about all day

All the best to you

If you examine GAA in any great detail you'll soon find out that it's a bit of a ridiculous completion in general

Ulster teams have to play more games

You have counties able to spend more than others

You have an unequal distribution of population

You have massive socio-economic facts that play a big part - some counties are able to hold onto more young people

It's not an even competition in any sense...

You have to ignore a lot of lop sided stuff... just to even enjoy it

But unfortunately for you..

All you have is to belittle those who have achieved great things... it's easy to cast stones when you've never been put up on the highest mantle to be judged yourself. You don't even have a clue...

It's down to the Leinster council where Dublin plays it's football games.. as such your argument is ridiculous

We'll happily come down to Newbridge, Mulligar, Navan... wherever... we'll come and beat you and then head back to CP to play all the rest of the games there

You seem to think that playing one game a year outside of CP is going to make any sort of difference....?

All our other games will be played there... it's just a financial and number generated fact

Dublin are the big show and the big show should be in CP... on big match days... that's what the broadcasters want, that's what the sponsors want, that's what the marketers want, that's what's needed

We're a victim of our own success.. even when we're rubbish.. we're still the biggest thing about the sport

You're just a victim of your own ineptness

Again.. I know what side of that coin I'd like to find myself on...

And forward we go... next stop.. you boys...

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 16/06/2015 15:59:38    1738134

I actually think Kildare will give us a good game , I don't think we're at last years peak yet and Kildare have some very good players that can hurt any team I'll be surprised if we hammer them , I'd agree with a 6 point victory for us.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 16/06/2015 16:00:29    1738136

No you said they were the best team on the day mesamis, as if they had somehow found ability that was generally beyond them on any other day and that was the reason they won - and not the fact that Dublin weren't able to deal with what was a squad of much inferior players, regardless of their tactics... Maybe they had a trip over to Lourdes before the game?

Anyway, the point was, before jimbo and mesamis railroaded it, if Kildare can reproduce the same, ahem, superhuman ability on the day, or in other words, put some men behind the ball and pick Dublin off a few times, them maybe they can do something similar to what donegal did. Should we book kildare in at the basilica at knock?

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 16/06/2015 16:03:15    1738137

An advantage bestowed upon us by Leinster culchies

Ah, so you admit the "playing every game on your home ground" title, does not have the same status as a genuine Leinster, or genuine All Ireland, won on merit, Good man yourself

Bryanadams... if that's what you want to go on all about all day

All the best to you

Certainly Jimbo, as you have admitted that Dublin have an advantage playing at home, and the "playing every game on your home ground" title, does not have the same status as a genuine Leinster, or genuine All Ireland won on merit,I will leave the "Financial Juggernaut of Dublin GAA" out of the thread until another day.

bryanadams (Kildare) - Posts: 733 - 16/06/2015 16:15:11    1738149

Ok man... you're deadly...

Copy and paste first two lines ;)

I don't think the one game a year played in Newbridge is going to make much difference

We play in CP

Because we're told to... and because we're just so damn bloody big... and vital to the success of the GAA in this country

Sorry... we apologise.. hahaha

Ahh you culchies... great craic

You put us in place and then whinge about it...

pfffhh

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 16/06/2015 16:26:59    1738162

1738162 Ok man... you're deadly...

Thanks, and fair play to you for admitting that playing every game on your home ground is an advantage, and by having that advantage, Dublin's titles have a lower status than titles won on merit.

Oh and I will be travelling to Dublin, and watching the game in your home ground of Croke Park, and I will enjoy the banter with the dub supporters in their home ground, but I won't be going anywhere near your burgers. lol

bryanadams (Kildare) - Posts: 733 - 16/06/2015 16:51:10    1738184

Ok man.. you're just repeating yourself now and so am I...

Listen looking forward to our game

Always do...

I think if Kildare setup properly that you have the panel to cause Dublin a lot of trouble

But man on man.. don't think it'll be as close and that has nothing to do with Croke Park.. it wouldn't be close in your own back garden

I have no trouble admitting to things man...but I haven't seen you do much of it on this thread yourself

You seem to be quite ignorant in fact

Many points being ignored and you're just sticking to one line over and over again.... so I see no point in continuing

Basically you're just doing this

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=myWaa6xvPZ4

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 16/06/2015 17:01:42    1738195

Oh and Bryan

I remember your county board giving up home advantage to play Dublin in Croke Park during the League not so long ago

Remember when you used to be in Div 1

Hmmm those points could have come in handy because well....now you find yourself in Div 3

Do you think you might have been best served to play at home instead of taking the money?

I mean you got hammered but your greedy CB got a big pay day... priceless aye Bryan... :)

Sold away your advantage... and now where are you...

And there lies the problem

In fact it's completely laughable... I don't think you realise just how ignorant you're coming across Bryan

I mean.. it's your own handing this over... surely your venom should be directed at your own?

I mean you'd have to question the morals to willingly hand over home advantage to just get a big pay day?

Especially when valuable points were on offer.. and Kildare have just fallen to bits since those heavy thumpings...

And again.. there lies the problem... your own are responsible for that

But no... blame Dublin..

Although at least next year Dublin will get to play at least one game out of CP in Leinster... isn't that true?

Dubs set to hit the road again.. most bloody welcome!

Think about the above Bryan...

Honestly.. was that a good idea to hand Dublin home advantage.. it's been down hill ever since...

Can you please answer that...? or is it more La La La la La.. with your fingers in your ears

One heavy thumping lead to another... and the slippery slope kept on getting worse...

Now it's Div 3 football... where once upon a time you could have played Dublin in Newbridge...

But you took your 30 pieces of silver :)

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 16/06/2015 17:18:34    1738202

Jimbo, I tried to find something worthy of comment in your post, but sadly, it was just a sad attack on Kildare, in an attempt to excuse the advantage Dublin have of playing every game on their home ground.

This year we will have Genuine Munster Champions, Genuine Ulster Champions, Genuine Connacht Champions, and more than likely, we will have Dublin, the team who got their hands on a Leinster title playing every game on their home ground. lol

bryanadams (Kildare) - Posts: 733 - 16/06/2015 18:19:02    1738227

bryanadams

Jimbo, I tried to find something worthy of comment in your post, but sadly, it was just a sad attack on Kildare, in an attempt to excuse the advantage Dublin have of playing every game on their home ground.
You mean just one of the many many advantages Dublin have over Kildare....

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4898 - 16/06/2015 18:58:06    1738244

Can Ryan Adams name the Kildare team?

HughHunt24 (Cork) - Posts: 841 - 16/06/2015 19:13:35    1738257

arock

1738244 bryanadams

You mean just one of the many many advantages Dublin GAA have over Kildare GAA and the rest of the teams in Leinster and Ireland....

Are you bringing up the financial advantages, the population advantages, the facilities advantages, the resources advantages or just the advantages Dublin have playing every game on their home ground?

bryanadams (Kildare) - Posts: 733 - 16/06/2015 19:20:55    1738262

HughHunt24

1738257 Can Ryan Adams name the Kildare team?

I can name the team, I don't know if Ryan Adams can. lol

bryanadams (Kildare) - Posts: 733 - 16/06/2015 19:22:42    1738264

Betting latest:
Dublin 1/33
Draw 33/1
Kildare 12/1

Spread Betting:
Dublin (-11) evens
Draw 12/1
Kildare (+11) 10/11

The betting odds seem to be spot on. Dublin are very much likely to join the Connaught champions, Munster finalists and 4 Ulster teams in the All-Ireland quarter-finals.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7876 - 16/06/2015 19:42:51    1738267

bryanadams congratulations,spending all day whinging like a child,to much time on your hands I guess.

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 16/06/2015 19:43:44    1738269