2015 All-Ireland Qualifiers

A home draw for ourselves is a bit of a novelty (though where it will be played is another question)

Right maybe I was too quick to take the draw at face value - RTE has us down as the first team drawn out but I see on here it has Fermanagh as the first team drawn out. Anyone able to shed any light? Do we really have to go away again in a Qualifier and away again to Fermanagh?

Yeah appears so, announced on RTE that Fermanagh would have home advantage for this game based on the fact that the won the Ulster game, seems a bit quirky but there you are, incidentally would ye have had a venue to hold it?? Would Ballycastle be capable??

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 22/06/2015 09:34:51    1740637

Cheers all - should have known it was too good to be true.

Richieq - to kind of quote a cigar toking PM:

We would fight them on the beaches of Ballycastle, we would fight on the boggy grounds of Ahoghill, we shall fight in the fields and in the streets around West Belfast, we shall fight in the Glens. If only we could get a game in Antrim!

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 22/06/2015 09:52:13    1740653

Ye Ulster lads are awful paranoid. It's no conspiracy that Ulster teams meet each other in the championship.

If all 5 Ulster teams win their round 1 ties and make it to round 2, (which isn't that unlikely), whatever Ulster team loses their provincial semi final has a 5/8 chance of drawing another Ulster team in round 2.

Ulster is the province which usually has the best 'weakest' team, I.e. Antrim or Fermanagh would be much better than Carlow, Leitrim or Waterford. This, combined with the fact it has the 2nd largest number of teams means it's statistically very likely for Ulster teams to draw each other.

It's not about bias and conspiracies lads, it's fairly basic maths. Next you'll be saying there's a suspicious number of all Ulster clashes in the Ulster championship.

CastleBravo (Meath) - Posts: 1647 - 22/06/2015 09:55:49    1740656

Jaysus CastleBravo we are not talking conspiracies or anything of the sort - we are just yearning for a home fixture against anyone and having thought we had it apparently there is yet another rule which sees us travel again.

Naysayer (Antrim) - Posts: 2071 - 22/06/2015 10:09:47    1740667

So who do the losers of Meath/Westmeath play???

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 22/06/2015 10:14:15    1740674

That home advantage rule is clean bananas by the way. Home advantage can be the difference in games - remember Antrim were only a couple of points down to Fermanagh playing the majority of the game with 14 men before they pulled away in the last 8 mins. So to give a team home advantage because they beat a team already aided by home advantage is complete nonsense in my opinion.

Naysayer (Antrim) - Posts: 2071 - 22/06/2015 10:15:24    1740676

CastleBravo I think the only paranoid one here is you!

benjyyy (Donegal) - Posts: 1422 - 22/06/2015 10:16:27    1740680

Cavan v roscommon will be full of open attacking free flowing football. No blankets or defensive set up here.

Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6344 - 22/06/2015 10:20:52    1740685

Pot B Ziggy - you are looking at Armagh, Tyrone, Tipp, Galway - bar an upset or two!!

Brolly (Monaghan) - Posts: 4472 - 22/06/2015 10:22:25    1740688

It doesn't make sense that Antrim and Fermanagh are allowed to meet again in the football qualifiers, but Laois and Offaly were prevented from doing so in the hurling. Repeat meetings should be avoided where possible, particularly in the early rounds.

football first (None) - Posts: 1259 - 22/06/2015 10:33:59    1740702

No...Galway are a provincial semi loser as will the losers of Meath/westmeath be....they'll play Armagh, Tyrone, down and either Louth or leitrim....bar any upsets

southmeathgael (Meath) - Posts: 891 - 22/06/2015 10:38:39    1740709

Aye good man CastleBravo - that rant and none of us here have even questioned the all Ulster meeting but merely the fact that we are playing away again. But sure why let that stop you - carry on and keep us smiling.

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 22/06/2015 10:39:31    1740713

Getting nervous Ziggy? From a neutral perspective Westmeath will never get a better chance to beat ye. In fairness the qualifier groups are very lobsided but on the flip side if we got somebody like Tyrone with serious street cred and beat them it would do the world of confidence.

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1947 - 22/06/2015 10:42:20    1740716

So its 1Bs turn this weekend:

Round 1B
Tyrone v Limerick - Tyrone
Louth v Leitrim - Louth
Armagh v Wicklow - Armagh
Wexford v Down - Down

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 26/06/2015 12:57:52    1743049

Have to say that trying to follow the possible draws after next week on the Hogan Stand fixture list is totally confusing.
Anyone know who Cavan or Roscommon can get in the next round?

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 26/06/2015 13:16:21    1743064

Cavan_Slasher

Cavan or Roscommon will play one of the other 3 winners from the A side of the draw. Say Kildare, longford and Fermanagh or their oponents.

offtheditch (Cavan) - Posts: 157 - 26/06/2015 13:25:27    1743069

Ahead of the weekends matches I've put together a preview of round 1B of the qualifiers - hope ye like it!

http://catmalojin.com/2015/06/25/qualifiers-preview/

CatMalojin (USA) - Posts: 32 - 26/06/2015 13:48:17    1743081

Any Chance of any upsets this weekend? Wexford possibly put it up to Down?

Even in the provincials, Dublin and Donegal should breeze by their opponents.

BigBallerSize5 (Fermanagh) - Posts: 61 - 26/06/2015 13:54:52    1743089

Round 1B
Tyrone v Limerick - Tyrone
Louth v Leitrim - Louth
Armagh v Wicklow - Armagh
Wexford v Down - Down

Byanthon (Tyrone) - Posts: 1780 - 26/06/2015 13:55:13    1743090

BigBallerSize5 Wexford and Derry only possible shocks in my opinion

DoireCityFC (Derry) - Posts: 1580 - 26/06/2015 13:57:53    1743092